We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2 Tennyson Street Corner Tennyson St. & Marine Parade, Napier 4110 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$252
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$254
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$254
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
PricelineUS$252
TravelocityUS$254
TripadvisorUS$252
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (612)
Room & Suite (203)
Dining (43)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 46 hotels in Napier
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Napier’s best located Boutique Hotel, on the waterfront with panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean – Masonic Hotel is an Art Deco jewel. Right in the heart of 1930’s Napier and opposite Hawke’s Bay’s MTG (museum), The Art Deco Centre and i-SITE, Masonic Hotel’s location is perfect for exploring Art Deco Napier. With a choice of stylish and individual Rooms, Studios, Suites & an Apartment your stay at Art Deco Masonic Hotel is guaranteed to add fond memories to your Napier experience. Hotel guests enjoy a choice of bar and dining options including Emporium Eatery & Bar, Emporium - The Lounge and The Rose, a friendly & traditional Irish Pub. The Hotel has a variety of unique spaces for conferences, functions and celebrations. “2021 Tripadvisor’s Travellers Choice - Best of The Best”.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Rooftop terrace
Street parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1430Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 940
  • 408
  • 67
  • 12
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jacquitohc wrote a review Jun 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand590 contributions150 helpful votes
+1
Art Deco Masonic: Stunning entrance, beautiful gracious building, gorgeous decor in keeping with the glamourous opulence of days gone by. Seaviews from our room; was cosy, everything worked, best of all location was perfect. I have gait/walking challenges (stroke), wear a legbrace.) Dine-in, which we did, celebrated with cocktails, and wow! - stunning shades-of-blue lounge area; or find restaurants which are all around, which we also have done. Impeccable, friendly service, we hope to be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Helpful
Share
AngelaF wrote a review Jun 2022
Wellington, New Zealand24 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked this hotel due to its location with access to Marine Parade and local shops and restaurants/cafes. It also sells itself as a 4+* so was expecting great things. Unfortunately it did not live up to that expectation. The room was pretty small and the positioning of the bathroom mirror was bizarre making it impossible to look into it without squishing yourself against the door and benchtop. One of the wall lamps was loose with the bulb hanging from the wires and there was what looked like a blood stain on one of our bath towels. Not what we would expect from a hotel with such a high star rating. The one redeeming feature was the french door opening onto the rooftop balcony with views across to the Pacific Ocean. There are other hotels we would choose above this one in future.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room with access to roof-top terrace
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
john m wrote a review Apr 2022
Nottingham, United Kingdom45 contributions15 helpful votes
I have been a little bit disappointed with our stay, the few staff we have encountered have been nice and friendly. We paid a premium price for our room, expecting a sea view, but what we actually got was a communal balcony that you can sit outside and get a sea view , which is great but not what we expected, also the shower was only just powerful enough to use, the air conditioning was a bit noisy and we could hear people above us using the toilet. I would still recommend this place as the decor inside is probably second to none as far as Art Deco is concerned, but just a few niggles, that spoilt the holiday!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig Hay, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Responded 18 Apr 2022
Dear John Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for your kind comments about our friendly staff. We are concerned to read you thought you booked a sea view room. Most of our suites face the ocean and we have a good selection of rooms that have access to the balcony where guests can enjoy a sea view. We take special care to describe room types accurately and regularly update and review descriptions. Please feel free to communicate with me directly if you think our website or any third party website could describe the room you booked more clearly. Kind Regards Craig Hay
Read more
Georgia B wrote a review Feb 2022
Perth, Australia13 contributions2 helpful votes
Fantastic communication prior to check in, beautiful old building and decor, comfortable room with comfy bed and pillows, clean and everything in good working order, breakfast was yum and staff very pleasant, definitely look forward to visiting again but for longer next time thank you
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig Hay, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Responded 18 Apr 2022
Dear Brillbeat Thank you for your lovely comments. Our housekeeping and maintenance teams will be especially happy to read your review. We hope you are able to return soon. Kind Regards from Art Deco Masonic Hotel.
Read more
Rob0018 wrote a review Feb 2022
London, United Kingdom157 contributions99 helpful votes
The best thing about the Art Deco is the location, right on Marine Parade and in the centre of town. In addition to that there is a great roof terrace with tables and comfy chairs overlooking Marine Parade and the waterfront. We had a superior queen room, which was a little on the small side, but with a decent bathroom. The TV was freeview only, which was limited in choice.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig Hay, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Responded 18 Apr 2022
Dear Rob Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the balcony overlooking Marine Parade and The Pacific Ocean. Our Queen Rooms are our smallest room type and we have a variety of other rooms including Studios, Suites and and an Apartment. The best descriptions of these can be found on our website. Kind Regards Art Deco Masonic Hotel.
Read more
Philip R wrote a review Feb 2022
15 contributions2 helpful votes
Having a pre Valentines weekend away and chose here as we couldn't get down for Art Deco weekend. The period building is fantastic, and the lady on reception fantastic. The fod and beverage manager, Vineet (?), deserves a special mention. He picked up on my complaint that the onsite restaurant Globe, which is apparently under a different owner and staff, refused me breakfast service, or a coffee, at 10 past 11 on a bank holiday sunday, despite the sign in the lobby offering breakfast still being displayed. To make it worse, as i spoke to the waiting staff, they served 2 coffees to customers. Vineet kindly opened the main bar, the Rose, early, personally made the coffees and was able to quickly offer a light breakfast. Well done the Rose, and thank you. Shame on the Globe for raising expectations and not delivering.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Steve M wrote a review Feb 2022
Auckland, New Zealand716 contributions189 helpful votes
This hotel has some great history and we really enjoyed our say. The hotel has done its best to retain the Art Deco charm. The staff on the front desk were excellent and we enjoyed the fact the room opened onto a balcony overlooking Marine parade. It a great spot to watch the sun come up with a cup of coffee, or the sunset with something stronger. The location is perfect, situated on Marine parade and close to all sorts of restaurants and the main shopping area. A couple of things to be aware of; the rooms aren’t fully sound-proofed and the plumbing meant that water took a while to heat and at times you could hear pipes in the adjacent room. We put both of these features down to the era of construction (neither cause us concern). We would definitely go back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig Hay, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Responded 18 Apr 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We enjoyed hearing you enjoyed the location and use of our feature balcony. We hope you are able to return again soon. Kind Regards from the team at Art Deco Masonic Hotel.
Read more
kiwijinxter wrote a review Jan 2022
5 contributions
+1
Normally, I really can't be bothered about character, as long as a hotel is clean, comfortable, spacious and has great facilities in the room, we're pretty happy. The Art Deco Masonic Hotel on the other hand, hit "character" out of the ballpark. We booked 2 rooms due to our family size and we were intrigued by how each room had a different theme! It's so suitable to beautiful Napier, which is a very nice little "Broadway"-ish and artsy town. In short, the hotel was really classy and is brimming with character. The amenities in the hotel were great. The reception is friendly and helpful, and when we entered the hotel, it feels like we're in, for lack of a better description, a classic American hotel run by Frank Sinatra or something like that! We felt welcome in the hotel. The fact the hotel also provides a place to park is a big bonus. The hotel is effectively situated in Napier city itself, so walking out of the hotel, we could go to the pretty new-looking Museum next door, or just walk around the city to shops and places to eat (there are many to choose from!), or just walk out to the seaside and enjoy the breezy stroll. The main street itself has lots of things to see, because Napier simply oozes character. It was a highlight of our entire holiday. Oh and what clinched the deal? A PERSONALISED written welcome note by hotel staff... that, really touched my heart - this is truly a brilliant human touch from the hotel!!! Without a doubt, we'll return to this hotel when we come back to Napier. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig Hay, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Responded 16 Jan 2022
Thank you so much for your heartfelt review and it was lovely to hear you appreciated some of the little touches. As you note we are blessed with a wonderful location to explore Napier from and most guests love stepping into our little art deco world. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime soon.
Read more
AucklandGal88 wrote a review Oct 2021
Wellington, New Zealand167 contributions40 helpful votes
+1
We were unexpectedly upgraded to the Masonic when our original room at the Expressotel became unavailable. Our room, the Mark Twain suite, was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The bed was soft and we slept soundly. Our only note is that the water pressure was poor in the room, however this could be due to the age of the building. We enjoyed the access to the balcony overlooking Marine Parade, and the location was great. We parked our car and didn’t need it all weekend! Book via the hotel website to get free parking.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book via the website, not through a 3rd party, to get free parking
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig Hay, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Responded 17 Dec 2021
Thank you for your review and we were pleased to hear you enjoyed your upgrade to the Mark Twain Suite. We are happy to offer a complimentary car park to guests who book directly with us and it's nice to know they appreciate the benefit. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Linda Airey wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Very disappointed stay. The room was looking very tired, ripped curtain and holes in the lamp, no information in the room re: hotel and services. So noisy and i understand it is in the middle of town but if you like a sound sleep don't stay here. Service and food was just okay but the menu was suited to a bistro not the 1st class restaurant we were told, the staff did not know what a special coffee was and gave us a nip in a glass of liquor we ordered, then we finally got the coffees but no teaspoon. I looked around and the place needed a good clean, the shelves were covered in dust as well as the cabinets that had the silver etc in them, I did not expect this as we were recommended this hotel as being 1st class. Receptionist day and night were very professional and helpful. Bar staff in the lounge were also very helpful.. Restaurant staff need more training. A very disappointing stay I would not be recommending the Masonic Hotel, the 1st impression was wow but ...
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig Hay, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Responded 17 Dec 2021
Dear Matamta Thank you for your comments and we apologise for the couple of maintenance items in your room. These have been attended to. Since Covid we now use QR codes for our hotel compendiums and local information. A card on the desk in each room can be scanned to access this information. The card also advises that a hard copy version is available at reception for those who don't have the ability to use QR codes. You are the first person to comment that they missed the hard copy but we appreciate the comment and will remind our reception team to advise guests upon check in of this service.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$112 - US$134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
masonic hotel napier
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandHawke's Bay RegionNapier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Art Deco Masonic Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hawke's Bay Trails (0.5 km), Sunken Gardens (0.2 km), and MTG Hawke's Bay (0.06 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Art Deco Masonic Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Art Deco Masonic Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Art Deco Masonic Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Art Deco Masonic Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bollywood Stars Indian Tandoori Restaurant, Faith Hope Love Malaysian Eatery, and Rasoi Cuisine of India.
Is Art Deco Masonic Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Napier.
Are any cleaning services offered at Art Deco Masonic Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Art Deco Masonic Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Art Deco Masonic Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Napier Cemetery (1.4 km).
Does Art Deco Masonic Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.