Quest on Queen
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Quest on Queen

62 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
Traveller (136)
One-Bedroom Apartment - Lounge
Room & Suite (26)
Cuisine.
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

$159
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#9 of 23 apartments in Auckland Central
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Nightclub / DJ
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Shops
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites

Location

62 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Auckland Intl Airport
18.6 km
See all flights
271Reviews8Q+A83Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 59
  • 89
  • 64
  • 30
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Stereorose wrote a review Jan 2020
Sydney5 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Central location and moderately clean. But the whole space was smaller than we expected.

The bedroom area is just a screened off section large enough to fit a bed and two nightstands, nothing else. The wardrobe is outside the room next to the kitchen/entryway.

There is also no safe. So be aware of that if you are looking for an apartment with a safe.

We do a lot of our own cooking and the location was great for the supermarket very close. The full size fridge was also useful. But be aware that there is limited counter space, two stovetops and very limited pots and pans and cooking equipment. (Also there was ground coffee provided, but no plunger or coffee filters.)

The laundry is squashed into the bathroom (and you will pass it every time you enter the bathroom). The bathroom itself is very compact, so there is not much space to stand in to dry yourself after a shower, for example.

We did hear street noise from level 12, but it wasn't bad enough that we had to use ear plugs. We took the recommendations from other reviewers to ask for a room on a higher level, and we think this helped.

However, the level 12 location worked against us one night when the evacuation alarm sounded. Walking down all those flights of stairs in pajamas was no joke!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up as it may be quieter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from QuestonQueen, Manager at Quest on Queen
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We regret any inconvenience caused to you due to the size of our apartments, however majority of apartments in Auckland City are similarly sized. Also, the wardrobe is located right opposite the bathroom for easier access. Unfortunately, noise is something which we have no control over and are happy to hear it wasn't too much of an issue. We do apologize for any inconvenience you had to face due to the fire alarm going off at roughly 9:00pm, however as you may understand that the safety of our guests is our first priority, thus not using the lift and coming down the stairs is crucial. We would just like to clarify that all our apartments are equipped with coffee plungers in the cupboard above the sink. Nevertheless, we hope you give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ros W wrote a review Jan 2020
Chelmsford, United Kingdom184 contributions61 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location was great , right on Queen Street - the downside was the noise from a bar at night. I took a video as I couldn’t sleep but unfortunately Trip Advisor doesn’t allow video uploads:(The noise went on until after 2am. It wasn’t music just a very, very noisy drunken crowd. I was on the 8th floor .

Pros:
Staff were lovely & very helpful
Location
Lots of really hot water
Bed was really comfy

Cons:
Noise from the bar
No loading, unloading place for a car. There was meant to be one but it was full of taxis looking for custom, which refused to move out of the way.
The oven was dirty, needed a deep clean. We bought tinfoil to cook on.
Internet was shared so at times it ran very , very slowly.
We had a 3 day/3mb token which was more than adequate for the two of us.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from QuestonQueen, Manager at Quest on Queen
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it! We regret any inconvenience cased to you due to the noise, however, noise from the neighboring establishments is something which we have no control over unfortunately. We would like to apologize due to the oven and internet, we will ensure that both maters are liaised with our respective teams. Unfortunately parking is again something which we have no control over as all loading zones are public loading zones on Queen Street, however we will certainly bring up this issue with Auckland Council. We do sincerely hope that you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future, and we will ensure we allocate you a higher floor apartment to try and avoid the noise!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mundayb21 wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The apartment was very convenient as I was working in the next street. There was noise from a nearby bar most nights until 3:30am, the ear plugs provided weren't much help.

Cleaners could be more thorough I found packets of lube in one of the kitchen cupboard.

The staff were incredibly helpful and always happy.

If I could be guaranteed a room to the right as you come out of the lift (away from the bar) I would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from QuestonQueen, Manager at Quest on Queen
Responded 6 Feb 2020
Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We apologize about the cleaning issue and will liaise this with our housekeeping team. We do regret any inconvenience caused to you due to the noise from the neighboring buildings, however this is something which we have no control over. Nevertheless, we do hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future and we will ensure that we allocate an apartment on the other side for you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
janiek wrote a review Jul 2021
Wellington, New Zealand13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
so there is always going to be noise staying on or near Queen St! even in my quiet home suburb constant building and construction noise is the norm. noise just handle it. the view was stunning from 15th floor. i liked the security window latches so could get fresh air in warm weather. also the security feature on inside of door is awesome. the reception staff so friendly and nothing a problem, great service.
kitchen well equipped, bathroom fan very intrusive. the shower was stunning, great pressure water jets.. very handy location 1 min to Aotea square 10 minute walk to supermarket and restaurants
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: higher floors have better views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from K Seth, Owner at Quest on Queen
Responded 19 Jul 2021
Thank you for your amazing review! We are delight to know that you enjoyed our very strategic and central location in the heart of the city and the views that come wit hit! I'm also glad to hear that you enjoyed the services provided to you by our team! We also do sincerely regret any inconvenience caused by the street noise, however that is something that we have no control over whatsoever unfortunately do to our prime location. We hope to welcome you back to Quest on Queen in the near future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle E wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is fantastic but even on the 12th floor the street noise from bars and restaurants is extreme. Asked to move to a quieter room and reception came to my room and actually pretended they couldn’t hear it.

After reading many reviews complaining about the same issue I’ve seen management say again and again it’s due to the downtown location and nothing they can do - double glazing exists!!

Icing on the cake is the extremely loud high pitched noise the plumbing makes which again they say is “out of their control” this was intermittent and went on all night.

I checked out after one sleepless night on what should have been a seven night stay
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from K Seth, Owner at Quest on Queen
Responded 14 Nov 2023
Thank you for the feedback. We do sincerely regret any inconvenience caused by the street noise however, that is something that we have no control over whatsoever due to our prime location on the very first block of Queen Street, in the heart of the city. After some investigation and speaking with the afterhours duty manger, there was no noise when she first arrived at your room after you had called. It was only on the subsequent callout that the noise was audible. She did offer to move you to a different room in attempt to make your stay with us more comfortable however, you had declined the offer and chose to leave the next day. We hope to welcome you back at Quest on Queen in the future and give us another opportunity to serve you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bonnydoons wrote a review Aug 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand8 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Couldn't fault it. Friendly efficient service, easy after hours check-in and access, nice modern decor, spotlessly clean, and super convenient to all CBD restaurants, shopping etc. The 1 bedroom apartment was great value for money, so much more spacious than a regular hotel room and much less expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from K Seth, Owner at Quest on Queen
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Thank you for your amazing review! We are delight to know that you enjoyed our very strategic and central location in the heart of the city and the views that come wit hit! I'm also glad to hear that you enjoyed the services provided to you by our team! We hope to welcome you back to Quest on Queen in the near future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmishaJ wrote a review Aug 2021
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the property for 5 nights. It is so close to everything, clean and comfortable.
Reception team was very helpful and accommodating of all request. Housekeeping team were very polite and cheerful.
it was noisy on Saturday night from the bars below but nothing the hotel staff could control.
Kamal & his team made my stay very comfortable. I will definitely be staying there again in future
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from K Seth, Owner at Quest on Queen
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Thank you for your amazing review! We are delight to know that you enjoyed our very strategic and central location in the heart of the city and the views that come wit hit! I'm also glad to hear that you enjoyed the services provided to you by our team! We also do sincerely regret any inconvenience caused by the street noise, however that is something that we have no control over whatsoever unfortunately do to our prime location. We hope to welcome you back to Quest on Queen in the near future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ymkong2014 wrote a review Jan 2023
singapore123 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent Christmas 2022 in Auckland and it was nothing to shout or sing about, a rather quiet and underwhelming affair. And honestly, the city stank when we reached it by coach from Rotorua and that was past 8pm. 😅

But the room at Quest on Queen was a dream. Loved the large space, beds, sofa, kitchenette, clothes washer and dryer, and dish cleaner. But the fave was the balcony with a decent view. Spent many moments in the morning just reading and sipping hot tea and taking in the weather.

It’s centrally located in Auckland CBD so it’s a cinch to get around for loads of shopping and sightseeing: Auckland Art Gallery, Bar Albert, Albert Park, Smith and Caughey, The Original Tony’s, Countdown, New World.

Front desk service was good and prompt with my door keyhole issue. TV programme channels limited but not a biggie. We liked the secure auto lock access door.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: A lot of homegrown brands and shops around Quest on Queen, especially on the backstreets. Check...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Acermania wrote a review Jan 2023
Newport, United Kingdom43 contributions37 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a well located hotel right in the heart of Auckland. Clean, reasonably-sized rooms complete with a kitchenette, washer and dryer and a balcony with a nice view. The bathroom was a little tired and dated but the shower was powerful with a plentiful supply of toiletries. Beds were reasonably comfortable too. A special mention for Bree in reception who went above and beyond in arranging restaurants and taxis for us.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A1066NVdavidc wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Really shocked at the amount of street noise and bar music until 4:30am. Either the windows need upgraded or noise control needs called. We were on the 10th floor. Nothing wrong with the accomodation it’s self though.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from K Seth, Owner at Quest on Queen
Responded 16 Mar 2021
Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated. We do regret any inconvenience caused due to the noise, however noise from our surrounding establishments is something that we have no control over whatsoever unfortunately. We sincerely hope that you can give us another opportunity to welcome you back to Quest on Queen again in the near future! Do contact us directly and, we will try our very best to ensure your apartment is allocated on the other side of the building!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravellinStallion asked a question Jan 2022
38 contributions5 helpful votes
Is smoking/vaping allowed on the balcony?
Answer from QuestonQueen
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Good Morning, Thank you for contacting us. Yes, guests are allowed to smoke or vape on the balcony. Kind Regards
scrappinkate asked a question Jul 2018
Carlsbad, New Mexico2 contributions3 helpful votes
How close is the nearest stop for the Hop On Hop Off Explorer Bus?
Answer from QuestonQueen
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Hi there, The nearest stop for the Hop on Hop off bus is near the Ferry terminal, which is about 3-5 mins walking distance from the hotel.
709TAM asked a question Feb 2018
Rockhampton, Australia242 contributions103 helpful votes
How far to the railway station that the Wellington train leaves from
Answer from QuestonQueen
Auckland Central, New Zealand
HI there, The train to Wellington leaves from the Strand and it is a 15 min walking distance form the property. We can book you a taxi which can take you there and the ride takes about 5 mins, and costs about $8-$10.
Answer from Anita G
Darwin, Australia80 contributions41 helpful votes
Hi, the bed size we had was a queen size bed and very comfortable. Hope this helps you?
Answer from QuestonQueen
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Hi, It is a covered and secured parking, about 3 minutes walk from the property and it will cost $30 per day. Kind Regards
ymkong2014 wrote a tip Jan 2023
singapore123 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A lot of homegrown brands and shops around Quest on Queen, especially on the backstreets. Check out The White Lady and Giapo."
Read full review
janiek wrote a tip Jul 2021
Wellington, New Zealand13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"higher floors have better views"
Read full review
flatworm wrote a tip Mar 2020
birmingham138 contributions69 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"My room at the rear was quiet , I slept well"
Read full review
Stereorose wrote a tip Jan 2020
Sydney5 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room higher up as it may be quieter."
Read full review
Felicity D wrote a tip Apr 2019
Townsville, Australia18 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were on the 8th floor. I would avoid booking a room on the Fort Street side as there is a nightclub that rages all night."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Auckland Central area.
PRICE RANGE
$149 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
quest on queen hotel auckland central, quest on queen auckland
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

QUEST ON QUEEN - Now $152 (Was $̶1̶6̶2̶) - UPDATED 2023 Apartment Reviews & Price Comparison (Auckland Central, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Quest on Queen
Which popular attractions are close to Quest on Queen?
Nearby attractions include Escapade NZ (0.4 km), Auckland Historic Bar Tour (0.3 km), and St. Patrick's Cathedral (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Quest on Queen?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Quest on Queen?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Quest on Queen?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Quest on Queen?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Quest on Queen?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grove, Culprit., and Hello Beasty.
Is Quest on Queen located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Auckland Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at Quest on Queen?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Quest on Queen?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Quest on Queen?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parnell (1.6 km), Eden Garden (3.4 km), and Auckland Town Hall (0.8 km).
Is Quest on Queen accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Auckland Central HotelsAuckland Central Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Auckland CentralHotels near Quest on Queen
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire