Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers

fantastic breakfast
Traveller (142)
Room & Suite (77)
Birthday cocktails
Dining (41)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#97 of 177 hotels in Melbourne
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
If you want stylish accommodation that offers amenities like a heated pool and onsite restaurant and bar, plus convenient services like valet parking and 24 hour reception, this brand new addition to the Melbourne accommodation scene, Shadow Play by Peppers, is perfect for your next getaway. As you would expect from one of Melbourne’s newest hotels, the one and two bedroom apartments offer the latest in modern design. All apartments boast lots of natural light and either city or bayside views through their floor to ceiling windows or from their balconies. Guests can stretch out on queen-size beds while watching FOXTEL or using the in-room WiFi. Unique amenities include a cocktail bar that also offers suit tailoring, and an enclosed garden space on the top floor, complete with a freestanding fireplace and commanding bayside views. An exclusive rooftop entertainment area boasts two private dining rooms, while on Level 9 guests can relax in a lounge and library with adjoining patio. This hotel does not accept cash as a payment method. Credit, debit and prepaid cards are accepted to buy goods and services.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Paid wifi
Internet
Sauna
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Room service
Iron
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

308-320 City Rd Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006 Australia
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 94 out of 100
94
Melbourne Airport
20.3 km
See all flights
Essendon Airport
11.4 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles220 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers is often lauded for its strategic location near the CBD and Southbank, offering guests easy access to local attractions. The hotel's amenities, including the comfortable accommodations and quality dining options, are generally well-received, though a few guests deem them overpriced. While the hotel's ambiance provides a moody and serene environment, critiques have surfaced regarding dim lighting and a scarcity of power outlets. Opinions on value vary, with some guests praising affordability and others pointing out the steep parking fees. Rooms are celebrated for their comfort but occasionally criticized for noise. Consistently, cleanliness receives high marks, and the service is predominantly regarded as friendly, with a few noting occasional lapses.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Soothing
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
220Reviews1Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 113
  • 57
  • 24
  • 10
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
CathieMazzone wrote a review Jan 2020
Greater Adelaide, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely stay at this serviced apartment. We cooked a couple of meals during our stay and the kitchen was outstanding with all pots,crockery, etc. supplied.
The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was good.
The bedroom was beautifully appointed although the bathroom was quite small but nice.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We found our room on the 4th floor to be quiet with a good view of the street below
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShauneyBowen, Rooms Division Manager at Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers
Responded 2 Jan 2020
Dear CathieMazzone, Wow, thank you for taking the time to write this awesome review! We appreciate your feedback and so happy to hear that you had a great stay and you had the opportunity to make the most of Edwin Wine Bar and our our facilities. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Shadow Play by Peppers soon! Kind regards, Shauney Bowen Rooms Division Manager Shadow Play by Peppers
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne X wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel G to level 9 only, anything above that would be residential. To get any view, you will have to visit the winter garden on level 46, but its would be like visiting a sauna during summer. Although the pool is heated, it is only suitable for young kids given maximum depth being 1.2M. We stayed during the Christmas week, to our surprise that on 24th we got informed for the next two days there will be no housekeeping during the holiday break??? This is almost unheard of. Thankfully their receptionist were super helpful. But to the managers, in a sense we are paying for no service during that two days. Not very happy.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Switch off bathroom fan and laundry power otherwise you will not be able to sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShauneyBowen, Rooms Division Manager at Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Dear Anne X, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! I appreciate your feedback around the housekeeping and I do apologise for what may have been communicated. Due to the nature of the holiday period, we don't want to disturb our guests unnecessarily therefore we only do housekeeping on request. I am happy to hear that the staff were helpful during this time. Thanks again Anne X and we hope to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards, Shauney Bowen Rooms Division Manager Shadow Play by Peppers
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Margaret H wrote a review Jul 2021
Lakes Entrance, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 3 nights Luxury Escape package for a couple in 1 bedroom apartment, included valet parking, breakfast, meat/ cheese platter with glass wine first night, movies & a few other extras. All staff , including reception, restaurant, housekeeping very polite and helpful. The apartment was very well equipped, WM & Dryer, dishwasher, full kitchen, good quality furniture, round dining table with 4 chairs, able to entertain family visitors. The food in restaurant was excellent and very good wine selection. Location 2 minutes walk to Crown car park, then undercover walking to Southbank. We will be returning, if valet parking not included ( $45 per night) unload luggage and park in Crown for $10 per night.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shadow Play, Guest Services / Front Office at Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers
Responded 11 Jul 2021
Hi Margaret H, I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the chance to enjoy all that we have on offer here at Shadow Play by Peppers. The team and I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LMHSJP wrote a review May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked through Luxury Escapes who overstated the room size dramatically. Very disappointed when we entered the 1 bedroom apt & the bedroom was like a shoebox (about one foot of space on 3 sides of the bed, & no room for even an overnight bag). Melody at reception was fantastic and found us an upgrade to a 2 bedroom apt which was much more comfortable ($50 extra per night). We were Staying for a week so this was a very welcomed effort. Guests should realise that the hotel is only the first 9 floors of this building & use of the facilities (gym & sauna) require a booking as these are shared with residents from floor 10 upwards. Terrific location, IGA & Woolies both within a block and Southbank only 5 minutes walk.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with AccorHotels.com
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mic B wrote a review Jan 2022
Mount Gambier, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It was so lovely to finally return to one of our favorite cities after 2 years of being kept away with Covid! We spent 3 nights on a Luxury Escape deal, which made the stay great in terms of value for money. Overall the property is very clean, our 2 bedroom apartment was spotless and cleaned everyday, however they are incredibly tiny and as a family of four it was a tight squeeze. Location was perfect with the Crown just around the corner, DFO a short walk away and a tram stop to take you straight in to Bourke Street and the city if you didn't feel like walking. Staff were also very pleasant and accommodating. Whilst it does have a swimming pool, due to its size it was impossible to use during our stay, there are plenty of backyard swimming pools and spas bigger then this one and by the time you had 2-4 people in the pool it was packed! Our only real negative about our stay was the breakfasts which were included as part of our package. They were very ordinary, with very little selection and the quality of the food was average and often inedible, in fact on the last morning we chose not to have our breakfast in the hotel and went elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jane T wrote a review Jan 2022
West Pymble
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a 2 bedroom apartment through Luxury escapes for a family holiday to Melbourne. Checking in was a problem, despite looking at our drivers license we were given the wrong room. We walked in to find a lovely bottle of wine and a hand written card to a different person ( obviously a retuning guest) so we had go downstairs to sort out the mix up. The staff had trouble finding our booking, due to Covid our booking was changed several times, and the latest booking had not been updated, luckily I had a paper copy of my booking otherwise I am not sure what would of happened. This took a while to sort out causing a great deal of anxiety to me and my family, and spoiled our experience at the hotel.
Once we finally made it to our room, we found a clean well appointed apartment, with 2 modern bathrooms and 2 bedrooms. The main bedroom was compact, we had to move the bed and side tables to open the wardrobe, but the bed was comfortable. There was a TV in each bedroom as well as the main living room, an added bonus.
The apartment had everything we needed, including a washer, dryer and dishwasher.
We had breakfast each morning at Edwins. The menu was limited, but the food was plentiful and delicious. The staff were friendly, professional and catered for special dietary needs.
The hotel itself is located just behind the casino, which gave us easy access to Southbank. It is walking distance to the free tram line which made exploring Melbourne so easy.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CorvettePete wrote a review May 2021
Belconnen, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed in one of the one bedroom apartments on a Luxury Escapes package which included breakfast and valet parking and a few extras.

The valet parking was very good. We didn't need our car while in Melbourne so we just dropped it off when we arrived and got it when we left. You need to park briefly in a no parking spot outside the door in City Road to drop it off, so it is easiest if you have a passenger to go inside and get the valet.

The breakfast was very good. The service, particularly from one of the staff who seemed to be a manager, was excellent.

All of the staff we dealt with during our staff were friendly and efficient.

The room was very comfortable. Ours only had a small view but it was fine.

I would be happy to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shadow Play, Guest Services / Front Office at Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers
Responded 20 Jun 2021
Hi CorvettePete, It was a pleasure to have you with us for your city getaway! We are lucky enough to have a team of absolute service Rock Stars, I'm so pleased you noticed how amazing they are. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cherylg58 wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We found the hotel in a great location for us. Went as a luxury escape. Four girlfriends had a 2 bedroom corner suite for 3 nights, we found it perfect for our needs. Bathrooms are small but usable. Full kitchen and beds were comfortable. We did not use the pool as it was school holidays it was full and very small. We had to ask for extra tea and coffee as this was not re stocked daily. The staff were exceptional, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you to Olivia who checked us in and a big thank you to Kirsten at Edwins bar for exceptional friendly service. Breakfast was good. Had the pasta special for dinner one night and it was really good. We really enjoyed our stay at peppers and would stay again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with AccorHotels.com
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShauneyBowen, Rooms Division Manager at Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Dear Cherylg58, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We appreciate your feedback and so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast and dinner at Edwin, Chef Ritesh will be very happy to hear. I will also pass on your comments to Olivia and Kirsten whom will be so happy to hear your kinds words - our staff are the reason why our guests keep coming back! Thank you for making the note about the coffee and tea not being restocked daily - I will communicate this to our Housekeeping Manager to ensure this is flagged with the team. Thanks again for your review and I hope to welcome you back to Shadow Play by Peppers in the near future! Kind regards, Shauney Bowen Rooms Division Manager Shadow Play by Peppers
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Johanne R wrote a review Feb 2021
McLaren Vale, Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Housekeeping is on request.
Use of pool and gym book in advance at reception.
Tea and coffee need to be requested at reception, ( Would be great if it was packed in a small bag and given the choice at check in if you require the items)
Deposit of $100 per room taken day before, (did not know prior)
Lifts for guests and residents are shared, can be a long wait, due to amount of people allowed in lifts.
No minibar.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shadow Play, Guest Services / Front Office at Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers
Responded 8 Mar 2021
Hello Jo, Apologies you did not enjoy your stay. Due to COVID-19 restrictions there is a limitation on how many people are allowed in the pool and gym at once. Following on with COVID-19, for health and safety this is also why we removed mini bar and amenities from the rooms making them upon request. We hope you we can welcome you back for a more enjoyable stay. Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aquick2021 wrote a review Mar 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was very clean and modern, the beds comfortable. Breakfast was added at time for booking costing $27 per person and it was not worth the money. The selection was just at best and the quality was not great.(the chef needs to learn how to do poached eggs with using vinegar as that is all i could taste). Save you money and go to McDonalds across the road.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with AccorHotels.com
Date of stay: March 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Braeden & Patrick asked a question Sept 2020
Southern Highlands, Australia71 contributions32 helpful votes
How much is the buffet breakfast? Thanks
Answer from Shauney Bowen
Melbourne, Australia
Good Morning Jett, With COVID we have had a little hibernation and are looking to re-enter the market in January 2021. Our breakfast will be a reimagined a la carte offering aligned with the quintessential Melbourne cafe experience. Hope to see you then
Lisa M wrote a tip 17 Jul
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location if going to the trade centre and access to Southern Cross train station. "
Read full review
Blackdavel wrote a tip 14 Jul
Grovedale, Australia143 contributions55 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book parking in advance as it’s limited. We paid 60 and it was parked for us. Restaurant is not open every night. Tuesday to sat"
Read full review
Beatrice W wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t book lower levels unless you come with ear plugs"
Read full review
Lindsay O wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool, Gym, Sauna and Lounge available on the 9th floor."
Read full review
Filomena D wrote a tip Apr 2024
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool is outside, but nice & warm. Great"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Melbourne area.
PRICE RANGE
$256 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaMelbourneSouthbank
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHADOW PLAY MELBOURNE BY PEPPERS - Now $263 (Was $̶2̶9̶0̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers
Which popular attractions are close to Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers?
Nearby attractions include Crown Casino (0.4 km), Red Herring Escape Rooms (0.3 km), and Playtime Crown (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers?
Conveniently located restaurants include St Ali Coffee Roasters, Mr. Hive, and Shakahari too.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Melbourne.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Patrick's Cathedral (2.5 km), Parliament House of Victoria (2.2 km), and St Paul's Cathedral (1.4 km).
All Melbourne HotelsMelbourne Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MelbourneHotels near Shadow Play Melbourne by Peppers
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire