We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rock Solid Backpackers

95 reviews
Save
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (2)
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good34%
  • Average7%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Wheelchair Access
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (95)Write a Review
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
41
28
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
41
28
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock climbing wallfree pool tableping pong tablekitchen dining areaclean beddingcommon areascommon roombunk bedsup to dateenjoyed my stayreception areafront desk stafffree internetshort staystayed for one nightconvenient locationvisit rotorua
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 81 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
8
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We only stayed one night, but staff were friendly and accommodating. We played Table tennis for free, discounts on the climbing below - which was great. Beds were really comfy and we both slept well. Only downside was the wifi wasn’t great!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from RockSolidNZ, Host at Rock Solid BackpackersResponded yesterday

kia ora, We're glad to hear that you had a nice stay with us at Rock Solid, some improvements still need to be made hoping that it didn't bother you too much. Many thanks and safe travels !

Reviewed 4 days ago

The place is well situated, clean and quiet! There is a lot of space, even in the beddorms. But the kitchen should be a bit bigger. WiFi almost everywhere! Oh I forgot, the don't have their own parking so they give you some advice on...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank etiennepicard
Response from RockSolidNZ, Host at Rock Solid BackpackersResponded yesterday

Kia ora, Thank you for this nice review, some improvements still need to be made we hope that it didn't bother you too much. Many thanks and safe travels !

Reviewed 4 days ago

Rude staff to start and then a very hot and dingy 4 bed dorm room. The kitchen was awful very messy dirty flies everywhere and hot with no ventilation. Would Definitley not recommend or stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katyallen2
Reviewed 4 days ago

The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable, helpful in booking an excursion. The location is fantastic and the rooms clean and reasonably comfortable. No frills hostel perfect for a solo, short term trip.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DanielleMilln
Response from RockSolidNZ, Host at Rock Solid BackpackersResponded yesterday

Hello, Thank you very much for this review, we're glad to hear that you had a nice stay with us. Many thanks and safe travel around New Zealand !

Reviewed 4 days ago

Super Friendly staff, with easy access to town and all attractions. In the centre of town.Kitchen was well equipped. Would recommend this to anyone who needs affordable comfort. I would say one thing that was not so great as a family we had a car...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank whaia2018
Response from RockSolidNZ, Host at Rock Solid BackpackersResponded yesterday

Kia ora, We're glad to hear that you had a stay at Rock Solid, we're sorry for the inconvenience we hope it didn't bother your stay too much. Many thanks and safe travels !

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345617
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$15 - US$72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$15 - US$72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
2Paz
25 March 2017|
Answer
Response from RockSolidNZ | Property representative |
Hi Yes we do please email our manager
0
Votes
Room Tips
"I do prefer a female dorm tbh."
Read review
"There's a basketball court outside the windows of the 20x rooms that can be quite rowdy and loud after..."
Read review
"Twin beds and a bathroom."
Read review
"We asked for towels upon arrival."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing