We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Save
Share
100 Garnett Avenue Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
US$112
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (11)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#30 of 64 hotels in Hamilton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre offers 147 air-conditioned hotel rooms and suites, many of which have been refurbished in 2017. The hotel’s new Superior Rooms & Suites have been designed to feature a modern & contemporary vibe. Guests will be treated to upgraded, luxury beds combined with sumptuous linen ensuring a restful night’s sleep, plush new carpet, increased soundproofing, comfortable armchairs and a work desk, 49” flat screen televisions, free unlimited WiFi and individually controlled heat pumps/air conditioning. Extensive guest services including a gymnasium, three spa pools, an indoor swimming pool and bar. The hotel's popular Garnett's Restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner daily. Located only minutes from the Hamilton city centre and conveniently located to reach any out-of-town places of interest, this Hamilton hotel is a favourite with business travellers and holiday makers alike. For families, the proximity of Waterworld is a real bonus and for horse racing enthusiasts, Te Rapa Racecourse is just a short walk away. The Base Hamilton - NZ's largest shopping centre is also just a few minutes walk from our Hamilton hotel. Distinction Hamilton also boasts some of the largest conference facilities in the Waikato area.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
325Reviews3Q+A73Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 42
  • 110
  • 89
  • 51
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tracy H wrote a review Jun 2022
Wellington, New Zealand10 contributions1 helpful vote
Incredibly disappointed with this accommodation. Room is tired and carpet has what appears to be blood drops on it. No bath mat or clothes hangars in the room. Staff were apologetic about hangars but at $300 a night, the least they could do is present a clean well stocked room, serviced daily. I avoided the restaurant as pricing was unreasonable. Do not stay here as the poor staff are putting people into rooms that should be out of commission.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla Denmead, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is not poor staff putting people into rooms that should be out of condition. The staff work very hard and as most people understand hospitality is very understaffed and it is very difficult to get staff. The area you were in is due for an upgrade soon.
Read more
bassa wrote a review Jun 2022
New Zealand1 contribution
Spent 5 nights. Room wasn't serviced in whole stay - you have to request a room service. Requested room coffee supplies to be replenished which partially happened after a second request and long wait . Room appears to have been recently reviewed but the rest of the hotel is showing signs of lack of maintenance for a long time. Definitely not worth the rates they are charging given the service (or lack thereof) and facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla Denmead, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for posting a review. On arrival you were given a letter explaining that due to lack of staffing if you wanted you room serviced to just let us know- the service was available , you just neglected to ask for it.
Read more
Susanna L wrote a review Jun 2022
Wellington, New Zealand19 contributions26 helpful votes
We stayed for one night. The staff was very friendly. The room was recently refurbished and was very quiet as the hotel is located off the main road. So we had a good quality of sleep. The hotel is 5km away from the CBD and no eateries are nearby. It was not a matter for us as we had a car. We tried their buffet breakfast, Decent choices and food was fresh. I noticed many families with kids staying at this hotel. It is a good choice for family holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Family holiday, quiet location
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla Denmead, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 3 days ago
Thanks very much
Read more
Velvon A wrote a review Jun 2022
Auckland, New Zealand263 contributions59 helpful votes
Stayed for 2 nights. Room is big and spacious. Bathroom is big too with superb water pressure. Mattresses were not comfortable, too soft. Pillows were either too soft or too hard. Cleanliness in the room and in the common area - ok ok. Car park is massive. Restaurant- good breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla Denmead, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 3 days ago
Thanks for posting a review- we appreciate it
Read more
langtonr wrote a review Mar 2022
Harare, Zimbabwe141 contributions40 helpful votes
I found this to be the best place to be in MIQ. It helps that the hotel has a huge car park that guests could walk around at the designated times. I enjoyed my stay in MIQ at this facility. I didn't physically interact with staff, so I don't know what to say about them. The hotel could do with a few more TV channels.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Koshla R wrote a review Jul 2021
27 contributions10 helpful votes
Terrible on all fronts. Food is disgusting. Staff incredibly rude and unhelpful. Some parts of the roof inside of the building is falling in after a little bit of rain. If you get this place for MIQ you are one of the very unlucky ones! Be prepared to order food in. Also be prepared to be told completely contradictory information on a daily basis. A huge thumbs down!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Peter H wrote a review Jun 2021
Auckland, New Zealand9 contributions3 helpful votes
I have had to stay at this hotel twice for quarantine coming into New Zealand. The hotel itself is ok for what is 3 star, I mean its basic, but there are worse places to stay. The Food however - wow, it is terrible, and I dont mean a little terrible - its really bad. I know the hotel has to work within a budget, but I have friends that have stayed in different locations and from the pictures, their food is leaps and bounds over the stuff the Distinction serves up. 9 times out of 10 it turns up cold, it looks to me like they have 2 people (maybe 3) delivering the food to the hotel guests - I have seen the delivery start, yet it can be 45 mins before it would come anywhere close to me so I get the cold - and thats just bad logistics from the hotel. Most of the time its well overcooked, they put a salad in with breakfast nearly everyday (salad - breakfast - by salad I mean leafs). Vegetables are soggy, meats over cooked - and some stuff I don't even know what it is - look, I cant describe it, its just very very poor, and it was the same both times Ive stayed - and remember, we are paying $3100 to stay in a 3 star hotel and crap food - they should do better. When I stayed there in December 2020, the first time, in the middle of the two week stay they provided fresh towels and sheets - this time, they offered nothing - again, quite poor considering the cost that is passed on.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: its maybe a 3 star place at best
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Serge wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
If you haven't tried rat food yet, the Distinction Hotel Hamilton is here for you to get this incredible experience. Being a human, I have thrown away 2/3 of the Hotel's served food as it was next to impossible to swallow. 1/3 was eaten only because I was too hungry during my Covid stay in this dismal place. Some receptionists were quite nasty, too. The only positive side of things was quite clean bed sheets (towels were grayish and some even stained, though). So, I'd suggest you avoid this place in Hamilton.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
shmad wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Did my two weeks quarantine at distinction and it was great. Food was amazing and staff/army/nurses were beyond lovely and helpful. Room was also nice and had everything we needed. Can imagine this would be a very hard two weeks for some but being at distinction definitely makes it a lot better. Big ups to everyone there to help, created a really nice environment!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
NZL_Carl wrote a review Aug 2020
Auckland146 contributions71 helpful votes
Stayed here as part of the NZ Govt Managed Isolation requirements. Clean and tidy throughout, and all guests for this purpose was well catered for. Bathrooms are a bit dated with the floor in my room cracking and the shower head needs replacement. Comfy beds and chairs. I was in a renovated superior room. Not sure on restaurant as we were brought meals to the room as part of the quarantine process. Staff were all very friendly and accommodating and did what ever they could to assist. Thank you for making the two week easier!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$95 - US$114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionHamilton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
147
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre?
Nearby attractions include Waterworld (0.09 km), Leap (1.1 km), and Hamilton Model Engineers. (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include The District, Robert Harris Te Rapa Licensed Cafe, and Fill A Bowl.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre have airport transportation?
Yes, Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sapper Horace Moore-Jones commemorative statue (2.1 km).
Is Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.