Deco City Motor Lodge
Lovely art deco styling.
Traveller (19)
Vue de la cour intérieure de la piscine
Room & Suite (12)
pool
Pool & Beach (4)

About

4.5
#8 of 26 motels in Napier
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
WE have the comfiest beds in the bay, new queen and some super-king Koil beds. ALL units with air conditioning both hot and cold. Spa bath suites,wheelchair access suites available. A Qualmark 4 star plus with many luxuries not normally associated with this type of property. Swimming pool, small children's play area, walk to shops, public pools, and restaurants.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast in the room
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. They are provided to Tripadvisor by third-party partners.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Art Deco Style
Family

Location

308 Kennedy Road, Napier 4110 New Zealand
252Reviews2Q+A70Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 158
  • 68
  • 13
  • 4
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Grace T wrote a review Jan 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Currently staying here & are so glad we chose this place! Pool is perfect size for our 3 kids (ranging from teens to toddlers), beds & pillows are amazing, the place is spotless, the spa bath is huge & incredible!!!!! Having 2 TVs has already stopped some squabbling, and the wifi has kept the kids happy during down time. Nice, quiet premises with great parking. Most especially I love the little touches - the mini bathroom commodities (shampoos/conditioners/bodywash/shaving kits etc) that have been topped up daily (I think the cleaners left extra for us today when they saw we were a family of 5!), the good brand coffee, the milk on arrival, the little biscuits. Thanks for making a great space for us to holiday in.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeannette B wrote a review Nov 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My workplace had made this booking for its location, affordability and it looked nice. We received a lovely courtesy call from the manager to explain access as we were arriving later than expected. We parked in front of the unit, unloaded and headed to the port for a meal. When we returned, there were no car parks available and we had to park well down the road. I found this very frustrating as I had work stuff that I then could not leave at risk in the car. The room was large and tidy.
This is obviously a very popular motor lodge and it was full of tradies.
Just wondering whether each units car park can be clearly marked and a sign that only one car per unit is available be considered. Appreciate that staff do their best but for a business traveller - or any traveller- an off road park is essential.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deb C wrote a review Dec 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A lovely warm welcome and a lovely spacious unit with a spa bath. Extremely comfy bed and nice arm chairs.
Well equipped kitchenette with a filtered water tap.
Close to town.
Parking and free wifi.
Def recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Polyester wrote a review Mar 2020
Wellington, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a two bedroom unit, so plenty of room, TV in one bedroom plus lounge, good kitchen, but no oven. Supermarket in walking distance, plus local shops. Very comfortable unit. Plenty of toiletries supplied. Iron and board stored in bedroom. Swimming pool onsite.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David wrote a review Dec 2020
Tauranga, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice and comfortable stay. Rooms are clean and tidy. Although a full house, noise was not a problem. Management were very accomodating and helpful. Handy location to the supermarket and other shops all within walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Discover35414022475 wrote a review Jan 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic all around and will give five stars. Friendly staff and very accommodating. Great location and close to shopping centre with supermarket and takeaways. Will definitely be back and recommend friends and family. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mad Max wrote a review Feb 2020
Wellington, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you so much for accommodating our large group of 10. Both units suited us well and everyone was happy with the sleeping arrangements. Units are large and spacious. Had a 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom unit. Reasonably close to venue. Will definitely stay again 👍
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kiwigal wrote a review Feb 2005
New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a great place to stay.

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights in a room with a spa bath. The spa is huge as is the bathroom.

The bed was huge much bigger than my king size bed. It felt like i had the bed to myself.

The room was quite, clean and made up each day.

The hosts/owners of the deco city were very helpful and friendly.

Will stay here again.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wunderlustkiwi wrote a review Nov 2014
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently stayed here for two nights and the service was absoutley appalling! We were informed we getting a certain room and did not receive that. After an uncomfortable night on a fold out bed that was bent and broken with springs digging into two adults backs. We spoke to the owner about the issue and his resolution was to put two duvets under the mattress to stop the bend in the middle, after trying out this option that obviously wasn't sufficient we then went to reception to speak to an employee about the issue. Her response was no better and not at all helpful, she offered us a roller away bed for one which was only able to help sleep one she then came to our room rudely told us well that's a fold out bed for you. After a long discussion she informed us the owners would be back at 9 and she will leave a note for them and they will contact us. 9 came and they didn't contact us so I did.......after explaining the issue the lady owner yelled at me asking why I had not informed them earlier, she then continued telling me it's not her problem and it's too late now. I asked if we could get a discounted room for the night because we had just a poor sleep the night before. She phoned back and continued yelling at me and I could also hear the male yelling stuff at me also. In complete utter shock I hung up and couldn't believe I was paying for such a service that would think its okay to speak to a customer that way!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clinton G, Owner at Deco City Motor Lodge
Responded 18 Nov 2014
Thank you for your feedback although we were VERY surprised and concerned to read your comment especially since we spoke to your mother who both booked and paid for your accommodation and had no issues? Please remember that you had only booked a unit for 5 people however there were 6 people in the room (one that we were not aware of) if we had of known of the 6th person we would have put you into a different 2 bedroom unit from the start. Once we were aware of the extra person we did not charge for that person. Regarding the fold out bed, one person on the fold out bed has never been a problem. We have had many guests sleep on these beds with no issues in the past. We are not sure how the bed got twisted during your stay however this would explain the challenge folding it up. We always do whatever we can to accommodate our guests and if there are ever any concerns we do everything possible to fix them. We do understand guest frustrations however when you called at 9.45pm to vent and not give us the opportunity to fix them we are not really sure what more we could do to help? We did offer a roll away bed however you refused to accept this? As stated above we were very concerned and surprised to read your comments, your parents have stayed here before and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. In fact when they called to make the booking we even offered them a $45.00 discount on the room rate, not to mention not charging for the extra person? Again we are sorry your experience was not up to your standard and hope this has explained things a little better. Kind regards Clinton Green Owner Deco City Motor Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JayLewer wrote a review Dec 2015
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place was a big let down. The actual rooms themselves were clean, tidy, spacious and well sufficient for a couple of nights. However. The hosts where some of the most nasty people I've ever met. I purely would never return or recommend on the basis that these two hosts, the women in particular! Rude, obnoxious, in flexible and sour. I was shocked. 0/5.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Alisdair J
Napier, New Zealand
Yes there is a BBQ and we also have cooking facilities in some of the rooms. Make the request when you book.
Poss2014 asked a question Apr 2016
Broadbeach, Australia
Is there an airport shuttle service?
Answer from Clinton G
Napier, New Zealand
We are at times able to do this but it does depend. e,g, arival times and if we are available.
Matthew23751 wrote a tip Mar 2019
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Most room are away from the front road."
Read full review
Glenda A wrote a tip Aug 2018
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We prefer a downstairs unit and ask for an access unit, as I find it hard to use a shower above a spa bath."
Read full review
JustinZAR wrote a tip Dec 2017
Auckland Central, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get in early to ensure a parking spot in front of your unit, carpark gets busy."
Read full review
auckland2013 wrote a tip Jun 2017
Tauranga, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eastern rooms catch the afternoon sun."
Read full review
Helen C wrote a tip May 2017
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tell them what you need and they will offer the best solution"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Napier area.
PRICE RANGE
$212 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
deco city motor hotel napier, deco city hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandHawke's Bay RegionNapier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DECO CITY MOTOR LODGE - Motel Reviews & Price Comparison (Napier) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Deco City Motor Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Deco City Motor Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Faraday Museum of Technology (2.4 km), Marine Parade (4.0 km), and Bluff Hill Lookout (4.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Deco City Motor Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Deco City Motor Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Deco City Motor Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Deco City Motor Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Deco City Motor Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bollywood Stars Indian Tandoori Restaurant, Faith Hope Love Malaysian Eatery, and Rasoi Cuisine of India.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Deco City Motor Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Deco City Motor Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Deco City Motor Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Deco City Motor Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Deco City Motor Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Deco City Motor Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Otatara Pa Historic Reserve Walk (6.3 km) and Napier Cemetery (2.7 km).
All Napier HotelsNapier Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NapierHotels near Deco City Motor Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire