Daydream Island Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Daydream Island Resort

Traveller (1780)
Pool & Beach (272)
Room & Suite (121)

View prices for your travel dates

$262
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#1 of 1 resort in Daydream Island
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Daydream Island Resort, positioned within the Whitsundays and accessed from the Port of Airlie or Great Barrier Reef Airport, is Ecotourism certified and features 280 recently renovated guest rooms and suites. Experience the underwater world with our Living Reef - a 200 metre coral lagoon and underwater observatory - home to 100+ species of marine life. Offering guests multiple pools, a choice of restaurants and bars, an extensive range of activities and water sports, Kids Club together with a Day Spa featuring locally sourced Waterlily products. Our unique meetings and events spaces cater from six for dinner - up to 500 for cocktails.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Boating
Babysitting
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Walking tours
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Light therapy
Manicure
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Washing machine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, German and 4 more

Location

4802 Australia
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 40 out of 100
40
Hamilton Island Airport
18.2 km
See all flights
Whitsunday Coast Airport
38.1 km
See all flights
1,029Review28Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 385
  • 206
  • 130
  • 131
  • 177
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
CLHam75 wrote a review Sept 2020
Gold Coast, Australia12 contributions20 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned after spending 4 nights there. We were so worried after reading recent reviews, but feel some of them are really harsh. We had a great time. On arrival, we were greeted by friendly staff and directed to the reception area, which is beautiful. Our room wasn’t ready when we arrived at 1.45 ish. We didn’t get in until around 3.45, which is annoying. We were given some drink vouchers as a token. I know many have complained about this and feel they should have your room ready for the 2pm check in time, considering the price you pay daily for less than a 24 hour period. The room was lovely. We requested a ground floor, which had a spacious outside area and a large grassed area out the front for our boys to throw a frisbee etc. Housekeeping is basic each day and often late in the afternoon. It seems after reopening due to COVID restrictions, they are short staffed, but the staff that are there are working sooo hard. You see the same staff on front desk one day, serving food the next, behind the bar later on... They genuinely seem to be doing the best they can and trying to keep a smile on their faces. We saw some of the guests being so rude to them and they just had to take it in their stride and keep going. We found them all to be friendly and accommodating. We ate at Inkstone every night and had a couple of takeaway lunches. The food was amazing! Takeaway was really quick too. We found breakfast adequate. It was very much the same each day, and agree with others that the food was often cold. Once again, I think the fact the staff have to serve you at the moment, rather than you helping yourself, impacts on all this. All in all, we loved our time there and will definitely return. If you visit in the near future, enjoy the beautiful resort and location and show the staff some understanding, as they seem to be doing the best they can right now.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carmel Edike, Guest Services / Front Office at Daydream Island Resort
Responded 29 Sept 2020
Good Morning CL Ham , Thank you for taking the time to write your review . We appreciate your feedback and thank you for the compliments to the staff under COVID times . We appreciate all our staff members and our staff are very versatile as our guests are our number one focus. You have raised some valid issues and we will be following up on these. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BeckStephenson wrote a review Jan 2020
Brisbane, Australia27 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited here for 3 nights in early January 2020 with our 4&7yr old sons.
The room was just a standard with two queen size beds, was big enough and very clean. The views were of the pool and ocean and were stunning. The beds were comfy and the tv and free access to latest films was great for staying out of the midday sun and enjoying a family film after dinner.
There needs to be an information folder in the rooms.
There also needs to be room service for those evenings you don't want to dine out or to grab an easy lunch in the room. The serious lack of snacks and easy eats needs to be addressed.
Also the dining options are limited and every time we dined in Inkstone we were informed something else on the menu was unavailable, this included every Sauvignon Blanc except, of course, the $18 a glass one, one day they ran out of asparagus and brocolli and could only offer peas as an alternative. The food was ok, nothing spectacular, the pizzas were barely edible with the amount of cheese on them overpowering every other topping. The waiting times to be served or have your drink topped up were ridiculous and simply comes down to not enough staff.
The pool bar closes at 5pm?!? and again there are only ever 2 staff members on here leading to frayed tempers by customers and over worked staff!! My husband waited 20 minutes to be served!
The information desks and the tour desks needs to be more streamlined, we were ping ponged around to 3 different staff members to book kids club, and then get hotel information and then tour information! All slow waits because there are only 1 staff member in each area.
The kids club told us we had requested a babysitter too late when enquiring about a sitter at 9:30am for that night. I would suggest if you are hoping for a nice kid free dinner then call and book a sitter a few days prior to arrival on the island.
I tried to book (because they just give you the phone number and you call them yourself!?!) a spa treatment ($300) for the following day only to be told that they were fully booked for that day and the day after, only staying 3 days meant i just went without.
The staff shortages obviously spill over to the room attendants because your room isnt cleaned until about 3/4pm which makes for uncomfortable midday lounging round not fully relaxing in case the staff need to come in.
The free water sports and equipment was great, stinger suits and snorkling gear is readily available and well worth it!
The stunning surrounds, beautiful man made reef and underwater viewing area are all major positives but if you dont explore youd never find them! Again these need to be listed in an information pack in the rooms so guests can make full use of the facilities.
A lot of improvement in the service and dining areas will make this resort up to its supposed 4.5 star rating.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nicenurse wrote a review Jul 2020
melbourne71 contributions51 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff were very welcoming on our arrival, and explained the location of the various activities and amenities. The pool view room was clean with 2 double beds and a small balcony. The lagoon pool looks amazing especially when lit up at night, but it is not heated and since the water was icy only a few people were swimming. Would be great when the weather gets warmer. There is no real beach on the island, only rough coral and a place to launch kayaks and paddle boards. There is a small shop selling snacks and souvenirs, several bars including a swim up bar, which was unused, a breakfast buffet which is really good with a wide variety of hot and cold foods plus a view of the fish aquarium/lagoon as you eat.

The not so good: the 2 restaurants are hit and miss.
lnkstone is open for lunch and dinner and overlooks the pool area. Infinity is upstairs and open for dinner only and is more up-market, with prices to match.

Ink stone makes wood fired pizzas, we had one nice one and a few days later we got one that was badly burned on the bottom.

We ordered the coconut pannacotta dessert and it was disgusting, bland and with no hint of coconut flavour. Luckily we had decided to share, so we only wasted $14 instead of $28.

At Infinity the peanut butter parfait dessert was to die for, but the main meal of crab curry should have come with an explanation that it is partly dissected crabs in their shell, which I wasn’t expecting, so I spent the evening cracking the shells for the morsels of flesh to dip in the curry sauce, no vegetables at all and rice was extra, making it $47 for a very fiddly main meal.
Drinks are expensive, but it’s an island and you are limited to where you can eat and drink.

Our last 2 days we had people loudly slamming room doors, which echo along the long hallways. It was very annoying, starting at around 7am and continuing for at least an hour and then at various times through the day.

Ordering cocktails and wine is a challenge, as often items weren’t available.

The resort has great potential and would be great for families with kids with the huge pool, sea life lagoon and reef, wallabies and bird life, but it was only about 40% occupancy while we were there and it seemed that they put in about 40% effort to keep guests happy. Maybe when it’s fully booked they will have more entertainment and more food options and more consistency.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Happy E wrote a review Feb 2020
6 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The food at inkstone and infinity is great. There isn’t much variety for kids meals but sometimes the chef has made something else to help us feed our fussy toddler who is struggling with teething. We had breakfast at graze every morning. The freshly made omelettes were my favourite. Some more fruit options would have been nice. The buffet style items were OK however some improvement is needed.

The bar staff were easy going, friendly and made sensational drinks. They would go above and beyond to find whatever drink I wanted.

I experienced a few disappointments. I didn’t know half the island was closed. It’s a shame that the reopening did not make this explicit and offer a reduced price. Also the day spa is in a temporary location (in one of the hotel rooms) which doesn’t compare to the original venue.

Most of the service staff are really friendly and accomodating. There are a couple who lack customer service skills. A few unintended stuff ups due to lack of coverage. This happened twice in a row.

It is hard relying on restaurants to feed a toddler. There is no room service makes and no convenience store to buy food. We did buy milk at reception. A microwave and toaster in the room would have been ideal for bringing some meals but rooms only have a bar fridge and kettle.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carmel_Edike, Front Office Manager at Daydream Island Resort
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Hi A5529PKmarym, Thank your for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. we would like to say that we appreciate your feedback they are some good suggestions. I will follow with our team on Daydream Island . I understand about the spa as this is run by Elita Spa. A lot things have changed from the old daydream and now we have a new improved daydream where you can create new memories. We look forward to welcoming your family back to visit us again soon. We would like to show how we are continuously improving.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aidan G wrote a review Mar 2021
3 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had some absolutely top tier service by some staff members (eg Marina) and some fantastic experiences around the island. Unfortunately there were some serious deficiencies in even the most basic services that any hotel should be able to provide. Particularly when it demands a premium price point. I would dare to say that many of the hotels at Airlie beach or on Hamilton Island are able to deliver on the basic services that make a stay nice while demanding a much lower price.



Room Servicing: Room was not serviced on 2nd or 3rd March.

Drinks: Cocktails varied from bar to bar and from drink to drink. No consistency, quality was very much luck of the draw. Also a poor beer selection with only 2 Ales to chose from.

Room:

Got the ‘Ocean view’ Room. More like the ‘sorta pool, sorta ocean, mostly volleyball court’ despite the pictures showing a room overlooking the harbour.
The sanitary areas exhaust system is either incorrectly balanced or insufficient for the number of rooms. The bathroom may as well not have had any ventilation.
The tiled entryway to the room was incredibly dangerous during wet weather. This was even observed by the staff member delivering bags. We asked a staff member for some sort of mat and was told it would be arranged. When my wife asked reception a day later she was told there was nothing available. This highlights poor design/layout, poor customer service and general unwillingness to lift a finger to assist a guest.
General service:

Long waits at all bars. Even a beer would easily take ten minutes.
Felt like I was severely inconveniencing the pool bar bartender when ordering a drink, still took ages to get a drink despite the bad weather driving the number of people at the bar down to 4.
Long waits for meals. It is not OK for a guest to wait ten minutes to be seated at Inkstone when there are empty tables. It should not take over half an hour between walking in to getting a drink.
Poor staff morale. Chatting with some staff members it is evident that many of them do not want to be there and they were readily willing to discuss this with guests.
Stopped by reception to ask for new towels (due to the room not being serviced for two days) and finally got the new towels just as we were leaving the room for dinner over an hour later.
Requested the minibar be emptied, took more than 48 hours.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dilip Madhok, General Manager at Daydream Island Resort
Responded 7 Mar 2021
Dear Aidan7956, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. As our teams continuously strive to deliver a memorable experience to all our guests, it is indeed regretful to read that we did not meet your expectations on this visit. I have personally discussed your review with the entire management team and assure you of all the corrective measures to be taken. We certainly hope to have another opportunity to better your experience and to welcome you back in the future. Thank you, Dilip Madhok Chief Operating Officer Daydream and South Molle Islands
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marcel31 wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
What a disappointment for a resort that has been open 9 months since closing after cyclone Debbie.
We arrived for a 5 night break looking forward to our first island resort stay in Australia rather than at Fiji.

Not a fan of writing negative reviews, however we feel our experience needed to be shared.

A disgraceful customer experience, run by China Capital Investment Group (CCIG) who appear clearly to have a lack of understanding running a resort or employing hospitality professionals to help deliver the experience you expect based on the marketing hype.

We would not return again and given the significant cost we recommend if your looking to visit the Great Barrier Reef that you will be better off at Hayman / Hamilton Island or Airlie Beach.

The food and beverage:
* I hope when you order your not hungry or thirsty. On every occasion at each restaurant we waited a lengthy time to be served and often over an hour for a drink to arrive, which usually was after we had finished our meal.
* The staff were friendly but clearly had no service experience or supervision. They clearly had been directed to say that they were back logged, however given the number of people present a clear furphy.. (It wears thin after a couple of days)
* Don’t expect to have a room service option , as it is not available.

The pool:
* Uninviting, limited day beds and you would need to be on the grassed areas if you didn’t reserve one before anyone gets up...and next to no shade umbrellas, amazing given the focus on sun sense in our country.

The room:
* The bed was seriously uncomfortable and both my partner and I woke each morning with a sore back.
* TV and Internet that would only hold a signal for no more than 10 minutes before continuing to drop out.
* Significant paint left from the renovation on the floor in the main living space and over the tiles in the bathroom.

There was some good, but far outweighed by the points above. Better to wait until a hotel group takes the resort over as based on feedback from other couples who were there while we were.
I don’t think it will be long before visitor numbers drop and a takeover will occur.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carmel_Edike, Front Office Manager at Daydream Island Resort
Responded 4 Jan 2020
Hi BigSpunky, Thank you for taking your time to write a review following your recent stay . I am truly sorry to hear that the service in our food and beverage didn't meet up to the 4.5 star standard that we strive for . As you have mentioned about the food and beverage, the sun lounges , sun umbrella's ,Tv's, and internet , we are certainly in the process of rectifying these issues. Once again I am truly sorry to hear of the various shortfalls you experienced during your time with us and sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to show our commitment to continuous improvement.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
P K wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 4 nights.
Staff we're really nice, Tonic bar cocktails were awesome and bingo was fun.
Food was pretty good but limited when not all restaurants were open at the same time, kids menu looked way better.
Came here 7 weeks after a shoulder reco to relax in the pool and catch a few movies(included in the higher room cost) to find that no new release movies work which they knew about and has been like it for a while according to the staff apology, some older movies did and changing tv channels was stressful with the in house "SWIFT" system (taking 3 mins or more to go up 1 channel).
Enjoyed the wildlife about the place and the stingrays splash is worth doing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carmel_Edike, Front Office Manager at Daydream Island Resort
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Hi paulkA1191TJ, thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us and we will be rectifying the issues. I will also be following up with our IT Manager so that they can implement changes that are able to have continuous improvement with the supplier. Once again I am truly sorry that to hear about the shortfall during your stay and we would like the opportunity to welcome you back to show our continuous improvement.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vicki G wrote a review Feb 2020
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia17 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I have been to Daydream Island 3 times prior to the Cyclone and the now new ownership and were excited to return to see the new island.
We were hoping it was still a great Australian vibe and it was.
We went 26th December, Boxing Day, as previously and we have to say it is sparkling new but luckily it still felt like the great Australian 5 star tropical resort it always was but much better.
Rooms are beautiful, buffet/breakfast great, same restaurant also has nightly buffet but we didn’t think the range of food as good as before with its theme night or the amount or variety as much as before for the price. There are 2 other restaurants operative. The downstairs much the same as before and excellent. Didn’t go upstairs to the other restaurant but heard it was lovely.
The grounds and especially the money spent in the aquarium and fish was amazing, the staff everywhere were excellent.
For us the only downside was we were not aware the other side of the island had not been developed and we really missed the mini golf, the outdoor cinema the pub style restaurant, the bakery and shops, as far as we knew Daydream was up and running. There was no mention in advertising that it was only half and island and this trip was to be a “let’s go see the new island”
We would have waited till then to do our return trip.
Biggest, biggest, can I stress, CON is the small amount of sun loungers and umbrellas compared to before.
We spent 7 days sitting upright in a chair squeezed under an umbrella on the wooden deck by the swim up bar. PLEASE, triple the amount of sun lounges, everyone complained about it, and when the island is finished we will come back for the comparison of our beloved Daydream
Ist part of renovation,except for sun lounges, 9/10
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carmel_Edike, Front Office Manager at Daydream Island Resort
Responded 7 Feb 2020
Hi Vicki G , Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We love to hear from our returned guest and the difference between the old and new. We will definitely follow up with the points that you have raised with the pricing and the variety of food available. Our Living Reef is amazing and its so unique to our island. I will also pass on about the sun lounges to be increased as we always are trying to continual improve our island to meet expectations of our guest. The south end part island is being continually worked on and we will have more available soon. We look forward to seeing you back again soon as one of our returning guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Megan W wrote a review Jul 2021
4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the resort for 7 days, wish we a bit researched further, would have only stayed a few nights and stayed elsewhere for the remainder. As we entered out rooms it was very underwhelming, did not look like the photos considering we paid almost $550 a night, although the view of the water and the wide life was lovely. There isn’t much of a range of food to choose from the 3 different restaurants, would recommend filling up on breakfast as it is free and the food and beverages are very expensive. Didn’t swim in the pools or spa once as they were freezing, no heating at all, which was disappointing. The kids staying at the resort chose to swim in the spa as it was slightly warmer then the pools. The staircase near our apartment hadn’t been cleaned the entire week of our stay, it become very dirty with a lot of faeces. There is no ventilation in the bathroom, not surprised there is a big mould issue within the resort once I researched further. The mini bar only got stocked the second or third day of our stay, and room service to clean and restock towels etc missed our room for 2 days in a row. The tv constantly had issues with the sound, would need to restart and unplug a few times to get it working again, along with the temperate settings on the AC. We booked dinner on our last night at infinity, turned up at 5pm for an early beverage, had to order a drink from downstairs, waited around to realise it was not opening that night, other guests also had a booking and were disappointed, seems to be poor management and lack of staff. The majority of the staff were quite lovely and friendly. I would highly recommend the sailing day tour ‘Camira’, probably the highlight of our holiday, along with the jet ski tour. Nice holiday to relax, enjoy the views and the wild life, however need to be prepared to spend quite a bit for food and beverages, we ended up cruising back to Airlie to get snacks and drinks. Overall a nice holiday, however unfortunately not worth the money paid for the accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dilip Madhok, Other at Daydream Island Resort
Responded 12 Jul 2021
Dear Megan W, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback on your recent stay at Daydream Island Resort and Living Reef. Glad to know that you enjoyed the view of the water and the wide life of the island. Once again thank you for bringing this to my attention. We will address the above points you raised with the concerned departments and review our procedures to take corrective measures. Regards, Dilip Madhok Chief Operating Officer Daydream and South Molle Islands
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul wrote a review Mar 2020
Townsville, Australia33 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I took our 10 year-old future marine biologist (that's his current plan) to Daydream Island and we all had a great time. His interest in Marine Biology was absolutely sated, they must have 4 or 5 marine biologists on staff, all of which were very approachable and happy to share information about a topic that they obviously care very much about. The guided snorkel tour in the main aquarium was an absolute must do, despite the $100 each price tag. The cost of the accomodation was very good for an island resort, but be aware that apart from breakfast, the meals at the restaurants are on the medium to high price wise. Best option for a lower cost meal was the bar in the atrium where you could pick up a really nice pizza at a reasonable price. Lots of swim options, the pool is very large, free non-motorised water sports, and a range of other activities made it a great trip that we look forward to doing again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from TheGreatWhiteG
Melbourne, Australia153 contributions52 helpful votes
I’m pretty sure there is a kids club there
Answer from Sarah N
Sydney, Australia51 contributions10 helpful votes
You should be fine with phone reception. Major networks such as Telstra usually have the best service
A_Mac asked a question Jan 2022
Sydney, Australia163 contributions26 helpful votes
Hello - do you know if the rooms have a kettle & microwave ? Thanks.
Answer from Sarah N
Sydney, Australia51 contributions10 helpful votes
There is a kettle in the rooms but no microwaves - you may be able to request one but from memory they wont have any
Answer from Sally M
1 contribution
Those activities are free on the island.
Julia V wrote a tip 9 May
Brisbane, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Come with a dream so that you can leave with a memory"
Read full review
Mark L wrote a tip 7 May
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Allow yourself to experience all this island has to offer over a few days or if in the area take the day trip offer which is very affordable"
Read full review
Harvey S wrote a tip Apr 2024
Sydney, Australia6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"ferry to island is fabulous, fantastic view!"
Read full review
Stay811864 wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
" Room tip: Take food!!! Snacks! If you are taking children - take activities for tropical no water play days. "
Read full review
Whiteandmartin wrote a tip Mar 2024
Sydney, Australia8 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take the not so great reviews into account, we wish we did."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Daydream Island area.
PRICE RANGE
$245 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
daydream island hotel daydream island, daydream island resort and spa
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandWhitsunday IslandsDaydream Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
240
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DAYDREAM ISLAND RESORT - Reviews & Price Comparison (Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Daydream Island Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Daydream Island Resort?
Nearby attractions include Daydream Island Living Reef (0.04 km), Coral Beach and the Beak, Conway National Park (5.6 km), and Lion's Lookout (5.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Daydream Island Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Daydream Island Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Daydream Island Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Daydream Island Resort?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Daydream Island Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Hangar Cafe and Bar, Beaver Bar & Café, and Inkstone Kitchen And Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Daydream Island Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Daydream Island Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Daydream Island Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Daydream Island Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.05 km away from the centre of Daydream Island.
Are any cleaning services offered at Daydream Island Resort?
Yes, laundry service and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Does Daydream Island Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire