We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Apollo Hotel Rotorua

Save
Share
7 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3010 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (97)
Room & Suite (56)
Dining (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#61 of 89 hotels in Rotorua
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Apollo Hotel Rotorua their motel of choice when visiting Rotorua. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

While staying at Quest Rotorua Hotel, visitors can check out Rotorua international stadium (0.9 mi) and Te Papaiouru Marae (1.4 mi), some of Rotorua's top attractions.

Rooms at Apollo Hotel Rotorua offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a kitchenette providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

Room service, a concierge, and outdoor furniture are some of the conveniences offered at this motel. A pool and breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Apollo Hotel Rotorua, free parking is available.

While in Rotorua be sure to experience local ramen favourites at And Rice Japanese Kitchen or Kia Ora Japan.

Plus, during your trip, don't forget to check out a park, such as Centennial Park.

At Apollo Hotel Rotorua, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Rotorua.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
Spa
Concierge
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
198Reviews0Q+A42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 57
  • 64
  • 36
  • 19
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Renee wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions
Decent rooms and facilities, which appear to have been renovated/ refreshed within the past 5 years, but ultimately let down by little things, like old, torn and crusty blankets (& old down quilts literally spewing out feathers), cobwebs throughout the halls and mould on the windows. The pool is also FREEZING which is a shame. So ok for a short stay, but could do with a bit of TLC
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Manu wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions
Our stay at the Apollo was a dirty, broken experience that upset our children and was quite disgusting and disappointing overall. The Guest Folder was broken and out of date with pages loose all through it, and so we had no idea what services were on offer or what Rotorua highlights were recommended. Both our rooms were paid for with no option to get a refund should we decide to go elsewhere or not turn up. We checked in to find that the lift didn't work and our rooms were unclean. There was no other accommodation available in Rotorua at the time we booked. Reception had already shut early on New Year's Day when we checked in, so we were not able to discuss the state of our dirty bathrooms until the next morning. To greet us was black something splashed over our bathroom door at head height – hard to miss. The toilet walls were dirty and there was significant grease build up on both bathrooms' lower walls and skirting boards. Soap scum was hard and congealed on the shower soap holder - before our check-in, after a maid service on the first day, and probably was still there after we left. My husband walked in when the cleaners had just left our rooms, on the first day’s maid service, and he had to point out to them the black splashed soiling on the bathroom door, and the other dirty areas of both the units, because it was still not cleaned. I did wonder then how long things had been left in this state. At breakfast time we found a toaster covered with melted cheese on the elements which smoked out our unit, so we asked for a clean one, as the one in our adjoining unit (where our children stayed) was actually broken. One kettle was too dirty on the inside. There was poor lighting at the kitchen cubby housing the items and I found a broken knob off something stashed in the cutlery holder, a long, shallow tray hard to see into...fortunately my children relied on me for breakfast and I was the one who looked first before grabbing. The end of the broken knob was metal and razor sharp...a broken cupboard knob said the manager...I shudder at what could have happened had I not looked first as I went for the spoon, or if my children had reached in and sliced open their fingers. Very lucky. My son also swam in the pool and said something suspicious was floating in the water. We discussed with the Manager our concerns about cleanliness and the broken items and he apologized and gave us a new, working toaster. We talked about how, unfortunately, the cleaning messages are not getting through to the staff and that the maid service failed completely on noticing the dirty shower, walls, door and floors. The person before us at check out had also complained about their family stay, so we knew it wasn't just us. The Manager also explained that the hotel takes in single Mums with Youth Services and that they are overseen by that service. I said I had no problem with that at all, but not providing clean, safe and working units was not acceptable. We don't take holidays very often due to our daughter's sensitive state, and our stay at the Apollo was the only place she had a meltdown in. She spent her relaxation time each day trying to clean the rooms herself with antibac wipes, and, after seeing what was in the pool, smelling the spas and settling into our dirty rooms, it was all just too much for her. We are proud of our girl that she'd done so well this far on our family holiday out of her comfort zone, but so annoyed that we all had no choice but to wash and eat in unclean, unloved spaces. We did stay in an amazing hotel in Napier with no cleanliness issues, no sharp or broken things....and the best one we experienced was in Matamata. We only stayed here at the Apollo in Rotorua for two nights on the tail end of a family holiday and we paid top dollar for these two rooms which were dirty and we felt very taken advantage of. Don't stay here, it's a waste of money and the rooms are inadequate, unclean and we felt dirty and disrespected here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
MadTaniwha wrote a review Jan 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand11 contributions2 helpful votes
I made my hotel booking based on the website photos. The reality was drastically different to the virtual. I also didn’t read the reviews before booking - a mistake I will never make again. We checked in and were told that the lift wasn’t working but someone was on site repairing it. From the reviews, I now know that it has been out of service for months. Our interconnecting rooms were dirty and smelled strongly of cigarettes. We didn’t want to put our luggage down let alone sit on any of the grubby furniture. I then did something I’ve never done before - asked to check out and get my money back. It is obvious that maintenance and cleaning is low priority and it is dishonest to market themselves as a good hotel and charge for it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Lee wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions
Absolutely do not stay here. I wish I had read reviews before we stayed but late decision to stay I Rotorua and accommodation was very limited. Expensive, compared to website claims. Filthy bathroom, run down premises, could not use the TV or heat pump, fridge noisey all night, the room stunk of a horrid chemical smell, had to open windows and doors, didn’t make much difference) revolting, and NO it was not sulphur. As for the common areas, the outdoor pool, the Spa pools and the sauna, a big YUK, to those areas. Receptionist needs to do a customer service course. This IS NOT a short term problem, the maintenance has obviously been deferred for years. Not impressed with Managers replies to other reviews, same complaints made in the past with obviously no action.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Penny wrote a review Dec 2020
5 contributions
+1
I can stay in many types of accommodation so long as it’s clean. But this place was filthy. Skin dust poofed up from the bed covers when you sat down. The bedside tables had a layer of dust. The bathroom was fully tiled and lovely but such a shame it was so filthy. Please see pictures. I completed a water and wipe effectively on arrival. Quite disgusting for the rate I paid. Would have been 5 star review if it was just clean
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sumit Rawtani, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Responded 16 Dec 2020
Hello PennyButler555, I am sorry to read we could not meet your expectations. We have spoken to the concerned department and required upgraded training has been provided. We look forward to welcome you back for a much enjoyable stay with us.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$58 - US$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
quest rotorua hotel rotorua
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Quest Rotorua
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionRotorua DistrictRotorua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Which popular attractions are close to Apollo Hotel Rotorua?
Nearby attractions include Te Puia (0.6 km), Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village (0.1 km), and New Zealand Maori Arts and Crafts Institute (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Apollo Hotel Rotorua?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Apollo Hotel Rotorua?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Apollo Hotel Rotorua?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Apollo Hotel Rotorua?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Apollo Hotel Rotorua?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ciabatta Cafe and Bakery, Chapmans Restaurant, and Matai Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Apollo Hotel Rotorua?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Apollo Hotel Rotorua?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Apollo Hotel Rotorua?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Apollo Hotel Rotorua?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tamaki Māori Village (2.6 km), Te Puia (0.6 km), and Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village (0.1 km).
Is Apollo Hotel Rotorua accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.