Barclay Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Barclay Motel

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#32 of 58 hotels in Hamilton
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Asure Barclay Motel is located just minutes away from the Hamilton central business district and close to the Waikato Stadium. Family friendly and safe, Asure Barclay Motel provides an environment for total relaxation for adults and hours of fun for the kids. We offer a swimming pool for our guests to enjoy.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Breakfast in the room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Spa
Baggage storage
Wifi
Saltwater pool
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Hindi, Nepali

Location

280 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200 New Zealand
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 48 out of 100
48
Hamilton Airport
11.1 km
See all flights
Auckland Intl Airport
94.7 km
See all flights
61Reviews2Q+A16Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 19
  • 23
  • 11
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
markfor wrote a review Jul 2011
Auckland, New Zealand19 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The motel room I booked was adequate and very clean, nothing flashy but everything needed was there. The hosts are really lovely people who know how to make you feel welcome and the service was fantastic. This is really what makes them stand out and my reason for a very good rating. Located close to the city centre, 5 minute walk to take-aways and another 5 minutes walk to some good restaurants. Old fashioned heating system, which did heat the room, but could definitely do with an upgrade to something quieter. Would definitely stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2011
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Margaret B, Owner at Barclay Motel
Responded 10 Mar 2012
Thanks for these comments. Heat pumps/Air conditioning units installed in all rooms Dec 2011.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
missocarroll wrote a review Feb 2015
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my family of 5,turned up at Barclay motel on the 25/2/15,and out of all the motels along Ulster st,we picked this motel,without not booking,we tried our luck by walking into reception and asking if we could have a room,that would be suitable for me and my family,with a welcoming smile the reception said sure,she then showed us too our unit,it was perfect,king size bed,and 2 singles,a private court yard with hot tub,outside table n chairs.
Very clean,tidy,and affordable,i would recommend this too family and friends travelling too Hamilton,and wanting accom.
So thankyou Barclay Motel for the wonderful stay,and thankyou so so much too the young lady that greeted and looked after us,i didnt catch your name..sorry,bt you were wonderful.
We will be back!! :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ken Y, Owner at Barclay Motel
Responded 3 Mar 2015
Dear missocarroll, It is great to hear that you had a happy stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Best regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
john j wrote a review Aug 2014
Auckland, New Zealand416 contributions170 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We picked this motel for our weekend stay in Hamilton. The new owners were very friendly, and the room was very clean. As with many older motels, it wasn't hard to hear voices from the adjoining room, and despite being in one of the furthest units away from the road, traffic noise was very noticeable.
There were a couple of light bulbs blown which could have been fixed before we arrived if they had taken time to check the room. The toilet flush button had to be pushed in a certain way otherwise it wouldn't work. The shower door had some good sized cracks in the glass, and the carpet showed signs of wear in places.
Despite staying for two nights, only one small bar of soap was left on the day of arrival, with none being left on the second day by the cleaners. There were only two bath towels which is not enough especially in light of the fact that it was a two bedroom unit.
The private spa pool is not private at. Their is a sail over part of the pool, but it is still open to the occupants of the multistory apartments directly behind you.
If you take in to account the high cost for the rooms, it is very poor value.
The thin walls, traffic noise, non-private spa pool, worn state of the room, minimal bathroom supplies, and poor value for money means we unfortunately won't be return customers.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ken Y, Owner at Barclay Motel
Responded 19 Sept 2014
HI John, Thank you for the review. We are sorry to hear your experience was not to your liking. As we don't have a SPA pool for 2 bedroom unit, I assume that you stayed at our most popular 1 bedroom SPA tub unit which has SPA tub in private backyard. We valued your feedback and improve our service level, it's much appreciate if you can let us know when you stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
andrewnc2015 wrote a review Jun 2015
Bourail, New Caledonia1 contribution5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been staying at this motel for at least fifteen years, while visiting Fieldays. It changed hands early last year and we have found that service is slipping, while prices certainly aren't. Basics like soap etc. are not renewed daily and sheets weren't changed often enough. My group has rented 5 units for many years running, the bill tops $9,000 for 6 nights. While prices have inched up slowly over the years, (and I had until now no problem with this) one unit went from $155 2 years ago to $245 this year, the unit in question being a tiny studio that is too small even for a table. For comparison a spacious 1 bedroom unit that sleeps 4 is $280. When I complained that they had made an error, they said no, and wouldn't reconsider. When I said we wouldn't be back next year, the new owner basically said he didn't care, he'd find other clients. We'd had a great relationship with the former owners and every time we were in Hamilton we stayed there but I'll certainly no longer recommend this motel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ken Y, Owner at Barclay Motel
Responded 30 Jun 2015
Hi Andrew, thanks for your time to review. Understanding you were upset about the price but the unit's rate has been increased last year and someoneelse in your team paid without any questions. Because we have huge demand during Fieldays period and always keep best rate for you guys, 20% less than normal market price. Also, would appreciate if you can let us know anything need to attention before you cheked out. Really sorry for your leaving, hope can help you next time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacob H wrote a review Feb 2015
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First 250 mb is free only, then after you have to pay. Manager said its this way everywhere, but we walked across the street to Best Western and their wifi is totally free. Pool and hot tub are disgusting. Hot tub was cold so really it was just a small dirty pool. Staff is undertrained, poor girl. Probably due to poor management. Ken the manager wanted us to pay half if we wanted to cancel and repeatedly said "if you want to talk we can talk." Really unprofessional. A con artist and a scam if you ask me.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ken Y, Owner at Barclay Motel
Responded 3 Mar 2015
Dear Jacob H, Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion. I'm sorry we can't give you free cancellation when you arrived at that day which is peak season. For the data ilimit which is stated "free wifi with condition' on the website, however, my minder who was the first day on duty gave you more than 250mb to suit your need. We are always pround of our cleaness and try our best to keep high standard, would you please raise any concerns before you left? Thanks again for your stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Georgie W wrote a review Sept 2017
Kerikeri, New Zealand4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
A group of us stayed here for 4 days. I would not recommend to anyone! Facilities are old & grotty. Towels were awful. One of the rooms we booked had an upstairs unit attached to it which was occupied independently to us. The first night despite the rules saying no pets had a dog running around and you could here every movement and word. When we enquired they assured us that it would not happen again - wrong! 2 nights later it was rented to a young crowd who partied up there and when we rang to complain the phone in the room did not even work. After 3 attempts to get reception top do anything I had to go out at 11.30pm and ask to be quiet, but the noise started up again at 4am on there return! We asked for compensation from reception and got nothing! We had booked 6 rooms here and would not recommend either of them. This place is run by people with bad english, bad hygiene and bad motel management - dont waste your money!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don't book here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
steve w wrote a review Mar 2014
Auckland, New Zealand65 contributions34 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Regular visitor to Hamilton, usually stay at another motel, which were full and less than helpful so was looking for a new place to stay.

The room was fine no issues, but I did explain to the host about being a new corporate customer...so he puts me in the room closest to the road and it was bloody noisy!

Guessing doesn't care that much for repeat business, as due to the lack of interest and care doubt I'll be heading back again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Neil B, Owner at Barclay Motel
Responded 23 Mar 2014
Thanks for your review Steve. As we were all aware, this was a very busy week with little else available at the time you booked. It is unfortunate you did not mention this to us on check out. As you can see from our other reviews we do try hard to go the “extra mile” for our guests. Again, thanks for your review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pam T wrote a review Nov 2012
Newman, Western Australia, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the Studio King Spa Suite and couldn't have asked for more. Everything was clean and tidy and the room to move was over and above our expectations. Thank you to Neil and Margaret for making us feel welcome. We will not hesitate to recommend the Barclay Motel to our family and friends travelling to Hamilton.
Thanking you - Ian & Pam Thompson, Newman, Western Australia
Read more
Date of stay: November 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Neil B, Owner at Barclay Motel
Responded 11 Nov 2012
Thanks for these comments folks. We do appreciate comments that acknowledge the effort we go to behind the scenes to make your stay pleasurable. Neil & Margaret.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stephanie b wrote a review Jan 2012
Brisbane, Australia13 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
lovely unit,was sparkling clean people at reception were so LOVELY,would recommend anyone to stay here was cheap in my eyes 4 star plus such a great deal comfortable bed great surroundings with a pool and swing set and trampoline outside i wouldn't go anywhere else!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: unit 4 is an amazing unit :)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Margaret B, Owner at Barclay Motel
Responded 10 Mar 2012
Thank you for these comments. Setting a high standard is one thing, maintiaining that standard for almost 22 years is another so comments like this are appreciated. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa K wrote a review Jan 2012
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates93 contributions71 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful 2 bdrm apt with full kitchen and garden patio makes me wish we would be around long enough to enjoy them. But it was gracious welcome at midnight when all else was closed or full that really made us so grateful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Margaret B, Manager at Barclay Motel
Responded 10 Mar 2012
Thanks for these comments. We have a policy that if we are awake then the office stays open. Pleased we could help you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maraea B asked a question Jun 2016
Taihape, New Zealand
Hi do you have sky
Answer from Barclay Motel
Hamilton, New Zealand11 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi Maraea yes we do have sky tv. There are 6 sky tv channels in total. They are Sky Sport 1, 2, 3. Discovery; UKTV; and Movie channel.
Answer from Barclay Motel
Hamilton, New Zealand11 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi there, we do have the policy to keep bond from guests, especially for cash payment or check in without credit card like mostly of motelier does. Thanks.
ClassicKiwi wrote a tip Mar 2018
Palmerston North, New Zealand428 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room away from street frontage"
Read full review
lorrainemalone25 wrote a tip Feb 2018
Feilding, New Zealand1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room was fine"
Read full review
Georgie W wrote a tip Sept 2017
Kerikeri, New Zealand4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't book here"
Read full review
Catherine H wrote a tip Jul 2017
Cardiff, United Kingdom22 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try and get room (either 21 or 22 can't remember ) huge house attached to hotel"
Read full review
Lorna S wrote a tip May 2016
Taranaki Region, New Zealand73 contributions38 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room at the back end away from the road."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hamilton area.
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionHamilton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BARCLAY MOTEL - Hotel Reviews (Hamilton) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Barclay Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Barclay Motel?
Nearby attractions include Escape HQ (0.8 km), Waikato Stadium (0.7 km), and Te Awa The Great New Zealand River Ride (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Barclay Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a spa, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Barclay Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Barclay Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Barclay Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Helm, The Sugar Bowl Cafe, and Thai Classic.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Barclay Motel?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Barclay Motel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Hindi, and Nepali.
Are there any historical sites close to Barclay Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sapper Horace Moore-Jones commemorative statue (0.5 km).
Is Barclay Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Hamilton HotelsHamilton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HamiltonHotels near Barclay Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire