Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ohtel Auckland

32 Market Place, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
Traveller (88)
Superior Room at Ohtel Auckland
Room & Suite (63)
Dining (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#30 of 71 hotels in Auckland Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Ohtel Auckland offers a boutique personalised 5 star experience. Rooms are designed featuring modern mid-century furnishings and kiwiana artwork, providing guests a luxurious yet unpretentious experience. An outdoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, onsite carparking, guest restaurant and complimentary bicycles complete the unique stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Secured parking
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
On-demand films
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English
88Reviews0Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 61
  • 17
  • 6
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Andrew wrote a review Jul 2022
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia8 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in a building that was formerly an office, coverted and opened in 2021. The location is fantastic, right at the Viaduct area but just far enough away to be super quiet too. The staff were beyond nice and helpful. The furniture and decor is really nice and if breakfast is included in your room rate they will happily deliver it to your room no extra charge. The breakfast was excellent too - full cafe quality bacon and poached eggs for me with a barista coffee.

Its not quite that 100% perfect hidden gem though, there are a handful of downsides/compromises...

The primary downside/compromise is the bathroom, which takes open plan hotel bathroom design to the extreme in that the basin, shower, and toilet are next to each other along one wall of the room. The shower screen door is shared between the toilet and shower - its clear top and bottom with a thin strip of black at waist height. The dividing wall between the shower and toilet is not full height so the exhaust fan can be shared between the two. I assume the design is a function of the hotel being converted from an office, but it does make for a feeling of a bedroom inside of a bathroom rather than the other way around. A little more design thought and the arrangement could have actually worked well... but for more construction $'s. I think the arrangement as is would be fine for a single traveller, but couples should be cautious.

A flow on compromise from the office conversion may be that you could hear that people were next to and above you but only pretty faintly. Most other hotels suffer from this anyway but I do really appreciate it when new hotels get the acoustics right.

The hotel also currently advertises that you get a King bed in a Deluxe room, but this was not the case for me - it was most definitely a queen.

The room was full of really nice furniture, and the room size overall is fine, but to fit everything the designers specified (two big armchairs, footstool, glass coffee table, bed end seat, wooden trolley, triple waste bin) it really needed to be 10sqm bigger. We had to rearrange things to make it work given there is no dedicated space for bags (but there could have been adjacent the desk/coffee/tea area).

Finally, and least important as I knew there was no view, the outlook from a lot of rooms is going to be across a nice courtyard into other apartments.

I would certainly stay again, in equal parts due to the staff and how we were looked after, but also because of the great location at a good price. I only went into a bit of detail on the compromises because this is a really good hotel that could be great with tweaks over time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mansi Sheth, Guest Services / Front Office at Ohtel Auckland
Responded 14 Oct 2022
Kia Ora Andrewlachlan, Thank you for the summation of your stay at Ohtel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff took care of you during the stay. We will ensure to pass your praises onto the team. We do apologize for the features that did not match your expectations. Ohtel is designed in a quirky and unique manner which can be intriguing. Regarding bigger rooms, we also have spacious room options. Please contact us prior to your next visit for a room according to your requirements. We would love to host you again in the future. Best regards, Mansi Sheth Guest Services / Front Office
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel Guy wrote a review Feb 2024
Washington DC, District of Columbia118 contributions167 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This small hotel is great,located near the waterfront & about a 10 minute walk if you use a cruise ship. Check in was easy, arrived early after a cruise & was told room would be ready at 2pm & it was. King size bed room was very large, with a great stand alone tub outside of the bathroom. Retro theme with an record player & albums are in the room. The only draw back would be that the toilet does not have a real door but a sliding glass door, so make sure you know the person staying with you. The breakfast that was included was very good with 4/5 choices, my only complaint would be that juice is NOT included but extra charge. The pool in the back is very nice. I would stay again at this gem for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Luke Green, Guest Services / Front Office at Ohtel Auckland
Responded 8 Mar 2024
Kia ora ras4436, Thank you so much for reviewing your stay and providing such fantastic feedback. We are delighted you had a wonderful time with us. We certainly do have quite a few quirky features at Ohtel and our wet room bathrooms made for accessible use are definitely one of them! But most of all, thank you for taking what must be a risk and staying in a real New Zealand hotel, it would be so easy to stay in a chain that gave you what you expect, but you took a chance, and we really are grateful you did. Ngā mihi Luke Front Of House Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen B wrote a review Mar 2023
Perth, United Kingdom169 contributions107 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a thoroughly enjoyable 4 night stay here. Members of staff were very pleasant, they seemed to have a genuine desire to help us enjoy our stay. We loved the bright décor and the spacious rooms, although the patterned glass door to the toilet area took a bit of getting used to, it may not be for everyone.
We paid for the hotel parking and the spaces were more than adequate for small SUVs unlike other city hotel parking bays.
We ate breakfast each day and asked for a bit of a pick and mix from the standard menu offering and were obliged each day with a smile.
Location is excellent for the waterfront and ferries.
We would highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from William Livett, General Manager at Ohtel Auckland
Responded 19 Apr 2023
Kia ora Baxt304, Thank you so much for reviewing your stay and providing such fantastic feedback. We are delighted you had a wonderful time with us. We certainly do have quite a few quirky features at Ohtel and our wet room bathrooms made for accessible use are definitely one of them! But most of all, thank you for taking what must be a risk and staying in a real New Zealand hotel, it would be so easy to stay in a chain that gave you what you expect, but you took a chance, and we really are grateful you did. Ngā mihi Luke Front of house manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AnOxfordCouple wrote a review Jan 2023
Oxford234 contributions181 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Most things about this hotel were very good including communication before we arrived. Location was excellent and parking on site was beneficial. The room was well equipped but I cannot rate any hotel above 3 when they cannot put a proper door on the toilet. Here they have a sliding glass screen (half opaque)which cover the toilet or the shower. Stupid.
Breakfast was good but we will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian D wrote a review Mar 2024
Caterham, United Kingdom9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located 5 to 10 minutes walk from the marina. It has some parking spaces underneath although these you are charged for. The rooms are very modern state of the art sockets, tablet for contacting the Reception and modern shower and bathroom. The breakfast area is located next to the reception so not perfect, but it is cosy. There’s a good choice of breakfast items and the quality was very good.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Some underground spaces but you need to reserve in advance and there is a daily charge. Room safe...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Luke Green, Guest Services / Front Office at Ohtel Auckland
Responded 1 week ago
Kia ora Ian D, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy to hear we were able to provide you with a comfortable and convenient stay at Ohtel Auckland and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Ngā mihi Luke Front Of House Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gemma wrote a review Jun 2021
6 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Ohtel is an incredible hidden gem. The rooms are spacious and artfully designed - from vinyls and a record-player to a divine deep tub in the living area looking out to city skyline views. Gorgeous, funky furniture and so many lovely little touches.
Even the food was perfect, despite so many wonderful eateries just a stroll away. The service was warm, welcoming and prompt - any requests were sorted straight away and with a smile :)
I was upgraded to a suite and stayed an extra night as I didn’t want to leave!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rayssa de Almeida, General Manager at Ohtel Auckland
Responded 18 Jun 2021
Hi there, thanks for leaving us this lovely review. We really appreciate your time on giving us your feedback and we are also really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Every single detail at Ohtel has been chosen carefully, to make sure our guests enjoy not only the 5-star Ohtel Way, but also a bit of a home away from home environment. Our Hoists are always happy to help with whatever you need. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future. Thanks again. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Navigator598055 wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a great location with friendly staff and great service! My partner and I loved the mid-century vibes and appreciated the touches all the way down to the record player in the room. It was a quick walk to the viaduct for dinner/drinks but then we came right back to relax in the tub with a free movie! Best sleep I've had in awhile and even enjoyed breakfast the next morning- didn't leave a scrap on the plate. Overall great attention by the staff throughout and thank you for all of the room amenities to anticipate all of our needs.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rayssa de Almeida, General Manager at Ohtel Auckland
Responded 23 Jun 2021
Hi there, thanks for your lovely review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the team is very happy that our facilities were up to your standards. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Your Ohtel Hosts
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Per N wrote a review Dec 2022
Gothenburg, Sweden3,470 contributions387 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I personally don't understand the raving reviews. The hotel has a great location for the CBD and the Waiheke Ferry. There's parking right next to the hotel entrance too in a gated garage. As for staff is was a 50/50 experience of 2 members of staff being on top of things and super friendly where one other seemed very uninspired and even wanted to charge me for water when in fact cleaning had left a half finished bottle of wanter in the fridge (!). Decor is def "wannabe boutique" hotel. There's nothing here that would be on display in Mr & Mrs Smith that's for sure. Weird wooden trimmings. Textiles are not on point. Styling in the common/breakfast area is just plain tacky. The pool are looks like something at a Motel 6. Entrance is needs an overhaul. Nah. I like this hotel because of it's location, that it's clean and close to the ferries. But will look for another option next time in town.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark M wrote a review Feb 2024
Kirkland, Washington937 contributions108 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Ohtel Auckland is a nice boutique hotel tucked down a quiet residential single lane leafy street less than half block from the waterfront, an ideal location. We arrived on a Sunday around 8 a.m. after a redeye flight from North America and were greeted by a friendly staff. We promptly had their breakfast, which we each got to pick one item from a breakfast list. The breakfast was excellently prepared and something we looked forward to the next day. Our room, 207, overlooked the quiet street in front of the hotel. The room featured a nice open design that we liked. The bed was nice and comfortable with a soft topper. We then tried taking a nap, after our red eye flight, however, the staff servicing the rooms was having a good time laughing in the hallway. Also, the elevator shared a wall with our room and could be heard during the day. On Monday, at 6 a.m. we were awoken by a garbage truck. In general, though the room was comfortable and quiet during normal sleeping hours given it’s on a residential street.

The location of the hotel is excellent, as it’s within a block of Auckland’s nice waterfront. We enjoyed walking the waterfront in both directions and found a good selection of restaurants near the waterfront. On a previous trip, I stayed near the Sky Tower and much preferred Ohtel’s location. We would recommend Ohtel to others and would look to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Luke Green, Guest Services / Front Office at Ohtel Auckland
Responded 8 Mar 2024
Kia ora markmb9654xx Thank you for taking the time to review Ohtel, we really appreciate it. We are glad that you enjoyed your time spent here in Auckland and also at Ohtel. We will defiantly pass your feedback on, and we hope we will see you on the future and welcoming you back to Ohtel Auckland. Ngā mihi Luke Front Of House Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mimo13 wrote a review Aug 2022
Queenstown, New Zealand36 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 3 nights in the O'Sullivan Suite and it was fantastic.

Even before you arrive, the communication is prompt and clear, and from the second we walked in, every staff member was friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

There are lots of little things that make this a great place - the welcome drink, the daily newspaper, real milk and good quality tea and coffee in the rooms (not a powdered coffee or UHT milk in sight!).

The linen is top quality and the bed one of the most comfortable ever!

Location wise, it couldn't be better - it's easy to drive to, and is literally across the road from the Viaduct.

We definitely know where we'll be staying next time we are in Auckland!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mansi Sheth, Guest Services / Front Office at Ohtel Auckland
Responded 14 Oct 2022
Kia Ora Mimo13, We loved the summation of your experience staying with us. Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments. We would love to host you again in the future. Kind regards, Mansi Sheth Guest Services / Front Office
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Ian D wrote a tip Mar 2024
Caterham, United Kingdom9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Some underground spaces but you need to reserve in advance and there is a daily charge. Room safe very small and instructions not clear."
Read full review
aml888 wrote a tip Mar 2024
San Francisco, California418 contributions221 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early!"
Read full review
BabsPerth_WA wrote a tip Feb 2024
Perth, Australia60 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"On site parking is a must as this is a busy area."
Read full review
malhart1407 wrote a tip Dec 2023
Port Welshpool, Australia18 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"On site parking is extremely convenient but at $32 a day a bit pricey. Be sure to reserve your car park with reception before arrival"
Read full review
Liesje G wrote a tip Dec 2023
Norrkoping, Sweden10 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Would recommend to go somewhere else. Although location is nice"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Auckland Central area.
PRICE RANGE
$267 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OHTEL AUCKLAND - Now $273 (Was $̶3̶1̶3̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Auckland Central, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ohtel Auckland
Which popular attractions are close to Ohtel Auckland?
Nearby attractions include New Zealand Maritime Museum (0.3 km), Viaduct Harbour (0.3 km), and St. Patrick's Cathedral (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ohtel Auckland?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Ohtel Auckland?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ohtel Auckland?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ohtel Auckland?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ohtel Auckland?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grove, Hello Beasty, and Ahi..
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ohtel Auckland?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Ohtel Auckland located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Auckland Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ohtel Auckland?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Ohtel Auckland?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parnell (2.1 km), Eden Garden (3.7 km), and Auckland Town Hall (1.0 km).
Does Ohtel Auckland have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Auckland Central HotelsAuckland Central Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Auckland CentralHotels near Ohtel Auckland
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire