We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Swiss-Belboutique Napier

Save
Share
36 Munroe Street Napier South, Napier 4110 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$110
View deal
Expedia.com
US$112
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Agoda.com
US$97
View deal
Hotels.comUS$112
PricelineUS$123
TravelocityUS$112
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#41 of 46 hotels in Napier
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Swiss-Belboutique Napier – The first 5 star international hotel brand in Napier. Combine your experience with a stay at our premium Art Deco-style hotel in the heart of downtown Napier. We’re just a five minutes stroll from Marine Parade – spanning Hawke’s Bay waterfront and home to the Sunken Gardens and National Aquarium of New Zealand. Unwind in the most spacious rooms in Napier and indulge in the modern Art Deco feel of our premium boutique hotel – Swiss-Belboutique Napier.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
17Reviews1Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 2
  • 4
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
three dogs wrote a review Jul 2022
Auckland, New Zealand439 contributions239 helpful votes
ほかの方のリビューと同じで5スターのレベルのホテルではないです。目の前に黄色の色のスーパーとガソリンスタンドがあるので、便利ですが高級感がない環境に感じられます。地下の駐車場を利用するには別料金のため、私は目の前の公共の駐車場を利用して済ませました。到着時間が遅く、翌朝早くに出発したため出来たとは思います。部屋は新しく高級感を出している感じはしますが、設備が簡易な感じがしました。シャワーもお湯が弱いプレッシャーでした。 ベットは快適でゆっくりできました。コロナの影響で夜のレストランは空いてなく、朝も遅めの営業だったので利用ができませんでした。不満はないですが、次に泊まることはないと感じました。
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Barr, Guest Services / Front Office at Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Puppyschool, Thank you for your review of your stay. Unfortunately we cannot move our location but we are right in the centre of Napier just a 5 minute walk the town centre. Our restaurant is now open Monday - Thursday. Warm regards Karen Barr Front Office Manager
Read more
Kerry G wrote a review Jul 2022
Auckland, New Zealand25 contributions3 helpful votes
I decided to go ahead and place this honest review as our well deserved break away was kind of ruined because of this hotel’s shortfalls. It was very nice of Gary to initially upgrade us to a 1 bedroom suite. I did not however check trip advisor reviews of the hotel before going ahead with the booking as I would not have chosen to stay if I did. When I belatedly checked the reviews for Swiss Belboutique Napier, I saw that even though previous guests had mentioned many (mostly minor) problems, the hotel has not yet rectified these issues. To follow are the reasons why we will never return to stay: * We arrived at 6pm in the middle of winter and the room was freezing! We would have expected the heating to have been switched on. It took a long time to heat the room up. * The bed was too hard! You told us when we checked out that you do have toppers; this should have been noted on the room information list. * Housekeeping issues. The day after arrival, we had to get housekeeping back in to make the bed; the bed was then made very carelessly. Failure to top up complimentary coffee & tea, bathroom (toilet) not cleaned, carpets not vacuumed once over 3 days. No dishwashing detergent but a tea towel provided which does not make sense. * No luggage stand even though the bedroom is huge enough to house one. Very annoying having to kneel on floor to get gear out of suitcase. * No bathroom rubbish receptacle. * No full length mirror provided. * Many bright lights in lounge area, not able to dim them. Too bright for relaxing. It would have been nice to be able to turn some of them off. * $15 for car park per night is pretty steep. Street parking is on meters so not really an option. On an up-note, the breakfasts were very nice. And quite honestly it will not take too much work to start getting better reviews but management need to listen to their guests and get these annoying (mostly) small problems fixed!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not stay here until management/owners rectify the well documented problems!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Barr, Guest Services / Front Office at Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear DiamondAuckland. Thank you for your review and as per our conversation I am sorry we fell short on your stay with us, we are in the process of staff training and we are discussing this with the owner to provide the items you have mentioned. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast. Warm regards
Read more
Werner S wrote a review Jun 2022
Hamilton, New Zealand1 contribution
Where to begin...Let's start with the pros because there is only 1 and that was the coffee machine. Now a list of the cons - Restaurant was closed for dinner and breakfast is way over priced. Also no room service. - There was no atmosphere and that over a long weekend. Sometimes felt like we were the only people in the hotel. - Room was not clean and the cleaners did not vacuum or empty out the bin. The coffee pods and milk was not replaced and we had to call them to do so. - Ran out of hot water on the second night and had to take a cold shower in the winter. Called the front desk to report the matter and nobody answered. - Only 2 cups and 2 spoons available. These were not washed and the coffee rims was still visible and also no dishwashing liquid available. - No extractor fan in the bathroom and there is a night light that could not be turned off. Terrible hotel with a general manager who does not care about complaints or guests.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do research and read the Google reviews as well.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Barr, Guest Services / Front Office at Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Responded 30 Jun 2022
Dear Werner685, Our restaurant is currently closed due to staff shortages and is unfortunately out of our control. Since Covid, the hospitality industry has been hit the worst closing a lot of business down. However we are in the process of recruiting and hope to have our restaurant open in the coming weeks. The hotel was full over the long weekend so you was not the only guests in the building. I do apologise regarding housekeeping and have taken this up with the housekeeping manager. Hot water was an issue for a few hours for one evening and we had someone onsite as soon as this was brought to our attention, if you had called reception our onsite duty manger would have answered your call, he is contactable at all times when reception is closed. Our rooms are hotel rooms and not self contained so we do not supply dishwashing liquid, but we can supply any items for guests should they need them. I have to disagree with your regarding our General Manager not caring as he has reached out to you directly on more than one occasion. Warm regards Karen Barr Front Office Manager
Read more
Nita wrote a review Jun 2022
Hamilton, New Zealand27 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
This is DEFINITELY NOT a 5 star hotel. The staff are unfriendly and seem untrained. The room was dirty, old sticky spots from spilled drinks. Floors were gross and the carpets was not vacuumed during our stay. There are no decor through the halls of the hotel, feels like an empty apartment building to walk through. Restaurant was closed due to "unforseen" circumstances. We did not get any coffee and milk refills until we requested it, bins were not emptied until we requested it. The location of the hotel is horrible, there are people yelling and getting drunk in the streets and the hotel locks the front doors at 9pm at night! You have to then ring a bell to enter and exit. I wish we stayed somewhere else during our trip don't make the same mistake as we did.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Barr, Guest Services / Front Office at Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Responded 30 Jun 2022
Dear BenitaStemmet, Thank you for your review, however I have to disagree with you regarding our staff being unfriendly and untrained, we are very small team here and work very hard. Our restaurant was unfortunately closed as the current chef had to leave so this was "unforeseen" Covid has affected the hospitality industry more than any other business and not being able to open our restaurant for dinner has not been an option for us. However, we do hope to be open in the coming weeks. We have a great location right in the City just a few minutes walk to Marine Parade which we do receive a lot of positive feedback about. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Warm regards Karen Barr Front Office Manager
Read more
townie2001 wrote a review Jun 2022
Tauranga, New Zealand70 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
I recently stayed at at the Swiss Belboutique Napier. It was a last minute booking as I had to travel to Hawkes Bay unexpectedly, and the rooms were reasonably priced. Beautifully appointed hotel with large rooms and a comfortable bed. Everything was very clean and crisp. Despite overlooking the main road there was no road noise heard from inside the room at all. Loved the added touch of a Nespresso machine in the room! The staff were friendly and accommodating. One of the main reasons that I chose the hotel was because it advertised an on-site restaurant and I liked the idea of not having to leave once I got there, as it had been a long drive! Unfortunately the restaurant is closed for dinner at the moment, however the receptionist recommended a bistro directly across the road (hidden inside the cinema complex) which was really lovely. Breakfast the following morning was fine, but a bit overpriced compared to other properties. Secure underground parking, however this is charged at $15 per night which I felt was a bit steep for Napier. Overall it was a great place to stay and I would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Barr, Guest Services / Front Office at Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Responded 30 Jun 2022
Dear Townie, Thank you for the lovely review of your stay. Our restaurant all being well will be up and running in the coming weeks for dinner, we are also disappointed we are not able to offer this service due to staff shortages. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again with full services. Warm regards Karen Barr Front Office Manager
Read more
dj wrote a review May 2022
Wellington, New Zealand1 contribution2 helpful votes
We booked for ANZAC weekend but got a call around 7pm the day before we were due to arrive to say the room had been double booked and was no longer available. By this time it was too late to book another place and our weekend was ruined. We had wasted time packing and organising places to eat etc. The manager said he would email us with complementary accommodation to make up for their mistake, but has not done so, despite a reminder. Very very poor service. Avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t stay here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Barr, Guest Services / Front Office at Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Responded 26 May 2022
Dear Scenic41476440903, Sorry we could not accommodate you as you have mentioned, your booking was only made earlier that day when Napier was already sold out, and we did call you as soon as we notice the error to apologise as nothing else could be done as you were the last person to make a booking. The manager has been in touch and offered you a complimentary stay, maybe its in your Junk folder. We are disappointed that you gave us only one star after never staying at the property. Again we are very sorry we unable to accommodate you that weekend. Warm regards
Read more
JohnTL wrote a review Apr 2022
Opotiki, New Zealand231 contributions92 helpful votes
Booked on luxury escape deal Reception staff very pleasant on check in Breakfast very basic, continental part no fruit no yoghurt Cooked portion i had an omelette one day and asked for the same the following day was advised chef cant cook omelettes ,wasnt busy and was same chef as first day?? Room upgrade didnt happen as was advertised in luxury escapes deal Complimentary Wine had to ask 3 times finally got it Room we had was huge as were all the passageways lots of wasted space Restaurant and bar closed 3 days per week But then we saw menu they do have on weekend as basic as a greasy spoon restaurant something you would expect in 2 star establisment Management of this establishment needs reviewing immediately Who rated them 5 star as certainly not Car parking included but garage door not working so parking on the street Would i return..... definitely not far better alternatives in Napier
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Looking at menu if thats all they can produce for evening dining you would be advised to seek...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Barr, Guest Services / Front Office at Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Responded 5 May 2022
Dear rambo1950, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry regarding the issues you had during your stay with us. We are in the process of updating our menu and opening the restaurant more regularly in the coming months. I am so sorry we did not deliver a 5* experience and I do hope to we have the opportunity to welcome you back on another occasion and turn your experience around. Warm regards Karen Barr Front Office Manager
Read more
thompsonmc2016 wrote a review Apr 2022
West Auckland, United Kingdom87 contributions20 helpful votes
We stayed here for two nights. We were pleasantly surprised with the size of the room - much bigger than expected. However, there were quite a few things not quite right with the room. Firstly, we had an issue with the pillows. They are huge and very, very high (@ 20 cms). After an uncomfortable night and a sore neck, I asked the housekeeping if they could provide some lower profile pillows for the next night. On our return, I found 2 'pillows' - made from two towels and a pillow case! I went to double check with reception, and unfortunately, they only had the supersized pillows. I ended up popping over to the Warehouse to buy our own pillows. This is not really expected at a '5 star' hotel. Secondly, the room has heaps of lights - but unfortunately they were all controlled by one switch, in the bedroom. We were unable to dim the lights. The bathroom had no rubbish bin, which was very unusual as you had to carry any 'bathroom' rubbish through the living area to the kitchen. Also, the tap in the bathroom was not fitted correctly - every time you tried to wash your hands, water spurted out of the bowl. We were also unable to turn off the shower fan - it ran the whole time we were there. A tea towel was provided for any dishes; however no cleaning liquid was available. When we first arrived, the rubbish bin was still full from the previous occupants - with face masks etc.. on display. Made us feel a bit yucky. However, these are things that can be fixed and I understand that the hotel is fairly new. The main thing for us (apart from the pillows!) was the staff - they were helpful, friendly and tried their best to ensure our stay here was good.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Opt for higher floors if you can - our room was on the first floor and there was quite a bit of...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Barr, Guest Services / Front Office at Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Responded 16 May 2022
Dear Thompsonmc2016, Thank you for your review on your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the size of our rooms and location. We are in the process of getting some smaller pillows and bins for our bathrooms. I am very sorry regarding the other issues you encountered during your stay. Again we really do appreciate your feedback and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back and turn your experience around. Warm regards
Read more
anne.toddlambie wrote a review Apr 2022
36 contributions41 helpful votes
The faux Art Deco has been well done overall, the bed very comfortable, but there are still some real issues to be addressed before it can claim to be 5 Star The Acting Manager was very polite and prompt at improving the Continental Breakfast but in haste to open , and no doubt not helped by the Covid impact on travel, some finishing looked rushed/missed, and despite Covid one would expect in a 5 star Hotel now open nearly 4 months an available bar and restaurant ( latter half of the week only). Very odd that there was no rubbish receptacle in the Bathroom ( very well styled though) and the only mirror in the accommodation was in the bathroom- unhelpful when two are trying to get organised in a hurry
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen Barr, Guest Services / Front Office at Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Responded 24 Apr 2022
Dear Culture802636, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us and we are pleased you liked our décor and comfy beds. We are in the process of opening our restaurant on a regular basis in the coming months. We are sorry we fell short on some things during your stay, but we are looking to get these rectified as soon as possible. We do hope to welcome you back one day in the future. Warm regards Karen Barr Front Office Manager
Read more
Angelika Beukman wrote a review Apr 2022
Auckland, New Zealand22 contributions
+1
Had a wonderful stay here with our four legged family member. Staff were excellent, friendly, professional and efficient. Food and service was fabulous, location was great in a close proximity to central streets. We will definitely be back again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthias Schulz, General Manager at Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Responded 13 Apr 2022
Kia ora Angelika, Thank you for staying at our Swiss-Belboutique Napier. We love to hear that all of you had a wonderful stay and were well looked after by our friendly staff. We are indeed in a great location - walking distance to everything Napier has to offer and our chef is looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our Saffron Social Kitchen for more delicious food. See you again soon at our Swiss-Belboutique Napier. Kind regards, Matthias Schulz - General Manager
Read more
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$101 - US$137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
DoubleTree by Hilton Napier Hotel & Suites
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandHawke's Bay RegionNapier
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Which popular attractions are close to Swiss-Belboutique Napier?
Nearby attractions include Hawke's Bay Trails (0.2 km), Clive Square (0.3 km), and Napier Municipal Theatre (0.5 km).
What are some restaurants close to Swiss-Belboutique Napier?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bollywood Stars Indian Tandoori Restaurant, Kilim Cafe, and Pacifica Kaimoana Restaurant.
Is Swiss-Belboutique Napier located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Napier.
Are there any historical sites close to Swiss-Belboutique Napier?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Napier Cemetery (1.2 km).