Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Anchorage Motel

Traveller (116)
view from our room (number 10)
Room & Suite (51)
Anchorage Motel in the Bay of Islands
Pool & Beach (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 20 Apr
Go to your Happy Price
$175
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#4 of 37 hotels in Paihia
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to Anchorage Motel A warm welcome from owner/hosts, Aileen and Denis. Ideally located motel on the central waterfront of Paihia, in the subtropical Bay of Islands, the cultural hub and recreational Mecca of historic Northland. Come and anchor at our spacious luxury accommodation, designed for comfort and relaxation. Ideal place to stay for couples, family groups and business people. The ideal anchorage for your holiday in the Bay of Islands.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Canoeing offsite
Spa
BBQ facilities
Street parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary tea
Fishing
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English
603Reviews3Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 404
  • 168
  • 20
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
John H wrote a review Feb 2020
Sudbury, United Kingdom409 contributions89 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The first waterfront motel you come to when arriving in Paihia from the south. It is at the bottom of the hill on the corner as you round the bend to continue along the beach front on route 11. We had a one bed studio on the first floor with great views over the bay towards Russell. The balcony is primarily a walkway with chairs and is the only means of accessing the rooms, so, although it is pleasant to sit outside, there is no privacy. Facilities include a large double bed, Large flat screen TV with Sky box, kitchenette with hob, microwave and fridge, Tea/coffee etc. The bathroom included a sizeable shower cubicle with powerful shower, and toiletries. The small pool at the front of the hotel is surrounded by grass and has a few sun loungers, and the spa is turned on from 3pm daily. This space is very nice for relaxing after a day sightseeing. The one criticism we have is that the large patio doors and louvre windows, although good at letting air into the room so the need for the air conditioner is limited, do also let a great deal of noise in, both of traffic and the sea. This is probably why earplugs are provided.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AnchorAnchorage2, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Hi John Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for your wonderfully detailed review. Many thanks the Team of the Anchorage
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vicki L wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at this motel a few times and would definitely recommend it. The rooms are very clean and up-to-date. The beds are comfortable, bathrooms have a big shower and kitchen has all equipment needed to cook. Very pleasant 5 minute walk to central Paihia and restaurants. If the weather is nice there is a lovely pool to use.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AnchorAnchorage2, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Hi Vicki Thank you for staying with us again. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks for a wonderful review the team of the Anchorage
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Treasa D wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in mid December for five nights, in units 15 (fully accessible) and 2 for our group. The location was excellent - right across the road from the beach and only a short walk (500 m) into town. One of our party is in a wheelchair, so accessibility was essential. Anchorage did not disappoint! There was easy access into the unit and the bathroom is fully accessible with grab rails etc. The pool area is lovely for relaxing (and again is accessible). The cafe next door (Alfresco) is great - a lovely beachcomber feel; great coffee in the mornings and don't miss out on the buttermilk chicken burgers or the great selection of Northland wines.
Added to all of that was a warm friendly enthusiastic welcome from all the staff; spotless units; well equipped kitchens (although we ate out all the time); comfortable beds and the sound of the sea as we drifted off to sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Unit 15 fully accessible for wheelchair use; upstairs units would have had best view (and be...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
smilespiles wrote a review Feb 2020
Tavistock, United Kingdom81 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice apartment on ground floor. Owner was friendly and outside area nice.
Was a bit worried when I saw we were supplied with ear plugs and used them every night due to not being used to single glazing so I could hear kids across the road playing music,letting fireworks off,and traffic. But thats just me ,not everyone is the same.
Didn't appreciate fellow travellers leaving engines running and playing music in the morning right outside the rooms early in the morning but that's just inconsiderate people not thinking about others. Sort of felt I was in a car park and had to keep blinds closed as everyone entering can look right into room.
Also bathrfloor not swept the time I was there,cleaned to a high standard everywhere else it may be something could be done as well. Overall very nice but maybe I should have chose an area away from the road and a tad more private. Don't let it put you off,these are nice apartments. Ps, a few more drawers would be good. Had to take ironing board and iron and spare blankets and place untidily in apartment to use wardrobe so not ideal,only one of us unpacked due to lack of clothing drawers which makes you feel not settled imo.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AnchorAnchorage2, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Hi smilespiles Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments, we will look into the lack of drawer space. Yes unfortunately not everyone is as considerate as most people are regarding noise levels. The young adults across the road all left just before 10.30 pm once security turned up to move them on, we were keeping an eye on them. We do hope you enjoyed your time exploring the Bay. Many thanks the team of the Anchorage
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zabb2014 wrote a review Apr 2020
Los Angeles, California40 contributions32 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was one of the worst place I ever stayed in my life. The woman who was at the reception desk when we arrived, had a terrible attitude, rude and acted with completely disregard to our prepaid reservation. She told us that there’s was only one room left, that the motel was completely full and that she had no other rooms available. The room that we got was dirty, smelly and extremely noisy under the staircase and behind the front desk room. We could hear all conversations on the other side of the wall. This is the reason that we found out about four other couples that checked in after us and they were given a choice to select their room among several options. The difference was, the other people after us were New Zealanders, we were coming from USA. The woman at the front desk was the owner of the motel, and she’s only interested to cater to local clients. She is an extremely ungrateful and a liar, who is not interested in anything else but collecting money from foreign tourists. We only stayed one night in the disgusting room. I will not recommend this ugly place, not even to my worst enemy. Please avoid It, there is plenty of choices in town, better for your money and a better treatment, specially if you are coming from the United States.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AnchorAnchorage2, Owner at Anchorage Motel
Responded 26 Jun 2020
Hello Zabb, We find this review very hard to believe !!!! On your arrival you and your partner wished to make a change to the unit that you had both booked. We tried to assist in every way possible, you viewed and inspected another unit that you both thought that you would be more suited to. So we rang the other guests that were booked into that unit and asked them if they would like to move to the unit that you had booked they were more than happy to make a change. As for not offering you another unit, we only had a family unit (more money available for 2 nights ) which didn’t suit you either as you were only staying with us for 1 night.. Your dramatic and theatrical behaviour is something that we have never experienced before, but in reading some of your other reviews there seems to be a pattern. We are a family owned business for the past 22 years and have always aspired on hospitality and love nothing more than making everyone’s holiday in the Bay of Island’s a memorable one. Kindest Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Monty S wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Host were being rude with communication. Location was nice. They charge me extra for infant under 1 year old. Extra bed was not necessary but they just made extra money from me. After giving me price of 770$ for 10 people again they charge me 825$ which is expensive for 1 night.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanne86 wrote a review Nov 2020
Auckland, New Zealand110 contributions40 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a first floor one bedroom unit with excellent views of the harbour sometimes a bit noisy because of traffic at weekend. This unit had its own kitchen which made cooking easy. The unit was extremely clean and modern, with lounge furniture and comfortable beds. There was a swimming pool with a seperate spa pool and outdoor seating. We found motel staff were helpful and pleasant. The walk to town was easy and we are in our late seventies. We would definitely stay again next time we are in Paihia.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Take a 1st floor level to get view.i
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ekulandaidyl wrote a review Jan 2020
7 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We really enjoyed our stay at the Anchorage Motel. We booked an upstairs room with sea views and were very impressed with the room we were given. The room was clean, well furnished and comfortable for our family of four to use as a base to explore the Bay of Islands. The view was impressive, we enjoyed watching several large cruise ships arrive in the mornings from our room whilst having our breakfast. There are several shops, restaurants and attractions nearby - most places are within walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Upstairs, sea view rooms are worth it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AnchorAnchorage2, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel
Responded 2 Feb 2020
Hi Travellingpils Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you the team of the Anchorage
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A P wrote a review Jan 2022
5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Partner and I stayed in a upper level studio unit which had all the facilities needed for a comfy 4 night stay. Large shower with good water pressure, complimentary toiletries and clean towels daily if needed. Handy location to the beach, quay and the town center. (We parked the car and walked everywhere) The unit had a comfy kingsize bed, practical kitchenette, sky TV, a great sea view, awesome pool and toasty hot tub for use.
Hosts and housekeeping were very helpful and friendly.
Would definitely recommend this motel when considering a stay in Paihia.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Upper level units have amazing sea views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NIStrach wrote a review Feb 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom60 contributions39 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Easy walk along the beachfront to Paihia with it’s restaurants, bars and wharf. A further 30 minute walk takes you to the Treaty grounds. Or take a trip over to Russell and make your way up Flagstaff Hill. If you don’t have the puff take a minibus tour bookable as you get off the ferry in Russell.
Staff at Anchorage were extremely friendly and make use of the pool with its sun loungers. Sitting by the pool with a chilled glass of wine was a great way of winding down after enjoying the day.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AnchorAnchorage2, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Motel
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and had a great time exploring the Bay. Many thanks for your lovely review. The team of the Anchorage.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heidi S asked a question May 2019
Chippenham, United Kingdom47 contributions27 helpful votes
Are there cots available for infants?
Answer from Simonette B
Christchurch, New Zealand65 contributions10 helpful votes
Owners and staff are very customer service orientated and I would be surprised if they did not organize a cot if you asked them.
Heather R asked a question Dec 2016
Somerville, Massachusetts, United States4 contributions2 helpful votes
Does anyone remember what time check in/out is? I can't find it any where!
Answer from Christine W
Christchurch, New Zealand192 contributions20 helpful votes
2pm check in 10 am check out
900Tina asked a question Sept 2016
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
Hi Is the pool heated? Thanks :)
Answer from AnchorAnchorage2
Paihia, New Zealand
Hi Tina, Sorry our swimming pool is not heated but our outdoor spa is up and running which is just fabulous on these chill evening a great way to relax.
Rochelle C wrote a tip Nov 2022
Tauranga, New Zealand725 contributions64 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just to note that the motel does not have a shop but supermarkets & dairy are within walking distance. The laundry has a washing machine & drier with $4 tokens. "
Read full review
A P wrote a tip Jan 2022
5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upper level units have amazing sea views"
Read full review
Treasa D wrote a tip Dec 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Unit 15 fully accessible for wheelchair use; upstairs units would have had best view (and be quieter);"
Read full review
Jackie R wrote a tip Sept 2021
Dunedin, New Zealand5 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"we had a first floor unit and that had a lovely view of the waterfront"
Read full review
Trish wrote a tip Jul 2021
Dargaville, New Zealand67 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking was plentiful "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Paihia area.
PRICE RANGE
$206 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandNorthland RegionBay of IslandsPaihia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ANCHORAGE MOTEL - Now $231 (Was $̶2̶8̶1̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Paihia, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Anchorage Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Anchorage Motel?
Nearby attractions include St Paul's Anglican Church (0.3 km), Sandpit Poolroom & Bar (0.1 km), and Salt Water Bar (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Anchorage Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Anchorage Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Anchorage Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Anchorage Motel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Anchorage Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include JFC Paihia, El Cafe, and Tipsy Oyster.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Anchorage Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Anchorage Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Paihia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Anchorage Motel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Anchorage Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Pompallier Mission and Printery (3.2 km), Waitangi Treaty Grounds (2.1 km), and Flagstaff Hill (4.0 km).
Does Anchorage Motel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Paihia HotelsPaihia Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PaihiaHotels near Anchorage Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire