We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
139 Rutene Road, Gisborne 4010 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (37)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 12 Speciality lodging in Gisborne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
107Reviews0Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 96
  • 7
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
LWolmore wrote a review Mar 2017
Calabasas, California1 contribution
Barry and Ros are wonderful hosts! I stayed in December for three nights with my parents. I had a large comfortable room inside the main house and my parents had the en-suite cabin beside the house. I had plenty of room to unpack and make myself at home. The bed is comfortable. The breakfast is huge! Our plates were heaped with delicious food. Barry is a fantastic cook and Ros made sure we had everything we needed. It was fun chatting with Barry while he cooked. He has lived an interesting life and shared lots of fun stories. The location is an easy walk into the main part of town. I highly recommend staying here if you have the opportunity.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
Helpful
Share
kedracek wrote a review Mar 2017
Seattle, Washington1 contribution
Barry and Ros were fantastic hosts during the couple nights I stayed with them. They very kindly upgraded me to the Reef Point room, an en-suite cabin right beside the main house. Very cozy and relaxing; there were even snacks, coffee, and tea in the room! As I got in fairly late my first evening, Ros generously made up a sandwich for me, with the warning not to eat too much, as breakfast the next day would be large. And it was! Large and delicious. Barry is a fantastic cook; you will not leave the table hungry. It was great chatting with him during breakfast-- he's definitely lived a full life and has some interesting things to talk about. He gave me a tour of the area, access to his bicycles, and the following morning got up early with me to drive out to the beach and
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
Helpful
Share
Maddy W wrote a review Feb 2017
London, United Kingdom14 contributions9 helpful votes
I haven't stayed in a bed and breakfast for a few years, but had always had spacious rooms and quality rooms in previous b&b. Either prices have shot up or standards of expectations gone down. A prefab unit cramped space, minuscule en suite were a disappointment. This was the premium suite we were told! I have bruises from squeezing past the bed to get out...no hanging space, very cramped. Bedding basic, not high quality linen as advertised. Price was $160 a night. Breakfast ..no choice....a plate heaped. Well cooked, however no niceties....and plonked on the table with a mug of pre made tea. Gisborne is this the average price for a B&B? Certainly put us off trying again. Disappointed.....but perhaps we were expecting more from the reviews here. Would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Bazza026, Owner at Surf City Lodge
Responded 3 Mar 2017
Mad - While I am disappointed with your review I must comment that you did not have the decency to draw my attention to any of the problems you had. I would have remedied them immediately. Your breakfast ettiquette was a shocker and atrocious at the best. I have never seen anything like it in the nearly seven years I have been running a B&B as you failed to communicate with me and even with your husband at the table as you both sat glued to your computers the whole time during breafast and you with a glum and grumpy look. If you were experiencing a bad trip please don't take it out on us. Your problem with fitting around the bed should have been made clearer to me as your body size possibly was the problem as all people who have stayed in that room have found it spacious. As a Chef I found your pre-made tea comment very disappointing. The tea was not pre-made, no one makes pre-made Earl Grey tea and if the meals were not to your liking all you needed to do was make me aware of this as you wasted a considerable amount of food by just picking at it and leaving and wasting perfectly good food on your plate. I asked you on your arrival as I do with all my guests "did you have any food problems, allegies or dietary requirements?" Your answer was no. It would have been some stage after this that you should have drawn my attention to the breakfast menu. The bedding is 300+ thread so for a small B&B like ours we think that is accetable and the sheets and pillow case for all roomss are ironed. When it comes to pricing, many of our guests tell us that we undercharge and provide excellent value for money - Barry Thomas Owner/Chef.
Read more
Karen047047 wrote a review Jan 2017
Yellowknife, Canada82 contributions48 helpful votes
Spent one night at the lodge in the Raglan room - spacious, very comfortable firm bed, tv and dvd selection in room, beautifully decorated in a restored period home. Bathroom across the hall also lovingly turned out with clawfoot soaker tub. Owner Barry is very warm and looks forward to cooking the breakfast part for you. Just lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Helpful
Share
afarrell011 wrote a review Dec 2016
Palmerston North, New Zealand7 contributions5 helpful votes
I stay with Barry and Ros on a regular basis for work. Great accommodation and best breakfast ever! I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Everything is always clean and tidy, it's handy to everything and the hosts are always friendly and welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
US$99 - US$112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandGisborne RegionGisborne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing