We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

My Place & Adelaide Backpackers Hostel

Room & Suite (10)
Dining (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
With our recently fully refurbished hostel including new sauna, new mattresses, renovated stainless steel kitchen with filtered hot and cold water for beverages, a very nice balcony area with plants and city views to relax on, and even off street parking (reservation needed in advance, subject to availability).
Read more
Property amenities
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport transportation
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Sauna
Self-Serve Laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
11Reviews
26Photos
0Q+A
2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1
  • 2
  • 2
  • 1
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
We stayed more than one day cause no other place was available.ROOM:no window-no shelf-no bin, was dirty and smelling bad.No air.KITCHEN:always dirty and greasy,only two stinking fridges( been cleaned once a fortnight), few space for food.Sticky floor. Crockery and dishes
Read more
Response from nico2019rulz, General at My Place & Adelaide Backpackers Hostel
Responded 5 weeks ago
G'day Daphne, We're very sorry to hear you had a 'horrible' stay. We understand that a lot of these problems could have been fixed very easily, and the staff member that was on duty during your stay will have a very strong word sent in his direction. If you had stayed one day, then I would have understood that we couldn't have fixed all the problems during your stay. But as you say you stayed for a few nights, we would have greatly apprecitiated if you'd come and spoken to our staff member who could have done his best, and fixed what he could. I definitely don't think this is what anyone staying in our accommodations should have to do. But I'm sure any accommodation in the world would much rather you come and see us about problems you might have, rather than you not enjoy your stay. We do apologize for again for all the problems you had, and if you give us the chance we'd like to try and make it up to you again in the future. Regards Nicolas @ My Place & Adelaide Backpackers Hostel
Read more
I'm stayed on this hostel for 1 weekend, all the place was in construction, beds was unmounted, owner really not cool and not amical, it's damage because this hostel have a big potentiel. Near to clubs and pubs
Read more
Response from Travller007, Assisstant Manager at My Place & Adelaide Backpackers Hostel
Responded 9 Feb 2018
We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay Papaye37, we understand that the renovations were inconvinient and we're unfortuantely sorry about that, but we tried our best to complete them as fast as possible. They're all done now, and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future so that we can make up for your previous stay with us. Thank you again for your review and enjoy the rest of your travels.
Read more
Quite clean, located in the CBD, close to coles and chinatown, nice service / patient staff. I will stay here next time. The owner introduced hot points within and around the city, he even bollowed his bicycles to me and my friend, that was so great.
Read more
Response from Travller007, General Manager at My Place & Adelaide Backpackers Hostel
Responded 31 Jan 2018
Thank you for your very nice review WIng, we're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a nice time whilst visiting Adelaide. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future, and we wish to hte best of travels.
Read more
AVOID!!!!! Really bad place, and rude owner. Owner is rude when you kindly give him some feedback on things that are really not done!! - There is only 1 Male and 1 Female (!!!) toilet for the whole 1st floor ( thats for 8 x 6 bed doorms and a private ( 3 persons ) room. So
Read more
Response from Travller007, General Manager at My Place & Adelaide Backpackers Hostel
Responded 31 Jan 2018
Thank you for your review Jack, and we're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We're sad to hear that you found our staff rude, we will try to take care of this matter as best we can, so that future guests do not feel the same way.. There are actually a Male + Female Toilet on both the Ground & 1st Floor, which are each easily accessiblefor all guests though out the hostel. The toilets do get cleaned every single day, often by backpackers doing some work in exchange for accommodation, and we understand that sometimes they miss things here and there, but they learn from their mistakes as we all do. But never did anyone ever say that they hadn't been cleaned in 3 days, because we know that wouldn't have been true. We also do actually have FREE & Private Parking, but it is possible that during your stay it was full, as it is only a small carpark. If you'd like to compare we are one of very few hostels that actually have Private Off-Street Parking within the Adelaide CBD, otherwise there is the option of the YHA down the road which would cost you $13 per day, give or take, just to park your car plus their more expensive accommodation on top, depending on whether they even have any parking spaces available as well. Also the Airconditioning isn't bad, we assume you hadn't noticed the fact that the Airconditiong comes on automatically at 9pm every night until 7am then next morning, and during the day we switch it on and off to conserve energy but still try to keep the rooms cool, in 40+ degree heat, as a lot of people go out for the day to explore, so the hostel is often empty. In regards to bins in the room, we do this to try and minimise mess in rooms and stop people from eating or drinking food and beverages in the rooms, but there are two bins outside of your room, within 10 metres of the room you stayed in. Also to add, David never threatened to take anyones deposit, but simply reminded them of what is written in 3 (now 4) different places on the walls through out the kitchen. We do our best to minimise people leaving their dishes out as I'm sure you could imagine if, as you said the 50+ People that we could have in the hostel all left one dish uncleaned or not put back where they got it from. We'd end up with a nightmare avalanche of dishes that no one would put away. Yes we were doing renovations during your stay and we're sorry that this inconveninced your hoilday. But we were only working on the Sunday as we were wanting the get the TV Room completed and back in working order in the fastest time possible (turning 1 week of work into 2 days) to not inconvenice to many people staying with us at the time. We do understand that it was unlucky that your stay was smack bang in the middele of our renovations, but if you wanted us to stop working just while you were staying with us, when were we going to do it. Whilst the next people came and stayed in your same room maybe? I am sorry but this was just unlucky timing. Nor was the kitchen completely taken over by construction, more like a very very small corner was used to store paint cans and floor matts during renovations. Certainly not as much as you and your partner took over majority of the kitchen to film yourelves preparing one of your meals. This meal also requiring a blender, a kitchen utensil not often found in hostels, that David generously offered to lend you his own personal one. So again I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't like your stay, but I do hope you stay with us again in the future (just check we're not doing any renovations) so that we can try our best to make up for your last stays shambals. Sorry again, and we wish you the best of travels on your holiday, and the best of luck at other hostels in the future.
Read more
I stayed here in March 2017. It was at the time that the dour scottish girl was cleaning the place. The place was clean enough but trying to find anyone at the desk to check you in was impossible.The place stunk of weed (It was certainly not me smoking). The kitchen reminded me
Read more
Response from Travller007, Assisstant Manager at My Place & Adelaide Backpackers Hostel
Responded 17 Jan 2018
Thank you for your review Jonathon. It's unfortuante that you didn't enjoy your stay here at My Place. We do apologise for someone not being around enough at the front desk, we have worked on fixing this issue. In regards to the smell of weed, when we do find out who is the cause we do ask them if they could do so elsewhere as our hostel isn't the place for it. Kitchen wise, agreed we have had a few people comment on the Kitchen feeling clinical, but we are currently in the midst of renovations and livening up this space is on the list (check back on our website or facebook page for an update soon) we also try to keep track of those who leave their dishes out just to know who to give a quick reminder to, to put them away so that the kitchen stays clear for others to use, as no one else will put their dishes away for them, and often we end up with a mountain avalanche of dishes next to the sink. We do hope that your stay with us wasn't so bad overall, and we do hope to see you back in the future for you to compare the changes.
Read more
Previous
12
Album Categories
All photosRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementMy Place & Adelaide Backpackers Hostel
Domitory Bunk Bed
Photo provided by managementMy Place & Adelaide Backpackers Hostel
8-Bed Dormitory Room w/ Ensuite
Photo provided by managementMy Place & Adelaide Backpackers Hostel
5-Bed Dormitory Room
Photo provided by managementMy Place & Adelaide Backpackers Hostel
Budget Triple Private Room w/ Shared Bathroom
Photo provided by managementMy Place & Adelaide Backpackers Hostel
Shared Bathroom - Showers
PreviousNext
12
"Don't go for a private room, they are really noisie and overpriced."
"Offers dorm rooms at a reasonable price."
PRICE RANGE
US$23 - US$93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
My Place & Kanga's Kottages Backpackers Hostel
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaGreater AdelaideAdelaide
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing