We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bella Vista Motel Napier

314 Hastings Street Napier South, Napier 4110 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (22)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#14 of 26 motels in Napier
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
FREE WiFi. A great central location with 18 superior units, short walk to CBD, shops, restaurants and the renowned Marine Parade with its majestic Norfolk pines. Tour the unique architecture of our city, or stroll down the ocean-side walkway where you will encounter the National Aquarium of New Zealand, Sunken Gardens, Ocean Spa Swimming Complex and Mini Golf to name just a few. Ideal corporate location, we are the closest motel to the town centre, public building sector, and business & conference facilities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast in the room
Babysitting
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Show more
Room features
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English
172Reviews2Q+A32Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 52
  • 88
  • 24
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
18Beverly18 wrote a review Feb 2024
Hamilton, New Zealand96 contributions21 helpful votes
The good thing about the Bella Vista chain is that you can expect a certain standard of accommodation, and professional managers/owners. Bella Vista Napier is in a good location, central to shops etc but not on busy main road. Very well run motel, friendly and helpful managers/owners who provided an upstairs unit, as requested. Impressed by ceiling fan and air conditioning options. Just a couple of corners (shower area) and the door between bathroom and main room that need extra cleaning attention (splashes of some sort?)...Otherwise, obviously lots of attention to detail and effort put into cleaning, and yes, I'm fussy. Tips: book direct with Bella Vista to get best rate (either online through their site or phone), and support them, rather overseas booking agencies/companies. Go for Superior studio or larger if you can, more spacious than compact studio. Have found compact studio okay for one night if you're just looking for a bed and don't mind a cosy room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: see main review for tips
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Travel31103579170 wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Our (last minute) booking was cancelled through booking.com. We couldn't find anywhere on their website or booking.coms that stipulates credit cards must be used. (We had a visa debit card) our booking was canceled because they do not accept visa debit cards. They (bella vista motel) did respond promptly via email, and took our call to explain the cancellation. I wouldn't recommend this place if you were in a jam and needed accommodation urgently.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: You NEED a CREDIT CARD to secure your booking and they DO NOT accept VISA DEBIT.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Yorkie Girl wrote a review Jan 2023
43 contributions3 helpful votes
Clean and convenient. We stayed for one night at this standard Bella Vista motel one block back from the seafront. It was in a quiet location and our studio was fine for 1 night. Walking distance of restaurants, supermarkets and petrol station are within a couple of minutes drive.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Roar Maagaard wrote a review Jan 2023
Aarhus, Denmark818 contributions373 helpful votes
Not located with waterfront access you find this little old motel. Room size is fine, bathrooms OK (you have to stand in the bath tub to have a shower). Good beds. No noise. Breakfast are a bit lousy - this should be lifted to a higher level! Location is OK on the middle of the beachfront.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kiwichick-NZ wrote a review Jan 2023
Cambridge, New Zealand326 contributions72 helpful votes
Extremely clean and comfortable motel, short walk close to town & very quite! An older motel, but! first priorities are hygiene, comfort, peace and locality! All the staff were ver welcoming, we opened the door of our unit and were pleasantly surprised for the price, all rooms were fully booked. We certainly would stay again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No complaints regarding this motel, if are happy with being in a handy location & not been...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wendy Zheng, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Napier
Responded 13 Jan 2023
Thank you for your reviews. We're pleased that you enjoy to stay with us. Hope see you again soon. :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wendy McPartland wrote a review Nov 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand19 contributions7 helpful votes
Our studio room was very small and cramped. Just about too small for two people. Room rather shabby and could do with an upgrade. There were plates, cutlery and microwave but could have done with better cooking facilities, e.g. hotplate, utensils for cooking and pots and pans. The room was also overpriced (by about $50) compared to the other motels that we used while travelling round East Cape which did have cooking facilities included for a cheaper price. Was convenient in the CBD of Napier but wouldn't stay here again. Room for improvement. Carparking wasn't the best either. We had to park along from our unit which is a pain when loading/unloading your car.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere if you want cooking facilities and could probably cost you less money for what you...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ann Z wrote a review Nov 2022
Carrboro, North Carolina59 contributions34 helpful votes
Our room was cramped and run down. I realize the tourist industry is trying to get on its feet again but there did not appear to be any attempt to maintain the room. The welcome from staff was equally depressing. Our room door was broken and the manager seemed to resent being asked to do anything about it. The room was part of a package so I don’t know what we paid for it, but it was too much.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wendy Zheng, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Napier
Responded 3 Nov 2022
Hi Ann, Thanks for your review. Firstly, you guys arrived after our office hours, we are fine with late check in but at least you should let us know, at the end we have to contact your travel agent to make sure you still coming. Secondly, if you like have a luxury room, you should let your travel agent know that you like to stay a 5 star hotel not a motel, our room is perfect for the price you paid. If you think you paid too much, i think you should talk to the travel agent. At the last, the door was not broken, you just did not know how to use it and we came up and showed you how to use it and it was fine, what else do you like us to do? Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MoD wrote a review Oct 2022
17 contributions1 helpful vote
Rooms was extremely small. One person would have been fine, but two people it was a little cramped. Staff were not very friendly or helpful. It was convenient for town and the water which was nice. Easy walking area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Malcolm P wrote a review May 2022
Wellington, New Zealand5 contributions1 helpful vote
Warm, but very basic standard room for a superior studio rating. Central location.Aged decor,Poor bathroom, lots of water on floor, poor shelving and no vanity in bathroom. Cheap and nasty. No area for cases.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sparklesamillion wrote a review Dec 2021
Palmerston North, New Zealand26 contributions16 helpful votes
We decided to stay here as there wasn’t much available for a reasonable price in Napier. Unit was clean and tidy however not really a lot of room to move around/room also quite dark. Recommended to if you are only after a bed for the night otherwise stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Napier area.
PRICE RANGE
$200 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandHawke's Bay RegionNapier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BELLA VISTA MOTEL NAPIER - Reviews & Price Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bella Vista Motel Napier
Which popular attractions are close to Bella Vista Motel Napier?
Nearby attractions include Sunken Gardens (0.3 km), Hawke's Bay Trails (0.2 km), and A Wave in Time Statue (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bella Vista Motel Napier?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Bella Vista Motel Napier?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Bella Vista Motel Napier?
Guests can enjoy free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Bella Vista Motel Napier?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bella Vista Motel Napier?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rasoi Cuisine of India, Faith Hope Love Malaysian Eatery, and Restaurant Indonesia.
Is Bella Vista Motel Napier located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Napier.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bella Vista Motel Napier?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Bella Vista Motel Napier?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Napier Cemetery (1.5 km).
Is Bella Vista Motel Napier accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.