Aria's Farmlet
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Aria's Farmlet

396 Clayton Road Pukehangi, Rotorua 3015 New Zealand
Traveller (10)
Room & Suite (6)
Cottage kitchen
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#23 of 34 B&Bs in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
B&B is a modern home with aircon, central heating and relaxing spa. Self contained Cottages for families & large groups. Peaceful small-animal farmlet with lots of space and off street parking, but still in the town boundaries. Great for families and kids to run free. No sulphur smell, city bus at front gate, and most tours will collect at the door. Large beds, good company, and we'll point you in the direction of all the secret spots!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quaint
25Reviews3Q+A4Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 5
  • 2
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
NXS2014 wrote a review Feb 2023
Penrith, United Kingdom39 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a lovely place to stay! I had to change plans last minute due to the cyclone but it was the best decision to stay here.
The photos on here are all outdated - the rooms in the main house are very modern and decorated beautifully. It is spotless! There is plenty of parking and room in the house to chill. The hot tub on the decking is a bonus!
The included breakfast was great - I even had poached eggs. There was a great selection of fruit, cereals, toast and spreads.
Will definitely stay here again next time I’m in Rotorua!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wombats wrote a review Jun 2010
South Australia64 contributions55 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My family of 4 (2 adults, 2 children aged 9 & 12) stayed for 4 nights in the Cabin. Our first impression was not good - ultra tiny 'family' room with 1 uncomfortable 3-seater sofa & 2 old wheeled desk chairs. The cockroach that ran across in front of me when I put the light on didn't help things. My initial response was to turn around and leave, but we proceeded onward down a narrow passage to the main bedroom. This was a complete contradiction to the family room. Nice clean room with tasteful, good quality bedlinen, and what we later discovered was an extremely comfortable bed. Not exactly a spacious room, but enough for 2 suitcases on the floor. The second bedroom had a bunk bed with double bed at the botton, single bed at the top. Not spacious, but sufficient. The bathroom was also tiny, but the shower was always hot and even after 5 showers in 1 day didn't run cold. The kitchen had everything you would need for meals. Not terribly clean, but still able to be used. Both bedrooms had a strip air conditioning unit on the wall. As there were no spare blankets anywhere that we could find these were both on all night. No heating in the family room, so the a/c was on in the bedrooms whenever we were there.

Having the negatives out of the way, there were a lot of touches that made up for the shortcomings. Kayaks & bikes are available for use, the farm animals are friendly, shampoo and conditioner is available in a large dispenser in the shower, lots of extra towels & pillows (why not blankets??), there is a large spa outside spa kept at a perfect temp, a bbq and outdoor area for the summer months. The Cabin (and The Cottage - a much larger version of the Cabin for 6+ people) are set back from the owners' home. This gave it a very private feel.

The owners were absolutely lovely - never intrusive. We were brought a bowl of fresh eggs just after we arrived. When we asked where the nearest laundromat was our washing was requested, done and dried, and delivered folded to our door the next morning. That really was above and beyond!!

We received a greatly reduced price on our stay, presumably as it was the off season. The title I gave my review really does sum up our stay here. We truly did appreciate some of the extra touches, but these were negated by the lack of space and overall cleanliness. From my impression of a brief glimpse into the Cottage (BIG family area with what I believe was an open fire!!) I think we would have been better off paying the 6 person rate and booking the Cottage rather than the Cabin. While I would most definitely NOT recommend the Cabin, the Cottage may be worth a try.

I feel a great sense of responsibility being the first to review Aria's Farm and I have considered my comments at length before posting. Basically, the owners are great as are some of the facilities they make available, but the Cabin needs a complete overhaul and rethink of layout. The location is several km's from Rotorua, so you would need a car.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2010
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kerris B, Owner at Aria's Farmlet
Responded 6 Aug 2012
Ah I've just discovered this fabulous site two years later LOL ;-)) Sorry about the couch, I agree it was getting kinda old - it was upgraded last year to a brand new funky modern one! There are also now spare duvets for every bed in both rooms too (I think you may have mentioned this at leaving time, so we immediately sorted it.) Our rental holiday home terms require guests to clean the kitchens, so I'm sorry if the previous guests didn't leave it 100%. I've asked the housekeeper to keep an eye out... Unfortunately I can't do much about normal bugs from the farm and forest wandering around now and again though...thats just one of the things that will happen in nature... And thank you for your review ;-)) Kerris
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rpk_29 wrote a review Jan 2011
Canberra, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the 3 bedroom cottage, the largest place they offer. We were a party of 3 adults and 2 kids. Pros: nice location, near the center of town but far enough out to avoid the sulfur smell in most of downtown. The location is quiet. The farm animals were great and my kids loved collecting eggs , feeding the rabbit, and petting sheep. The owners were very nice. The full kitchen, spa, and BBQ were great. There was a trampoline, playhouse, sand pit and volleyball net the kids used. Lots of room in the living area with a DVD player and small stereo.

Cons: could have been cleaner, especially the cookware. They charged for a minimum of 8 people, but I wouldn't recommend it for that many. There wasn't enough storage for us 5 -- we were living out of our suitcases. That was fine because we had many extra beds to use for our suitcases. Also there is only one bathroom.

We would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2011
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FarmerBrowne, Owner at Aria's Farmlet
Responded 15 Aug 2017
Thank you for your feedback on the Cottage. We have since extended the two side bedrooms to now be nearly double in size, and added a second shower and second toilet for more space. The place is now huge, so we'd love to have you back any time you decide to come back to NZ!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Spencer K wrote a review May 2017
Vancouver, Canada1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night with my wife and a friend and we regretted it. The floors were dirty, the dishes and towels weren't washed properly and there was no heating. A small storage room doubles as a living room. The mouse turds in the cutlery drawer were the final straw. Complained to the owner who oddly blamed the last guests for the state of the place. Apparently they have a cleaner.Yes, it's a farm but we didn't expect to stay in the pigsty.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FarmerBrowne, Owner at Aria's Farmlet
Responded 15 Aug 2017
Hello there, I am totally shocked to find this review and very concerned! Can you please tell me what date/year you stayed, and what name it was under? Are you sure this is the right place? It seems very weird since we don't do one-night stays, and we have at least two heating devices in every property. Please advise.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HuiaBay wrote a review Jun 2018
Auckland, New Zealand16 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
3 days before we were due to arrive on Queen’s Birthday weekend with a group of 16 for a special retreat that we had booked in March and fund-raised hard for, Aria’s Farm informed us that we couldn’t come: they had had a burglary some months before in which they lost all their booking info and emails and so they had re-booked the property to someone else. Aria’s Farm did help find us alternative accommodation, however, so close to the long weekend, the only accommodation now available for a large group really didn’t meet our needs: small, basic cabins in a motor-camp instead of the ‘holiday homes’ we had booked, and costing $200 more than our Aria’s Farm booking.

We tried very hard to resolve things in a fair way with Aria’s Farm, but emails from Aria’s Farm became unpleasant when we communicated politely that we felt that Aria’s Farm had a responsibility to cover our increased accommodation costs.

We empathise that they were burgled, however the double-booking resulted because they did not have effective back-ups for their booking and email system. They entered into a contract with us, and good business practice would have been for them to do everything they could to ensure we weren’t left disadvantaged when they subsequently made a double-booking. If it had been us pulling out of the booking contract, we would have had to pay them $356 (20%), and ethically, we expected a sense of reciprocal responsibility. We would have appreciated it if Aria’s Farm had acknowledged that we were now ending up with less-adequate accommodation and a lot of stress due to their actions.

We were left sad, frustrated and very disappointed after our dealings with Aria’s Farm.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FarmerBrowne, Owner at Aria's Farmlet
Responded 30 Jul 2018
It was unfortunate for everyone post-burglary, with a large amount of cash, cards, and my booking diary stolen while we slept at night. Immediately we discovered there was a double booking, we spent the next 36 hours desperately searching for alternative accommodation for this group in a booked-out town over Queen Birthday weekend (which we did manage, even after they turned down two other options we offered). The accommodation we found was right down the road from their conference. Unfortunately we were still met with demands for compensation and threatened with legal action, and have ended up with this review which will continue to affect us into the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
steve t wrote a review Apr 2018
5 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in one of the cabins for 2 nights. We had to wash the dishes before you could use them. The bath towels were tattered. Lots of dead bugs in the light fixtures and on the floor. The bedding was clean although the bed not very comfortable. Found the linoleum floor too sticky to leave our shoes off as they requested. Chairs on the deck were too dirty to sit on, we used the chairs from inside the cabin. Internet did not work at all during our stay. On a better note the owner's were friendly and left us key for a late arrival. I would not recommend this for couples, it's better suited for families with children. Not a good value for the dollar compared to all of the other places we stayed during our 3 weeks on the north island.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FarmerBrowne, Owner at Aria's Farmlet
Responded 30 Jul 2018
Yes as advised our double room was booked, and this larger Cabin is based on our minimum 4-person rate, sorry. The other issues were not advised to us during the stay, so we were not given the opportunity to make reparation, but thank you for the notification. Bed has since been upgraded to new King Bed. Outside table & chair set has been replaced with a new one. Outside BBQ had been upgrade to new as well. We've hired a new housekeeper as well. Unfortunately, these guests left without paying, and the stay has still not being paid for as of July 2018.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PY1963 wrote a review Dec 2019
32 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Whilst staying in Rotorua as a family of 4 (2 boys aged 12 & 14) we stayed at Aria's Farm B&B whose hosts are Kerris and Colin.
We stayed in the cabin which was great accommodation for the 4 of us, and the continental breakfasts were fantastic - basically as much as you can eat!
Kerris & Colin are great attentive hosts and we would definitely stay again if in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Donna L wrote a review Jan 2019
Lithgow, Australia28 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived for check in right on time to feed the animals, as my children were so excited ( the main reason we booked this place), but as it was a hot day, we were told feeding would happen later, and they would come and get us. We waited until 6pm, but had to leave for dinner reservations. The following day, we waited and listened out, didn't see anyone feeding them again. We went for a walk to look at the animals, however they were all behind locked gates, and we could only see 1 chicken, and the rabbit cages on the lawn. My kids were very disappointed.
Cabin was a good size for family of 5, but as the second bedroom had a double bunk ( double bed on bottom, and single on top) my teenage son chose not to share with his sisters and slept on the lounge. Only problem was no aircon in the lounge, so it was pretty hot in the night.
We were asked to separate our rubbish, trash, recycling, and scraps for the pigs. I don't mind doing this, but had no extra bins to do so, which ment regular trips to the recycling bin.
We were also asked to read the 'Cabin handbook', which was a very long list of rules for the cabin and the cottage ( nextdoor). Would be easier if it was just for the cabin, as it was a very long list, but most of it was common sence, or normal common courtesy. I have never stayed anywhere and had to be told about 'adult socialing and drinking' and to 'clean our own sick up, or a cleaning fee would be charged'??
The handbook did however have lots of info for the local area. And I was also able to do 1 load of washing which was good.
In all, we were some what disappointed, as it was not as we expected. Not our favourite stay on the north island.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
owlineedislove wrote a review Oct 2018
11 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in the King Room with private bathroom, in the main house. We had the continental breakfast and there were so many options and fresh fruit cut up every day, plus they were happy to cater to my gluten free requirements. Kerris and Chris are lovely people, as are their kids. They welcomed us into their home and made sure we had the best holiday possible. It's central to the wildlife parks and heaps of other attractions like the Skywalk, Adventure Playground, 3D Trick Art Gallery, etc.

The farm is beautiful and we got to help feed the animals and collect chicken and duck eggs, and learnt so much too!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine H wrote a review Aug 2018
7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for a weekend with a group of friends who come down to Rotorua every year for a running event. This is a great spot for groups. Well-stocked, comfortable accommodation and a few extra perks including the hot tub. Found it warm and inviting at night with the fire and heat pumps. Kitchen is large and deck outside was perfect for a sunny lunch. Fun to have the animals around too - kitties, chooks and pigs. Thanks for a great stay. We’ll visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FarmerBrowne, Owner at Aria's Farmlet
Responded 23 Aug 2018
Nawww, thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We'd love to welcome you back on your next visit! Cheers Kerris
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trina M asked a question Feb 2018
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
I'm in new Zealand at the i-site
Trina M asked a question Feb 2018
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
How far are you from the i-cite
Answer from Trina M
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
I'm in new Zealand now at the i-site
Lorraine M wrote a tip Aug 2017
Russell, New Zealand156 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stop at the grocery store before you check in. Once there, it's so cozy, you don't want to leave."
Read full review
glandman12 wrote a tip Feb 2015
Tupelo, Mississippi37 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay in the main house and enjoy the delicious breakfast spread."
Read full review
jenjaina wrote a tip Feb 2015
Charleston, South Carolina4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The King room was great, comfy bed and in-suite bathroom."
Read full review
Ally J wrote a tip Jul 2012
Waterloo, Canada8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring warm pajamas if you`re staying over the winter, and a bathing suit for the wonderful hot tub!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rotorua area.
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionRotorua DistrictRotorua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARIA'S FARMLET - B&B Reviews (Rotorua) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Aria's Farmlet
Which popular attractions are close to Aria's Farmlet?
Nearby attractions include Rotofobia (4.5 km), Volcanic Air (4.9 km), and Wingspan National Bird of Prey Centre (4.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aria's Farmlet?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Is parking available at Aria's Farmlet?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aria's Farmlet?
Conveniently located restaurants include EL Mexicano Zapata Cantina, El Mexicano Zapata Express, and Poco Tapas & Wine.
Are there any historical sites close to Aria's Farmlet?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village (6.1 km), Te Puia (5.8 km), and Government Gardens (5.5 km).
All Rotorua HotelsRotorua Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RotoruaHotels near Aria's Farmlet
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire