We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
373 Karangahape Road, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
US$55
View Deal
SnaptravelUS$58
Trip.comUS$56
StayForLongUS$83
Expedia.comUS$61
Hotels.comUS$61
CheapTicketsUS$61
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (65)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 131 Speciality lodging in Auckland Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located in one of the best locations in Auckland, Haka Lodge brings a new class to the upmarket style of backpackers. This historic building has been meticulously redeveloped/restored to create a new industrial loft style backpackers with the newest furnishings, custom made beds and brand new hotel style mattresses. Make sure you stay at the best!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Shared kitchen
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
562Reviews8Q+A71Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 354
  • 159
  • 34
  • 12
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jlee1010 wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
Although brief my stay was enjoyable. The facilities where clean and tidy, the staff where all friendly and everyone I meet had an awesome vibes and I felt comfortable and welcome the whole of my stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Colette Leonard, Other at Haka Lodge Auckland
Responded 25 Nov 2020
Kia ora Jlee1010, Thanks for your amazing review and comments! We are so pleased you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Nga mihi, Colette and the Haka Lodge Auckland team
Read more
Leticia M wrote a review Nov 2020
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand1 contribution
Had a two night stay, overall it was a great stay. The storage units under the bed's are a great place to lock away your belongings, make sure you bring your own lock. The room was massive, the staff were kind and the location perfect!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Colette Leonard, Other at Haka Lodge Auckland
Responded 17 Nov 2020
Kia ora Leticia, Thanks for your wonderful comments and feedback! We are so pleased you had a great time with us! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Nga mihi, Colette and the Haka Lodge Auckland team
Read more
CarlieMS wrote a review Apr 2020
Mexico256 contributions76 helpful votes
We only stayed for one night but in general it was a pretty good stay! :) We arrived like 8am and eventhough our room of course wasn't ready, they let us leave our backpacks in a closet...and it was one of the mayor let-downs. The room was FILTHY! It really didn't appear to have been cleaned in FOREVER! Garbage, bottles, snacks, everything just lying around on the carpet! The hostel is a lot like a laberinth, very narrow hallways but the room was HUGE with a big space in the middle where you can pack or do stuff without bothering others. There was only one fan, luckily was not that hot but I can imagine it must be horrible with summer in full blast. You have outlets and a privacy courtain in your bed which is awesome! The staff is kind and the location is amazing! Right in the middle of K Street, which is the epicenter of bars, restaurants and shops. The only downside is that is uphill and pretty far up. We did not use the kitchen but seem pretty big and complete. In the closets you can fit your entire backpack wich is nice! Overall a good experience, I would be back if in Auckland again :)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rent a scooter!! Expensive but sooo muchhhh fun!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Colette Leonard, Other at Haka Lodge Auckland
Responded 21 Apr 2020
Kia ora CarlieMS, Thanks for your comments - we were pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us! I will address your comments regarding the cleanliness of the luggage store room with the team - as this should not be the case! Glad you had a good time and found our location to be handy - so many amazing places to visit nearby! Nga mihi, Colette National Operations Manager - Accommodation
Read more
Emanuela D wrote a review Mar 2020
Villafranca di Verona, Italy8 contributions8 helpful votes
Haka lodge is located in one of the coolest streets in Auckland: K-road. It's colorful and full of interesting shops and cool cafes, I personally loved the vibe there. The hostel has a great cozy common area and provides everything you need for when backpacking. I really liked the fact that the beds have their own curtains so you can have a lot of privacy as well. Furthermore I want to say a big thank you to all of the staff there because they were able to help me during a difficult time for me in Auckland. I highly recommend this hostel for your stay in the city!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Haka Lodge Auckland, General Manager at Haka Lodge Auckland
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Hello Emanuela, We are really happy you had a good time at our hostel. We all know it can be really difficult sometimes when you are away from home especially in a situation like this. Take care and stay safe. Enjoy your time in NZ. Kind regards Yan Assistant manager
Read more
Yann D wrote a review Mar 2020
La Tour-de-Peilz, Switzerland21 contributions20 helpful votes
Excellent hostel close to the main street of Auckland and to buses for visitimg the whole city. Really helpful staff. Many eating possibilities close by. The room and the facilities were clean and the hostel is secured
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Haka Lodge Auckland, General Manager at Haka Lodge Auckland
Responded 6 Mar 2020
Hello, thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. Have a great day and safe travels back home. Fanny, Duty manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$26 - US$73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Haka Lodge Auckland
Which popular attractions are close to Haka Lodge Auckland?
Nearby attractions include Real Groovy Records (0.5 km), Karangahape Road (K Road) (0.3 km), and Eagle Bar (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Haka Lodge Auckland?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and self serve laundry.
What are some restaurants close to Haka Lodge Auckland?
Conveniently located restaurants include Apero Food & Wine, Azabu, and Sri Penang.
Are any cleaning services offered at Haka Lodge Auckland?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Haka Lodge Auckland?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parnell (2.6 km), Auckland Town Hall (0.8 km), and Highwic (2.2 km).