Choice Backpackers
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Choice Backpackers

10 Wellesley Street East, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
Gouges in the walls
Traveller (19)
Double bed with window
Room & Suite (12)
Bathroom (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

2.5
#33 of 41 hostels in Auckland Central
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Hindi and 1 more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Billiards
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Snack bar
Vending machine
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Kitchenette
Room types
Family rooms

Location

10 Wellesley Street East, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Auckland Intl Airport
18.1 km
See all flights
41Reviews1Q+A4Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 4
  • 4
  • 14
  • 6
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Juliana G wrote a review Sept 2016
Bogota, Colombia72 contributions39 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is really cheap compare with other hostels. Good location in downtown, close to supermarkets, britomart station, library and other important attractions. Cleaning is OK, kitchen every floor with all utensilis, bad beds, lack of bathrooms consider the number of people for every floor. Common room is quite bussy all time. Services is not so great, but is what you can expect price-quality ratio.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ChoiceBackpackersLtd, QM Representative at Choice Backpackers
Responded 4 Jul 2019
Hello , Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is feedback like yours that helps us to further improve the quality of our hostel. I happy to tell you that we replaced all our mattresses with new hotel-quality ones. Also we are now offering ultra-fast, unlimited and unrestricted Wi-Fi internet access across the entirety of our premises for all our guests. With kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SanHec wrote a review Sept 2018
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia1,350 contribution734 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are a budget traveler who just needs a place to rest and a good shower. This place is highly recommended. Besides, the location was excellent. It is less than 5 minutes walk to the SkyBus Airport Bus Stop, generally a good arrival and departure place. It is also a walking distance to CBD and the happening Queen Street.

Room is simple, clean linen and a window view to the busy city. A good sharing kitchen for the guests and a lounge for people to communicate and lazy around.

No towel in the room, a deposit needed if you wish to have towel. You will be fully refund upon check out with return towel.

No wifi available.

This place welcomed kid but please do your part to keep the kid in manners.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ChoiceBackpackersLtd, QM Representative at Choice Backpackers
Responded 3 Jul 2019
Hello , Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is feedback like yours that helps us to further improve the quality of our hostel. The team at Choice Backpackers is thrilled you’re so happy with your stay. We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you. I am happy to let you know that we are now offering ultra-fast, unlimited and unrestricted Wi-Fi internet access across the entirety of our premises for all our guests. Come back and see us soon. Cheers! With kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lau_Rose2017 wrote a review Dec 2019
Singapore, Singapore196 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed just for one night after landing at midnight and it did the job nicely.

We booked a private double room which was lovely; clean and comfy.

However, walls are paper thin and could hear the two girls loudly chatting on/off all night next door. Almost like a bed in a shared dorm just with walls between. Got woken up about three times as so loud.

But good for just a quick resting of your head after a flight and onto travels out of Auckland the next day.

Arriving at midnight also meant a reception/bar full of drinking hostel goers so prob a good place to stay if wanting some party vibes.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dirk W wrote a review Apr 2020
Leipzig, Germany11 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hygiene in this hostel was very poor and not suitable for the governmental lockdown at all. There are much better hostels. It wasn’t possible to follow the distance rules (kitchen, dining room, bathrooms, reception room) and the hostel wasn’t helpful to change this. They didn’t understand the words of the prime minister: stay in your bubble. I didn’t want to break the law. Therefor I decided to leave the hostel after 2 nights but I was charged the full 4 weeks I booked for the whole lockdown. They offered me a voucher but to redeem it I would have to travel around the world - unrealistic.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne F wrote a review Mar 2023
Ontario, Canada18 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Do not base their website as a reason to stay here. Stale and musty smelling rooms, moldy showers, and broken down washing machines.

The only good things were the free WIFI and it's location in the central city.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Orangekiwi22 wrote a review Jul 2020
Auckland, New Zealand110 contributions77 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Pleasantly surprised by this hostel and definitely can't complain for the price I paid. Stayed in a 3 bed dorm with an ensuite which was clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly enough but maybe not overly engaged. There's a lounge area downstairs with games, nice and social area. Didn't use the kitchen but it looked fine. Yes, the hostel is very noisy - I had earplugs which helped a lot. Great location in the middle of the city.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Billy wrote a review May 2019
1 contribution6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have travelled all over the world and I can tell you now that this is the worst hostel I have ever stayed in! You walk into the reception, which isn’t too bad but as soon as you enter the dorm rooms it changes. They gave you the bare minimum! No window to open to let a little fresh air in and was absolutely filthy. Reminded me of a prison cell. We were meant to stay here for a few days but didn’t even stay half an hour. When we decided to leave the man at reception didn’t even ask us what the issue was, just took our keys and served the next customer...The kitchen is too small for how many people are staying and the whole hostel had smell to it of old and damp.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ChoiceBackpackersLtd, QM Representative at Choice Backpackers
Responded 3 Jul 2019
Hello , Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is feedback like yours that helps us to further improve the quality of our hostel and I apologize that our service did not satisfy your expectations. We set a high standard for ourselves and are truly sorry to hear that standard was not met in your case. I have pulled your guest records and they show that at no time you have reported the mentioned issues at reception. While we are able to anticipate many of our guests' needs, we largely rely on customer reports of any unwanted experiences. In the short term accommodation industry it is nothing out of the ordinary for people to stay to stay only a very limited time and the behavior would not alarm us. In terms of the windows, I can say that the design of the building as a high-rise did not allow for windows to be opened. Instead all rooms are air conditioned. I would always recommend to make us aware of any negativities while you are still staying with us, so we can improve the quality of your stay immediately and have you leaving as a happy guest. Even if this means to upgrade you to a higher class of room. Because your happiness is our number one priority. With kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Solom0n wrote a review Jan 2018
3 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were supposed to stay there for 5 nights. However the heat woke us up very early morning and it was unbearable. I was sweating in the bed. I saw the nice gentleman who had checked us in and he said that the A.C is broken, they have called someone to fix it and he offered to change our room as our room was much hotter than other rooms.
While I was outside the room I noticed a lady around 40-50 years old is shouting in Spanish and telling off the nice girl who was cleaning bathroom. In front of everyone. I thought to myself, what a bad and rude customer!
The A.C was not fixed by afternoon I went to reception to ask for an update and realised that the woman who was telling off the employee in front of everyone was actually the manager. She said engineers are there and no matter how long it takes the A.C will be fixed today.
Next morning woke up around 5am again from the heat and had to leave room and go outside as no windows can be opened in the building and with summer heat if you're in 9th floor and there is no A.C it will be hard to breath.
We waited until around 10 am not to go too early to reception and find out whether the A.C will be fixed or not. I found the manager laughing and smoking with some guys outside the hostel. I asked her very politely when she will think the A.C will be fixed since we haven't been able to sleep for the second night now. She said engineers are here again but she doesn't know when will it be fixed. I asked whether she thinks if it would be fixed at least tonight because it is impossible to sleep. The lady flipped out for no apparent reason. She started saying that she is not a magician and not an engineer she doesn't know when it will be fixed. Could be now or a few days, why would I expect her to know she's dealing with too much right now and doesn't want to argue with every guest. We were shocked, I said no one is arguing I asked a simple question. She started again saying she has a right to talk? And she doesn't want to argue so it will be better if we leave if we are not happy. We tried to say something but she was not stopping. Like having a go on the poor girl the day before she was shouting continuously and keep repeating herself. It got so bad that we had to walk away. As we were walking away she was keep shouting, "I prefer if you guys leave, I prefer of guys leave".
We looked at each other puzzled and couldn't get our heads around it. Why would a manager speak with guests like this? Why does she want us to leave? What type of business is this that they ask their guests to leave? Why the place is even open if they don't want any business?
I have heard about bad customer service and horrible hotels and hostels but it was first time I experienced something like that.
Well there is a reason why this place has such bad reviews and I wish I had read them before I book the place. To be honest I feel bad about the owner. With this type of management there's no doubt everything is falling apart.
If you're the owner and reading this I hope you know now whats wrong in the hostel.
As everywhere was so expensive at last minute, we had to stay another night before checking out two days earlier than planned. And of course the A.C was still not fixed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ChoiceBackpackersLtd, QM Representative at Choice Backpackers
Responded 3 Jul 2019
Hello , Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is feedback like yours that helps us to further improve the quality of our hostel and I apologize that our service did not satisfy your expectations. We set a high standard for ourselves and are truly sorry to hear that standard was not met in your case. Of course, we have fixed the air condition soon after you have left but it is needless to say the experience you have had with our manager is unacceptable in any way. Rest assured that I have raised your concerns with the property owner. Again, I apologize for what has happened. With kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicola E wrote a review Oct 2019
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom60 contributions41 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband accidentally made this booking using my credit card but I had already made reservations elsewhere. He contacted them within the hour to explain not to charge the card (they weren't due to charge until we stayed anyway) and to cancel the reservation. They were very shirty in their reply and said they would charge the card regardless. I then contacted them to explain and try to reason with them. My husband made a mistake but we had realised and tried to resolve it within the hour, the card had not yet been charged and there were still rooms showing available so would not impact on their business by putting off bookings in that 1 hour! They would not refund us. They have since charged my card!! This shows me they are both unreasonable hosts and also desperate for bookings and money, so i looked in to their hostel a little deeper and didnt take long to find out just how terrible and disgusting both the accommodation and customer service are by reading reviews from many travellers. BED BUGS AND NO REFUND!! SHOUTING AT CUSTOMERS! The staff should be absoloutely ashamed of themselves!! Just avoid the place like the plague. This review from me is just the start. I will be reviewing them in every way possible on every site possible and warning travellers away from this dump. I suggest you do the same! Stealing is illega yet they can steal on a technicality, this just shows they have no morals.They will be meeting me in person when I get to Auckland and I will happily be telling everyone who comes up to the door about their bed bugs and we will soon see if they stay! :)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica wrote a review May 2019
Bath, United Kingdom2 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked to stay in this hostel for 7 nights and as soon as we arrived and saw how grim our room and the rest of the hostel we decided to leave straight away even though we knew we couldn’t get a refund. Yes really this hostel was that bad. Dirty, smelly room where you can’t open the windows and a tiny kitchen. They make you completely make your own bed including fitting your own bottom sheet and also bring all your bedding up from reception!? When we went to leave the man on reception didn’t even care to ask why we decided to leave or what was wrong just said “you not want to stay?” And that was all.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ChoiceBackpackersLtd, QM Representative at Choice Backpackers
Responded 3 Jul 2019
Hello , Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is feedback like yours that helps us to further improve the quality of our hostel and I apologize that our service did not satisfy your expectations. We set a high standard for ourselves and are truly sorry to hear that standard was not met in your case. I have pulled your guest records and they show that at no time you have reported the mentioned issues at reception. While we are able to anticipate many of our guests' needs, we largely rely on customer reports of any unwanted experiences. In the short term accommodation industry it is nothing out of the ordinary for people to stay to stay only a very limited time and the behavior would not alarm us. In terms of the windows, I can say that the design of the building as a high-rise did not allow for windows to be opened. Instead all rooms are air conditioned. Making your own bed is common practice in many hostels. Generally, hostels are not full service accommodation providers. E. g. you would also need to wash and dry the dishes you have used. Another reason why we have decided to let guests to make their own beds is that many guests, although discouraged from it, place personal items on other beds, which would not be appreciated by the guest of that other bed, especially when the sheets are on top of it. Also, this way, we can guarantee that you always receive a fresh set of linen, that is untouched and was lying around for days unused. I would always recommend to make us aware of any negativities while you are still staying with us, so we can improve the quality of your stay immediately and have you leaving as a happy guest. Even if this means to upgrade you to a higher class of room. Because your happiness is our number one priority. With kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janine P asked a question Nov 2018
Itabira, MG503 contributions200 helpful votes
Are there lockers inside the rooms?
Answer from Dirk W
Leipzig, Germany11 contributions3 helpful votes
No, there aren’t lockers in the dorms
KBNZ666 wrote a tip Nov 2019
Perth, Australia230 contributions19 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"I asked for one with city views and got a pretty good view."
Read full review
patolincl wrote a tip Sept 2018
Santiago, Chile151 contributions58 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Maybe it is a little expensive, but private rooms are worth it"
Read full review
ericzaschke wrote a tip Sept 2018
Berlin, Germany1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book directly and you will get it cheaper"
Read full review
Frankie T wrote a tip Apr 2016
4 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Auckland Central area.
PRICE RANGE
$54 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHOICE BACKPACKERS - Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison (Auckland Central, New Zealand)

Frequently Asked Questions about Choice Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Choice Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include Escapade NZ (0.2 km), Great Escape (0.06 km), and Escape Masters (0.03 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Choice Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at Choice Backpackers?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Choice Backpackers?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Choice Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Culprit., Fondou Cafe, and Remedy Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Choice Backpackers?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Choice Backpackers have airport transportation?
Yes, Choice Backpackers offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Choice Backpackers located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Auckland Central.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Choice Backpackers?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Italian, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Choice Backpackers?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parnell (1.7 km), Eden Garden (2.9 km), and Auckland Town Hall (0.3 km).
All Auckland Central HotelsAuckland Central Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Auckland CentralHotels near Choice Backpackers
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire