Surf City Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Surf City Lodge

Main entrance
Traveller (37)
Breakfast
Dining (5)
Living room
Room & Suite (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 4 lodges in Gisborne
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

139 Rutene Road, Gisborne 4010 New Zealand
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 53 out of 100
53
Gisborne Airport
106Reviews0Q+A18Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 95
  • 7
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Fuzzy Logic wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Barry is a great host. When you arrive everything is sorted. He even gives you little snacks and bottles of water. The house is lovely. The beds are 5-star hotel quality. And his breakfast is amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bazza026, Owner at Surf City Lodge
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Thanks for the review mate - Baz
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ani wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Couldn't have chosen a better place to stay - from welcome by Barry to comfort of room in beautiful house, huge breakfast to die for (didn't have to as it is included in tarriff), friendly chat with Barry and Roz (wonderful hosts) AND walking distance to town. Would definitely stay again if I can book early enough.
Ka rawe tenei whare me nga tangata ko Barry, ko Roz.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barry Thomas, Owner at Surf City Lodge
Responded 1 Mar 2020
It was a pleasure Ann.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Companion758063 wrote a review Feb 2018
1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The couple owning the place is so nice and love their job. They take extra care of us, particularly then it comes to food. The breakfast was divine! The guy is a very talented chef.

We have the impression to be part of their family. Would definitely go back again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FRANCIS D wrote a review May 2018
Houston, Texas30 contributions17 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed one night only out of two. It was a catalogue of extremely poor service starting when my wife asked for more hangers for clothes. The owner was extremely rude. We did not stay the second night as it was so bad, the en-suite is a caravan in the garden with very little space. The owners parting words to my wife and I were 'you are two obnoxious poms'. Fine if he thinks that but I would beware of staying at this establishment. It was fortunate our next stay was with friends in Napier in that I was able to contact them and arrange to go to their house the next day. The attitude of the owner totally ruined our stay in Gisborne
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Beware the en-suite is a caravan in the garden with a very poor electrical supply
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TrPhre wrote a review Jan 2018
London, United Kingdom27 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am so happy and grateful to have found Surf City Lodge in the resplendent and historical Gisborne.
To experience such warmth and welcome, quality and character, comfort and security from any 5 star accommodation anywhere on the planet, is rare.
However it is uniquely and magnificently given to you here by Barry and Roz.
When I arrived it was more like a homecoming than a checking in and thereafter I was part of the family.
Having strict dietary requirements, the breakfast they created for me is amongst the finest I will ever eat.
I'm sure this will be echoed by the beautiful Maori and Påkehå ladies Dolly, Karen and Rose who were staying there too.
Before they left they sang a song for our hosts as a Maori tradition commending them for their exemplary hospitality. One which is performed as a mark of respect when such esteemed compassion is shown for one's guests and I can certify that this is exactly what was shown to me the whole time I was there.
I was blessed enough to see many wonders on my travel through New Zealand and the Surf City lodge is one of them. I am sure it will be one of yours too.
I look forward to staying with you guys again. Thank you so much!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie S wrote a review Apr 2018
Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand16 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Barry and Ros are friendly welcoming hosts. The room was beautifully clean and had all the amenities I needed for my 3 night stay. The breakfasts Barry cooked were amazing and so delicious. The rate was so minimal and the accommodation and food was so fabulous. I will definitely return to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maddy W wrote a review Feb 2017
London, United Kingdom14 contributions14 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I haven't stayed in a bed and breakfast for a few years, but had always had spacious rooms and quality rooms in previous b&b. Either prices have shot up or standards of expectations gone down. A prefab unit cramped space, minuscule en suite were a disappointment. This was the premium suite we were told! I have bruises from squeezing past the bed to get out...no hanging space, very cramped. Bedding basic, not high quality linen as advertised. Price was $160 a night. Breakfast ..no choice....a plate heaped. Well cooked, however no niceties....and plonked on the table with a mug of pre made tea.
Gisborne is this the average price for a B&B? Certainly put us off trying again.
Disappointed.....but perhaps we were expecting more from the reviews here.
Would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bazza026, Owner at Surf City Lodge
Responded 3 Mar 2017
Mad - While I am disappointed with your review I must comment that you did not have the decency to draw my attention to any of the problems you had. I would have remedied them immediately. Your breakfast ettiquette was a shocker and atrocious at the best. I have never seen anything like it in the nearly seven years I have been running a B&B as you failed to communicate with me and even with your husband at the table as you both sat glued to your computers the whole time during breafast and you with a glum and grumpy look. If you were experiencing a bad trip please don't take it out on us. Your problem with fitting around the bed should have been made clearer to me as your body size possibly was the problem as all people who have stayed in that room have found it spacious. As a Chef I found your pre-made tea comment very disappointing. The tea was not pre-made, no one makes pre-made Earl Grey tea and if the meals were not to your liking all you needed to do was make me aware of this as you wasted a considerable amount of food by just picking at it and leaving and wasting perfectly good food on your plate. I asked you on your arrival as I do with all my guests "did you have any food problems, allegies or dietary requirements?" Your answer was no. It would have been some stage after this that you should have drawn my attention to the breakfast menu. The bedding is 300+ thread so for a small B&B like ours we think that is accetable and the sheets and pillow case for all roomss are ironed. When it comes to pricing, many of our guests tell us that we undercharge and provide excellent value for money - Barry Thomas Owner/Chef.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John S wrote a review Apr 2012
Waiheke Island, New Zealand310 contributions280 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Surf City Lodge was a great place to stay on a recent visit to Gisborne. Warm greetings when we arrived from Mine Host, Barry. Surf City Lodge is a large 1920’s Californian bungalow that has been restored to its original beauty.

The bedrooms are on the first floor. We had to share our room with a large yellow surf board but it did not snore so it was not a problem. Snacks and nibbles in the room along with TV and, always a winner with this traveller, free Wi-Fi.

The bathroom is a guest shared facility across the hall, with a wonderful old style bath, basin and toilet. The only downside was if you wanted a shower this was located on the ground floor, bathrobe supplied.

Barry is a very good chef and we took advantage of his delicious and reasonably priced dinner, two courses for $20.00 including wine. As if this was not enough in the morning Barry served up a fantastic cooked breakfast, as he put it “enough to keep you going all day”

I cannot say higher than next time I am in Gisborne I would stay at Surf City Lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynn F wrote a review Oct 2011
Kalispell, Montana10 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just finished an amazing stay at the Surf City Lodge and the visit vastly exceeded our expectations. The B&B is conveniently located within walking distance to central Gisborne, parks and beaches. The house is beautifully restored with large comfortable bedrooms and is located in a quiet area of town. Barry and Ros spoiled us with the most delicious breakfasts that kept us going throughout the day...no need for lunch. We hadn't planned on having suppers at the Surf City Lodge but the first night's meal had us hooked. The nightly meals featured hearty portions of locally sourced cuisine expertly prepared by Barry...the smoked fish was delicious and the desserts were absolutely divine. Ros and Barry worked hard to make sure that our stay in Gisborne was enjoyable and memorable. We especially enjoyed watching a Rugby World Cup game with them. Sincerely, Lynn & Colin - Port Angeles, Washington USA
Read more
Date of stay: October 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KapitiTraveller wrote a review May 2011
Gisborne, New Zealand59 contributions68 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We found Barry and Ros' Thomas' B&B by the sign at 139 Rutene Road and selected it because of the location (walking distance to CBD) and the cost. Off season $90.00 per couple per night including full breakfast. Barry is a chef and cooked us a NZ favourite Tarakihi fillets on wilted spinach with hash browns and eggs benedict. Day 2 was devilled kidneys which were magnificent but not for everyone so you need to ask. Kiwi owned and operated so like Etu Moana at Aitutaki almost over the top service and hospitality can be depended on. Only 3 rooms so just turning up without a booking might be chancey.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Bill D wrote a tip Apr 2019
Wellington, New Zealand14 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early."
Read full review
FRANCIS D wrote a tip May 2018
Houston, Texas30 contributions17 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beware the en-suite is a caravan in the garden with a very poor electrical supply"
Read full review
MissMichelley wrote a tip Nov 2017
Dunedin, New Zealand1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"the ensuite room out the back was perfect for one person with funny hours so no one else would be disturbed"
Read full review
LisaEIzzy wrote a tip Oct 2017
Auckland, New Zealand12 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location to town"
Read full review
Todd P wrote a tip Dec 2016
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay for breakfast, it is so worth it!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gisborne area.
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandGisborne RegionGisborne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SURF CITY LODGE - Reviews (Gisborne) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Surf City Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Surf City Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Tairawhiti Museum (1.0 km), Dome Cinema (0.9 km), and Muirs Bookshop (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Surf City Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Surf City Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Surf City Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Surf City Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Portofino, USSCo Bar & Bistro, and The Rivers Restaurant and Bar.
Are there any historical sites close to Surf City Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Siege of Waerenga-a-Hika Memorial (12.6 km).
All Gisborne HotelsGisborne Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GisborneHotels near Surf City Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire