We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise

Imperial Surf 80 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (390)
Room & Suite (178)
Dining (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#13 of 124 apartments in Surfers Paradise
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Offering quality accommodation at a reasonable price, BreakFree Imperial Surf offers some of the best views on the Gold Coast from the convenience of your balcony. Located in the heart of Surfers Paradise overlooking the beach, all apartments have ocean views, some with sweeping panoramic vistas of the Gold Coast hinterland and surrounds. Perfect for a weekend getaway, mini-break or beachside family holiday, accommodation options include One and Two Bedroom Apartments with large balconies, fully-equipped kitchen and laundry facilities, TV and security access. Keep the whole family active with a range of leisure facilities including a full-size tennis court, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, sauna, BBQ area and tour desk.**Please phone during normal business hours prior to arrival to arrange after hours check in. Once a booking has been made we accept NO CANCELLATIONS OR AMENDMENTS to bookings**Car Parking: Free under cover parking. (1 car park per unit, height restrictions apply). This hotel does not accept cash as a payment method. Credit, debit and prepaid cards are accepted to buy goods and services.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Sauna
Vending machine
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Car park
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Car hire
Spa
Massage
Steam room
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Additional bathroom
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
791Reviews8Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 294
  • 277
  • 125
  • 42
  • 53
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sightseer29286861308 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Place was great, well equipped with everything. Location is great. And the view is amazing. Would be better if have AC in all the rooms. Could do better for the late check-in as the intercom ppl are not responsive. We waited for 30mins to get our keys.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from nicki blackley, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to rate and comment on your stay. I am sorry to hear that you had issues with checking in after hours. I will pass these comments onto them. We do hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Nicki Blackley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rubber_Duckie89 wrote a review Feb 2024
Godalming, United Kingdom1570 contributions239 helpful votes
+1
We were here for 3 nights starting on New Year's Eve. We were in unit 3D, a two bedroom apartment, it was great! Full kitchen, two bathrooms, a wrap around balcony and a partial sea view. Great location as well. The only downside was that the WiFi wasn't working when we arrived (I think due to storms). But we weren't even told the password on check in in case it came back on again. It was only late morning the following day when we asked at reception on the way out that we were informed that it was working again and given the password for access. It would've been good to have had it on New Year's Eve! We used the indoor pool during our stay and it was ok.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from nicki blackley, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise
Responded 20 Feb 2024
Thanks for taking the time to place your comments, we do hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Nicki Blackley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
wade f wrote a review Feb 2024
Ballarat, Australia1 contribution
Well appointed apartment seems to have been renovated fairly recently although a few minor issues - The biggest issue was the Internet in this day and age it is a standard utility like power or water and should be treated as such unfortunately to gain access to the "free" Wi-Fi you needed to to sign up for a Accor loyalty program which was a couple of hundred dollars then the reception would give you the password which I didn't do family of 5 running on mined and my partners hotspot was a pain. Based on this I would never stay again every other hotel, Motel and even caravan park has always supplied Wi-Fi with no extra hidden costs. there was no extraction fans in the bathrooms or above the stove which ment there was mould on the shower roof. The bath plug didn't work so would drain quickly. TV in the main bedroom was out of order, The ensuite shower leaked which would make the bedroom carpet wet. At night there would be cockroaches which the complex was aware as there was signes saying pest control to be conducted but was booked for another few weeks after we stayed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Wi-Fi isn't actually free you have to sign up to a loyalty program to gain access to it
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from nicki blackley, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise
Responded 25 Feb 2024
Thanks for taking the time to place your comments. I am not sure what you are referring to having to pay to sign up. This is not the case it is free. I would be happy to discus this further if you could give me a call please on 07 55384355 on when and who tried to charge you, so I can look into this for you. We do hope to welcome you back. Kind Regards Nicki Blackley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julie M wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
I always stay at the Breakfree Imperial Surf. I stayed in January 2024. I was on the 24th floor in a front facing ocean view apartment. The views are amazing! The location is great. Only a 5 minute walk to Cavill Avenue. The apartment was very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from nicki blackley, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise
Responded 25 Feb 2024
Thanks for taking the time to place your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Nicki Blackley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mick R wrote a review Jan 2024
China1 contribution
The apartment stunk. It was way older than the photos. One of the showers pressure was terrible. Someone took our car park and then when we parked elsewhere had an abusive note on our car. I would not recommend this hotel and would like to know why it’s supported by Accor?
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The apartment stunk. It was way older than the photos.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from nicki blackley, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise
Responded 30 Jan 2024
Thanks for taking the time to place your comments Mark, I am sorry to hear of your experience, I can assure you Mark if you had let reception know we would have moved you and or given you a different car park. I would say that you had parked in a residence spot. We do hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Nicki Blackley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
susansneddon wrote a review Jan 2024
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions
Love this place been coming for years, always our first choice so close to everything and you can walk to shops and beach across the road the best Went this year for air show was amazing view couldn't ask for better.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from nicki blackley, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise
Responded 30 Jan 2024
Thanks for taking the time to rate and comment on your recent stay. We do hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Nicki Blackley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Agne S wrote a review Nov 2023
43 contributions6 helpful votes
One of the neighbors was aggressively hitting the walls, dropping heavy objects on the floor and making all sorts of disturbing hits and knocks early in the morning, throughout the day as well as in the middle of the night.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from nicki blackley, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise
Responded 30 Jan 2024
Thanks for taking the time to rate and comment on your recent stay. I do hope that you let reception or a staff member know of your concerns. We would have spoken to those of concerns and or move you. We do hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Nicki Blackley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michelle P wrote a review Nov 2023
Bendigo, Australia4 contributions
We chose the renovated 2 bedroom apartment and were not disappointed! We were on the 12th floor and the views were amazing! Sit back on the couch and all you see if ocean. Lay in bed and you can hear the waves. If you are like us and live inland and are after an ocean holiday then this is the place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Heath J wrote a review Aug 2023
Nelson Bay, Australia22 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
We have stayed at unit 19D several times and love it there. Completely renovated apartment with nice new kitchen, bathrooms, and laundry. Side unit, but still a great view over the beach/ocean and back towards the canals too. Really great location, walking distance to the Cavill Mall, beach directly across the road and tram out the back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from nicki blackley, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise
Responded 10 Aug 2023
Thanks Heath We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nicki Blackley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tracey K wrote a review Aug 2023
Newcastle, Australia29 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
Firstly I need to say that we didn’t realise when we booked that it was a booking through a letting company. Would never recommend doing that again. So my review is specific to apartment 8C (which is not maintained or managed by the Imperial Surf) and then the complex itself. The room was very outdated, marks on the walls, rips in the carpet, dishwasher handle broken so it was near impossible to open, the main bathroom door needed to be slammed just to close it, the ensuite shower had no screen or curtain so the floor flooded when showering. But it was clean and well equipped and had everything we needed. The views were amazing, the indoor heated pool and spa were well used by us. Lorikeets came to our balcony serval times and this was an absolute delight. The complex was clean and well maintained…..other than the elevators. Only 2 lifts were working when we arrived and during our stay, another went out of service and then they were all out of service. At no time were they all working. Underground parking was great. Very close to shops and restaurants and a short stroll to Cavill Ave. Being right across the road from the beach was a nice way to wake up of a morning. We had a lovely time staying here and we will be back again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Only apartments ending in A, B and C have pure ocean views. D and E can see the ocean but are not...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Surfers Paradise area.
PRICE RANGE
$224 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
imperial surf hotel surfers paradise
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandGold CoastSurfers Paradise
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BREAKFREE IMPERIAL SURF SURFERS PARADISE - Apartment Reviews & Price Comparison (Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise
Which popular attractions are close to BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise?
Nearby attractions include Fox In A Box Gold Coast Escape Rooms (0.4 km), Padlockd Escape Rooms & Bar (0.3 km), and Infinity Attraction (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a spa, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise?
Conveniently located restaurants include Betty's Burgers, Bazaar, and Yamagen Japanese Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise have airport transportation?
Yes, BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Surfers Paradise.
Are any cleaning services offered at BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Post Office Gallery (3.7 km).