We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Retro Motel at The Ambassador Hotel

Save
Share
86 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3240 New Zealand
Booking.com
Priceline
StayForLong
Agoda.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (27)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Retro Motel provides quality, cost effective accommodation for business and leisure travellers, families and groups. Well positioned within walking distance of Waikato Stadium, Founders Theatre, Seddon Park, Claudelands Events Centre & the CBD. Located opposite Pac N Save, Subway and KFC your group will enjoy a relaxing stay in our motel complex. Swimming pool & free parking.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Spa
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
59Reviews2Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 8
  • 23
  • 17
  • 5
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Stutz28 wrote a review Jun 2019
Cockatoo, Australia94 contributions18 helpful votes
There were no cars in the large car park but obviously a huge coach brought in a big bus load. Typical motel room with tea making only. Plenty of food outlets within walking distance though. Easy walking distance to main town. I requested a downstairs room with no spray and both these points were acted upon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If driving a car, ask for a room not too far from the car park.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Emma C, General Manager at Retro Motel at The Ambassador Hotel
Responded 11 Jun 2019
Hi Stutz28 Many thanks for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased that the team actioned your requests. We do hope you enjoyed your time here. Thank you for your feedback
Read more
kendrahotness wrote a review Mar 2019
Davao City, Philippines22 contributions2 helpful votes
The place is nice and cozy with friendly staffs! Room is good and bed is comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel when you visit hamilton. Easy access to grocery stores and restaurants. Quiet and peaceful area (all over in nz is peaceful and quiet though.)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
clareellay wrote a review Dec 2018
Kawerau, New Zealand2 contributions2 helpful votes
Had a great stay pool and hot tub were beautiful and crystal clear, friendly staff, very today and clean room, was dated but that’s the whole retro side of it! And like I said very clean and tidy! Will definitely book again. Thankyou
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Welshkiwi99 wrote a review Nov 2018
175 contributions32 helpful votes
Actually the hotel itself was fine, the staff nice and the room very clean and reasonably comfortable. However due to its location there was significant road traffic noise which meant a poor nights sleep. I would not return.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Lee B wrote a review Aug 2018
Christchurch, New Zealand243 contributions53 helpful votes
Spotless main room containing a double and a single bed which was perfect for a couple staying one night. Nice little kitchenette but only mugs available for tea/coffee making, although there is a fridge as well. Room contained a heat pump so was lovely and warm on arrival and SKY TV was available too. The bathroom was very tired though. Wallpaper peeling off, white sticky tape on the wall, damaged sink and the grouting around the bath was quite mouldy. Time for some TLC in this area. Motel itself was in a great location for walking to the centre, had ample parking, a pool for warmer days and excellent, friendly staff throughout.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Emma C, Manager at Retro Motel at The Ambassador Hotel
Responded 9 Sep 2018
Hello Lee_A_B_1976 Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon Warm regards
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$80 - US$107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionHamilton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Retro Motel at The Ambassador Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Retro Motel at The Ambassador Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escapist (0.9 km), Lido Cinema (1.0 km), and Waikato Stadium (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Retro Motel at The Ambassador Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Retro Motel at The Ambassador Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Retro Motel at The Ambassador Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Retro Motel at The Ambassador Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Palate, Adriana's Restaurant, and Mediterranean Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Retro Motel at The Ambassador Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Retro Motel at The Ambassador Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Hamilton.
Are there any historical sites close to Retro Motel at The Ambassador Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sapper Horace Moore-Jones commemorative statue (0.3 km).
Is Retro Motel at The Ambassador Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.