We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rock Solid Backpackers

Save
Share
Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (3)
Overview
1140 Hinemoa Street Downtown Rotorua, Rotorua 3010 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Wheelchair Access
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
2 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
62
45
11
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
62
45
11
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock climbing wall free pool table ping pong table common room great location enjoyed my stay lounge area nice stay maori village front desk staff free internet central location walking distance one night a great place to stay stay there again polynesian spa
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was not what we expected after booking. Pictures are different from reality. Better to have a look first. And the Manager Julia refused to refund us money although we just did not even stayed there for 10 mins. We saw the rooms and we...More

1  Thank Expedition821166
Response from RockSolidNZ, Manager at Rock Solid BackpackersResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia Ora Mr, thank you for your 'second adjusted' feedback. During your phone call, and previous review you had stated your sole reason for walking out was that there were other people in the dorm, after being told that this is no reason for a...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was perfect. Great location, friendly staff. The best hostel in town 100%. If I come to Rotorua again I will definitely stay there again. Everything clean, tidy with roomy kitchen and bedrooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rodrigoafsouto
Response from RockSolidNZ, Host at Rock Solid BackpackersResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Rodrigo, Sweet as! We're stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time here. Great to have had you around. On behalf of all our staff we hope you enjoy the rest of your journey! Kind regards and safe travels

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly helpful staff. Dorm room nice, spacious, large lockers and ample natural light. But no personal light next to bunk — a pretty standard amenity in hostels in 2018. Excellent well-appointed kitchen/dining space; too bad WiFi is weak or nearly unusable here since the reception/lounge...More

Thank James S
Response from RockSolidNZ, Host at Rock Solid BackpackersResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia Ora James, Thank you for your thorough review and overall appraisal. We appreciate the feedback, as do our customers. I imagine they like to be informed about certain specifics through third parties before booking. Bearing that in mind, I would like to point out...More

Reviewed 3 September 2018

Had a great time in the backpackers and enjoyed the ability to watch the rock wall events. Staff very obliging and facilities well set up.Enjoyed the company of the fellow travelers especially in the kitchen.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bernardfhermens
Response from RockSolidNZ, Host at Rock Solid BackpackersResponded 3 September 2018

Hi Bernard, Thanks for the review! We are stoked to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe travels onward! Cheers

Reviewed 3 September 2018

It's a great hostel which a fun common area where you can meet lots of people. The Rooms are quite okay, with a big locker for you. The Wifi only works in certain places of the hostel, but is really fast. The kitchen is very...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rocio G
Response from RockSolidNZ, Host at Rock Solid BackpackersResponded 3 September 2018

Hi Rocio, Thank you so much for your review! Delighted to hear how you felt about the hostel, and it's so nice that you got to meet some nice people here. We hope you met some friends for life! Many thanks and safe travels!

View more reviews
About
Description
BIG BOLD & BRIGHT! Kia ora - Welcome to Rock Solid Backpackers located in the heart of downtown Rotorua with dedicated local staff who really do care about their guest's comfort and enjoyment and love sharing More their hostel and town with their international visitors. Based in a former office block, this large industrial-style building may not be a cosy cottage but if a funky inner city chill out zone at reasonable rates is what you are looking for - then this is the place! Guest lounge The large comfortable reception guest lounge is the hub of the hostel with FREE unlimited High Speed WiFi, FREE pool table, FREE Table Tennis and FREE XBox. FREE DVDs and FREE book exchange corner. They also have FREE luggage and bike storage room including a fridge to store your food while waiting to check in or depart. Also unique to Rock Solid is the 17m high rock climbing wall you can view through floor-to-ceiling windows from this guest lounge. Or if you feel like having a go, guests can climb for just $12 which includes, shoes, harness, chalk and climbing until you drop(not literally!) Or if you prefer a bit of arty culture you can check out what's on in the Basement Arts Cinema downstairs too! Kitchen & Dining Room A large well equipped guest kitchen and dining room for guests to prepare and cook their meals and snacks. This hostel also actively recycles packaging. Guest Laundry Coin operated washing machines, driers and laundry powder dispensers are also available. Tours & Activities Rotorua is the ultimate north island adventure and cultural destination, offering a huge range of activities to suit every taste, budget and thrill factor which hosts are happy to arrange for their guests. Parking There is both limited free public street parking and charge meter parking available in front of the hostel. From 5pm-9am (daily) this parking is FREE. It is also free from Saturday 12:00 noon to Monday 9:00am. More information is available on request. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
19
Price range
US$17 - US$55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
19
Price range
US$17 - US$55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Photos
Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (3)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 90 nearby hotels
Quest Rotorua Central
876 reviews
.15 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1,547 reviews
.30 km away
Kowhai and Colonial Motel
39 reviews
.44 km away
Prince's Gate Hotel
955 reviews
.44 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 278 nearby restaurants
Ciccio Italian Cafe
522 reviews
.13 km away
Herbs & Spice Thai Restaurant
188 reviews
.08 km away
Yamato Japanese Restaurant
284 reviews
.15 km away
Zippy Central
177 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 200 nearby attractions
Rotorua Night Market
123 reviews
.20 km away
Bibleworld Musuem & Discovery Centre
41 reviews
.08 km away
Rotorua Central Mall
22 reviews
.23 km away
The Wall
21 reviews
.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
2Paz
25 March 2017|
Answer
Response from RockSolidNZ | Property representative |
Hi Yes we do please email our manager
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Don't share with a 31 year old who has done a small amount of living and physiological profiling. "
bernardfhermens
2 Sep 2018
Read review
"No complaints at all!!!"
Mialk21
1 Aug 2018
Read review
"Twin room with shared bathroom"
RebeccaLoveTW
29 Jul 2018
Read review
"Comfortable and clean bed. A big closet which could be locked (you should bring your own lock). A heater..."
raistlinshaka
8 Jul 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing