Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Swiss-Belboutique Napier

36 Munroe Street Napier South, Napier 4110 New Zealand
Traveller (40)
getlstd_property_photo
Room & Suite (9)
Excellent breakfast.
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#41 of 41 hotels in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to Swiss-Belboutique Napier – The first 5 star international hotel brand in Napier. Combine your experience with a stay at our premium Art Deco-style hotel in the heart of downtown Napier. We’re just a five minutes stroll from Marine Parade – spanning Hawke’s Bay waterfront and home to the Sunken Gardens and National Aquarium of New Zealand. Unwind in the most spacious rooms in Napier and indulge in the modern Art Deco feel of our premium boutique hotel – Swiss-Belboutique Napier.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Refrigerator
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Charming

Location

36 Munroe Street Napier South, Napier 4110 New Zealand
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 91 out of 100
91
Hawkes Bay Airport
40Reviews1Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 6
  • 6
  • 10
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
townie2001 wrote a review Jun 2022
Tauranga, New Zealand77 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently stayed at at the Swiss Belboutique Napier. It was a last minute booking as I had to travel to Hawkes Bay unexpectedly, and the rooms were reasonably priced.

Beautifully appointed hotel with large rooms and a comfortable bed. Everything was very clean and crisp. Despite overlooking the main road there was no road noise heard from inside the room at all. Loved the added touch of a Nespresso machine in the room!

The staff were friendly and accommodating. One of the main reasons that I chose the hotel was because it advertised an on-site restaurant and I liked the idea of not having to leave once I got there, as it had been a long drive! Unfortunately the restaurant is closed for dinner at the moment, however the receptionist recommended a bistro directly across the road (hidden inside the cinema complex) which was really lovely. Breakfast the following morning was fine, but a bit overpriced compared to other properties. Secure underground parking, however this is charged at $15 per night which I felt was a bit steep for Napier.

Overall it was a great place to stay and I would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karen Barr, Guest Services / Front Office at Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Responded 30 Jun 2022
Dear Townie, Thank you for the lovely review of your stay. Our restaurant all being well will be up and running in the coming weeks for dinner, we are also disappointed we are not able to offer this service due to staff shortages. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again with full services. Warm regards Karen Barr Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thefamilytraveller wrote a review Oct 2022
Whangarei, New Zealand177 contributions58 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is reasonably new and the rooms are quite spacious. The finishing isn’t the best, with things like poor grouting in the bathrooms and painting below a professional standard. The light fittings in the bedrooms would like great if they actually dusted them, for any hotel and thick layer of dust shows a low level of care for their rooms. The carpet looked like it needed a good vacuum but the linen and towels were clean and fresh with comfortable bedding. The continental breakfast was good however on the higher side of costs for some bread and yogurt.
It wouldn’t take a lot to bring this hotel up to a reasonable level but the staff do seem to lack hotel experience
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bevanz wrote a review Jan 2022
Hamilton, New Zealand48 contributions15 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has recently opened so you do need to cut it some slack. However, calling it 5 stars is a stretch. The restaurant and bar has yet to open so currently the room tariff feels high relative to the facilities provided. The rooms are very nicely decorated in deco style but it is strange how big the kitchenette is relative to the small bathroom. The kitchenette is sparsely appointed and while the Nespresso machine is a nice touch there is nowhere near enough milk provided to make use of it. Being charged an extra 3% for credit card or eftpos leaves a sour taste on departure. Seriously who carries cash these days? They should just put their room rate up 3% and avoid the angst for their poor staff. Parking is on the street unless you are prepared to pay $15 extra per night. It feels like big city hotel policy in provincial New Zealand.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nidhi Tiwari, Guest Services / Front Office at Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Responded 7 Feb 2022
Kia ora, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the soft opening of Swiss-Belboutique Napier. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. After taking guest feedbacks into consideration, we have waived off the surcharge on EFTPOS usage. Saffron Social Kitchen and Lobby Bar are now open Thursday - Saturday from 5pm - 8 pm. Please rest assured I will share your feedback with our team as we strive to continuously improve our product and services. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to our Swiss-Belboutique Napier. Sincerely, Nidhi Tiwari Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nita wrote a review Jun 2022
Hamilton, New Zealand35 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is DEFINITELY NOT a 5 star hotel. The staff are unfriendly and seem untrained. The room was dirty, old sticky spots from spilled drinks. Floors were gross and the carpets was not vacuumed during our stay. There are no decor through the halls of the hotel, feels like an empty apartment building to walk through. Restaurant was closed due to "unforseen" circumstances. We did not get any coffee and milk refills until we requested it, bins were not emptied until we requested it. The location of the hotel is horrible, there are people yelling and getting drunk in the streets and the hotel locks the front doors at 9pm at night! You have to then ring a bell to enter and exit. I wish we stayed somewhere else during our trip don't make the same mistake as we did.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karen Barr, Guest Services / Front Office at Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Responded 30 Jun 2022
Dear BenitaStemmet, Thank you for your review, however I have to disagree with you regarding our staff being unfriendly and untrained, we are very small team here and work very hard. Our restaurant was unfortunately closed as the current chef had to leave so this was "unforeseen" Covid has affected the hospitality industry more than any other business and not being able to open our restaurant for dinner has not been an option for us. However, we do hope to be open in the coming weeks. We have a great location right in the City just a few minutes walk to Marine Parade which we do receive a lot of positive feedback about. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Warm regards Karen Barr Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bingo120 wrote a review Feb 2023
Auckland, New Zealand33 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Whilst the staff were attentive and friendly, the ‘premium’ room was disappointing. This is a basic business hotel room, not a boutique quality at all. No art in bedroom - bland. No radio bedroom, no tissues, 2 small cups and 2 teaspoons allowed. Furniture from a city library and the car park is a reflection of their cheap design attitude - nearly impossible to park a car.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager Swiss-Belboutique Napier, General Manager at Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Responded 5 Feb 2023
Dear bingo120, Great to hear the Team was looking after you well, and do accept our apologies if the design of the hotel was not to your liking. Thanks for your review, Markus
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kerry G wrote a review Jul 2022
Auckland, New Zealand28 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I decided to go ahead and place this honest review as our well deserved break away was kind of ruined because of this hotel’s shortfalls.

It was very nice of Gary to initially upgrade us to a 1 bedroom suite. I did not however check trip advisor reviews of the hotel before going ahead with the booking as I would not have chosen to stay if I did. When I belatedly checked the reviews for Swiss Belboutique Napier, I saw that even though previous guests had mentioned many (mostly minor) problems, the hotel has not yet rectified these issues.

To follow are the reasons why we will never return to stay:

* We arrived at 6pm in the middle of winter and the room was freezing! We would have expected the heating to have been switched on. It took a long time to heat the room up.
* The bed was too hard! You told us when we checked out that you do have toppers; this should have been noted on the room information list.
* Housekeeping issues. The day after arrival, we had to get housekeeping back in to make the bed; the bed was then made very carelessly. Failure to top up complimentary coffee & tea, bathroom (toilet) not cleaned, carpets not vacuumed once over 3 days. No dishwashing detergent but a tea towel provided which does not make sense.
* No luggage stand even though the bedroom is huge enough to house one. Very annoying having to kneel on floor to get gear out of suitcase.
* No bathroom rubbish receptacle.
* No full length mirror provided.
* Many bright lights in lounge area, not able to dim them. Too bright for relaxing. It would have been nice to be able to turn some of them off.
* $15 for car park per night is pretty steep. Street parking is on meters so not really an option.

On an up-note, the breakfasts were very nice. And quite honestly it will not take too much work to start getting better reviews but management need to listen to their guests and get these annoying (mostly) small problems fixed!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karen Barr, Guest Services / Front Office at Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Responded 25 Jul 2022
Dear DiamondAuckland. Thank you for your review and as per our conversation I am sorry we fell short on your stay with us, we are in the process of staff training and we are discussing this with the owner to provide the items you have mentioned. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast. Warm regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bernie wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
While the hotel is nice. The opening was rushed and no communication was provided about the restaurant/bar and room service not being available. I was told different information by two separate staff who then resigned. Feedback was provided to hotel and no response has been received. This hotel is advertised as a 5 star hotel but I can assure you this is not the case.
I would look else where for accomodation until they figure it out.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nidhi Tiwari, Guest Services / Front Office at Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Responded 7 Feb 2022
Kia ora, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the soft opening of Swiss-Belboutique Napier and we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. While I am pleased to learn you were impressed with our rooms, I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologies for the various aspects of your stay that fell below expectations. Saffron Kitchen and Lobby Bar are now open Thursday - Saturday from 5pm - 8 pm. Please rest assured I will share your feedback with our team as we strive to continuously improve our product and services. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Nidhi Tiwari Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sarahjlee2 wrote a review Jan 2023
Dannemora79 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Short 3 night stay, over the New Year Period.

Fantastic location, walking distance to the CBD and restaurants.

Parking available nearby or onsite

Suites were very large and well appointed

Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager Swiss-Belboutique Napier, General Manager at Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Responded 31 Jan 2023
Dear sarahjlee2, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciated our location in Napier. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future. Thanks for your amazing review, Markus
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MohanKelkar wrote a review Jan 2022
Singapore, Singapore8 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
It was advertised as a 5 Start boutique hotel but was far from it.
Hotel's opening was rushed to cash-in on the busy holiday period. the list of issues/ disappointments is very long - leaky /smelly toilets, not even basic amenities provided in the suites, TVs not working .....
No leadership of the hotel. it seems the General Manager had left abruptly and there was no body at site to guide the staff. the staff who were left behind were trying to make best of a bad situation
However, the hotel was ready to ask for full price of a fully functional and ready Five Start hotel (they could get away due to the busy new year holiday period0.
We felt cheated.
It has damaged reputation of the Swiss-Belboutique brand.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: too early to comment as rooms were not really ready
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nidhi Tiwari, Guest Services / Front Office at Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Responded 7 Feb 2022
Kia ora Mohan, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the soft opening of Swiss-Belboutique Napier and we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. We are disappointed that your experience with us was as expected and we sincerely apologize for that. It is the small details that matter, and it is clear this time we have fell short. We have shared your feedback with our concerned Head of departments who will undoubtedly work upon your constructive feedback to improve services for our future guests. While we wish you had better experience with us it is feedback like this which gives us the opportunity to improve our services for future guest. Sincerely, Nidhi Tiwari Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
3Bubs3 wrote a review Oct 2023
Blenheim, New Zealand115 contributions28 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Noise from the air con (?) in the hallway kept me awake two nights in a row, it's like having a truck idling outside. I searched the room thinking maybe it was the bathroom fan or the nearby laundry but it seems to be the building system. The light pollution is bad around the poorly hung curtains and the bed is hard & uncomfortable. I have just read someone else's review that toppers were available at reception - if they know the beds are so bad they should advertise the additional facility or provide better beds. If I was not in a strange city I would have gone down to sleep in the car for some peace & quiet.
Cutlery or crockery has to be requested. There is no key card security on the lifts so anybody can enter the hallway through the unmonitored entrance. The phone lights up intermittently throughout the night.
The rooms and facilities are spacious, clean and serviced daily but tbh at this point I don't care. I'd rather get a good nights sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just don't. Don't do it. Go stay in a nice Air bnb and enjoy your holiday.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager Swiss-Belboutique Napier, General Manager at Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Responded 3 Oct 2023
Dear 3Bubs3, please do accept my apologies about the noise you brought up to our attention, the maintenance Team will investigate the matter, and take corrective actions accordingly. Most guests appreciate our slightly firmer beds, as you can see from many other comments online, but we are sorry to hear you did find them uncomfortable. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us, Markus
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nancy w wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t come to this hotel"
Read full review
Kim G wrote a tip Nov 2023
12 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay here if no other choice"
Read full review
3Bubs3 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Blenheim, New Zealand115 contributions28 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just don't. Don't do it. Go stay in a nice Air bnb and enjoy your holiday."
Read full review
bartholomew123693 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Tauranga, New Zealand96 contributions51 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't turn off the no service light."
Read full review
traway F wrote a tip Jun 2023
Whangarei, New Zealand142 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nice and flat area so easy to walk everywhere. We really enjoyed Napier."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Napier area.
PRICE RANGE
$155 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
DoubleTree by Hilton Napier Hotel & Suites
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandHawke's Bay RegionNapier
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SWISS-BELBOUTIQUE NAPIER - Now $157 (Was $̶1̶9̶0̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Which popular attractions are close to Swiss-Belboutique Napier?
Nearby attractions include Hawke's Bay Trails (0.2 km), Clive Square (0.3 km), and Napier Municipal Theatre (0.5 km).
Which room amenities are available at Swiss-Belboutique Napier?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Swiss-Belboutique Napier?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Swiss-Belboutique Napier?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bollywood Stars Indian Tandoori Restaurant, Kilim Cafe, and Pacifica Kaimoana Restaurant.
Is Swiss-Belboutique Napier located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Napier.
Are there any historical sites close to Swiss-Belboutique Napier?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Napier Cemetery (1.2 km).
All Napier HotelsNapier Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NapierHotels near Swiss-Belboutique Napier
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire