We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

VR Auckland City

188 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (431)
360
Panoramas (1)
Room & Suite (257)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#40 of 71 hotels in Auckland Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make VR Auckland City their hotel of choice when visiting Auckland Central. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a quiet setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Auckland City Oaks Hotel features 24 hour front desk, express check-in and check-out, and baggage storage. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to parking.

While staying at Oaks On Hobson, visitors can check out St. Patrick's Cathedral (0.4 mi) and Viaduct Harbour (0.5 mi), some of Auckland Central's top attractions.

Travellers looking to enjoy some ribs can head to Depot Eatery & Oyster Bar, Masu, or The Grill by Sean Connolly. Otherwise, you may want to check out a cafe such as Federal Delicatessen, Best Ugly Bagels, or Odettes Eatery.

Looking for something to do in Auckland Central? Sky Tower (0.3 mi), Auckland Museum (1.1 mi), and Queen Street (0.3 mi) are some popular attractions that are within walking distance of Oaks On Hobson.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at VR Auckland City as you experience all of the things Auckland Central has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
1,537Review24Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 372
  • 518
  • 356
  • 139
  • 152
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Escape02160402935 wrote a review 13 Apr
2 contributions
You get what you pay for. It’s reasonably priced accomodation for our family of 5 in Auckland CBD. Our booking requests were catered for, and they dropped a portacot already made up to our room which was a bonus. They came around offering towels and extra coffees/creamers etc which was nice. The room obviously hadn’t had a deep clean in awhile - there was mould on the bathroom ceiling, oven was dirty, dust on skirting boards and corners, even someone’s left over food in the cupboards. However the surfaces and bedding were clean. The parking is a bit of a hassle considering you can’t book it in advance. When we arrived it was fully booked so we had to walk with our 3 young kids and all our bags to and from the parking building a few blocks away. The TV didn’t work well as the outlet was faulty. I tried to cook dinner on the second night but there was no baking tray and when I requested one they never brought it up to the room. Not too bad overall considering the price we paid was reasonably cheap.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
rayjill wrote a review 10 Apr
Lincoln, United Kingdom39 contributions35 helpful votes
Arrived mid morning and as most people do to NZ after a long flight. We appreciated room wouldn’t be ready but asked to leave suitcases so we could start to explore the city. After completing the check-in the nice and helpful lady advised us that a room had just been finished cleaning and was ready and was an upgrade to one we had booked so we accepted it. On entering the room all seemed ok so we had quick drink and headed out returning several hours later to unpack and cook some tea, but decided to shower first where we found the first issue, the shampoo and body wash containers attached to the wall were both empty although full ones had been left in the bathroom but we were unable to change them with the empty ones. We then decided to check the room properly with several issues noted firstly no tv was in the room and every description on any booking site including their own states ‘wide screen tv in every room’ , two lights didn’t work, the pedal bin in the bathroom was broken, the lock on the bathroom door was broken and unable to be locked. The room has a balcony but no furniture to sit on. It had a solid wall at the front with a metal top approx 10cms wide which was absolutely filthy and hadn’t been wiped for months. The small amount of carpeting in the room had lose dirt on it and clearly hadn’t been vacuumed prior to our arrival. Overall we were very disappointed at the state of the room and reported these matters to reception with a tv being delivered shortly after and the promise of a deep clean the following day so we slept soundly in the comfortable bed and went out for a full day exploring the city the next day returning in the early evening to find not a lot of the reported issues had been attended to in fact non had we still had no shampoo or body wash in the shower, there was still dirt on the carpet one of the lights still didn’t work but the other did. These matters were again raised at reception but were never resolved in our short stay. Positive about it the bed was comfortable, kitchen was well equipped and had a dishwasher.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Faten E wrote a review 8 Apr
2 contributions
Was a nice hotel, welcoming stuff specially Danah she is one of the most professional receptionist with math, and now I lie. She is helpful smiling my daughter just like her so much. She is always welcoming and ready to help. We definitely coming back again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Val M wrote a review Mar 2024
Philippines113 contributions91 helpful votes
t walk to the city center. The building is old but the rooms are clean and almost everything works. The 2BR apartment had a generous living and dining area. The queen beds filled the rooms but notable were the ample universal outlets and USB ports for all the gadgets. Room lighting was good. Kitchen was well-equipped though the dish washer couldn’t open. There was a washing machine in the spacious bathroom. Aside from the dining table, there is a good working desk that had good lighting, universal outlets and USB ports. However, daily housekeeping consisted of emptying the trash bins and leaving a fresh batch of towels. No cleaning was done for the 4 days. The Filipino girls at reception were highly efficient, friendly and service-oriented.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from VR City, General Manager at VR Auckland City
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, We wish to thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you liked our staff and their approach towards customer delight, we take pride in that. It is nice to know that you enjoyed the hotel's room amenities. Please accept our sincere apology that proper room service wasn't done during your stay. Rest assured; concerns will be raised to the proper department. I hope your trip back home was fine. We now look forward to your next stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Escape28526442957 wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
We were welcomed and served with a smile from the reception desk, thanks Nikhil the night manager for your hospitality and kind service rendered to my family after a long 6hours drive from Palmerston North to VR Auckland City Apartment . Especially after arriving after 12 midnight.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from VR City, General Manager at VR Auckland City
Responded 3 Mar 2024
Dear Valued Guest, We wish to thank you for your valuable feedback. It is nice to know that you liked our staff and their approach towards customer delight, we take pride in that. I hope your trip back home was fine. We now look forward to your next stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
krave123 wrote a review Feb 2024
Paihia, New Zealand66 contributions38 helpful votes
+1
Probably the worst place we have stayed in Auckland. The room was in dire straits & dirty. Stained curtains, broken furniture, dirt on walls, dusty. 2 towels for 4 people. No hand towels or face cloths. 1 x milk pottle that was opened, 1 wine glass. Yuck Stained shower, peeling paint.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from VR City, General Manager at VR Auckland City
Responded 3 Mar 2024
Dear Valued Guest, We wish to thank you for your valuable feedback. We appreciate all constructive comments, giving us a better idea of future improvements to our furniture. Please accept our sincere apology for all the inconvenience you have encountered. We have noted your concerns very carefully and have taken appropriate actions to avoid any such re-occurrence. I hope your trip back home was fine. We now look forward to your next stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Eliel D wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
We had issues with the AC the first night, their staff fixed it by giving us a much better room. They were very polite and attentive to our needs, even gave us snacks and drinks for our inconvenience. 5 star hospitality, superb people.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The staff is fantastic, they take good care of us.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from VR City, General Manager at VR Auckland City
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Dear Valued Guest, We wish to thank you for your valuable feedback. It is nice to know that you liked our staff and their approach towards customer delight, we take pride in that. Please accept our sincere apology for all the inconvenience you have encountered. I hope your trip back home was fine. We now look forward to your next stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rose wrote a review Jan 2024
Tasmania, Australia84 contributions71 helpful votes
Turned up at 6pm to check in (check in is at 3pm) but when we got to our room it was full of cleaning staff who tried to tell us our room was on a different floor. They rushed the cleaning and left dirty towels in the kitchen and the bathroom wasn’t finished. Not sure the pillowcases were all changed either. Pretty run down. Room does have a microwave and a washing machine/dryer.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from VR City, General Manager at VR Auckland City
Responded 3 Mar 2024
Dear Valued Guest, We wish to thank you for your valuable feedback. We appreciate all constructive comments, giving us a better idea of future improvements to service. Please accept our sincere apology for all the inconvenience you have encountered. We have noted your concerns very carefully and have taken appropriate actions to avoid any such re-occurrence. I hope your trip back home was fine. We now look forward to your next stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Javed S wrote a review Dec 2023
Dubai, United Arab Emirates65 contributions35 helpful votes
It's a decent hotel if you just want to come for a short trip and sleep only, and it’s in the heart of the city. Walkable distance to a convenient store, skytower, and viaduct—fish market. The bus stop is close to the hotel. Bedding had strains. Rooms require some cleaning.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from VR City, General Manager at VR Auckland City
Responded 21 Dec 2023
Dear Valued Guest, We wish to thank you for your valuable feedback. It is nice to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the cleanliness concern you have encountered. We have noted your concerns very carefully and have taken appropriate actions to avoid any such re-occurrence. I hope your trip back home was fine. We now look forward to your next stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
needabreak38 wrote a review Dec 2023
Rothwell, United Kingdom8 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed here 4 a couple nights City centre but very quiet! Reasonable rates The bed was v comfy & shower powerful, air con, well equiped & everything we needed thanks Plenty to see & do in Auckland & hotel just down the road 10 mins walk frm the tower & on same road as bus station Staff were v helpful & we would stay here again if we back in the area 4 sure :-)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from VR City, General Manager at VR Auckland City
Responded 21 Dec 2023
Dear Valued Guest, We wish to thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you liked our staff and their approach towards customer service, we take pride in that. It is also nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and find our location convenient. I hope your trip back home was fine. We now look forward to your next stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Auckland Central area.
PRICE RANGE
$95 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
auckland city oaks hotel auckland central, oaks on hobson
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
117
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VR AUCKLAND CITY - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Auckland Central) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about VR Auckland City
Which popular attractions are close to VR Auckland City?
Nearby attractions include Sweet Axe Throwing Co. (0.2 km), Sky Tower (0.5 km), and Odyssey Sensory Maze (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at VR Auckland City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at VR Auckland City?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at VR Auckland City?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at VR Auckland City?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to VR Auckland City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fondou Cafe, Remedy Coffee, and Cassia @ Skycity.
Is VR Auckland City located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Auckland Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at VR Auckland City?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at VR Auckland City?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to VR Auckland City?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parnell (2.2 km), Eden Garden (2.8 km), and Auckland Town Hall (0.3 km).
Is VR Auckland City accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.