We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Albatross Motel

Save
Share
56 Meeanee Quay Westshore, Napier 4110 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#15 of 46 hotels in Napier
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Albatross Motel, Napier is located overlooking the Ahuriri Wildlife Estuary Reserve and it's pleasant walkways and only a 200m stroll from the safe swimming beach at Westshore or use our pool and spa, the perfect family accommodation choice or corporate accommodation. Only a skip across the road to join the new cycleways too. The Albatross Motel has 35 fully equipped units to suit all requirements from standard and deluxe studios to deluxe 1 and 2 bedroom units. We look forward to welcoming you to the Albatross Motel, where our accommodation is clean, comfortable and affordable and our service friendly and helpful. Your Welcoming Hosts: Gary & Jo Russell
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Baggage storage
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Hair dryer
Iron
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English
638Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 270
  • 261
  • 74
  • 21
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
AbodeTararua wrote a review May 2021
11 contributions
I recently stayed here with my sister & my daughter. We had a mid-week family getaway because we all live busy lives. We incorporated the stay with an outing to the Queen tribute concert and the town hall. We really enjoyed staying at the Albatross. The room was clean, modern and had everything we needed during our stay. The staff were lovely & helpful. We will definately return when we get another chance.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We had a downstairs room. Very convenient
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Albatross Motel, Owner at Albatross Motel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Read more
KarynNesbitt wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
Room was spotlessly cleaned and new shower was excellent. Hospitality shown by host very poor. My whole room shook when someone walked along the balcony out side my room. When child bounced his soccer ball along balcony it felt like an earthquake. The motel is very cheap construction . The tap fittings in bathroom and kitchenette were cheap and a poor design extremely hard to turn on and off. The small room was definitely not worth $ 190 per night despite attempt to refurbish as the quality of the construction was so poor. I would never want to pay more than 130 or 140 for thus type of accomodation. On positive there was a nice view of estuary . On negative a noisy road below. Felt ripped of by the price I was charge during Anzac weekend. I would NEVER stay there again. So many nicer and cheaper motels in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Get a room on ground floor so your room does not shake when people walk past.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Albatross Motel, Owner at Albatross Motel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. Our upper floor & ground floor units are more basic rooms for truck drivers & contractors. We always recommend the premium rooms for tourists- you wouldn't know this by just booking the cheapest room online- it's always a good idea to call the motel direct and have a chat about your requirements/expectations to avoid disappointment (on both sides- as we don't like seeing people not enjoy their time here either)
Read more
pristle wrote a review Apr 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand21 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Our stay was an unfortunate occasion. Our AirBnB was cancelled by the host due to a family emergency at the last minute. The Albatross was the last places that had room at the $200/night range the BnBs were charging. We can understand why. We just don't understand what warrants the $200/night. I'll credit that the room was moderately clean on arrival. We had a jovial greeting from a gent standing in for the owner. Milk was provided. And there was a working heat pump unit. From there it was downhill. The shower, a bizarre exercise resulting in luke warm response with no pressure. Not something you really want after a long drive. See picture. Towels were very tired and thin. The sheets were similarly tired, with holes. Which reminds me of the carpet and occasional chair upholstery too. See picture. No complimentary toiletries beyond a "hand wash" dispenser in the shower and a "hair and body" dispenser next to the basin. The contents of both looked and smelled the same. Not pleasant either. See picture. There's private patio, of sorts, out the back of the room. Not really that inviting. See picture. As for the bed.....the best nights sleep was on night 4, when we were back home in our own bed!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Avoid it. Next to a busy arterial road. Ground floor units need to contend with noisy occupants...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Albatross Motel, Owner at Albatross Motel
Responded 4 weeks ago
It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay however your frustration for the Air Bnb being cancelled at the last minute seems to be aimed more to towards us and not your Air bnb. Napier motels are more expensive than anywhere in the country due to the lack of providers and is priced accordingly to supply & demand, you bought the last room in Napier. Towels & linen are provided by a dry cleaning service, carpets are in the midst of being replaced room by room. The beds are new but obviously everyone has different preferences. We do not offer complimentary toiletries as it is a waste of plastic & not good for the environment (according to Qualmark) The showers have an interesting feature- also an economic & better for the environment solution. All you have to do is read the instructions and have a little patience.
Read more
J & K wrote a review Apr 2021
Te Awamutu, New Zealand1 contribution
The Albatross is definitely a case of you get what you pay for. It was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Our studio room was small but had every thing we needed. The shower was disappointing. To get a decent temperature we had to sacrifice pressure. Not ideal. The room was tired and in need of an upgrade. An OK place if you want an overnight stop over but not really suitable for a longer visit.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Albatross Motel, Owner at Albatross Motel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. Granted we are not a Tourist motel- more of a truck driver motel.
Read more
Colin wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions
The albatross is clean, friendly and well maintained, but it’s just old and in need of a complete refurbishment. Everything is in need of replacement, floors creak and zero sound insulation in the two storey units, front windows have zero sound proofing from the roads etc. Its not a bad motel but it’s seen better days.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Albatross Motel, Owner at Albatross Motel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Old building made from wood. Not alot we can do about that. Thanks for your review.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$74 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
albatross hotel napier, albatross motel napier
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandHawke's Bay RegionNapier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Albatross Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Albatross Motel?
Nearby attractions include Ahuriri Estuary Walk (1.0 km), National Tobacco Company Building (1.2 km), and The Gintrap (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Albatross Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Albatross Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Albatross Motel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Albatross Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Albatross Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Thirsty Whale Restaurant and Bar, Westshore Beach Inn BrewPub, and Paddys Irish Pub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Albatross Motel?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Albatross Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Napier Cemetery (2.1 km).