We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Ponsonby Backpackers

    2 Franklin Road | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (13)
          Room & Suite (4)
          Hotel & Grounds (21)
          Bamber House Hostel
          369 reviews
          #2 of 114 Speciality lodging in Auckland
           
          Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
          300 reviews
          #1 of 114 Speciality lodging in Auckland
           
          Haka Lodge Auckland
          309 reviews
          #3 of 114 Speciality lodging in Auckland
           
          Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
          2,793 reviews
          #3 of 67 hotels in Auckland
           
          Overview
          • Excellent56%
          • Very good35%
          • Average6%
          • Poor2%
          • Terrible1%
          Travellers talk about
          Paid Wifi
          Free Parking
          Non-Smoking Rooms
          Laundry Service
          Self-Serve Laundry
          Breakfast included
          Pool
          Restaurant
          Room Service
          All hotel details
          {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
          Bamber House Hostel
          369 reviews
          #2 of 114 Speciality lodging in Auckland
           
          Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
          300 reviews
          #1 of 114 Speciality lodging in Auckland
           
          Haka Lodge Auckland
          309 reviews
          #3 of 114 Speciality lodging in Auckland
           
          Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
          2,793 reviews
          #3 of 67 hotels in Auckland
           
          Write a Review
          Reviews (372)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 372 reviews

          Reviewed 1 week ago

          Just checked-out Ponsonby Backpackers and I could not recommend it more. Great location, nice staff, respectful roommates, cosy rooms... My experience was not disappointing at all! And everything started with the booking, through its simple and effective website. No cheating, no ripping off, not buts....More

          Thank Juarez A
          Reviewed 1 week ago

          I decided to stay at ponsonby backpackers the last 3 nights of my time in New Zealand! It was the right decision!! Kirsty and Curtis, working reception, made the stay even better!! The atmosphere and people I met there made me feel like I should...More

          Thank 732mathiasj
          Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

          There are alot of hostels in Auckland, but If you just need a good one, wich is clean, not far from the center, with free carpark and everything for a reasonable price! Just go here, its the best! U won't regret it.

          Thank Pusher v
          Reviewed 3 weeks ago

          Stayed in one of the garden rooms at the end of a recent tour of NZ during which we had stayed in many fantastic hostels, which meant that Ponsonby Backbackers was a bit of a disappointment. The room was small, smelled of damp and could...More

          Thank Rob B
          Response from AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby BackpackersResponded 3 weeks ago

          Hi thanks for leaving us a review, We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We do all we can to help prevent damp, however being an old 19th century villa it sometimes can't be prevented due to the old wood....More

          Reviewed 3 weeks ago

          Ponsonby Backpackers was a great end to my New Zealand stay. It is a nice little hostel with a homely feel due its size. Location in Ponsonby is also great. Quiet side street location but just 1 minute walk to Ponsonby Road with lots of...More

          Thank mrjimmyhu
          Response from AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby BackpackersResponded 3 weeks ago

          Hi thanks for leaving us an awesome review, We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we did not disappoint as your last hostel. :) We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb such as...More

          Bamber House Hostel
          369 reviews
          #2 of 114 Speciality lodging in Auckland
           
          Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
          300 reviews
          #1 of 114 Speciality lodging in Auckland
           
          Haka Lodge Auckland
          309 reviews
          #3 of 114 Speciality lodging in Auckland
           
          Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
          2,793 reviews
          #3 of 67 hotels in Auckland
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Self-Serve Laundry
          • Free Parking
          • Laundry Service
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$21 - US$55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Room types
          • Non-Smoking Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 45
          • Reservation Options
          • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ponsonby Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
          • Location
          • New Zealand >
          • North Island >
          • Auckland Region >
          • Auckland
          • Also Known As
          • Ponsonby Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (13)
          Room & Suite (4)
          Hotel & Grounds (21)
          Nearby
          Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
          887 reviews
          1.22 km away
           
          Swiss-Belsuites Victoria Park
          118 reviews
          1.03 km away
           
          Apollo Hotel Auckland
          100 reviews
          1.13 km away
           
          Quest Ponsonby
          103 reviews
          .67 km away
           
          Abaco On Jervois
          302 reviews
          .91 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Prego Restaurant
          420 reviews
          .10 km away
          Little Bird Organics and The Unbakery
          200 reviews
          .21 km away
          Ponsonby Road Bistro
          138 reviews
          .14 km away
          Namo
          36 reviews
          .20 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Ponsonby
          468 reviews
          .69 km away
          Foxes Island
          8 reviews
          .67 km away
          Western Park
          7 reviews
          .66 km away
          Victoria Park
          13 reviews
          1.03 km away
          Questions & Answers
          Get quick answers from Ponsonby Backpackers staff and past guests.
          Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
          Posting guidelines
          Submit
          Room Tips
          "Close to downtown Auckland"
          Read review
          "If possible, do not get a bunk bed because they were wobbly."
          Read review
          "Avoid room zero as it is near the front door, upstairs the rooms are better"
          Read review
          "Female dorm > less risk of people who snor :-)"
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing