We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

expressotel

Save
Share
Cnr Clive Square East and Tennyson Street, Napier 4110 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#11 of 46 hotels in Napier
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
expressotel is a perfect downtown base for the savvy traveller to enjoy the delights of Art Deco Napier. You're opposite picturesque Clive square in the heart of Napier City, with cafes, restaurants, and plenty of fun stuff to do right on your door step. expressotel offers 45 spacious, well presented and functional hotel rooms, including 42 studios (3 mobility-accessible), 2 one bedroom suites, and a new stylish one bedroom apartment. All hotel rooms include Free-view TV and WIFI/Ultra-fast broadband, free tea and coffee. Limited free parking is provided on site and other parking options are close by. Secure bike storage is available should you wish to bring your bikes to enjoy the cycle trails. Portofino Restaurant is located adjacent to reception on the ground floor and offers delicious options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. expressotel is part of the Art Deco Masonic group which includes iconic Art Deco Masonic Hotel, Emporium Eatery & Bar and The Rose Irish Bar.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Complimentary instant cofffee
Bicycle rental
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Russian
302Reviews2Q+A59Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 152
  • 117
  • 27
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Philip H wrote a review Jan 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand3 contributions1 helpful vote
Can't help but praise Expressotel Napier. Reception helpful, friendly,very welcoming. Room was spotless,air conditioning was a real bonus in plus 30c temp. Bed was luxurious,shower powerful. Great place,will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Poole, Owner at expressotel
Responded 28 Jan 2021
Dear Philip H, Thank you for your recent post with regards to your stay at expressotel. We are delighted to read that you found everything to your liking and the staff friendly and welcoming. It has been hot in Napier and having in room air conditioning certainly helps with a good nights sleep. I will pass on your comments to the housekeeping team who do a fantastic job. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Rob Poole General Manager
Read more
WalesNZ88 wrote a review Jan 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand82 contributions137 helpful votes
I've stayed in Expressotel in Napier a few times over the last couple of years, and the quality of the rooms & service always meets my expectations. Good international quality rooms, and a great location. The only drawback is that the hotel reception is not fully staffed, and for many hours of the day you need to use an intercom outside the building to speak to a staff member (if you need reception services). This alone is the only downside to an otherwise excellent hotel, with easy access to Napier town, and also the port. Well worth a stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Poole, Owner at expressotel
Responded 20 Jan 2021
Thank you for your review and feedback about your recent experience with us. We're delighted you enjoyed our location, and the quality of our rooms. The Hotel operates on a express hotel model, if reception is not manned guests are able to ring from either their room or reception and the call will be answered by our reception team at our other hotel Art Deco Masonic, just down the road. Your call should be attended to immediately, so the level of service you receive should not be compromised. We do hope you'll come back and stay with us again.
Read more
Pink L wrote a review Jan 2021
Tauranga, New Zealand78 contributions19 helpful votes
The name has been changed, but everything else about this hotel is still very old and very tired. All interior decor is extremely drab and dated. Fittings throughout the rooms are similarly that which was installed at the time the hotel was built - a long time ago. The hotel lift broke down on day 2 of our stay and was still out of action when we departed on day 4. Our room fronted on to Tennyson Street, so was very noisy through the night. The off street parking provided is very limited, and is also very tight to get into or out of. Parking out on the street is ok - but after 8am you must pay for on street parking. We had stayed at this hotel about 4 or 5 years ago and would definitely not have returned had we not been fooled by the name change. We were also somewhat fooled by the fact that the hotel was charging over $230 per night - about $100 above what we would expect to pay for this level of accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I don't think that there are any good rooms - just book a different hotel.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Poole, Owner at expressotel
Responded 10 Jan 2021
Dear PinkLewis, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments with regards to your recent stay with us. I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. It was most unfortunate that the guest lift broke down on Sunday 3rd of January. When we were made aware of an issue the service contactor came in to review the problem. A part was required and as it was over the holiday period this did not arrive until Tuesday. I am very sorry for the inconvenience caused by this issue and please once again accept our apologies. The expressotel completed a refurbishment at the time of taking ownership of the hotel 3 years ago. Just over a year ago additional refurbishments and rooms were added to the property. I note that you had booked to stay in one of our family access rooms. The bathrooms in these rooms have not changed as they have been designed for specific requirements. I would recommend that you look at our Parkside King or Deluxe King rooms as options. The hotel provides 10 internal car parking spaces. We also have overflow parking available in the car parking building across the road from the hotel which we provide with our compliments. You can also park on the street, and after 2pm on a Saturday. Parking on Sunday is free all day. The Napier City Council also allow for free street parking on public holidays. As with most cities car parking can be a challenge at times but we believe we are more fortunate than most to have a number of options. Once again we appreciate your comments and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming back to one of King room types the next time you visit.
Read more
Karaventure wrote a review Nov 2020
Palmerston North, New Zealand50 contributions16 helpful votes
One of the best, friendliest receptions was a great start to a great stay. With the car-park full the easy assistance with alternatives was appreciated. This is a modest refurbished property but the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The cleaning staff are obviously committed - it was scrupulously clean. The location is great on Clive Square with all of the CBD within a 3 block walk particularly the restaurant area. Just another block to the beachfront, conference center and museum. Overall a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Could request view over Clive Square but rear rooms are quieter
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Poole, Owner at expressotel
Responded 7 Dec 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay. Our staff take great pride in the service they provide and I will definitely pass your comments back to the cleaning team. They'll be thrilled. Thank you for your support we hope to welcome you back sometime.
Read more
globalkiwi4 wrote a review Oct 2020
Karapiro, New Zealand26 contributions7 helpful votes
I'm a sales rep on the road so stay at a few motels. This one was amongst the worst. There was no microwave or even basic utensils to heat or eat any food - when I asked if I could heat something in the restaurant microwave or if they were still serving I got a flat no and no offer to assist in anyway. The service was poor and the lady at reception was just plain rude. Parking was inconvenient. I won't be staying here next time I am in Napier.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Poole, Owner at expressotel
Responded 28 Oct 2020
Hello Kate thank you for your review and feedback. Were sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us. As a Hotel, not a Motel, it is not usual to provide cooking facilities. We do have some rooms though which can booked ,such as our apartment and suites that do have a microwave and some other cooking facilities.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$72 - US$131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
VR Napier Hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandHawke's Bay RegionNapier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about expressotel
Which popular attractions are close to expressotel?
Nearby attractions include Hawke's Bay Trails (0.5 km), Sunken Gardens (0.5 km), and MTG Hawke's Bay (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at expressotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at expressotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at expressotel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at expressotel?
Yes, free parking and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to expressotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bollywood Stars Indian Tandoori Restaurant, Rasoi Cuisine of India, and Faith Hope Love Malaysian Eatery.
Is expressotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Napier.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at expressotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to expressotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Napier Cemetery (1.0 km).
Is expressotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.