We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bella Vista Motel

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Bella Vista Motel in Gisborne is an award winning modern 4 star (Qualmark assessed) property with 18 units. Situated on Gisborne's main road, we are a 2-3 minute drive away from the central business district, the Gisborne Airport, the Gisborne industrial area, the Gisborne Park Golf Club, Botanical gardens and the magnificent Midway and Waikanae beaches. Our excellent location and facilities will ensure that you have an enjoyable stay, be it for business or leisure. We offer unlimited free WiFi throughout the complex and you can enjoy a cooked, health or continental breakfast before you get going. Our location, set back from the road, ensures a good night's rest. We pride ourselves on customer service and our ability to meet our guests' individual needs. We look forward to welcoming you at Bella Vista Gisborne. Frik and Marise. Proudly part of the Nationwide Bella Vista Accommodation Network
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wheelchair Access
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Shuttle Bus Service
Room Service
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Spa
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Golf Course
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Accessible rooms
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
148Reviews
24Photos
2Q+A
27Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 86
  • 53
  • 6
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
The staff at the Bella Vista Motel are friendly and have great local knowledge of restaurants and activities.

The Motel rooms are on the small side, however they are fully equipped with all the standard amenities and the rooms are clean and tidy.
Read more
We had a studio room which was very well appointed, maybe a little on the small side but I knew it was a studio when I booked & it certainly met our needs for our stay. Lovely & clean & warm & a very warm welcome too. Gave us good tips for the area & our trip toward Hicks Bay. Un
Read more
Response from Frik_B123, Owner at Bella Vista Motel
Responded 26 Aug 2018
Hello Shelley, Thank you for your review, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay (and at least part of the laundry process!) and hope you enjoyed your trip around the magnificent East Coast. Kind regards, Frik & Marise
Read more
Was a very nice business stay, and accomodate special requests without hesitation which was nice. Good internet, good TV, nice to have a bed and couch given the smaller size of the room. Kitchenette facilities were ok, only one microwaveable dish was provided for cooking which wa
Read more
Response from Frik_B123, Owner at Bella Vista Motel
Responded 2 May 2018
Hello Corey, Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities but it is always disappointing to hear that noise from an adjacent unit was an issue. While we can't do anything about the size of our walls (which, we can assure you, comply with building regulations...), we can do something about the noise- if we know about it. So this is my request- if you stay with us again and the neighbours are noisy or have their TV on too loud, please 1) phone us immediately and we'll speak to them or 2) ask them to turn their TV down. Regards, Frik
Read more
Worst motel in NZ. Group of guests partying and shouting and swearing and playing loud music next to and outside our room all night until 3.30am. No sleep. Management doesn't care. Says this organisation are regular guests at motel but 90% of guests are well behaved. Don't stay
Read more
Response from Frik_B123, Owner at Bella Vista Motel
Responded 14 Apr 2018
Dear Ross, I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. However, there are quite a few inaccuracies contained in your review, and we would like to address those. The comfort of our guests is our number one priority. This is what I told you when you arrived at reception on the morning of your departure, when you informed me about the behaviour of some of the guests in the unit next to yours. It simply isn't true that management doesn't care, and at no time did we either say this to you or demonstrate this by our actions. In fact, I apologised quite profusely for the behaviour of the guests (behaviour I had been quite unaware of until you informed me about it). Now, as to what I said to you, let's also set the record straight. When I asked you why you didn't ring us (we're available 24 hours) to inform us of the behaviour of the other guests you didn't respond. I still can't understand why you didn't simply pick up the phone in your unit to tell us about the issue while it was occurring. You told me that the guests in the unit next to you were "partying" until 3.30 am and that you never should have been placed in the unit you were in. I told you that we couldn't have foreseen that the guests would misbehave in the manner in which you had described. I told you that 90% of our guests are corporate guests who know how to behave and that it is usually only over weekends that some guests exceed the 21:00 limit on noise outside the units- but you stayed with us on a Wednesday night and the guests (who were corporate guests) were supposed to know better. I surely did not say that 90% of this organisation's staff were well behaved. The motel was fully booked out on the night in question and no other guest complained of the behaviour of the guests in that unit. Because you did not pick up the phone to inform me of the issue I couldn't manage it. While I am sorry that the guests behaved inappropriately I can only manage what I know. Regards, Frik
Read more
This was our second stay at Bella Vista. There are new owners since we'd been in 2015, but the new owners are also great people, very helpful and pleasant.
I stayed in a smaller room, but it was nicely appointed. A small "kitchen" area had a microwave, toaster, large French Pre
Read more
Response from Frik_B123, Owner at Bella Vista Motel
Responded 20 Mar 2018
Hello dear reviewer, Thank you for the comprehensive review and your kind words. We understand that the rooms tend to heat up when Gisborne is hot (and this was a particularly hot summer) and we're sorry to hear that you did not have a comfortable rest. We're looking at solutions to counter the extreme heat we have for two or three weeks every year and trust that your next visit will be much more enjoyable. As for the noisy neighbours, in future please contact us, at whatever time, if the neighbours are being inconsiderate and we will address the issue immediately. Unfortunately we have no way of knowing about this unless somebody complains. Kind regards, Frik & Marise
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementBella Vista Motel
Bella Vista 1
View from the kitchen window
Bathroom
Photo provided by managementBella Vista Motel
1 Bedroom unit 3
Photo provided by managementBella Vista Motel
1 Bedroom unit 2
Previous
12
Is this a dog friendly motel
I’m not sure if it is a dog friendly motel. The owners had dogs themselves so you may want to check with them.
0 votes
Hi! is price for accomodation per person or the entire sum split between the people staying? TIA x
Hello Tia, The prices are per studio and based on 2 people sharing a room. Regards, Eric Barbier
0 votes
"Upstairs rooms may have more privacy and less noise."
"The 2 bed suites are much more spacious for keeping luggage out of the way"
"Ground floor convenient"
"Motel is easy to find and there was no road noise"
"Studios perfect for a one or two night stay..."
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$87 - US$126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandGisborne RegionGisborne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing