Albatross Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Albatross Motel

56 Meeanee Quay Westshore, Napier 4110 New Zealand
The living and kitchen area
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (49)
Pool
Pool & Beach (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#6 of 26 motels in Napier
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Albatross Motel has 35 fully equipped units to suit all requirements from standard and deluxe studios to deluxe 1 and 2 bedroom units. Overlooking the Ahuriri Wildlife Estuary Reserve and it's pleasant walkways & new cycleways. Only a 200m stroll to the safest swimming beach Napier has to offer- Westshore reserve. Rejuvenate yourself in our free onsite pool and spa. Perfect for families, groups or travelling corporates. Close to local restaurants and bars. We look forward to welcoming you to the Albatross Motel, where our accommodation is clean & comfortable. Our customer service is always welcoming, warm and helpful. Hosted by Gary Russell & Lisa Russell. Please note, room servicing will only be completed when guests are not present. Masks are required in all common areas
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Children's television networks
Spa
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Fence around pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Iron
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Hair dryer
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English

Location

56 Meeanee Quay Westshore, Napier 4110 New Zealand
648Reviews1Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 275
  • 264
  • 75
  • 22
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
taip260 wrote a review Feb 2020
Tauranga, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visiting Napier to attend Michael Buble’ concert we stayed at the Albatross Motel for 3 nights.The motel organised a bus to the concert which was full all guests from the Motel.There was 5 of us staying in 2 bedroom spacious accommodation. Very clean ,and everything we needed Fresh milk in the fridge ,microwave ,small stove all very adequate for our stay.The owners of the motel helpful and friendly.Would be very happy to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GaryR2711, Owner at Albatross Motel
Responded 5 Feb 2020
Thank you for your kind comments, we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KarynNesbitt wrote a review Apr 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was spotlessly cleaned and new shower was excellent.
Hospitality shown by host very poor.
My whole room shook when someone walked along the balcony out side my room. When child bounced his soccer ball along balcony it felt like an earthquake.
The motel is very cheap construction .
The tap fittings in bathroom and kitchenette were cheap and a poor design extremely hard to turn on and off. The small room was definitely not worth $ 190 per night despite attempt to refurbish as the quality of the construction was so poor.
I would never want to pay more than 130 or 140 for thus type of accomodation.
On positive there was a nice view of estuary .
On negative a noisy road below.
Felt ripped of by the price I was charge during Anzac weekend.
I would NEVER stay there again. So many nicer and cheaper motels in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Get a room on ground floor so your room does not shake when people walk past.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Albatross Motel, Owner at Albatross Motel
Responded 17 May 2021
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. Our upper floor & ground floor units are more basic rooms for truck drivers & contractors. We always recommend the premium rooms for tourists- you wouldn't know this by just booking the cheapest room online- it's always a good idea to call the motel direct and have a chat about your requirements/expectations to avoid disappointment (on both sides- as we don't like seeing people not enjoy their time here either)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon Leckey wrote a review Apr 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Room was Perfect for the 4 of us. Close to everything that we needed and a Bonus was the Spa Pool. Would Recommened to Anyone looking for a Clean and tidy Room at great Prices. Kids loved the fact they had Free Wifi which gave us some peace and quiet
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pristle wrote a review Apr 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay was an unfortunate occasion. Our AirBnB was cancelled by the host due to a family emergency at the last minute.

The Albatross was the last places that had room at the $200/night range the BnBs were charging. We can understand why. We just don't understand what warrants the $200/night.

I'll credit that the room was moderately clean on arrival. We had a jovial greeting from a gent standing in for the owner. Milk was provided. And there was a working heat pump unit.

From there it was downhill.

The shower, a bizarre exercise resulting in luke warm response with no pressure. Not something you really want after a long drive. See picture.

Towels were very tired and thin. The sheets were similarly tired, with holes. Which reminds me of the carpet and occasional chair upholstery too. See picture.

No complimentary toiletries beyond a "hand wash" dispenser in the shower and a "hair and body" dispenser next to the basin. The contents of both looked and smelled the same. Not pleasant either. See picture.

There's private patio, of sorts, out the back of the room. Not really that inviting. See picture.

As for the bed.....the best nights sleep was on night 4, when we were back home in our own bed!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid it. Next to a busy arterial road. Ground floor units need to contend with noisy occupants...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Albatross Motel, Owner at Albatross Motel
Responded 17 May 2021
It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay however your frustration for the Air Bnb being cancelled at the last minute seems to be aimed more to towards us and not your Air bnb. Napier motels are more expensive than anywhere in the country due to the lack of providers and is priced accordingly to supply & demand, you bought the last room in Napier. Towels & linen are provided by a dry cleaning service, carpets are in the midst of being replaced room by room. The beds are new but obviously everyone has different preferences. We do not offer complimentary toiletries as it is a waste of plastic & not good for the environment (according to Qualmark) The showers have an interesting feature- also an economic & better for the environment solution. All you have to do is read the instructions and have a little patience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
karori12 wrote a review Feb 2020
Auckland, New Zealand
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a studio unit at a hefty price, ages ago as we were lucky enough get tickets to Elton John concert at the Mission. We were disappointed there were no cooking facilities, only a microwave. The room was basically furnished, no comfy chairs. TV at right angles to the double bed and over the single. Basic maintenance not done, hot tap in bathroom not functioning well, shower mixer something we've only seen in UK, kitchen window would only open to fullest extent as stays were stuffed. So not recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GaryR2711, Owner at Albatross Motel
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Thanks for your feedback which will help us address any issues. We do have limited cooking facilities available in some units but obviously not all. Our regulars know this and when they call us direct we usually can accommodate what they need.Also guessing that when you looked online for accommodation during what can only be explained as one of the biggest weekends of the year you had a budget to work within and booked what was probably the cheapest available.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AucklandHibs wrote a review Apr 2021
Auckland, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic motel, clean and super friendly to cater for our family - had a cot, highchair and milk waiting for us arriving. Special mention to the friendly staff who couldn't be more helpful.

Location is slightly out of town, however there are lots of walks nearby and also a few bars and restaurants within walking distance in the marina.

Also worth noting the great fish and chip place around the corner in Charles Street (1 minute walk).
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Albatross Motel, Owner at Albatross Motel
Responded 5 Apr 2021
Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
oscarAuckland wrote a review Aug 2020
auckland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Seems to be popular with the truckies.Large vehicles parked on the road outside.
Our sleep was disrupted with noisy walkway outside our room where we could hear footsteps walking past.The price reflected the basic standard of accommodation and small room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Albatross Motel, Owner at Albatross Motel
Responded 5 Apr 2021
Thank you for your review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Explore67720150244 wrote a review Jan 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My colleague and I needed some urgent accommodation in Napier to support a customer. The Albatross had a twin room unit that suited our needs during the busy part of the summer season in the Hawke's Bay. The room was fresh, clean and welcoming. Excellent Wi-Fi speed! The shower was good with good pressure. We would certainly stay at the Albatross again. The BayView hotel just down the road was perfect for a walk for a very nice meal and a large selection of both local and national craft beers. Great garden bar to enjoy a lovely summers evening. Or I'm sure a cracking fire in the cooler months.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tiffany Collard wrote a review Jan 2020
Trundle, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This motel was a lovely clean modern place to stay. It's well priced for a good location looking out towards the water. Lovely presentation of your room as you walk in the door. Nice large bed for a double studio room very comfortable. With all acessories needed conviently in the room from kitchenette to fan and clothes rack.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GaryR2711, Owner at Albatross Motel
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neil R wrote a review Apr 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Made a booking on line, arrived and they could not find my booking, told me to go elsewhere for accommodation that night. After I left they then found my booking and charged me for not showing up! When I phoned to ask about the refund I got an argument and the phone was hung up in my ear. Do yourself a BIG FAVOUR and do not attempt to stay at this motel. I found another great place to stay at Deco City, can recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Albatross Motel, Owner at Albatross Motel
Responded 5 Apr 2021
The name you gave when you arrived was not the same on the booking and then you said as we where looking, oh no the booking has not gone through. So then I personally found you somewhere else to stay. On the booking that didn't show up we tried to contact the number and left three messages without reply. Then you decide to call after ten pm in the evening to discuss, believe it or not some of us work for a living and need to sleep at some point. You do us all a big favor and don't ever try come back, I have never met anyone so disorganized and just simply rude.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand3 contributions1 helpful vote
We have a few delux studio and one bedroom units that are not facing the road and with our new wall the noise has been dramatically reduced. Our kitchenette in the rooms are not set up for doing any degree of large cooking. Any seafood or strong smelling food including spices are not permitted in our units and extra charges will apply if found on departure. Our entire complex has in place a strict pest control system in place and sprayed on the recommendation of our pest control company. you may have read some older comments and as we are fairly new owners only put this system into place when we took over in July 2017.
AbodeTararua wrote a tip May 2021
Manawatu-Wanganui Region, New Zealand12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had a downstairs room. Very convenient"
Read full review
KarynNesbitt wrote a tip Apr 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room on ground floor so your room does not shake when people walk past."
Read full review
pristle wrote a tip Apr 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand20 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid it. Next to a busy arterial road. Ground floor units need to contend with noisy occupants upstairs."
Read full review
Scott wrote a tip Feb 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good view from upstairs."
Read full review
Sally M wrote a tip Oct 2019
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Top floor is great. Balcony tables and seating ready and waiting. Room 30 is perfect."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Napier area.
PRICE RANGE
$163 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
albatross hotel napier, albatross motel napier
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandHawke's Bay RegionNapier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ALBATROSS MOTEL - Now $165 (Was $̶1̶9̶9̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Napier, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Albatross Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Albatross Motel?
Nearby attractions include Ahuriri Estuary Walk (1.0 km) and National Tobacco Company Building (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Albatross Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a spa, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Albatross Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Albatross Motel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Albatross Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Albatross Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Thirsty Whale Bar & Restaurant, Westshore Beach Inn BrewPub, and The Gintrap.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Albatross Motel?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Albatross Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Napier Cemetery (2.1 km).
All Napier HotelsNapier Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NapierHotels near Albatross Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire