We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
14 Kings Road, Paihia 0247 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Priceline
Orbitz.com
View all 8 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#18 of 38 Specialty lodging in Paihia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Books, DVDs, music for children
Indoor play area for children
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Canoeing
Diving
Game room
Golf course
Hiking
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Darts
Fishing
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
112Reviews0Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 67
  • 31
  • 5
  • 3
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Active Runner wrote a review Jan 2021
Rotorua, New Zealand3 contributions2 helpful votes
Our family stayed in a family room of Saltwater Lodge on 26 to 30 Dec 2020. We liked the location of Saltwater Lodge because it's only a short walk to the major shops in Paihia. Our friends in Rotorua, who stayed in the other rooms, convened with us in the common room to have wonderful group dinners and breakfasts. However, our friends and I all agreed that the respective rooms where we stayed in were dusty and not up to standard. I needed to clean the bathroom in our family room to make it suitable for use. The TV in our room did not work. There were insects in the linen that made me itchy. The bed covers were dusty. The room also had very limited power points. My family members and I found the room to have a bad smell. The room were never serviced during our entire stay. Never again are we going to stay in Saltwater Lodge. Our friends also had a similar bad experience. It was a terrible place to stay and a total rip-off. Shame on you Saltwater Lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nachiket Vaity, General Manager at Saltwater Lodge
Responded 7 Apr 2021
Hi Richard We are sorry that you didn't have an enjoyable stay with us. The date you visited was a very busy time of year for us, with 100% occupancy during your stay. Nevertheless, we strive to fully meet our guest's expectations at all times. However, upon reading your review and consulting with our staff, we found several inconsistencies with your account of your experience at Saltwater Lodge. Our rooms are cleaned to the highest standard, with a thorough clean occurring each new booking as well as a deep clean regularly. A guest from your group did come to reception and said they were sneezing frequently, we are confident in our cleaning standard and believe that this is due to the time of year, when pollen in the air is prevalent. Regarding your claim of insects in the linen, our laundry is sent to an offsite laundromat that hot wash all laundry. Upon your checkout, we cleaned the room thoroughly and could not find evidence of this. When a member of your party came to the reception to complain about the above things and other issues, our office staff actively tried to fix the issues brought up. Our staff member offered to give a considerable discount to your party, to which the group member accepted. Upon going to the rooms, we found that despite your claim, the microwave did work and that the tv was also working (the instructions were beside the remote). Upon checking out, another group member in your party proceeded to complain about further issues and threatened our staff member with a negative review if they did not receive a further discount. We found this threat to be unacceptable and decided to not give your party a further discount, given that $700 off the original booking had already been discounted. Saltwater Management
Read more
Lucia L wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Me and my friend stayed at Saltwaterlodge for two nights and we definitely recommend this hostel. Very nice staff, clean room and comfy beds! Also the area is nice to explore, we did a day trip to Russel and Paihia is a nice little town for drinks.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Oriana P wrote a review Oct 2019
3 contributions
We stayed at Saltwater Lodge two nights in October and it was lovely! We booked a 6 bed dorm and got upgraded for free to a 4 bed dorm. The room and bathroom were clean and the bed comfortable. There weren't many people staying at the hostel at the time so there was more than enough space in all the common areas. The kitchen was well equiped. The best part was Ben! The manager of the hostel. He made us feel welcome from the start and recommended really cool places to see. We absolutely recommend the place and would love to be back there sometime.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SaltWaterLodge, Manager at Saltwater Lodge
Responded 26 Oct 2019
Hey Oriana! Thanks for such a nice review! It was a pleasure to have you guys stay :) Look forward to seeing you next time.
Read more
Helen S wrote a review Oct 2019
Quindalup, Australia448 contributions43 helpful votes
I haven't stay in a hostel for about 40 years. I was so impressed by how clean this place was. The layout was excellent with great facilities. Don't stay anywhere else and the price is unreal. Direct your dollars in staying longer but when you travel - budget is the key word so this is the place for you. Parking is available underneath the hostel. Location is fantastic with an easy walk to the shops, beach & ferry. Ben the guy at reception was a happy person who made you feel comfortable being there especially me because I am of the older generation. Several room types available to choose from to suit the individual. Well equipped kitchen to share with the other ffellow travellers and plenty of sitting available inside and outside.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Just enjoy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SaltWaterLodge, Manager at Saltwater Lodge
Responded 10 Oct 2019
Hey, thanks so much, Helen! It was lovely to have you with us and I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! I will pass that lovely feedback on to my cleaning staff :) Enjoy the rest of your travels! Ben Pearson
Read more
James S wrote a review Aug 2019
World Traveler403 contributions149 helpful votes
Friendly, helpful staff. Appreciated the early check in, Ben! Excellent location, easy 5-minute walk from the InterCity Bus drop. Well appointed dorm rooms, spacious ensuite bathrooom, clean and spotless with frig and complimentary coffee/tea, and a real sustainable ethic at this hostel (see photo) even real drinking and wine glasses, not the usual unsustainable plastic crap. Large well-appointed kitchen and lounge area. WiFi was generally very good on downloads but a bit slow on (4-6MB) photo uploads.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SaltWaterLodge, Manager at Saltwater Lodge
Responded 10 Oct 2019
Thanks, James! Thanks for the encouragement! We do try our best to operate in a sustainable manner and we are so glad that our guests feel the benefits of our efforts :) See you next time! Ben Pearson
Read more
David N wrote a review Feb 2019
St Gilles Les Bains6 contributions3 helpful votes
Noisy, Noisy, Noisy, Noisy, Noisy, Noisy... And Noisy! People don't respect each others. Walls are like paper. I must stay one more night, I don't want. At reception, they are quite gentle, we will see Tomorrow to change of place it's awfull.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SaltWaterLodge, Manager at Saltwater Lodge
Responded 16 Feb 2019
Hi there David, We are sorry that your stay was so uncomfortable for you. If you could get in contact with us at info@saltwaterlodge.co.nz we would love the chance to make this right with you.
Read more
Sachi wrote a review Jan 2019
Auckland, New Zealand174 contributions6 helpful votes
I stayed in this place during my Northland trip. My bed was comfortable, room was clean and so was the bathroom. Room service was fine everyday. I must say Ben and Nachiket were good hosts and had some great customer service skills. There are few restaurants and bar also next door. Would highly recommend this place! Cheers
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SaltWaterLodge, Manager at Saltwater Lodge
Responded 19 Jan 2019
Hi Sachindri, It was so nice to have you guys stay with us! Thank you for the lovely review and we hope to have you again in future! Ben
Read more
Ginny759 wrote a review Jan 2019
Sydney, Australia5 contributions2 helpful votes
Good property. Clean and tidy. Staff evicited us due to having visitors (they were visiting, not sleeping there). Staff would not give refund. Do not stay here if you plan to have people visit you as they will evict you. I am happy to remove this negative review if staff refund me.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SaltWaterLodge, Manager at Saltwater Lodge
Responded 15 Jan 2019
Hi there, So the issue here is that you booked and paid for a room for two adults and subsequently invited three visitors to the property. We are happy for guests to invite their visitors to the property until 7 pm. This policy is clearly stated in signage visible at the entry to the hostel stairs. Upon check-in we advise our guests that after 10:30 pm the deck is closed but we are happy for guests to use the lounge until mid-night and we request that they keep noise to a minimum in consideration of other guests. On the first night of your stay, your group became highly intoxicated and caused a disturbance throughout the entire night, through the morning and into the day, with additional friends. Three people occupied the room overnight and due to continued disturbance and destruction of property caused you and your guests the Police were called. The Police told your party that you must check out at 10 am, which you did not do. At 2pm we asked you to pay for the extra guest who stayed with you over night. You refused to do so and were then asked to leave. You agreed to vacate and it was made clear that there would be no refund for the following pre-paid room night due to the additional guest which had not been paid for and the disturbance caused the previous night. Glad to say this matter has been resolved, however it has left us at a loss as we now have received negative reviews for other guests saying that they were unable to rest with all the shouting and disruption caused by your group on that night. Not a great start to 2019 for them despite our best efforts to accommodate everyone in an enjoyable and comfortable way.
Read more
Nina_Murphys wrote a review Dec 2018
Christchurch, New Zealand296 contributions122 helpful votes
It’s a Tuesday night, 1AM and lots of noise coming from the windows. Nobody stays at the reception, so no one to ask for some order. I paid more to stay in a single room willing to get some rest, but its be impossible to fall sleep with all the laughs, screaming people outside! Depends what you’re looking for!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SaltWaterLodge, Manager at Saltwater Lodge
Responded 15 Dec 2018
I am sorry that you found your stay at Saltwater Lodge noisy; unfortunately we do not operate the Reception throughout the night however we do have an out of hours phone number detailed in the in-room compendium should guests require assistance during the night. The Lodge Manager is also accomodated on site and we monitor noise levels carefully with the assistance of our Security guard. We had no other reports or concerns from guests about noise last night so it is unfortuante that you had this experience. I hope that you will be keen to return and give us another chance in future.
Read more
l_glitzenhirn wrote a review Oct 2018
Kassel, Germany5 contributions1 helpful vote
The hostel is located next to 5 other hostels in Paihia.The rooms are pretty big for their price, the beds are clean and the Wifi excellent! The kitchen has a lot of good equipment (e. g. two sandwichmakers). The staff was super friendly. My only complain is that the room was a bit cold at night even though the heater was turned on.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nachiket_VAITY, Manager at Saltwater Lodge
Responded 31 Oct 2018
Thank you for the review. Delighted to know you liked our facilities and services. Apologies for the heating inconvenience caused to you. Best wishes for your travels.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$48 - US$49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandNorthland RegionBay of IslandsPaihia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Saltwater Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Saltwater Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Paihia Harbour (0.5 km), Pipi Patch Bar (0.04 km), and St Paul's Anglican Church (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Saltwater Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a golf course.
What food & drink options are available at Saltwater Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Saltwater Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Saltwater Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tipsy Oyster Tapas & Bar Restaurant, El Cafe, and JFC.
Is Saltwater Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Paihia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Saltwater Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Saltwater Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Saltwater Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Waitangi Treaty Grounds (2.0 km), Pompallier Mission and Printery (3.3 km), and Flagstaff Hill (4.0 km).
Is Saltwater Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.