We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Copthorne Hotel Auckland City

150 Anzac Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (238)
Room & Suite (139)
Dining (21)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#59 of 71 hotels in Auckland Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in Auckland's CBD, Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offers stylish accommodation with soundproof rooms and balconies showcasing city or seascape views. Perfect for guests eager to explore nearby attractions like Queen Street and Spark Arena.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
926Reviews16Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 91
  • 263
  • 339
  • 153
  • 80
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Thehubs1962 wrote a review 19 Apr
Bath, United Kingdom12 contributions7 helpful votes
Lovely friendly staff and accommodating with our early arrival. In a good position in Auckland up close to the university and park. Hotel is definitely looking tired and a little tatty in areas, like hall ways and the stair wells and rooms. Very clean though and reasonable size. Parking is paid for but there are few spaces on site so do book before you go if travelling by car. We ate in the restaurant which was fine and usual city prices. Ideal for the stop over in the city.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Anna Anderson wrote a review 6 Apr
Porirua, New Zealand23 contributions21 helpful votes
Please please please don't spend your hard earned money here. I would have been distraught if I had considering the average price of the room per night. My mother in law purchased us an away to go voucher hence the reason for the stay following a very rough start of the year. I can hands down say this is the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in. My husband stated we have stayed in better hotels than this in third world countries. I don't mind a tired and dated room as long as it is clean which is was for the most part. The room was small and pokey. below average bathroom as well as disgusting mould in the shower with rubber seal broken, see pictures. What really really infatuated me was paying $30 for a carpark to come back to the hotel at 10pm at night to the carpark filled. To the receptionist saying we had to go park down the road in a Wilson's park for the night and pay. She was NOT helpful at all. Breakfast was absolutely disgusting. Uneatable. I would not reccommend this hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't pay $30 to park on site. Pay $25 at a cafe rather than their breakfast buffet. It will...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your accommodation experience. Having recently commenced at the hotel, the condition of the rooms is one area that has been identified for refurbishment which is due to commence in 2025. In the interim, we are currently painting all our rooms including the guest corridors. Kind regards and thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Auckland.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
marney1 wrote a review Mar 2024
ireland75 contributions28 helpful votes
We stayed here 2 nights in March after a cruise. We got an upgrade and thought this was great. Well no it wasn't! The walls of the room were dirty, carpets stained and black mould on the ceiling. Sink was cracked. Cheap furniture and wardrobe was in the bathroom. No safe in the room. Housekeeping did not service the room so we came back after a long tiring day to unmade bed and no clean towels. Restaurant was closed both nights due to lack of staff. Bar too. No food via room service either. Staff didn't care. Breakfast was barely passable. We were glad to leave. To Nick L General Manager - DO NOT reply with your stock answer to other reviewers of a refurb in 2025. That doesn't explain away dirty walls and carpets, no restaurant, rooms not being serviced.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear marney1 Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your accommodation experience. We are sorry to read you were unable to enjoy your accommodation like so many of our other customers. We are certainly looking forward to our planned refurbishment and believe it is important that this is communicated to the public. I trust you had a safe and pleasant journey back home. Kind regards and thank you again for choosing to stay with us while in Auckland
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
NorthantsAquababe wrote a review Mar 2024
Wollaston, United Kingdom313 contributions172 helpful votes
We stayed for 2 nights after arriving on north island before a 3 week road trip. Good hotel and location in the city, adequate for us and staff all very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast, room ok but air con not working for first day and it was very hot!! Yes the hotel is a bit shabby but fine for a few nights. Not particularly cheap, but we found nowhere cheap in NZ!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Responded 17 Mar 2024
Dear NorthantsAquababe Thank for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us while in Auckland. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pauline A wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
This hotel is in need of a complete refurbishment and the inclusion of sound proofing. Decor is tired. L shaped rip in the dining room carpet. Our 1st bedroom had a gurgling toilet and the sliding bathroom door almost fell off on arrival. We were then moved down the corridor, the bedroom was tired and dusty. The bathroom was also tired with cracked marble sink surround and cracked tiling. The washbasin drain smelt! When adjoining guests showered you could hear the water running loudly in your own bedroom. There are no door closures on the bedroom doors and no signage asking people to shut doors quietly. As people are coming and going at all hours in the hotel it is very difficult to sleep. We paid for a cooked breakfast option but the bacon was inedible as it had hardly been cooked!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take ear plugs if you want to sleep
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Responded 17 Mar 2024
Dear paulineaW5863BA Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your accommodation experience. Having recently commenced at the hotel, the condition of the rooms is one area that has been identified for refurbishment which is due to commence in 2025. In the interim, we are currently painting all our rooms including the guest corridors. Kind regards and thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Auckland
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gillian H wrote a review Mar 2024
Hobart, Australia51 contributions56 helpful votes
The hotel staff were helpful and polite but the room was fairly shabby, only one of 8 power points actually worked and that was even a bit dodgy. The bathroom could do with an update alrho the towels were large and in good condition. The beds were comfy and the sheets good enough quality, the room had space for luggage and had a small desk. Downstairs the lobby was welcoming and nice, but the bar was closed the whole time we were there and they weren't serving dinner at all. Breakfast was adequate but no good for folks with any allergies.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Responded 17 Mar 2024
Dear 923gillianh Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your accommodation experience. Having recently commenced at the hotel, the condition of the rooms is one area that has been identified for refurbishment which is due to commence in 2025. In the interim, we are currently painting all our rooms including the guest corridors. Kind regards and thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Auckland
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LittleWhiteHens wrote a review Mar 2024
Keswick, United Kingdom52 contributions25 helpful votes
Firstly the good parts....friendly staff, comfortable bed and decent shower pressure. Easy walk into the city centre. BUT....this hotel is SO dated. The carpets are stained and threadbare. The bathroom looks like it's come straight from the 1970s with missing tiles, black grout and a toilet seat flaking off and rough. The walls are stained and scratched and in desperate need of a repaint. The lifts and corridors smell stale. This hotel was probably 4* back in the 90s/2000s but it's sadly looking rough around the edges now.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Responded 17 Mar 2024
Dear Shelley C Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your accommodation experience. Having recently commenced at the hotel, the condition of the rooms is one area that has been identified for refurbishment which is due to commence in 2025. In the interim, we are currently painting all our rooms including the guest corridors. Kind regards and thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Auckland
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julian D wrote a review Feb 2024
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
The car park is very small and costs NZD30 per night. Don’t bother staying there if you’ve got a car. The room was like a sauna when we arrived and the aircon barely got the temperature down to an acceptable level by bedtime. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was adequate for NZD25 though the choice was limited.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t stay there if you need parking.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Responded 28 Feb 2024
Dear Ex_Premier_Inn_guest Thank for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us while in Auckland. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fran Machado wrote a review Feb 2024
Pontypool, United Kingdom123 contributions55 helpful votes
The hotel was adequate for our needs however, we both felt the hotel needs updating. Fixtures and fittings are tired. On the other hand the hotel was clean and the bed was comfortable. Very good situation for the centre of the city. Breakfast ok.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Responded 28 Feb 2024
Dear Francisco M Thank for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us while in Auckland. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ibot P wrote a review Feb 2024
New Zealand3 contributions1 helpful vote
The air con did not work. It was very humid and difficult to sleep, and the sweat was dripping off me even when i was not moving. The air con was an old style 1980s model, and simply did not pump out any cooler air. The breakfast was old fashioned 1980s style food. The place is a bit run down and in need of refurbishment - definitely not 4 star. I would not stay here again. Avoid in summer if you don't like humidity.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Responded 28 Feb 2024
Dear ibotp Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your accommodation experience. Having recently commenced at the hotel, the condition of the rooms is one area that has been identified for refurbishment which is due to commence in 2025. In the interim, we are currently painting all our rooms including the guest corridors. Kind regards and thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Auckland
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Auckland Central area.
PRICE RANGE
$117 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
copthorne hotel auckland
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COPTHORNE HOTEL AUCKLAND CITY - Now $173 (Was $̶1̶9̶9̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Auckland Central, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Copthorne Hotel Auckland City
Which popular attractions are close to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City?
Nearby attractions include Spark Arena (0.4 km), Emily Place Reserve (0.4 km), and The First Presbyterian Church of Saint Andrew (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and room service.
What food & drink options are available at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Onslow, Little India, and Tanpopo Ramen.
Are any cleaning services offered at Copthorne Hotel Auckland City?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Copthorne Hotel Auckland City offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Copthorne Hotel Auckland City?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parnell (0.9 km), Eden Garden (3.0 km), and Auckland Town Hall (1.0 km).
Is Copthorne Hotel Auckland City accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.