We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Save
Share
1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010 New Zealand
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (509)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (209)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#46 of 89 hotels in Rotorua
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Parking
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Green
Languages Spoken
English
1823Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 338
  • 701
  • 516
  • 180
  • 88
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
DanO68 wrote a review Apr 2021
Alexandra, New Zealand529 contributions411 helpful votes
Stayed here in managed isolation upon returning from South Africa. Nice location near the waterfront. The food was generally good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room itself was fairly average and the Wifi was a bit on the slow side. It seemed like more of a budget hotel and it’s not likely I’d stay here again given the choice.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Kaosrulz wrote a review Apr 2021
Picton, New Zealand8 contributions2 helpful votes
Brought here to do 14 days MIQ. Meals are undercooked and such a letdown to come back to. Given a roast chicken leg with anemic looking roast potatoes. This was paired with steamed broccoli, cauliflower and carrots. All were well undercooked. As a kiwi coming back from overseas who works in an essential primary industry which makes me leave my country, this is a soul destroying introduction back home. My mental health is sliding backwards every meal I have sent to me. I'm sure if I was actually in a NZ jail, the food would be better cooked and more nutritious.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Ham M wrote a review Jan 2021
Hong Kong, China498 contributions204 helpful votes
+1
Hi this review is only relevant while the hotel is being used as a NZ MIQ facility. If you’re like me, when I was sitting on the plane and was told we’re being bussed to Roto-Vegas for MIQ at the Sudima, my heart sank a bit. I really just wanted to be in Auckland and close to home. Anyhow, we don’t get to choose and here’s my review and some tips to surviving MIQ at Sudima Rotorua. It’s not too bad an option, and has some positive upsides. There are downsides as well. Let’s get to it. On the bus... remember to use the bathroom before you depart Auckland airport. It’s 3.5 hours to Rotorua and the bus only stops once for a comfort stop at Matamata. That’s 2 hours into the journey. The toilet break is dreadful, they have set up two portable toilets on a trailer at the Matatmata waste refuse dump carpark. It is truly an inglorious and unwelcoming stop. Only use it if you must. Otherwise crossed legs and when you arrive at the hotel there is about an hour or briefings, health checks and formalities to get thru before you get to your room. No toilet use allowed at that checkin stage. Hotel. It’s a sprawling complex of two level and three level blocks. Some good rooms and some shockers. If you get a shocker room (we did, room 325 as example), do ask to be moved. They probably can’t move you until after your day 0 test is back. Two days into your stay by the time result is back. But after that if they have space, they can. Some rooms have balcony’s with lake views (primo). Our 2nd room after being allowed to move was room 651. No balcony or lake view to speak of: but a nice room with sunny outlook and two Queen beds. Perfectly fine. Main thing with this hotel is see what room you get. It might be fine, if not, seek help to change after first test. Best feature. The exercise area. About the size of a 300 meter track. Some grass to lie on or yoga on and some tarmac. Free to use anytime, except when there are new arrivals coming in. They close it for an hour while new untested folk are moving about. Food. It’s fine. Not great. Not huge options. Not always hot. Other reviews on the site about the dire food are not wrong exactly. But I guess we need to remember the logistical challenge the staff have to hand deliver in sterile boxes 500 meals at a time. So yes, often the food is only warm. I found 80 percent of the food pretty good to my taste. There are some horrible meals tho. Each lunch and dinner has two choices available, it’s not the best feature of this MIQ to be fair. The images of some in 5 star Auckland joints with iPads choosing their next dinner do make you feel a little food envy. The staff here are great. Very relaxed. Rotorua style. That’s super nice. If you need things, just dial 0 and the reception will deliver extra towels, bottles of water and milk (all free). The army guys are great and hilarious. Running a MIQ is not what they signed up for, and they do a fab job managing it in a half hotel half prison camp style. Intermixed with the public health staff, on boring days (every day in MIQ), watching the people interactions of army, health, cops, and hotel is a hoot. Countdown deliver to the MIQ. Yes you can get alcohol delivered here (or buy from the hotel). 1 bottle wine per person per day is allowed (or six beers pp). NW won’t deliver alcohol (NW company policy). So we just did countdown and they were always on time. (14$ owe delivery). The reception staff bring it to your door. Sulphuric smells. Yep... it’s Rotorua and the hotel is located right beside the Polynesian Spa and Sulphur Point. It’s not too bad. And on the plus side the rooms all have opening windows for natural ventilation and it’s pretty quiet here. Overall. Two weeks is a drag, but it’s doable and the Sudima does a good enough job to make the stay bearable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Rebcon wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
I was sent here for my isolation time. I arrived at 10pm at night to a room that was not clean - we were given cleaning products and I had to clean the bathroom before I could use it. The carpets looked Like they hadn’t been vacuumed either(so much for those deep cleans between guests). The bathroom has mould, the shower doesn’t stay warm and and the toilet constantly runs. Majority of the food sent went straight to the bin (such a waste, but when you can’t pick what you are sent, or it’s soggy and cold, that’s what happens). The only good thing I can say, is that the staff, security and guards were nice.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
FiCan wrote a review Dec 2020
Kerikeri, New Zealand16 contributions6 helpful votes
I was allocated to the Sudima Hotel for 2 weeks quarantine and am finding it very comfortable. All the important things; big comfy bed, roomy, great shower power, iron, hair dryer, safe and iron. Unfortunately I can't leave the exercise yard but it is situated perfectly on the lake near points of interest - the Geothermal Walking track, The Polynesian Spa and Countdown supermarket/pharmacy for supplies. The personnel are fantastic and couldn't be more helpful and kind. The quality of the food is very good in my opinion. Sometimes it is not piping hot but I can live with that under these circumstances and haven't needed to spend anything on ordering in. I would come here another time when corona is under control. Thanks to all those at the hotel who put themselves at risk to enable us to come home in comfort.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rajas Patil, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Responded 10 Dec 2020
Kia Ora FiCan, Thank you for taking the time to share your review, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with our team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all our staff as we always strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again in the near future. Rajas Patil Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$86 - US$145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionRotorua DistrictRotorua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
247
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Which popular attractions are close to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua?
Nearby attractions include Tamaki Māori Village (0.3 km), Polynesian Spa (0.2 km), and Blue Baths (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ciccio Italian Cafe, Herbs & Spice Thai Restaurant, and Amazing Thai Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Rotorua.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tamaki Māori Village (0.3 km), Te Puia (2.8 km), and Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village (2.4 km).