We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
7 Oneroa Road Wainui Beach, Gisborne 4010 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
US$121
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/08/22
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$121
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
Hotels.comUS$121
TravelocityUS$121
PricelineUS$121
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 26 hotels in Gisborne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located at beautiful Wainui Beach on the scenic East Coast, Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, the perfect place to start your holiday. Fifteen superbly appointed one and two bedroom apartment-style suites and studios, some with spa. Enjoy a walk along the beach with the gentle breaking of the waves in summer and the ever changing drama of the ocean in winter. First city in the world to see the sun rise. Private tropical courtyard. Cooked or Continental breakfast delivered to your room. Free wifi and SKY Guest Select with more than 50 Sky channels.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Breakfast available
Beach
Canoeing
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Diving
Snorkelling
Windsurfing
Children's television networks
BBQ facilities
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
193Reviews1Q+A47Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 123
  • 45
  • 16
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
marodabbie wrote a review Aug 2021
Wellington, New Zealand1 contribution
Great Reception, friendly, efficient. Nice sized Hotel room, with king double, couch, dining table, 40" TV, fully equipped kitchen. Good storage. Modern & tastefully decorated, great ensuite, nice little kitchen and all well stocked for 2 pax
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Takapuna wrote a review May 2021
Albany, New Zealand439 contributions141 helpful votes
We arrived to a lovely welcoming greeting from the 2 owners of this well-appointed Motor Lodge. Room 10 appeared to be great, all clean and well maintained etc. But we soon discovered it was extremely noisy at night, with light flashing as cars on the main road passed by. We were told in the morning by the lovely owner that this is usually the last room they let out as it is the noisiest - we had booked months prior, but of course Expedia had only booked it the week before! Hence, we ended up with the worst room in the best motel. The location is great with just a short walk down to the beach. Would recommend coming here, but definitely not to room 10.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ruth Walton , General Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Responded 19 Jul 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is so much easier for you to telephone us for your reservation as we can then discuss your wants and needs. The price in number 10 reflects any inconvenience from the road noise. It is such a popular beach and of course most motels are on the main road. Pleasing to hear you enjoyed your time with us here at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge. Best regards Ruth
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shay W wrote a review Nov 2020
Auckland, New Zealand12 contributions4 helpful votes
They went out of their way to make our stay a great one. The unit was clean and tidy and everything worked well. Once they knew we needed a softer bed it was attended to. Close to a beautiful beach and lots of Sky channels.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
EDEBAuckland_ wrote a review Oct 2020
Auckland, New Zealand88 contributions93 helpful votes
A great pet friendly motel a short distance from fabulous Wainui Beach. Very welcoming hosts, and nice big room - including spa bath - and private outside area. Genuinely pet friendly & our wee pooch was allowed into the unit with us (nice big paddock at back of motel where the dog could have a good sniff). Good selection of tv channels. When we stayed here there was a pizza cart operating in the motel car park - absolutely fantastic pizzas.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
1960WarrenW wrote a review Jun 2020
Palmerston North, New Zealand163 contributions19 helpful votes
A little pricey but good wifi tv and a bed that suited me. Pet friendly so I had my dog along. The suite is huge with tv in bedroom and living area. Bench top job etc. Good toilets. Clean and tidy . With a late checkout a bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ruth Walton , General Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Responded 14 Jun 2020
Thank you Warren for taking the time to review us here at Ocean Beach, Wainui. You are quite right, our suites are large, in fact they are the largest in Gisborne and so beautifully equipped. Accommodating your beautiful little dog was a pleasure. We are happy to allow a late checkout if it is possible. We aim to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. Again, thank you for taking the time to review us, it is appreciated. You're welcome back anytime. Best regards Ruth
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KatyD wrote a review Mar 2020
7 contributions2 helpful votes
We are all very aware of cleanliness these days and felt that the motel was a bit grubby. The floor tiles felt dirty & kitchen sink waste disgusting. Didn’t think they any extra sanitising had been done.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ruth Walton , General Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Responded 14 Jun 2020
Your feedback is appreciated. We pride ourselves on the presentation of our suites so your comments were a little surprising. However, we will ensure everything is perfect when you return. Thank you again. Best regards Ruth
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wherethewindblows73 wrote a review Dec 2019
Milford, New Zealand9 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed for two nights, the room was a good size for a family, clean and tidy. A short stroll down to one of the best beach breaks in the country. The surf wasn’t great but did catch a few nice waves. They take dogs which is rare, our courtyard needed a little more dog proofing. I left a bag in the apartment and the owners sent it via courier the next day saving a massive detour to return and pick it up. Definitely return if we’re ever back In Gisborne.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Deirdre W wrote a review Nov 2019
Gisborne, New Zealand5 contributions2 helpful votes
Really nice place to stay and such easy people to deal with. Super clean and tidy. I work at a motel so instinct has me scrutinising cleanliness and I can honestly say I couldn't find anything to fault. So peaceful and oh so relaxing. Definitly are going back for a few days of r&r. Thank you to everyone for such a nice time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Craig C wrote a review Oct 2019
54 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed at Ocean Beach for three nights in one of their luxury studio rooms. We were greeted by Rob the owner on arrival. Our room was large and spacious with sliding doors out to a private patio area with table and seats. Two minutes walk to Wanui Beach and approx 5 minutes by car into Gisborne city centre. Shop across the road. Loved our stay here and would highly recommend this lovely motel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from OceanBeachMotorLodge, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Responded 31 Oct 2019
Hi Craig Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. Come back again in summer when you can take better advantage of the beach. Very best regards Ruth
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Foardy123 wrote a review Sep 2019
Auckland, New Zealand97 contributions8 helpful votes
I have been travelling for a few weeks across the country - staying at a different motor lodge every day - so went from Napier to Gisborne - loved this little beach , the Motel was lovely , there was a patio on the room and a huge bed , all the sky TV and free Wifi, full kitchenette and across the road there is a store that you can order pizza etc - or go for breakfast on the weekend - they do food Thursday-sunday -This was a lovely little place - I was a bit too close to the road and the trucks passing overnight were a disturbance , but not too bad
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from OceanBeachMotorLodge, Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Responded 31 Oct 2019
It was so nice of you to take the time to review us at Ocean Beach. Thank you for your kind words. Do come again, you will be very welcome. Best regards Ruth
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$115 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandGisborne RegionGisborne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Ocean Beach Motor Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Tairawhiti Museum (4.5 km), Dome Cinema (4.4 km), and Oneroa cycleway/ walkway (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ocean Beach Motor Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Portofino, Bollywood Star Indian Tandoori Restaurant, and Tamarind.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Is Ocean Beach Motor Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.