We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YMCA Hostel

Save
Traveller (69)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (3)
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good42%
  • Average18%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“single room”(34 reviews)
“fire station”(10 reviews)
Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Multilingual Staff
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (264)Write a Review
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
68
78
38
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
68
78
38
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle roomfire stationsmall dining roomincluding fridgepitt streetcommon toiletjapanese ladybasic place to stayk roadbathrooms and showersshared facilitiesattended a conferenceclose to the city centerstorage spacequeen streetthe ground floorsky bus
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 201 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

First of all, the staff were amazing, they were nice and helpful. My room was quite comfortable and the location of YMCA was convenient, it was on Pitt Street and during my stay, I usually walked downhill to city center and take the city line...More

Thank Quack H
Reviewed 6 January 2018

this is the WORST hostel of my one month visit in new Zealand. asked for NZD50 deposit when my one night stay only cost NZD22. wifi payable @NZD6/day. poor location- far and sloppy road from city centre-sky tower.More

Thank platinumSingapore
Response from YMCAhostel, Reservations Manager at YMCA HostelResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am disappointed to know that you did not enjoy your stay at YMCA Hostel. We request for credit card details or a deposit from all our guests as room security. I don't...More

Reviewed 2 January 2018

Very nice hostel to stay In Auckland CBD. The building is pretty near of all the touristic spots in Auckland, so you can go everywhere from there by walk. The place is pretty quiet, and the staff very kindful. Recommended!More

Thank Lautaro_Pelayez
Response from YMCAhostel, Reservations Manager at YMCA HostelResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Lautaro, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel and found it to be centrally located. We have a great team at the hostel who strive hard to ensure...More

Reviewed 29 December 2017

We stayed in a private twin room for three nights. Overall Rock Solid was a great hostel. The room was quite spacious and the bathroom was especially good. Shared kitchen was big and was very clean and accommodating. Staff were lovely and helped us when...More

Thank emmawalton75
Response from YMCAhostel, Reservations Manager at YMCA HostelResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Emma, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel and found it to be spacious and spotlessly clean. We recently renovated our communal areas and along the corridors to...More

Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

My experience at the YMCA hostel was quite good. The toilets/showers were really clean and tidy, and really appreciated that they had blow dryers. Unfortunately when three friends and I arrived the cleaning staff had forgotten to do our 4 bedroom dorm, and we were...More

Thank helenewal
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345641
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$23 - US$99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$23 - US$99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (69)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Petermeredan
10 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Kim T | Reviewed this property |
And yes, Hertz is on Victoria, off Nelson St.
2
Votes
uday k
5 December 2015|
Answer
Response from YMCAhostel | Property representative |
Dear ud-ku-197, Auckland is a multicultural city with plenty of options, in K'road, just 200 meters from the Hostel, there are several Vegetarian Restaurants, good on you, Kind regards, Andre Vidoto Centre Manager
0
Votes
PreviousNext
123
Room Tips
"if you plan on doing a lot of cooking the kitchen is very small and can be busy."
Read review
"Top floor."
Read review
"Rooms facing the main streets can be noisy, should be avoided"
Read review
"Try to get a room on same level as your gender's shared bathroom or otherwise near the stairs."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing