We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Corner Victoria and Federal Streets, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
ZenHotels.com
US$196
View deal
Hotels.com
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (750)
Room & Suite (256)
Dining (26)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from SkyCity Hotel
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 72 hotels in Auckland Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Centrally located, SkyCity Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic SkyTower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 3 more
2549Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,207
  • 925
  • 292
  • 65
  • 60
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Christine M wrote a review 10 Aug
Pukekohe, New Zealand33 contributions9 helpful votes
Disappointing. Very basic toiletries provided. No servicing of the room. The tea was horrid. Not enough milk. Basic. Not luxurious st all. Pillows were too thick. I have written enough. I hate having g to write more when I have finished. The place was ok but certainly not luxurious. I have never been told that my room would not be serviced because we were only staying two nights!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 145christine, Thank you for your feedback – whilst it was disappointing to read it is very important for us to receive so we can continue to improve on all our services. I am so sorry that you had such a disappointing experience, and you were not informed at check-in regarding our Express Cleaning Service. I have forwarded your feedback to the Managers to take up with the Reception Team. Again, please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of SkyCity Hotel for the miscommunication and for all the discomfort this has caused you. Warm regards, Lisa @ SkyCity Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grant R wrote a review 2 Aug
Huntly, New Zealand16 contributions2 helpful votes
Anyone who could be planning a weekend at sky city apparently they have a new policy Which is not on display or given to you when you book into the sky or the Grand regarding time on the casino floor, unfortunately you will not know about these rules until you are asked to leave. Just remember if you are there for just a coffee or a few drinks with friends and then go to your room for a rest for a couple of hours they class this as gambling time even if you have not touched a poker machine.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear GrantR477, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I do apologise on behalf of SkyCity that you were affected by the policies recently implemented by the Casino. I have forwarded your feedback to the Host Responsibility Team to ensure they are communicating this openly and effectively to all our customers. For more information, you can find this on our website - https://skycityauckland.co.nz/about-us/host-responsibility/ Again, I am so sorry that your stay was a disappointing one. I do hope we get to welcome you back to make it up to you. Take care. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tony P wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
The valet and check-in are fine. The room was adequate. However, for the price paid, one should expect more—excellence, not mediocrity. The bathroom is quite dated. The room is OK. East Day Spa has clearly seen better days. Maintenance hasn't been done. Overall, SkyCity is showing its age. I wouldn't stay here again. If I were going to spend that sort of money, I'd go to the Hilton is something else.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear tonypY3985PI, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read that East Day Spa did not exceed your expectations. They always receive such great reviews so I am rather surprised by this. I have forwarded your comments to them to look into. You are right that certain areas of the hotel are beginning to look a bit dated. If not for covid a refurbishment would definitely have taken place already, however, this has has to be pushed forward a bit. Please be assured that a refurbishment will take place in the near future. Thank you for mentioning the valet and reception staff, and they great work they do. I do hope we get to welcome you back in the future. Take care. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
coral4u wrote a review Jul 2022
9 contributions1 helpful vote
There were 6 of us in our party who booked 3 rooms. The valet parking staff were so accommodating and assisted us in what to do and where to go. Check in was also very easy. The concierge staff were helpful in calling taxis for us and very polite. My room was overlooking the courtyard and i found the lighting to be very dim, after spending an hour in the room my eyes were hurting. The light switch for the headboard lights were very hard to find. One of our party had to call down for help to switch them off. But apart from the lights everything else was great. our rooms were clean and well stacked with condiments. All in all very nice stay
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear coral4u, Thank you for the awesome feedback, and for taking the time to share your experience. I am so pleased that our Concierge Team and Reception Team were so accommodating and helpful. Thank you for letting us know about the room lighting. I have forwarded this to our Property Services Team to investigate. I do hope you all get another opportunity to visit. Do take care, and stay safe. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Torrz wrote a review Jul 2022
New Zealand38 contributions10 helpful votes
Great experience staying at Sky city hotel. Took the kids and stayed for a couple of nights they absolutely loved it! Had a massive window with great view of base of sky tower. The only downfall was the size of the beds were small very tight for 2 adults (fine for the 2 kids) in the room we were in and unfortunately our room was situated right under the gym so loud banging notices from people dropping weights right above us actually gave me a heck of a fight until I realized what it was and had to ring reception as we couldn't sleep, then got woken up very early the next morning with same thing! Otherwise stay was amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 11 Jul 2022
Dear Torrz, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am delighted that you had such a great experience, and the children thoroughly enjoyed their stay. Of course, I am disappointed to read that you were woken up by the gym noises. I am so sorry about that. It is something management have been looking at. We do hope we get to welcome you back again soon. Take care, and stay safe. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Airbumps wrote a review Jul 2022
Melbourne, Australia19 contributions5 helpful votes
Stayed at SkyCity for three nights as a long weekend getaway and first trip to Auckland. The hotel lobby can be busy due to the attached casino and attractions but the checkin process was quick and simple, although the reception staff needed to be prompted to provide some of our included extras. The hotel itself is nice enough, very slow elevators but otherwise reasonably clean. Premier room is large with nice bathroom as well. Only negatives are there was no housekeeping provided over the three days (possibly more COVID related staffing issue that seems to be plaguing this country) and the restocking of tea and coffee or towels didn’t occur for the duration of our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 11 Jul 2022
Kia Ora Airbumps, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. I am so pleased that you had such a peaceful experience on your first trip to Auckland. I am sorry that you were affected by the new changes to our stay over room servicing. This is a new initiative which we have recently introduced. This should have been explained to you at check-in so I do apologise if this was not done. We do hope we get to welcome you back again in the future. Take care. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donz74 wrote a review Jul 2022
Napier, New Zealand16 contributions11 helpful votes
12 of us from Napier stayed 3 nights Matariki weekend Another great stay with friends. Awesome friendly staff, beautiful clean fresh rooms, beds are so comfortable. It’s just a shame Andy’s is closed. Hope to all return again next year Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 3 Jul 2022
Hello Napier 12, Thank you so much for the awesome review. I am absolutely delighted that all Napier 12 had such a wonderful stay with us over the Matariki weekend, and that you got to spend some quality time with each other. Thank you for the lovely recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you all back again next year. Take care, and stay safe. Warm regards, Lisa & The SkyCity Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul V wrote a review Jun 2022
Buderim, Australia9 contributions
We had a great short stay at Skycity Hotel. From the very start when we actually pulled up at the Sister hotel the Skycity Grand Hotel across the road the concierge staff of both hotels were exceptionally friendly and helpful to us. The room was comfortable and the bed was very comfy to sleep in. The hotel was central to the city and only a short walk to the Viaduct Harbour. When we needed to negotiate a fixed fare to the international airport Lila from the Concierge cooks not have been more generous with his time. He was very friendly and helpful. Thankyou so much Luka for your assistance. 👍 I don’t think the All Blacks are as friendly to the Wallabies on the paddock at Eden Park!!!!😉 (One Day🤞)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 30 Jun 2022
Kia ora Paulv445, Thank you so very much for your awesome feedback, and for mentioning our Luka. He always puts a smile on my face! I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and the local precinct. I dare not mention anything about the Rugby 😉. Take care and I do hope we get to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dmiller0084 wrote a review Jun 2022
Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand3 contributions
Superbly located for shopping and dining. The room was great, nice and modern. Very friendly staff. Worth paying the extra for breakfast at Gusto and valet parking to make the stay a breeze! Will definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 12 Jun 2022
Kia Ora Dmiller0084, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so happy that you got to enjoy so much that we have on offer. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff, we love reading about the great work they do. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Take care, and stay safe. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aj Gaunt wrote a review May 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand6 contributions
We had our wedding reception at Fortuna, and stayed the night at Skycity Hotel 20 years ago. The service was amazing back in 2002, and it is still amazing in 2022. All the staff were very welcoming, our room had a King size bed, and it was so comfortable. There were 2 towels shaped to look like 2 swans and a love heart shaped by them. We had some complementary items in the mini bar. We were advised at check in that we also had a complimentary breakfast. WOW what a breakfast this was, buffet style with everything you could possibly want for a big hearty breakfast, with multi nationalities catered for. Everything was superb and more than we could of wished for. Thank you so much Sky City Auckland, again another unforgettable memory for our 20th wedding anniversary. Can you please thank all of your beautiful staff involved in making out stay so magical.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Great stay, no outside noise
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 31 May 2022
Good morning AjGaunt, What a wonderful read! Thank for sharing your special occasion with us - twice! We are so thrilled that you both had such an amazing time, a comfortable sleep, delicious breakfast and welcoming staff. It was an absolute pleasure to have been able to create another memorable experience for you both. Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Please don't wait another 20 years. 😊 Take care, and stay safe. Warm regards, Lisa & the SkyCity Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$144 - US$206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
skycity hotel auckland
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
323
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about SkyCity Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to SkyCity Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Weta Workshop Unleashed (0.07 km), Escapade NZ (0.4 km), and Great Escape (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at SkyCity Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at SkyCity Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at SkyCity Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at SkyCity Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to SkyCity Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Culprit., The Grove, and Fondou Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at SkyCity Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does SkyCity Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, SkyCity Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is SkyCity Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Auckland Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at SkyCity Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does SkyCity Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.