Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel

171 Kawaha Point Road Kawaha Point, Rotorua 3010 New Zealand
The Black Swan Balcony view of Our room and courtyard  (from The Black Swan Restaurant)
Traveller (305)
The Black Swan, Room #1, Swan King
Room & Suite (64)
The Black Swan, Pool and Gardens
Pool & Beach (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Breakfast included
$620
Fully refundable before Sun, 28 Apr
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
$560
Breakfast included
Multiple ways to pay
$545
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#8 of 89 hotels in Rotorua
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel cares about adding value for our guests beyond a room to rest your head. Our philosophy is about distinction and sharing the New Zealand story with you. All this in a setting of authentic luxury, where everything you touch in these exquisite rooms is of the highest quality. The designer lounges were made to be lounged on. The one acre of grounds includes rose gardens, sweeping lawns, swimming pool, sauna, secret grotto, sandy beach, private jetty and nine guest rooms. Each room is conceived to deliver a meaningful experience and strong connection to space. Black Swan truly is luxury on the lakeside.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Residential Neighbourhood
333Reviews1Q+A75Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 264
  • 36
  • 23
  • 7
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Julia R wrote a review Jul 2020
Auckland, New Zealand88 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We (5 of us including 2 x 17yo and 1 x 8yo) stayed here for 3 nights in the July school holidays and it was fantastic. Awesome service the entire time. From arrival, Arthur met us (despite the pouring rain) as we pulled into the carpark, with umbrellas at the ready. Rooms are big and beautifully decorated - we had one king suite, and another king suite with an alcove with 2 single beds. Really large bathrooms with good water pressure. Incredibly peaceful setting right on the lake. About a 10 minute (or less) drive to town, and about 2 minutes to the Luge. Food was superb! Breakfast is literally all you can order and the Arthurs hash browns are still on the mind of one 17 year old. Dinner was a small menu, but all the food was fresh, and nothing was too much trouble when it came to our fussy eaters, and dinner well enjoyed by all. Freshly baked cookies in the room every day, and snacks and mini bar to help yourself to went down well with the kids. Great wines available too. There is a pool (though not heated during winter) and a spa grotto, but we didn't try those. Our rooms had heaters out on the deck, but unfortunately the weather was too wet for us to enjoy those.
I had a very early call to do, and Arthur had setup the conservatory for me, heater on. It really did feel like home away from home. The staff were all very friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. We also did a few excursions based on their recommendations and were not disappointed.
And on our departure, Arthur had containers of croissants and shortbread for the kids to snack on during our drive! Just amazing!
A must stay - we will definitely be back here. Thanks so much!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Black Swan Hotel, Owner at Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel
Responded 19 Jul 2020
Good afternoon Julia, Wow what a lovely read to start the week. We were so happy that you and your family enjoyed your time spent at the hotel. We are all about the overall experience from start to finish. It was a shame about the weather and unfortunately we couldn't control that, but despite the rain we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We can totally agree with you there about Arthur's Hash Browns., it is certainly a guest favourite. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of the school holidays, and maybe next time you come it will be nicer weather for you and you can enjoy our pool and try out the Spa. Thanks again for visiting us here at the Black Swan Hotel Kind Regards, The Black Swan Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
buddy111 wrote a review Jan 2020
Scottsdale, Arizona38 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you for hosting our family the last three days of our two week trip to NZ. Hotel grounds are beautiful. Staff lovely and gracious. Always happy to help with everything including delivering breakfast to my two teens rooms too lazy to get out of bed to make it to breakfast by 10 AM. Food was delicious. Pool was very warm. Location is perfect I love this short drive from town without the noise or smell of sulfur. Thank you again for a lovely lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Black Swan H, Guest Relations Manager at Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Hello Zachary, What a delight to read this lovely review. We were so happy to read you enjoyed every part of your stay with us. Was our pleasure to accommodate your teens, after all it is the holidays and I'm sure they make the most of it as much as they can. Thanks again for your kind words and staying with us in paradise. Warm Regards, Black Swan Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grandvisitor wrote a review Nov 2020
Whitianga, New Zealand318 contributions82 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a superb place to stay. The rooms are very tastefully decorated with a lot of attention to detail and very comfortable. The tone of the hotel is set by Arthur, the owner, he is a most congenial, obliging and caring host. Nothing is too much trouble for him. A sumptuous breakfast is served every morning with a wide range of choices. The evening meal also has a good menu beautifully served. If you want to be pampered I thoroughly recommend a stay here, although not inexpensive you get what you pay for and more. Thank you Arthur for our most memorable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris K wrote a review Mar 2020
Macclesfield, United Kingdom52 contributions69 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 nights in January and it was wonderful. The service is so friendly, but not intrusive. We were met by Arthur as soon as we pulled onto the car park and looked after magnificently. The rooms are big and beautifully decorated. The surroundings are so peaceful, yet close to the centre of Rotorua. The swimming pool was so warm i didn’t want to get out.
Now the food, absolutely wonderful. Small menu, but all cooked fresh and perfectly. Breakfast is also cooked fresh and Arthurs’ hash browns are a MUST. They also have a well stocked bar with wonderful choice of wine.
The view over the lake from the dining room is magnificent too and then coffee (or an aperitif) on the balcony adds the finishing touch.
Little touches like beach towels, fruit and botttled water all handy to take as you go out for the day add to the experience.
We had a lovely stay
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Black Swan H, Guest Relations Manager at Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel
Responded 5 Mar 2020
Hello Christine, Firstly Thank You for coming to stay at the Black Swan , we hope the weather wasn't to hot for you, though it is starting to get a bit cooler now- it will be hard to say goodbye to summer.... Wow! what an enjoyable read. We are happy to hear you enjoyed Arthur's hash browns they are for sure one of the popular items on the breakfast menu. We can definitely agree with you there that the views are magnificent from the rooms and the balcony especially when you come here to relax Thank You for your review Christine, we will pass on all your lovely comments onto the team Have a lovely Day Black Swan Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pauls1692 wrote a review Nov 2022
Townsville, Australia141 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Outstanding! This is the ultimate couples retreat. Rooms are very spacious and beautifully appointed. Beds/pillows were of high quality. Room has aircon and gas heater (seperate units). Ability to open windows to take in full view of Lake. Seating area that was very comfortable. We loved sitting with out windows open, enjoying a few wines, cheese and crackers while taking in the view. Birdlife was good, swans with their ducklings passing by. Property has jetty, beautiful gardens, pool and heated spas. We stayed for 4 nights/5 days. Staff were awesome and a special mention to 'Jeffery' who took care of our every need during the breakfast service. Wide range of choices for breakfast and food awesome. Due to limited numbers of guests - it was quiet and uncrowded. I would highly recommend this boutique hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Location is outside of the main town area. Limited choice for restaurants in the area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CCTraveler56 wrote a review May 2023
Corpus Christi, Texas44 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed two nights here and had a very pleasant time celebrating my husbands 70th birthday. At dinner the first night, the staff surprised him with song and a dessert! Breakfast, which was included, was delicious (I had eggs Benedict each morning), with attentive service. Staying there at the beginning of their fall, the gardens were not in their prime, but the rose garden was still in bloom. Our room was an amazing, large room with a sitting area and balcony overlooking the lake. Bathroom was huge and had heated floors and towels! Great for cool weather! The only issue was that the room was directly below the restaurant and morning breakfast guests. This is the only reason I didn’t give it five stars. Beautiful place. Pleasant staff.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mazzorkney wrote a review Aug 2020
Feilding, New Zealand5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at the Black Swan was fantastic. Luxurious and relaxing. Thank you to the owner Arthur for being extremely helpful in booking our activities and ensuring that we were happy and comfortable. Also Andrew for showing us around the hotel on arrival and his knowledge on the local area.
The room itself with the lake view was extremely comfortable and clean.
First class service everyday, the added bonus of being able to help ourselves to the minibar for free ( not the alcohol ) was great.
Beautiful well maintained grounds to relax in.
Delicious breakfast and Dinner overlooking the Lake. Thank you for making our stay special.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MilamberNZ wrote a review Feb 2022
Auckland, New Zealand131 contributions74 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a lovely hotel with a real boutique feel and atmosphere, but as you will have seen with some of the other reviews, it’s great for a “kids free” weekend, but we had our son (we generally travel as a family)! On arrival, it was lovely, but we were literally put into the side of a garage for a room (I kid you not, the room is a converted garage). It certainly gave us some privacy, but the main room had no windows and it didn’t match any of the details on the website (nor the price we paid). So not the best experience for the first time there, but we would stay there again if it was a couple weekend. We did love the swimming pool.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking can be difficult as the car park is very small (about 6 cars).
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Snowy6163 wrote a review Nov 2020
Wellington20 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stunning location with the black swans on the lake. Arthur was very welcoming and attentive. We had a lake view room which was extremely comfortable. Great location for activities. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the restaurant every evening after a day sightseeing. We will definitely go back again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon R wrote a review Jan 2024
Sydney, Australia34 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lakeside luxury - fabulous attentive service, beautiful and well appointed rooms, tranquil and beautifully maintained grounds, wonderful food and gorgeous location. This small boutique hotel offers a sublime experience from the comfort and decor of the room, the scrumptious toiletries and the onsite recreational options. Every need has been anticipated and catered for. The onsite manager, Rowena, is a delight and could not have been more considerate, thoughtful and attentive. Thoroughly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay for a few nights to make the most of the serenity and escapism.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BobbyD6363 wrote a tip Feb 2024
San Diego, California1,497 contribution158 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not recommended for kids - there is literally nothing for kids here"
Read full review
Sharon R wrote a tip Jan 2024
Sydney, Australia34 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay for a few nights to make the most of the serenity and escapism."
Read full review
Frances Hillsman wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is tight but manageable."
Read full review
Quest30445307581 wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the jacuzzi "
Read full review
85 contributions67 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely need a car, 8-10 min from the town centre"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rotorua area.
PRICE RANGE
$466 - $711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionRotorua DistrictRotorua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BLACK SWAN LAKESIDE BOUTIQUE HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Rotorua) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Rotofobia (3.3 km), Volcanic Air (2.5 km), and Wingspan National Bird of Prey Centre (4.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include EL Mexicano Zapata Cantina, El Mexicano Zapata Express, and Poco Tapas & Wine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village (5.9 km), Te Puia (6.1 km), and Government Gardens (3.2 km).
Does Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Rotorua HotelsRotorua Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RotoruaHotels near Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire