Doolan's Country Retreat
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Doolan's Country Retreat

Rotorua  the village ,there is enough to do  and well being, with nice buildings and houses.
Traveller (263)
view with rainbow
Room & Suite (47)
One of the nicest and excellent breakfast we had
Dining (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#2 of 34 B&Bs in Rotorua
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Doolan's Country Retreat offers peace and tranquillity in a uniquely architectural designed brick and timber home. Our home is tastefully styled so no room is the same room nestled in ten acres of idyllic country setting, with many charming features. When you check in you are offered afternoon tea with delicious home baking and our breakfasts are full of local fresh produce and homemade jams, muesli, yoghurt and fruit salads as well as a hot cooked dish of the day. A truly peaceful location to unwind and rejuvenate the soul. You can take in the views of Lake Rotorua, and wander through the beautiful gardens. We love to encourage you to dine in Rotorua with its diverse range of eateries or enjoy a true Kiwi delicacy; the “takeaway” under the stars at our outdoor dining area. Pour a wine, sit back and enjoy the lights of Rotorua in the distance and spot the Southern Cross and Milky Way.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
353Reviews0Q+A62Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 334
  • 15
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
krabjohn1959 wrote a review Feb 2020
Ottawa, Canada16 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 2 nights at Doolan's Retreat. Louise and Mark were superb hosts. They provided us with lots of great tips for local sites, but also encouraged us to take advantage of their gorgeous home, with its many comfortable places to sit and relax. The views of the country-side are spectacular. Our room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. I very much appreciated the accommodations made for my food allergy! We wished we could have stayed longer!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louise D, Owner at Doolan's Country Retreat
Responded 1 Mar 2020
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you got to experience all Rotorua has to offer while relaxing in our B&B and enjoying all the space.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wayne E wrote a review Jan 2020
Seattle, Washington55 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed three nights and saw all the sites of the area. Louise and Mark are the most wonderful hosts you could ever hope to have. The location on this beautiful acerage is breathtaking with a view of the entire valley. The entire experience was one of the most memorable of our entire holiday!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louise D, Owner at Doolan's Country Retreat
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your kind words. We love sharing our little piece of paradise and glad you enjoyed your time in Rotorua. Enjoy the wine in the South!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ria van Raaij wrote a review Dec 2022
Mook, The Netherlands26 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was overwhelming the staying by the most loving people Louise and Mark.
They are people close to my heart.
They feel you very comfortable and do all the things you feel like a prince and princess. The location on the Hill was fantastic ,with a wide view and a garden so big ,like a park. The flowers we liked very much. Also they have their own vegetable garden for a nice breakfast with an artistic touch. And it tasted lovely.
The house is also amazing and so clean ! Louise is a Jack of all trades with the lovely help of Mark. We liked to stay there with people who have the heart on the right place ! Excellent !!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are so lovely ,there is one bigger room where you also can go outside.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
udinisan wrote a review Mar 2020
Jerusalem, Israel5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights and it was great. The hosts were very friendly and nice, they help with information and recommendations. Breakfast is fresh and tasty. The house is amazing, the room was well equipped, clean and comfortable. View from the place is beautiful. The city is 10 minutes drive. One of the best places we stayed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Malden04 wrote a review Feb 2020
Seychelles76 contributions72 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Enjoyed 2 nights at Doolans Retreat superbly hosted by Louise and Mark. Great room with private patio seating area looking out onto the garden. Extensive gardens to walk round and see the donkeys! Nothing is too much trouble for Louise and Mark, from the sumptuous breakfasts to the local advice. About 6 km outside Rotorua but easy to access all amenities.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louise D, Owner at Doolan's Country Retreat
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Many thanks for a great review we are thrilled you enjoyed staying with us and sharing all the wonderful places Rotorua has to see.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Guido wrote a review Jan 2024
Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing place, quiet, comfortable, friendly and spacious. Louise is a hart-warming person. She made us two very tastful breakfasts. Spacious and comfy toom, large living room with superb views.
We loved the place and Louise! Very much recommended!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter J wrote a review Jun 2020
Auckland, New Zealand5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A great relaxing three nights .... wonderful place for a winter stay. If you’re missing the peace and quiet and birdsong of lockdown this is a great base for everything Rotorua has to offer. Warm fire, great breakfast and excellent hosts in Louise and Mark.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathleen D wrote a review Apr 2017
Yorkshire53 contributions72 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for one night in early March this year but as other reviewers have said, we wish it had been for longer. Christine has a really beautiful home and is an excellent host. It is so peaceful there, with beautiful views and an incredible garden that Christine has created. Definitely a place we will revisit when we go back to New Zealand.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: They are all beautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TShYorks wrote a review Mar 2014
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom39 contributions78 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
On our 6week trip to Aus & NZ we booked 2 nights on line from the UK on the strength of TA reports! What a mistake. We checked out after the first night! If this is what the B&B crowd think is good then they need to wake up in 2014
Positives:- the setting of the property on high ground & the friendly welcome.
Negatives:- the above is irrelevant if the business basics are poor! Bedrooms are tiny, the double bed too small, the shower-room minute, no wi-fi reception in the bedroom, the toilet cistern leaked noisily, no room temperature control( except for the window), sound insulation is appalling (the next room emptied their wardrobe at 7-30 & we were all woken up) & decor is a bit "old lady-ish." But the straw that broke the camels back was the awful breakfast (another TA bum-steer)! We joined the other 3 couples at the communal table, which had orange juice, cereal, toast & a little fruit & were asked by the wife of one of the other guests who seemed to be helping out (& what on earth is that all about)..."would we like a mushroom omelette?" We answered "no thanks". And that was it! Nothing else! No bacon, no other egg options, no sausage, no meats, no tomato, no cheese. Nothing else. What a sham! We left after this & old Christine who runs the place had the cheek to keep our $220 for the second night! We checked into Hamurana Lodge 2 miles away & at $300 for B&B it was lovely to re-enter the professional world again! Come on you B&B crowd open your eyes to modern standards and don't write about the donkeys!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from bedfordstreet, Owner at Doolan's Country Retreat
Responded 12 Mar 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay. I am, however, somewhat surprised at the negative comments made. I always greet my guests with a warm welcome and pride myself on the 146 Excellent and 5 Very Good Reviews I have received to date. I do not take these reviews and accolades for granted, and always strive to offer my clients the very best during their stay. On arrival you were shown to the White Doves Room and made no comment that you were unhappy with the size of the bed or the room and its décor. Whilst you complain in your review that your bed was too small, it was, as advertised, a standard double bed. Other rooms with larger beds were available at the time that you booked, but you did not choose one of these. I regret that there was a temporary problem with the toilet cistern, but such things occur from time to time, and as a result of being made aware of this I had the problem rectified within a couple of hours. B&Bs such as mine are not purpose-built, commercial accommodation establishments. Our key point of difference is that we invite guests to share our home, and to engage with us as hosts as well as with fellow guests. We pride ourselves in offering a high standard of accommodation in beautiful surroundings, and above all in offering a level of service and warmth of hospitality that is second to none. I am saddened that you were immune to all of this, and can only surmise that you have misunderstood the nature of B&Bs.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ong S Y wrote a review Apr 2012
Singapore6 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had just returned from NZ recently and I had spent a wonderful night at this B & B. This stay was arguably the most memorable experience of our whole 1.5 months trip in NZ. The best B & B ever. The place might be quite a long drive journey from the city of Rotorua, but it was worth in the end! It was so comfy, with such an awesome spectacular view and with star gazing at the night, with cute adorable donkeys in the stall, what more can i ask for, when Christine is such a good host? And she is such an excellent cook! And thanks to her, we managed to tour the best attractions in Taupo and Rotorua with her valuable first-hand experiences! Doolan's Country Retreat, the fitting name. Thank Christine for being a wonderful host and for giving us a home away from home!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Ria van Raaij wrote a tip Dec 2022
Mook, The Netherlands26 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are so lovely ,there is one bigger room where you also can go outside."
Read full review
jörg m wrote a tip Mar 2019
Speyer, Germany4 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"there is one room with no en suite bathroom and the rooms have different sizes."
Read full review
LMikeR wrote a tip May 2018
Austin, Texas4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"single story B & B so rooms are equal."
Read full review
Patricia0703 wrote a tip Mar 2018
Madison, Wisconsin54 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We enjoyed having the room with a patio."
Read full review
Nancy W wrote a tip Mar 2018
Salt Lake City, Utah4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms have attached bathrooms except the Fantail room. This room has a private bathroom, but you access through hallway."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rotorua area.
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionRotorua DistrictRotorua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DOOLAN'S COUNTRY RETREAT - B&B Reviews (Rotorua) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Doolan's Country Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Doolan's Country Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Wingspan National Bird of Prey Centre (3.3 km), ZORB Rotorua (5.7 km), and Mini Golf Rotorua (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Doolan's Country Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Doolan's Country Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Doolan's Country Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Doolan's Country Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Brook , Stratosfare Rotorua, and Maharaja Indian Take Away.
Are there any historical sites close to Doolan's Country Retreat?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village (12.6 km), Te Puia (12.6 km), and Government Gardens (10.3 km).
All Rotorua HotelsRotorua Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RotoruaHotels near Doolan's Country Retreat
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire