Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Arista of Rotorua

Traveller (171)
Panorama of the Family Mezzanine at the Arista of Rotorua
360
Panoramas (8)
Three Bedroom Executive Kitchen
Room & Suite (183)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
$243
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 45 motels in Rotorua
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
*New* Now Fully Air Conditioned. We have been voted the number 1 Family Hotel in NZ 3 times. We are all about people. Do you want SPACE? Try us, we're the largest Units in Rotorua! Sleeping 1-8, they all have Kitchenettes, private spa pools, thermally heated, 2 TVs per unit. We are just a kilometer from town, and if you want to be really looked after while you visit Rotorua, stay with us! We are a 4 star rating. We have a beautiful new children's play ground and barbeque area built 2018 Oct and we have a mountain bike house down area with a massive shed for secure storage. We look forward to hosting you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Hiking
Fishing
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Spa
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Housekeeping
Seating area
Sofa
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

296 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010 New Zealand
1,214Review3Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 933
  • 238
  • 35
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
GraceJ wrote a review May 2020
London, United Kingdom37 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the One bedroom mezzanine for 1 night. The unit was spacious and comfortable and it was great to have the private Jacuzzi. The person at the front desk was super friendly and there was space for your car right at the front of your unit. If you want to avoid credit card surcharge fees make sure to book directly on their website. Will stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mike and Annemarie Gallagher, Owner at Arista of Rotorua
Responded 27 May 2020
Hi GraceJ, thanks for taking the time to write a nice review on our page. We are really happy that you had a comfortable time during your stay with us. Arista’s number one priority is the guest comfort while having a magnificent time here in Rotorua! And also when booking direct, you can save $15 per night by using promo code 'DOD15'. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Arista team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matthew G wrote a review May 2020
New Zealand7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was one of the best motels I’ve ever stayed in - an immaculate, spacious family room well equipped with everything you could possibly need for a home from home stay. The kids loved the outdoor spa bath in our room, the playground, the selection of dvds to borrow from and most of all beautiful Boris the cat. We had a lovely welcome and all the staff we met during our stay couldn’t have been more friendly or helpful. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the Arista to others and will definitely be back to stay again in the future as there is so much to do in Rotorua a weekend just isn’t long enough!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mike and Annemarie Gallagher, Owner at Arista of Rotorua
Responded 27 May 2020
Hi W2826PKmatthewg, Wow! Thank you for writing this splendid detailed review, . Indeed you made the best choice for your holiday. Arista has it all if you are looking for spacious rooms, from our 62m² ‘One bedroom mezzanines’ up to the largest 150sqm 3 bedroom apartment we have. Here you can just spread out having your kids on the second level while mum and dad could relax downstairs. We are so glad you found us! We’re so happy to host your stay and hope you had a memorable time here in Rotorua. Thanks again for choosing Arista and we hope to see you here again, just remember to book direct and use promo code 'DOD15' to get $15 off per night! Kind regards, Arista team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ryan F wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had two wonderful nights at the Arista Motel in Rotorua. Mike was a fantastic host. The rooms were huge for a family of five - on two levels giving the adults some much needed space. Also had a kitchenette and Sky TV. In an added bonus, a private hot tub was located at the rear of the room. Great location on Fenton Street. Would highly recommend visitors stay at the Arista.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Hi there, Thanks for the great feedback, glad to hear you had a great stay. Our rooms range from 62²m to 92²m making them probably the largest of their kind in Rotorua, that's part of the reason why they are so popular. Isn't the private hot spa perfect, especially when its right at your back door step. We are certainly in a great location and I think we have a pretty awesome product offering! Your right Countdown (Supermarket) is only just down the road and is a great convenience to our guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wgtnfamily wrote a review Jan 2024
Wellington, New Zealand4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for two nights in the family unit. We were visiting from Wellington but my husband is Japanese and he said it was the nicest motel we had stayed in in NZ. The staff were very nice and contacted us in the morning to confirm our check in time and then let us check in at 12:30, when they heard we had arrived in Rotorua early (normally check in is 2pm). My husband and I enjoyed reading the book in the unit about the family’s journey buying and renovating the motel, and like many, we enjoyed meeting Boris the cat.
The room was warm upstairs on the mezzanine floor, but the boys didn’t complain and the air conditioner helped cool it down. We loved the upstairs downstairs and it worked great for a family with teenagers.
We also really enjoyed the spa.
We look forward to coming back again next time we visit Rotorua.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lara Ward, Guest Services / Front Office at Arista of Rotorua
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Hello Thankyou for your lovely review. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and yes Boris is always very popular especially with kids. It was a pleasure hosting your family and look forward to seeing you in the near future. Kind Regards Lara
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Casey C wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at arista rotorua was amazing 👏 service was lovely no problem finding what u need. 2 tvs with was a great help adult's could watch 1 while kids did. A small park that even I had gone on. Made sure we had fresh towels and coffee daily very spacious rooms thanks team at arista our 7day stay was amazing 10/10
Also enjoyed reading book in room of ur guys journey
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mike and Annemarie Gallagher, Owner at Arista of Rotorua
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Hey Casey, Thanks for the review! Sounds like you had a blast over your 7 day stay! Having 2 TVs does come in handy! I'm sure you enjoyed our new Samsung Lynx IPTV solution with built in secure Chrome casting! Being able to still keep up with your series and also cast kids shows on the second TV! Our gated kids playground is one of the highlights of staying with us, great for the kids and now I guess the adults too 😉 Thanks again for the review, we look forward to seeing you again next time! The Arista Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J L wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
6 adults stayed and enjoyed the Arista! The room & loft had everything we needed with lots of space, extra pillows, towels, etc The private outdoor hot tub is a big plus too! Everyone said their bed was good and they rested well. The aircon / heat pump kept the room temp pleasent. The location is good with minimal road noise and close 5 min drive to food outlets and town centre. The staff are helpful and friendly and we eventually found Boris the cat sleeping under the shrubs. Would stay here again and highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Discover63181597340 wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent customer service, perfect housekeeping service, very comfy beds, all major electrical appliances available in there for our convenience and to save time basic kitchen utensils available but more than we needed. Parking on-site. Perfectly fit into our budget for a family of 5 for 2 nights. 2 mins driving distance from supermarket and gas station and 3 mins to Eat Streat, means convenient location.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa M wrote a review Feb 2024
Brooklyn, New York13 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Arista is deceiving you on their web site. They withhold the fact that the bathroom is on the first floor and the beds on the second floor. If this information was listed on their site, I would not have booked this hotel due to my knee issues, vertigo and need to use the bathroom throughout the night.

The rooms are run down, could use new paint, and the rug looks like there are years of germs embedded. The spa area is small, dirty and covered. No day light at all. The rooms have very small windows making it all very dark and of course, there is no view of the lake which is 1.5 miles down the road and the center of town. You are literally away from all the action.

We arrived on a rainy dark day, was shown the room and immediately called another hotel to move to. Arista will not refund my money and I find this to be poor a business decision. They falsely advertise their hotel which have really the most depressing rooms. If you want to stay in a bright, well lit, clean, comfortable room with a view, do NOT stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maggie Rapana, Guest Services / Front Office at Arista of Rotorua
Responded 15 Feb 2024
Kia Ora Lisa, I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. Upon reviewing your reservation, I can understand the challenges posed by the room layout in relation to your knee issues and vertigo. We would like to clarify that the room type you booked, the One Bedroom Mezzanine, is designed with a two-floor layout, clearly indicated by the term "Mezzanine." We also provide virtual tours through our website to help guests familiarize themselves with our product offerings, including the layout of the rooms. We have reached out to the third-party website you had made your reservation on, to update the information about the specific room type you booked. The website had responded with “Unfortunately we do not have handwritten option for property OR room description. This is to prevent any language translation error on our live site” we would also like to clarify, that all other websites have been updated to make it clearer that the bathroom is on the ground floor and bedding is on the second floor to address any potential misunderstanding for future guests. Usually in these circumstances like yours, we try our best to accommodate guests by offering alternative rooms or in some cases our second property next door that has all ground floor units. Unfortunately this was not an option we could offer you, as all our rooms were fully booked at both properties. Regarding your concerns about the condition of the rooms, we appreciate your feedback, although this was not mentioned when you had requested a refund in person and through email, so we were not given the chance to address these issues. If you still feel that you have been deceived by the website that you booked from, you will need to contact them directly as we cannot process refunds to bookings made through third-party platforms. However, we would like to take the opportunity to suggest booking direct with us as we are much more flexible in these circumstances like yours, but as you had booked through a third-party platform the booking policies are strict. Ngā mihi, Maggie Rapana | Arista of Rotorua
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ann m wrote a review Dec 2022
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic location. Quiet. Allocated parking. Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfy beds. Lots of space for 5. Little laundry was very handy - washer and dryer. Hot tub was a bonus which we made good use of.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TonyM wrote a review Apr 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hi Mike

Thomas from the UK here. My wife and I were scheduled to stay with you 23/24 March.

I hope you are ok under the circumstances.

We called in early 23 March and you very kindly offered us coffee and a chat about the developing NZ response to Covid-19. We heeded your advice and headed back to Napier and prepared for a prolonged lock down. Once settled in Napier our brilliant host provided us with a very safe environment. We were able to pursue several lines of enquiry and eventually secured a flight to London via LA. After a roller coaster of a week we successfully repatriated ourselves back to the UK on 28th and are now safe and well at home.

During our stay in Napier we saw you on the national TV - v impressed.

Maggie and I are eternally grateful for our brief encounter with you as, but for your sound advice, we would not have secured our early return home.

As you personally embark upon a very difficult period our thoughts are with you. I wish you and all your family the best and I wish you and New Zealand a speedy recovery from the Covid-19 nightmare.

Kind Regards

Thomas (Tony) and Maggie
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rotorua, New Zealand30 contributions11 helpful votes
Yes all rooms are air-conditioned
greggordo asked a question Sept 2014
Margaret River, Australia12 contributions24 helpful votes
Do you have port-a-cots available? We are looking at travelling with another couple and we would need one each.
Rotorua, New Zealand30 contributions11 helpful votes
Hi there yes we have a couple of cots available, Free of charge. Just email us direct. Thanks again
Rotorua, New Zealand30 contributions11 helpful votes
Hi there Vanessa, Sorry we don't do a cooked breakfast, we are just a little motel along Fenton street and don't have a breakfast room. It looks like you are trying to work out the room configurations from a OTA (On line travel) site. If you go to our website it is much easier to work out from there every thing is clear and we have a great website. The family spring fling deal (with large rooms) comes with a box of corn flakes, loaf of bread, milk, 1 ltr juice and some small butters and jams etc. Thanks for your inquiry.
Zoe wrote a tip Feb 2024
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom20 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check which room you are booking if you have mobility problems as some beds are upstairs."
Read full review
Karron wrote a tip Jan 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There was not one complaint. Fantastic place to stay so central to everything and the staff are so helpful with anything you need to know ."
Read full review
Andrew H wrote a tip Oct 2023
Tweed Region, Australia311 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a BBQ and kids play area for families."
Read full review
Dreamer55250266716 wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Filling the spa bath takes a good 20 minutes, plus time to get the temperature right, so it's best to plan that ahead of time."
Read full review
Rosina Dawson wrote a tip Sept 2023
Tauranga, New Zealand5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Add this motel to your favourites 🩵"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rotorua area.
PRICE RANGE
$237 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
arista of rotorua hotel rotorua
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Cedar Lodge Motel
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionRotorua DistrictRotorua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARISTA OF ROTORUA - Motel Reviews & Price Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Arista of Rotorua
Which popular attractions are close to Arista of Rotorua?
Nearby attractions include Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village (1.2 km), Rotorua Central Mall (1.2 km), and Statue of Jean Batten ( Jean Batten Square ) (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Arista of Rotorua?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a spa, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Arista of Rotorua?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Arista of Rotorua?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Arista of Rotorua?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arista of Rotorua?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ciabatta Cafe and Bakery, Urbano Bistro, and Cobb & Co. Rotorua.
Are any cleaning services offered at Arista of Rotorua?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Arista of Rotorua?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village (1.2 km), Te Puia (1.5 km), and Government Gardens (1.8 km).
All Rotorua HotelsRotorua Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RotoruaHotels near Arista of Rotorua
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire