We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
128 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (755)
360
Panoramas (35)
Room & Suite (253)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#23 of 72 hotels in Auckland Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, Crowne Plaza Auckland is your winning choice for a successful getaway in Auckland City. Step outside and experience a world full of possibilities right at our doorstep. Located in the centre of it all, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the perfect base to explore the city. Just a short walk from the hotel, Auckland Central Business District attractions such as the iconic Sky Tower, Civic Theatre and Aotea Centre beckons. New Zealand's top designers are nearby on Queen Street, while just next door are the Elliott Stables, one of Auckland's top dining locations. We are a full service hotel with 10 flexible meeting spaces, Aria Restaurant & Bar, Club Lounge, Fitness Centre, sauna and Business Centre. Relax and rejuvenate during your stay in one of our smoke-free 352 Superior Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Club Rooms or Suites.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Paid wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Filipino
2236Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 912
  • 994
  • 245
  • 53
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
georgematthews wrote a review Jun 2022
Bangor, United Kingdom393 contributions177 helpful votes
Stayed in in 2017 and was happy to revisit post MIQ. My negative comments last time were very long queues at breakfast and the need to log into Wi-Fi every 30 minutes. The first issue was not a problem as the hotel was extremely quite since it reopened to the public and the Wi-Fi is not an issue if you enroll in the IHG locality program. It was a pain having the government construction work out front as you had to get around it and our coach couldn’t drop off at the hotel. Not the hotels issue but something to bear in mind.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Pollock, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi georgematthews, Thank for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to be back open to the public and operating as a normal hotel. I am pleased that the wifi worked well. We upgraded this in 2019 and it is good to know that you noticed an improvement from your previous visit. We agree with your comments on the construction and look forward to the arrival experience being improved in the near future. Kind Regards Tim - Crowne Plaza Auckland
Read more
Lizzie3b wrote a review Jun 2022
Waiheke Island, New Zealand51 contributions9 helpful votes
The hotel has literally just reopened and i am staying here for a conference. The rooms are a great size, it is spotless, staff are friendly and helpful and both lunch and dinner has been excellent. Would definitely book for personal stay
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Pollock, Owner at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
DearLizzie3b, Many thanks for your feedback on your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and really happy that your staff interactions & food met your expectations. We are so pleased to be back open to the public and hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Maria B wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Since 21 November I have stayed in two MIQ hotels, the first being the Sudima in Auckland for 7 days and now Crowne Plasma Auckland for 10 days. The two experiences have been quite different and disappointing. During my stay at Crowne Plaza, I was attached by bed bugs it took the team two days to find me another room, then the fridge in the second room wouldn't close due to ice around the ice box. I then had to ring fir my meals to be delivered to me new room as no one had notified the catering team advising of the room change. I havent been able to exercise as im terrified of heights and the only lefts working are the ones on the outside of the building. I have experience staff laughing at me at reception. Not a great experience and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. As for the Sudima, it was an amazing first time experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 Jan 2022
Hi Mbee2147, Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your feedback. Although we have limited service hospitality, we strive to offer a seamless and relaxing stay. I'm sorry to learn that your stay was not as comfortable as it's supposed to be because of the bugs, delay of changing rooms, fridge, issue with the meal delivery and shortcomings in customer service. I know that this can be upsetting especially when your trip was supposed to be a relaxing one. We take feedback seriously and would like to get more info to share this with the relevant teams. I sent you a separate email and hope you respond soon. Despite some of the services not meeting your expectations, I hope you choose IHG still on your future travels. Best Regards, Jenilyn J Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Paul L wrote a review Dec 2021
Coolangatta, Australia212 contributions64 helpful votes
Arrived very early in the morning after arriving at the airport and going through the long process and finally getting to our room at 2.15am. Went through a similar process in Christchurch a year ago and it was much smoother then and even had some decent food on arrival and had our bags as well. Our room on the 25th floor was alright and even had a microwave which I didn't expect but not much of a view from our side of the hotel. Very disappointed with the meals especially after comparing to the Distinction hotel in Christchurch which were fabulous so a very different experience this time, luckily it's only for a week this time!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Pollock, Owner at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel
Responded 12 Dec 2021
Thanks for your feedback Paul. I am sorry to hear that the meals did not meet with your satisfaction. We have been working hard to have a varied offering for the guests returning into managed isolation. The baggage system has changed over the last months which does mean luggage delivery is delayed through an external contractor. I would be happy to discuss this further if you wish to do so and can be contacted on tim.pollock@ihg.com. Kind Regards Tim
Read more
KiwiPaulo wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel general manager called me to tell me that I would be charged $750 because I smoked outside the window of the room one time due to the need to subsequently shampoo the carpets and curtains. When I explained that as no smoke entered into the room at all, this would be a ridiculous action. Also given that this has to be done in any case due to the hotel being used as a Covid-19 isolation facility (and that I am here without my consent), then I consider the room would have to be deep-cleaned as a matter of course. Therefore the hotel management is directly charging for a service it already has been paid for. The hotel management has forgotten what customer service means and I certainly would not recommend this hotel. The General Manager came across as rude and aggressive and my experience of staying in hotels around the world is such that this attitude would pervade the whole atmosphere of the hotel. I certainly don't want to stay in a hotel where the staff operate under such an authoritarian regime.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Welshjay wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
As other people have said the food is really bad. Me and my daughter are here at the moment on day 5 and have decided we can no longer eat the rubbish being bought to us, I have been on the front line of a battle field in the middle east and managed to cook better food than what is being dished out here. My daughter is a vegan and for her lunch the other day she got a beef baguette, breakfast this morning was a spoon of HARD beans and two hard pieces of bread... honestly they can't even do beans on toast.... Again my daughter should have had a vegan thai RED curry last night... instead they bought her the mushroom stroganoff that she had the night before but took the mushrooms out and added chilli it wasn't even red... and looking at it it had obviously been sat over 24 hours in a pot it was gloopy glue like. Honestly make sure you have a uber eats account. The staff however are really helpful especially thr MIQ staff.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel
Responded 21 May 2021
Hello Kiwitaff123, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with our hotel. Our goal is to achieve high-quality standards, deliver guest satisfaction and serve traveler's needs. I am sorry that this was not refelected in the food service during your sray. I am sorry for the dismay and that you had to cut short your stay. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality facilities. Your feedback will definitely help us towards bettering our services and we hope to host you again soon. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Andy B wrote a review Mar 2021
Lowestoft, United Kingdom27 contributions14 helpful votes
The hotel room is a good size and was very clean on arrival. The check in process was well organised and quick. The the front desk/ room service team are always there to help and are very quick to respond to any requests. The nurses and testing team are all super friendly and very professional and again it is vey well organised. But I’m afraid the stay has been made a lot harder because of the poor quality of the hotel food. The breakfast options only had eggs as an option one day of the week . I would expect hot eggs to be a standard option everyday. Chef’s choice of cereal should read “corn flakes “ as that is all we have been given for 9 days. Lunch and evening meals are very hit and miss , I’ve had a couple of ok ones but mostly low quality . Twice the meals haven’t turned up at all. Most meals are cold when they get to the door. The chilli con carne option consisted of a small pot of mince and a packet of Doritos ! ( this is supposed to be a main evening meal). All I can say is thank heavens for Countdown online delivery, it’s been a saviour. Really can’t wait to get out of here now and have a decent meal with good size portions. Sorry for the poor rating but I’m afraid the food is really not acceptable. I would expect more from a Crowne Plaza .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Crowne Plaza Auckland, Other at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel
Responded 30 Mar 2021
Dear 921andyb, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience with us. Crowne Plaza Auckland is currently operating as a Managed Isolation Facility, so our usual services and amenities are currently not available. Kind Regards, The team at Crowne Plaza Auckland
Read more
Laura B wrote a review Feb 2021
Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France7 contributions
+1
Currently serving as an MIQ facility, the Crowne Plaza continues to show its guests a unique and remarkable quality of service. The staff are having to work twice as hard as sanitary measures increase their work load and require them to be all the more thorough and vigilant. They are faced with responsibilities they most likely never envisaged to have to take on in their work place yet they are shouldering them like true heroes, with pride and a big smile ! This is above and beyond what I expected of managed isolation. To the height of it's ability in the current circumstances, the Crowne Plaza is striving to maintain hotel services (knowing that no one outside your bubble is permitted to enter your room to rule out any risk) : reception at your beg and call 24/7, housekeeping & laundry services, room service meals, concierge delivering food orders or family packages to your door, fast & reliable WiFi, room equipped with quality tea, coffee & hot chocolate, fridge, TV with over 100 channels, bathroom amenities including divinely scented toiletries, hair drier, iron... The menu is very diverse and accommodates all kinds of dietary needs and cultural preferences. Being a bit of a health nut I've especially appreciated the delicious chiaseed coconut berry porridge or turmeric overnight oats with house made yoghurt & passionfruit as breakfast options, but fear not if you need your carbs you can also choose the banana waffles with bacon & maple syrup, the blueberry pancakes or ham&cheese croissants! Every one from the receptionists, to the housekeepers, to the security guards is so exceptionally kind and positive which just makes the whole experience so much more pleasant. I'm genuinely amazed at how well organised and thought through everything is, it's like they've been doing this their whole lives. From the bottom of my heart I wish to thank the whole Crowne Plaza Auckland team for making my stay in managed isolation quite enjoyable against all odds and more importantly for working so hard on the front lines to protect our land from a new outbreak. From the bottom of my heart I wish to thank the Crowne Plaza
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
PhillipP wrote a review Nov 2020
Tring, United Kingdom580 contributions376 helpful votes
The hotel is connected to a mall and a multi story car park (where hotel guests are invited to park) in the centre of Auckland. There were many roadworks taking place when we arrived and some of the roads were closed both to road traffic and pedestrians. Check in was quick and efficient and we were soon in our room on the Club floor. The room was very big and spacious with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the city and bay. The bathroom was equally spacious with a separate tub and shower cubicle and complimentary amenities were provided. The club lounge was big and quiet each time we visited. The staff there were attentive and the selection of drinks and canapés extensive. A great space to work or relax. We chose to have breakfast at the main restaurant, found on the ground floor near reception. A good selection of both hot and cold options was available. Being in the main lobby area, it feels quite busy, both from other guests checking in and out but also people using the mall. The hotel was a perfectly good business hotel in the centre of New Zealand’s biggest city, perfect for a short stop over or a business trip.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
17danni210 wrote a review Oct 2020
Queenstown, New Zealand12 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
I started out managed isolation feeling super grateful and very positive. I’m now 11 days in and starving and the gratitude is deteriorating as my desire for a decent meal wears thin. The staff, nurses, defence staff are lovely, my room is a decent size, and I enjoy my exercise time HOWEVER today I found the THIRD hair in my food in 11 days - the most disappointing part, it was in a fruit salad I was so looking forward to to get something healthy into my body. At the start I picked it out the hairs, now on the third occasion it’s beyond a joke and the hygiene policy in the kitchen needs to be addressed. The meals are seriously lacking in veg/nutritional value and arrive cold more often than not to the point that I have stopped eating them - attached are a few “pork stir fry” with about 1/10th of a carrot grated into the noodles, a curry with a few lumps of meat, and spaghetti with a sauce chucked on top as the veggie option.... I am all for managed isolation and fully support it but when the hotel is getting paid to provide guests with substantial meals this simply is not good enough. I did email the hotel on one occasion about the meal quality and am yet to get a response. You also get a sweet dessert each night with dinner, I did ask for fruit instead to try and get something of nutritional value into my body however my request has not been granted. Also, count your items you send out to laundry as 2 of my items went missing. When I rang to enquire about this, and then followed up again, I was told if it turns up during my stay they’ll give them back to me, and if not, sorry. I understand this can happen however when we’re in managed isolation and have to put our trust in people, this also is an unacceptable outcome. I really, really hope if anything comes off this, that the kitchen staff start wearing hair nets and taking hygiene standards seriously, as well as reworking their meal options to a satisfactory level.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG New Zealand, Owner at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Dear 17danni210, Thank you for your feedback. I can only apologise for what has been a less than satisfactory stay with us so far. I apologise for your initial feedback not being responded to, I am looking into how this has been missed. Please know that if you have any issues during your stay you can speak to any of our friendly team at Reception 24 hours a day. Again, please let me apologise for the quality of food you have received. This is not our usual standard and our kitchen team are continually working to improve their service of quality of offering. Our Duty Manager has already reached out to you, however if there is anything further any of us can do to make the remainder of your stay more comfortable please don’t hesitate to let us know. Kind Regards, Kahlia O'Shea Operations Manager Crowne Plaza Auckland
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$134 - US$164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crowne plaza auckland hotel auckland central, auckland crowne plaza
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
352
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Weta Workshop Unleashed (0.1 km), Escapade NZ (0.3 km), and Great Escape (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a fitness centre, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Culprit., The Grove, and Fondou Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Auckland Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Chinese, and Filipino.