Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

100 Garnett Avenue Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241 New Zealand
Traveller (72)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#30 of 58 hotels in Hamilton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre offers 147 air-conditioned hotel rooms and suites, many of which have been refurbished in 2017. The hotel’s new Superior Rooms & Suites have been designed to feature a modern & contemporary vibe. Guests will be treated to upgraded, luxury beds combined with sumptuous linen ensuring a restful night’s sleep, plush new carpet, increased soundproofing, comfortable armchairs and a work desk, 49” flat screen televisions, free unlimited WiFi and individually controlled heat pumps/air conditioning. Guest services including a gymnasium and bar. The hotel's popular Garnett's Restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner daily. Located only minutes from the Hamilton city centre and conveniently located to reach any out-of-town places of interest, this Hamilton hotel is a favourite with business travellers and holiday makers alike. For families, the proximity of Waterworld is a real bonus and for horse racing enthusiasts, Te Rapa Racecourse is just a short walk away. The Base Hamilton - NZ's largest shopping centre is also just a few minutes walk from our Hamilton hotel. Distinction Hamilton also boasts some of the largest conference facilities in the Waikato area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range

Location

100 Garnett Avenue Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241 New Zealand
339Reviews3Q+A78Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 44
  • 117
  • 92
  • 50
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Serge wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
If you haven't tried rat food yet, the Distinction Hotel Hamilton is here for you to get this incredible experience. Being a human, I have thrown away 2/3 of the Hotel's served food as it was next to impossible to swallow. 1/3 was eaten only because I was too hungry during my Covid stay in this dismal place. Some receptionists were quite nasty, too. The only positive side of things was quite clean bed sheets (towels were grayish and some even stained, though). So, I'd suggest you avoid this place in Hamilton.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NZL_Carl wrote a review Aug 2020
Auckland146 contributions71 helpful votes
Stayed here as part of the NZ Govt Managed Isolation requirements. Clean and tidy throughout, and all guests for this purpose was well catered for.

Bathrooms are a bit dated with the floor in my room cracking and the shower head needs replacement.

Comfy beds and chairs. I was in a renovated superior room. Not sure on restaurant as we were brought meals to the room as part of the quarantine process.

Staff were all very friendly and accommodating and did what ever they could to assist. Thank you for making the two week easier!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DudleyandFreda wrote a review May 2023
Napier, New Zealand146 contributions23 helpful votes
The room was well appointed, comfortable bed, nice pillows and linen and clean. There were some cracked tiles in the bathroom, but other than that is was perfectly suitable for the price. The staff are very friendly. Breakfast at $38 I thought was a bit expensive. The grounds could definitely do with some work, paint the buildings and tidy the grounds along with planting some gardens would be of benefit as from the outside the hotel looks terrible.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Colin Maclaurin, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 21 May 2023
Thank you for your review. Breakfast is $36.00 per person and the gardens are a work in progress.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracy H wrote a review Jun 2022
Wellington, New Zealand12 contributions2 helpful votes
Incredibly disappointed with this accommodation.
Room is tired and carpet has what appears to be blood drops on it. No bath mat or clothes hangars in the room. Staff were apologetic about hangars but at $300 a night, the least they could do is present a clean well stocked room, serviced daily.
I avoided the restaurant as pricing was unreasonable.
Do not stay here as the poor staff are putting people into rooms that should be out of commission.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susanna L wrote a review Jun 2022
Wellington, New Zealand37 contributions26 helpful votes
We stayed for one night. The staff was very friendly. The room was recently refurbished and was very quiet as the hotel is located off the main road. So we had a good quality of sleep. The hotel is 5km away from the CBD and no eateries are nearby. It was not a matter for us as we had a car. We tried their buffet breakfast, Decent choices and food was fresh. I noticed many families with kids staying at this hotel. It is a good choice for family holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Family holiday, quiet location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carla Denmead, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 3 Jul 2022
Thanks very much
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
townie2001 wrote a review Jul 2023
Tauranga, New Zealand75 contributions13 helpful votes
We recently stayed at the Distinction Hotel in Hamilton, as a family. First impressions when arriving at the hotel is that it is very run down, with the exterior in need of a lot of work and many of the common areas inside looking very tired.

Check in was quick and the front desk staff were very welcoming.

We stayed on the second floor which was only accessible by stairs. The exterior door also has to be unlocked with the room key. This did make the arrival and departure process a little bit tricky, trying to navigate the locked door and a staircase with our luggage and two small children. With that said, I am sure that a ground floor room could be requested.

The breakfast buffet was fantastic, you simply could not dream of more menu options to choose from! The food was tasty and well presented. The restaurant staff were lovely and very hospitable.

We stayed in one of the refurbished rooms and it was really nice, with comfortable beds and pillows.

The thing that really lets the hotel down is the cleanliness. You can see past a tired interior if it is clean, but this hotel unfortunately is not. The hallways and stairways were noticeably bad, with everything from food that had been dropped and then stepped on and crushed into the carpet through to leaves and mud. They definitely were not vacuumed once the entire time that we were there. Our bathroom had not been cleaned, there was hair on the shower walls and floors, marks all over the mirror and the floor was visibly dirty. There were also half-eaten lollies and wrappers on the ground in the main part of the room. We did phone Reception to give them the opportunity to hopefully rectify the situation for us, but all they could do was advise that the house keeping team was short staffed.

You can definitely look past the run down areas of the hotel as the refurbished rooms, great breakfast buffet and friendly staff overshadow those things. They really just need to sort the housekeeping side of the business out, that would be the thing that would prevent us from staying again but I genuinely hope that it was just a one-off.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Request a ground floor room if you have trouble navigating stairs, as there are no lifts.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Colin Maclaurin, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 16 Jul 2023
Dear Heidi, Thank you for your constructive comments, I will most definitely take the matter up with Housekeeping. The 500 wing which you were in in particularly bad as there are leaves that get trodden into the carpet and I have made Housekeeping aware of this on a number of occasions. I knew that you had spoken with the Duty Manager on Friday as it was in our daily reports. It is true that we were tight on Housekeeping staff on Friday, but that is not an excuse not to clean the room properly. Kind Regards Colin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
adsnome wrote a review Jan 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand68 contributions66 helpful votes
I regularly stay at other Distinction properties in Dunedin, Christchurch and Wellington for work hence decided to stay here for pleasure as we were visiting friends near Hamilton for New Years. It appears as if this property has been acquired by the group and whilst you can see some changes are underway it is very tired and dated. Hotel was very quiet as it was NYE and hotel is not really CBD located. Room was absolutely adequate for a decent nights sleep and a hot shower. Nowhere near the standard of other hotels on the group. If you regularly stay particularly in Dunedin or Christchurch and expect a similar experience you’ll be sorely disappointed. For a $150-175 per night property though it’s a decent enough option with free parking and good access to the motorway.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. You are correct- we are not the same as the Dunedin and Christchurch hotels. As you observed work is ongoing at the hotel and Hamilton is a very very quiet place over Christmas and New Year.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
johmf wrote a review Feb 2020
Coromandel, New Zealand24 contributions6 helpful votes
Had an issue with the cleaning in our room when we arrived today (3/2/2020) and advised reception who immediately advised Duty Manager Samantha.

We were immediately given another room with an extremely sincere apology and because of the way the issue was handled, am happy to give an excellent rating! Have worked in retail & hospo for over 30 years, and CAN NOT fault the manner in which Sam and her staff dealt with our issue.

FANTASTIC service and WILL definitely consider this property for future stays because despite the relatively minor problem with our first room, have SO far thoroughly enjoyed every interaction with these lovely ladies!

PS really good value for money!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bassa wrote a review Jun 2022
New Zealand1 contribution
Spent 5 nights. Room wasn't serviced in whole stay - you have to request a room service. Requested room coffee supplies to be replenished which partially happened after a second request and long wait .
Room appears to have been recently reviewed but the rest of the hotel is showing signs of lack of maintenance for a long time.
Definitely not worth the rates they are charging given the service (or lack thereof) and facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sonia F wrote a review Sept 2022
New Zealand23 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Positives - large refurbished room comfy bed and pillows. Great front counter team.
Things to work on - housekeeping poor there were hairs through the bathroom and blood on the toilet roll holder. Carpet in corridor to room was filthy. Treadmill in gym broken and not working and water dispenser filthy. Spa and pool not in use. I had a cooked breakfast and at $35 was certainly not worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carla Denmead, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 14 Nov 2022
Thank you for your review. The carpet in the corridors is soon to be replaced and unfortunately the pool and spa complex has been permanently closed.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Christine S
Taupo, New Zealand70 contributions6 helpful votes
Yes you can eat in Garnett's Restaurant, if you aren't staying in the Hotel. It is open to the public. Unfortunately, I cannot remember how much the breakfast is, sorry.
Show all answers
AlexL12345 asked a question May 2018
Buenos Aires, Argentina271 contributions80 helpful votes
does the hotel has self serve laundry?how much it costs?
Answer from DHHManager
Hamilton, New Zealand
HI Yes we do have guest laundry's available. It is $4 per wash and $4 per dry. Laundry powder is $2 per sachet.
Darren W wrote a tip 5 Feb
Bradford, United Kingdom13 contributions3 helpful votes
"10 minute drive outside of Hamilton centre."
Read full review
SKB2023 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Whangarei, New Zealand40 contributions11 helpful votes
"Pack a light overnight bag that’s easy to carry up the stairs, you may have to park far from your room"
Read full review
Cleosmum wrote a tip Sept 2023
Dubai37 contributions25 helpful votes
"DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES pick the fruit trees!!! Even just 1!"
Read full review
townie2001 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Tauranga, New Zealand75 contributions13 helpful votes
"Request a ground floor room if you have trouble navigating stairs, as there are no lifts."
Read full review
Rob M wrote a tip Feb 2023
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom389 contributions186 helpful votes
"Ask for a superior room"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hamilton area.
PRICE RANGE
$182 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionHamilton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
147
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DISTINCTION HAMILTON HOTEL & CONFERENCE CENTRE - Now $184 (Was $̶2̶3̶0̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre?
Nearby attractions include Waterworld (0.09 km), Leap (1.1 km), and Hamilton Model Engineers. (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ginger & Honey Café, The District, and Robert Harris Te Rapa Licensed Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre have airport transportation?
Yes, Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sapper Horace Moore-Jones commemorative statue (2.1 km).