We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bounty Motel

Save
Share
42 Selwyn Rd PO Box 170, Paihia 0200 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (69)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#15 of 41 hotels in Paihia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Bounty is a Kiwi owned and operated property, located in a quiet suburb approx 100 meters back from the Paihia Beach, shops and restaurants. It is a 3 minute walk to the wharf for dolphin watching, fishing trips, sightseeing and ferry to Russell. Tours to 90 mile beach and Cape Reinga pick you up at the motel entrance.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Complimentary tea
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
315Reviews4Q+A53Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 141
  • 129
  • 34
  • 5
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Missdannilouise wrote a review Dec 2020
Brisbane 63 contributions15 helpful votes
We stayed here for a night with the in laws and were lucky enough to secure side by side rooms with our own shared balcony. The hotel is only a very short walk to the beach and the main street of Paihia so we had slight ocean views from our balcony. Everything you could need is walking distance from the hotel including bars, restaurants, cafes, supermarket, pharmacy and tourist attractions. We had one bedroom apartments which were very generously sized and sparkling clean. It was hot summer weather when we stayed but the pedestal fans in the wardrobe were more than sufficient for keeping us cool. The check in and check out process was very quick and efficient with friendly helpful service. We loved our stay at the Bounty Hotel and can’t believe the value for money we received. We can’t wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Bounty Motel, General Manager at Bounty Motel
Responded 18 Dec 2020
Thanks very much for your kind comments and review.Its much appreciated in these difficult times and we aim to keep our prices down so people dont have to pay the earth and have a relaxing time out.Indeed we are very close to everything and not need to take a car.We can also offer great discounts and provide a great buffet breakfast across the road with amazing views. Paul
Read more
Meander293456 wrote a review Nov 2020
8 contributions
Great place to stay, lovely host and good prices. Close to the beach and shops , will definitely be back accommodation had everything you need the bed was comfortable and the kitchenette was great. I can recommend staying there
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
iamrhys wrote a review Nov 2020
Wellington, New Zealand261 contributions126 helpful votes
I challenge you to find a better deal in Paihia for your accomodation if you want to save money. Even the backpackers down the road was more expensive so we stayed here. Paul's place is 5 minutes from Countdown and the wharf with the restaurants. Asked for second floor and that's what we got. As previous reviewers mentioned the wood does make noises on occasion but this didn't bother us too much. WiFi was great, room was cleaned daily and I had a lot of extra $ to spend on dining out, tours etc. Room wasn't brand new, you can pay $300 a night down the road if that's what you want, but there's no guarantee the experience would be any better.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: 2nd floor is quieter
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Aroha wrote a review Oct 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand5 contributions
Had a poor experience with this place. We changed the date for our bookings to be pushed out one day. several months before we were due to travel. Admittedly I didn't follow this up as we had spoken on the phone and in the end, the motel couldn't accommodate us the day before our booking, which I understand. However the tone of the email and phone communication implied we were at fault and the continued confusion over whether there was or was not space for us on the revised dates was frustrating.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Bounty Motel, General Manager at Bounty Motel
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Thanks for your review,I dont quite understand the tone of the review and unable to track when the booking was made and the arrival date. If it was made with a third party site it should have been made with them to amend it. Our prices here are very competitive and we are very full a lot of the time and its very hard to change dates. Being in a great location as well in Paihia. I apologise if your experience wasnt good and should you wish to contact we will refund your monies or give you a credit for another visit,if you wish to stay. You are welcome to contact me.
Read more
Stay461848 wrote a review Sep 2020
New Zealand32 contributions10 helpful votes
The rooms are very spacious and clean. Kitchen has the basic utensils and crockery and room was serviced daily. I always read many reviews prior to booking but MY WORD nobody mentioned the structural noises and cracking sounds that keeps you awake at night. These are loud cracks due and sometimes so loud that it will wake you up
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Bounty Motel, General Manager at Bounty Motel
Responded 16 Oct 2020
Thanks for your rating and comments.Yes had some storms and gales during your stay and it was a problem with a lot of properties here at the time.I also up graded you to a room with kitchen. Paul
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$34 - US$77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bounty hotel paihia
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Paihia Central Motel
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandNorthland RegionBay of IslandsPaihia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bounty Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Bounty Motel?
Nearby attractions include Paihia Harbour (0.4 km), The Cabbage Tree Shop (0.2 km), and Paihia Bookshop (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bounty Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
What food & drink options are available at Bounty Motel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Bounty Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bounty Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Third Wheel Coffee Co., Terra Restaurant, and Letz Cafe.
Is Bounty Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Paihia.
Are there any historical sites close to Bounty Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Waitangi Treaty Grounds (1.3 km), Pompallier Mission and Printery (3.4 km), and Flagstaff Hill (4.0 km).
Is Bounty Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.