Newton Lodge Auckland
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Newton Lodge Auckland

27 Cross Street Newton, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
Far too many rules for a backpackers hostel...
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#15 of 41 hostels in Auckland Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Newton Lodge is a backpacker hostel located in Auckland city central CBD, New Zealand. Brunch of restaurants, bars, shops, supermarkets, bus stops are around Newton Lodge. Easy to go Queen street, Karangahape Road (K-road), Ponsonby and Sky City from Newton Lodge by walking. Share kitchen, free WiFi, 24 hours hot water, laundry, and comfortable sitting area are available. All rooms are with share bathrooms and toilets. High quality mattress, pillow, blanket and bedside socket are equipped to all beds whichever you book private rooms or share beds. To improve the rooms that without windows, skylight and ventilation systems are installed. Thanks for soundproof setting, even we close to K-road which is full of restaurants and bars, our hostel is still very quiet at night time.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Laptop safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Modern
Languages Spoken
English

Location

27 Cross Street Newton, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 88 out of 100
88
Auckland Intl Airport
17.3 km
See all flights
66Reviews0Q+A5Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 19
  • 17
  • 8
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Happy Traveller wrote a review Nov 2022
London, United Kingdom225 contributions69 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in the eight bed female dorm and had a generally positive experience. The room was very sheltered from outside noise and roommates were considerate. Bunks are a bit creaky and there isn't a huge amount of space for everyone's bags, but the shared bathrooms are clean, showers good and kitchen usable. WiFi was also good enough for video calls and films.

The surrounding area is a bit intimidating after dark and the hostel is tucked away up a random concrete staircase. I didn't have any issues though.

Basically, it's a simple no frills hostel which does what it says on the tin and is in a good central location.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
flybirdy123 wrote a review Oct 2014
Wellington, New Zealand2 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for few weeks and overall was good. Not too big and was great way to meet new people. But now they've put in a ban on alcohol - definitely takes away the social aspect and would put me off! Felt like I was back living with my parents! Not good for business
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
UK_TravellingTrebor wrote a review Oct 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom19 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall it was a good hostel to stay in, staff have been friendly and the place kept generally clean with bed sheets changed on a weekly basis. Excellent value for money and a good location at the top of Queen Street where K'Road goes across it. The only problem that this hostel now has is that alcohol has been banned, which definitely takes away from the backpacker vibe of the place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sdp21 wrote a review Jul 2014
6 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Main point - no heating anywhere in building! After arriving into a basic room (no windows, air vent in ceiling) our room (like the rest of the building) was freezing. We asked for a heater but they don't have any. All they have are extra blankets. After complaining about this we found out that 'heating is not advertised'! and that to his knowledge 'no other backpackers accommodation in New Zealand has heating'! This was our last stay for a month in New Zealand with everywhere else having heating. It was the middle of winter and 8° outside! Everyone (including the staff) had to wear layers of clothing to try and stay warm.

I think this is unacceptable, isn't not being cold some sort of right when staying somewhere?

Kitchen was horrible. Fish seems to be cooked at all times of day and the whole place stank of it. No space in fridges, food going offf in them. TV always up too loud waking you up in the morning. Drinking games played every night again too loud if you want to go to sleep. Laundry only has 1 washer and drier meaning that there is always a queue for using it. Staff (especially manager) rude. Internet too slow to be useful. Location is down a dodgy alleyway near a strip club, and always have to walk through smokers (some smoking weed) to get inside the building. Found a lizard in our room!

Could not wait to leave this place and are glad to put this experience behind us.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NewtonLodge, Manager at Newton Lodge Auckland
Responded 22 Jul 2014
An overstated story. Where is the lizard you mentioned? I remember that you threatened to give bad review in order to get an invalid refund. Now you have done it. Well done.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jmb3509 wrote a review May 2015
Auckland Central, New Zealand13 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I paid extra for a room with a window....find out that it only opens 5 cm. I have been to over 30 hostels (in NZ and EU). This is the first time I had asked for my money back due to unsatisfaction (I wanted to stay at another hostel in Auckland). They refused to refund.

The room was very hot and stuffy and smells bad due to no fresh air, mattress has pokey springs. I managed to sleep only a few hours.

There are better hostels (and cheaper) closer to the city center. There is also a big hill to walk up.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Bring an entire bottle of sleeping pills.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AdventureswithLove wrote a review Oct 2014
Alfreton, United Kingdom13 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in the hostel for quite sometime, more than most would.
At first it was a great hostel, normal amount of rules, I may have bent a few of them but nothing was ever said. I respected the place and the people who lived there.
In recent weeks, they have enforced an alcohol ban, so no alcohol is allowed in the premises or drank on the premises. This takes away the social backpacking experience. your not even allowed a glass of wine with your meal.
No friends or visitors are allowed in the premises after 9:30pm, you will receive a trespass notice and be asked to leave.
Make sure you wash your dishes immediately after you eat or you could receive a fine of $20 for not doing so. All they do all day is watch you on the cameras and make you aware of the fact you haven't washed up yet.
The management is atrocious, someone who has never travelled before and is just doing it as a job.
They don't understand the requirements of backpackers. they struggle to help or understand you.
Please note, this is now a DRY hostel, that offers no bar, no outside terrace no nothing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
juissich wrote a review Oct 2014
Auckland, New Zealand25 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms has no windows and they get quite stinky. The premises are usually clean but the kitchen is too small for the amount of guests staying there, resulting in waiting one hour to cook your stuff.

Free wifi is great but is very slow and almost impossible to use. The worst thing comes with the alcohol ban. You can't drink any alcohol at any moment which really sucks.

Staff is quite rude and unfriendly. Wouldn't stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AlistairRiddell wrote a review Jan 2019
Havana, Cuba157 contributions113 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a private room, cost NZD $51 per night. It was clean, quiet and reasonably spacious. Location was good with bars, restaurants, cafes, shops and laundry all nearby. Wifi was reliable. Recommended; Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yann r wrote a review Mar 2017
Meylan, France5 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The outside of the hostel can make you a bit scared but after pass the upstairs door you will find a sympathic cheap place to stay. Free coffee and tea, camera everywhere but safe place, near from the center and good bars. Drinking on outside front stairs is forbidden, ahahaha :)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mevess wrote a review Dec 2015
Sao Paulo, SP37 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is good, close to Auckland's main stree (Queen street), but the upper side of it, what means you have to walk about 10-15 min to get to the city centre (touristic information centre where you can book tours and find the sky tower). The hostel is big, clean and organized. The twin room is big and beds are quite good. Bathrooms and showers are also clean and big (showers have good water pressure and a good changing area). Staff is friendly and helpful.
Kitchen is not as big as needed. There are lots of students living there and not enough fridges, what makes it difficult to find a place to store your food. Sometimes receptionist leaves the office and you have to wait a lot to make your request. They don't have lifts.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Auckland Central area.
PRICE RANGE
$79 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NEWTON LODGE AUCKLAND - Now $125 (Was $̶2̶1̶1̶) - Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison (Auckland Central, New Zealand)

Frequently Asked Questions about Newton Lodge Auckland
Which popular attractions are close to Newton Lodge Auckland?
Nearby attractions include Myers Park (0.5 km), Cakes n Ladders (0.5 km), and Karangahape Road (K Road) (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Newton Lodge Auckland?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, self serve laundry, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Newton Lodge Auckland?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Newton Lodge Auckland?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Newton Lodge Auckland?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Garde-Manger, Apero Food & Wine, and Sri Penang.
Are any cleaning services offered at Newton Lodge Auckland?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Newton Lodge Auckland?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parnell (2.3 km), Eden Garden (2.1 km), and Auckland Town Hall (0.7 km).
All Auckland Central HotelsAuckland Central Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Auckland CentralHotels near Newton Lodge Auckland
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire