We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Corner Bridge Street And Hardinge Road, Napier 4144 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$140
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Hotels.com
US$140
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Agoda.com
US$118
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/08/22
TravelocityUS$140
travelup.comUS$149
FindHotelUS$128
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (230)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (7)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#7 of 46 hotels in Napier
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set in the picturesque seaside village of Ahuriri. The Crown Hotel Napier is located on the waterfront amongst boutique shops, cafes and restaurants and only a short drive to the award winning vineyards of the Hawkes Bay. The hotel offers 39 guestrooms and suites. Choose from the elegant heritage suites in the original 1932 Crown Hotel building or the contemporary designed rooms overlooking the ocean. The Crown Hotel offers the ultimate combination of classic opulence and history to modern luxury and design. Offering complimentary WIFI, full conference facilities, complimentary undercover carparking, daily newspaper, guest laundry, fitness centre, outdoor courtyard with fireplace, house bar and Milk & Honey Restaurant...relax and indulge at a boutique hotel with timeless charm and genuine personalised service.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Seating area
Iron
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Hindi
1512Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,014
  • 420
  • 55
  • 12
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
SamJCT wrote a review Apr 2022
dubai8 contributions2 helpful votes
This place is noisy! Especially if you end up in a room above the cafes. You get to endure people talking below you, inhale the cigarette smoke wafting up along with the exhaust fumes from vehicles driving past. And all this on top of the noise from neighboring and above rooms. The rooms are clean, however the bleach smell takes some getting used to in the bathrooms as they don't appear to rinse ther floors after mopping them with cleaner. The reception staff seem nice and apologize but that's it. There is no attempt to make your remaining stay pleasant Go elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michele Cole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier
Responded 5 Apr 2022
Dear SamJCT Sorry that you thought the hotel was too noisy with the cafe underneath the hotel with people outside talking. Not sure how I am going to stop exhaust fumes from vehicles driving past! We do not use bleach on the floors and we do mop/rinse them after they have been cleaned. Thank you for letting us know on the final day of your 3 night stay! Kind Regards Michele Cole
Read more
Angela B wrote a review Feb 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand10 contributions4 helpful votes
A good sized room that was really clean and tidy. Very quiet. Close to the beach, restaurants etc. Some great extras such as bathrobes, spa bath and dishwasher. Could do with more points to plug in cables to charge devices and to be picky, some scissors.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michele Cole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier
Responded 5 Apr 2022
Dear angelab001 Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. It was a pleasure in having you stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Michele Cole
Read more
KapitiKiwis wrote a review Jan 2022
Raumati Beach, New Zealand822 contributions291 helpful votes
We had 1 bedroom front room with a deck and view over the ocean. The beach was across the road and past a car park. the room was very comfortable, we pulled up the two comfy chairs up to the window and spent out few days sipping wine and taking in the views. Restaurants, bars and shops were a few minutes walk and plenty of choice along the waterfront about 6 minutes walk. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and also enjoyed brunch at the cafe downstairs. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michele Cole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier
Responded 16 Jan 2022
Dear Lynne M So pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back! Kind Regards Michele Cole
Read more
Odyssey671873 wrote a review Jan 2022
Hamilton, New Zealand1 contribution
Stayed for 3 nights 8th till 11th Jan, paid over $1000, on the second day after being out all day ,room hadn’t been serviced, we had been told all rooms were serviced daily, rang reception and after 10 minutes of excuses were told we weren’t a priority because they had a full house the previous night . After pushing them hard the cleaners eventually serviced the room , head cleaner told us we were expecting too much and would we like to spend a day in her shoes. ?? We suspected on the first night that the sheets hadn’t been changed from previous guests as well but didn’t say anything ,, should have in hindsight. Windows and exit doors to the property were all filthy as well ,,, won’t be back ,,,
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michele Cole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier
Responded 16 Jan 2022
Dear Odyssey671873 Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Yes we do provide a daily room service and our housekeeping team generally complete all the arrival rooms first so our rooms are ready for guests to check in and then they complete the services, unless a guest requests that their room be serviced at an earlier specific time, in which we did not receive this from you. I am sorry your room was not serviced upon your return at 3.00pm as the ladies were about to get to it. It was done immediately upon your phone call to reception and we serviced your room whilst you were out the following days at the time that was suitable for yourself. Your sheets were absolutely new, clean and pressed sheets on your arrival as they are with ALL guest rooms and if you suspected they were not, then I would expect the guest to call us immediately. The large external hotel windows were professionally cleaned on the 23rd Dec and we clean all EXIT doors daily. Kind Regards Michele Cole
Read more
EnglishmaninAuckland wrote a review Jan 2022
North Shore21 contributions3 helpful votes
Below par from start to finish. They put us in a different room to what we booked and paid for, due to an ‘accident’ with the guests staying in our room before us (no further detail provided on what the accident was). No compensation was offered for this change and for ending up with a room that didn’t meet our needs. When you’re paying >NZD500 per night, you expect high quality - this was anything but. A very tired looking room which hasn’t been well cleaned, with a view of the road (not the sea). I wouldn’t recommend staying here until they have had a much needed overhaul of their rooms/hotel. In the meantime, they should adjust their prices down to reflect the tired state of the accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michele Cole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier
Responded 26 Jan 2022
Dear EnglishmaninAuckland Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us! You booked and paid for a 2bedroom and was originally on the 3rd floor however the guest that stayed the previous night flooded the bathroom which went through to the carpet and we did not want to place you in a room with damp carpet. You still had exactly the 2 bedroom that you paid for but we moved you to the 2nd floor and this had a king in one room and a king and single in the 2nd bedroom which gave you more space. Where as the 2 bedroom on the 3rd floor had only 2 x singles in the second room. Sorry that you think the hotel and your room requires an overhaul as we are always maintaining the rooms etc and the housekeeping team do a great job of the cleanliness of the rooms. The prices were slightly higher due to demand over the New Year period. Regards Michele Cole
Read more
Fearless36876427722 wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions
We found blood on the sheets at around ankle height in the bed. We weren't looking for a refund or compensation we just wanted them to acknowledge their wrong doing and look into why this happened so it didn't happen to anyone else. Instead the hotel manager tried to tell us it was our blood after we had assured her that we were 100% sure it was not ours. She then tried to put the blame on our 6yr old and 4yr old. Her response was an absolute disgrace. We haven't ever come across such poor customer service. We told her we had nothing to gain from telling her about the blood on the sheets and yet she refused to believe that her housekeeping staff may not have changed the sheets which is the most logical explanation. I never leave bad reviews but I draw the line at blood stained sheets, disturbing.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michele Cole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier
Responded 16 Jan 2022
Dear fearless36876427722 Firstly I want to say again that I am sorry you had a terrible experience with us during your recent stay. As discussed with you, I 100% guarantee that the sheets were stripped from the previous stay and clean sheets were placed on the bed as my Duty Manager personally stripped the bed from the previous guest and our Head Housekeeper actually made the bed with the clean sheets. Fresh pressed sheets are always placed on new guest arrivals. I do not accept to be told that my my Duty Manager is a liar. Your wife did tell me that she found the scratch marks at the bottom of the bed because she pulled back the sheets to see if your children had left any toys at the bottom of the bed as they were playing in the bed and yes I did ask 'if perhaps the children had scratched themselves while playing??' I was also baffled as to how the blood scratch marks had got there and I am so sorry that the end of your stay with us came to this feedback. Kind Regards Michele Cole
Read more
NatashaM101 wrote a review Nov 2021
Tauranga, New Zealand31 contributions11 helpful votes
Stayed in plenty of 4+ star hotels in our time and this was underwhelming. Basic room decor, no restaurant, bar was hardly open. The room rates are excessive for the location and the sparse amenities that are on hand. Sea views helped dampen the disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michele Cole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier
Responded 16 Jan 2022
Dear NatashaM101 Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback and I am disappointed to receive this feedback. Milk and Honey Restaurant is our onsite restaurant located at the front of the hotel. You can chargeback to your room for breakfast, lunch and dinner or order room service. They also have a bar within the restaurant or we have or small house bar in the courtyard which is open from 4pm. Kind Regards Michele Cole
Read more
Karen J wrote a review Jun 2021
Noosaville, Queensland, Australia16 contributions8 helpful votes
What a great place to stay - fresh clean accommodation and in the heart of Ahuriri. After a bad experience at Navigate we came here and loved it. So comfortable sign With all you require when you are away from home. Will definately stay here again - love it
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Clean, comfortable and modern
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michele Cole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier
Responded 5 Jul 2021
Dear Karen Thank you for such a lovely review and it was a pleasure in having you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Michele Cole
Read more
cowgirlNZ wrote a review May 2021
nz351 contributions64 helpful votes
We stayed here on the last evening of a ten day road trip and we were pretty tired by the time we arrived. Our check in was fast and efficient and Garry was so helpful, showing us where to park and where the lift from the car park was - he even gave us a late checkout for the next morning - great as it meant we could go straight to the airport. The room was an absolute delight - so well thought out unlike a lot of hotel rooms. It was spacious with the most brilliant luggage area that had shelves for suitcases to go on - fitting 2 large cases - and hanging space along with ironing board etc - it was out of the way, and so practical, almost like a walk in wardrobe. Another feature was the separate toilet - great! In the bathroom was a great walk-in shower and a corner spa bath which was nice for a hot soak. There was a tea making area with its own sink and all the normal things. Loved that it had it's own sink. The room had a sea view, and a glass sliding door out to a balcony with outdoor table and chairs. There was a desk, and two armchairs with a small table. Bear in mind too, that this was a Studio Room not a suite (Premium Studio). After all our driving we were so content to take in a movie at the boutique cinema next door (Globe) then grab a takeaway pizza from the place attached to eat back in our room - bliss! Totally recommend the hotel (and the cinema etc!) and would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michele Cole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier
Responded 5 Jul 2021
Dear cowgirlNZ WOW what a detailed review...thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback during your recent stay with us. Glad you had a relaxing albeit brief stay. We look forward to welcoming you back! Warm Regards Michele Cole
Read more
Sally A wrote a review May 2021
Wanaka, New Zealand569 contributions158 helpful votes
We had a one bedroom corner room - larger than the standard room - because it was a work trip and there were two of us. It had a small kitchenette (sink, small dishwasher, mini fridge, toaster & kettle) There was a balcony overlooking the street & waterfront. The bed was comfortable, and it was relatively quiet at night apart from a little traffic noise. The only drawback is that this hotel is some distance from the city centre, so its not ideal for shopping and restaurants. There are a couple of very good breakfast/lunch cafes across the street but if you want quality dining at night, you'll have to drive into the city centre. Complimentary undercover car parking.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michele Cole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier
Responded 19 May 2021
Dear Sally Thank you for your lovely feedback during your recent stay with us. You may not have had time to explore Ahuriri (where our hotel is located) however we have a large number of restaurants right on our doorstep across the road and West Quay, which is 5 mins walk has an entire strip of restaurants. Napier CBD is maximum 5 minute drive. We hope you do return to stay in Ahuriri at some stage in the future. Kind Regards Michele Cole
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$122 - US$156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crown hotel napier
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandHawke's Bay RegionNapier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Crown Hotel Napier
Which popular attractions are close to The Crown Hotel Napier?
Nearby attractions include The Urban Winery (0.4 km), The Globe Theatrette (0.04 km), and Spriggs Park Reserve Playground (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Crown Hotel Napier?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Crown Hotel Napier?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at The Crown Hotel Napier?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Crown Hotel Napier?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Crown Hotel Napier?
Conveniently located restaurants include Three Doors Up, The Gintrap Restaurant & Bar, and Master of India.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Crown Hotel Napier?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Crown Hotel Napier?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Crown Hotel Napier offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Crown Hotel Napier?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to The Crown Hotel Napier?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Napier Cemetery (1.1 km).