We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Club Tropical Resort

2-4 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (139)
360
Panoramas (71)
Room & Suite (636)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#31 of 37 hotels in Port Douglas
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Club Tropical Resort is located on vibrant Macrossan Street. It offers studio rooms and 1, 2 and 4 bedroom apartments. Each self contained apartment and studio rooms have a private balcony or terrace enjoying views out the Coral Sea, overlooking the tranquil water gardens or village views. The resort has a free formed swimming pool and 2 hot Jacuzzi spas as well as sauna for guests to use. There is also a bbq area with seating for in house guests during their stay. The location of Club Tropical means that you do not need a car but if you do hire one there is secure undercover parking provided on site.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Complimentary Instant Coffee
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
303Reviews2Q+A98Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 98
  • 97
  • 51
  • 30
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Climber14216352191 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Customer service is shocking. Would not recommend. We couldn’t stay here due to the cyclone they had no running water and no bottled water in Cole’s. We were told this on prior to boarding our flight there. So we needed to book last minute in cairns. This hotel have not refunded me ignoring my emails and phone calls. Do not stay here would not recommend they are not helpful or friendly
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Unfriendly and customer service disgusting
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Allan R wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Location was perfect and convenient, next to restaurants, main shopping, wharf and Anzac park. The whole Guest Services Team were so friendly and always available. We enjoy the pool, a water garden and our room with fully equipped kitchen. We highly recommend to stay in this wonderful Club Tropical Resort. Natalie and Allan Sydney, NSW
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It feels like home
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gus and Megan wrote a review Sept 2023
Rye, Australia22 contributions4 helpful votes
We have stayed at Club Tropical many times over many years , we would not consider any other accommodation. Sure there are things that are looking a little tired , but nothing compares to the location and their amazing staff who go above and beyond to make sure your stay is great. Special thanks Gisela and Fiona See you next year !!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Margie wrote a review Aug 2023
Maffra, Australia7 contributions1 helpful vote
We requested a quiet room and dealt with Giselle, who was very helpful and accommodating. Our room looked directly on to a water feature pond, no traffic noise at all, given the location. Kitchenette on balcony had everything we needed to be self sufficient. Lovely pool and the location was amazing. Rooms are tired and could do with an update but we thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Thanks Giselle 😘
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Request a quiet room if this is what you want. Not overlooking Macrossan St.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rondy99 wrote a review Jul 2023
Auckland, New Zealand72 contributions16 helpful votes
CONS- Big place with no lift above 2nd floor. Rooms are big but old and tired now. Bathroom are interesting. Room layouts odd. Looks like these places are owned by others and rented out PROS - Location location location Underground parking. Kitchenette. Pool and sauna.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Eleanor wrote a review Jul 2023
4 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Our accommodation was advertised as 4 * plus but was barely a 3 *. Would you expect a taped bedside lamp, brown liquid in toaster (extremely dangerous), dirty spots in drawer, mouldy dusty vents, sunken sofa which was too uncomfortable to sit on, chipped/broken shower floor tiles, worn brown toilet seat, stained toilet, holes in ensuite floor with ? in, old-fashioned hook to close ensuite door, etc in 4 star plus accommodation? This was our accommodation at Club Tropical in Port Douglas.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The front office staff were welcoming and friendly.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jez s wrote a review Jun 2023
Newstead, Australia34 contributions18 helpful votes
AVOID - Underhanded approach to payments. I travel constantly and have never been treated like the management of Club Tropical. BEWARE - They conveniently say on sites like booking.com you to pay at "resort", then they hit your card for money 60 days prior, and say it is in the confirmation. I sent them the confirmation I received, and there was NO information about this 60 days in advance payment. I have never had this type of payment arrangement on any of the booking web sites. The management are rude at best, cant see the wood thru the trees. Maybe the business is going broke so they are grabbing as much money as they can before closing?? DONT waste your time booking at Club Tropical - VERY UNDERHANDED OPERATION.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Trip A, General Manager at Club Tropical Resort
Responded 19 Jun 2023
Hi Jez, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about booking via a 3rd party for Club Tropical. We appreciate all reviews, as they help us improve our services and guest experiences. We are sorry to hear that you had concerns about the payment process through the third-party booking agent you chose. We see your booking has since been cancelled via the website you orginally booked this pre paid package through. We would like to clarify that Club Tropical has no control over the terms and conditions set by third-party booking agents. As such, we highly recommend reviewing the terms and conditions carefully before making a reservation to ensure a clear understanding of the payment procedures. Regarding your comment about the management being underhanded, we must respectfully disagree. Our team takes pride in maintaining a high level of professionalism and providing exceptional service to our guests. We have been fortunate to receive many positive reviews highlighting our excellent staff and comfortable rooms. While we understand that you may have had a negative experience with the third-party booking agent, we kindly request that you refrain from making assumptions about our management or the state of our business. We assure you that Club Tropical is a reputable establishment committed to delivering outstanding hospitality. We value the opinion of our guests who come to stay with us, and we hope you would consider giving us an opportunity to host you in the future and would recommend to you and all guests to book directly with the property. If you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly. Warm regards, [Club Tropical Management]
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Katya Q wrote a review Dec 2022
Leura, Australia6 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
First class prices, third class standard. Great location if you want to be in the thick of it, however, our room was dirty, and incredibly noisy. We were directly across the road from the pub on New Year’s Eve with live music until 2am. When we requested a change of room we were rudely advised to pay a $100 cleaning fee. When we challenged this we were told to go through Booking.com who did their best but also advised the same. The venue did not seem to be interested in ensuring we were looked after. Very disappointing given the price. Ended up bailing and moving elsewhere which was cheaper and much nicer.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sightseer792389 wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We booked for 3 nights in July and ended up leaving a day early. When we booked we were offered to upgrade to a renovated room. Well if you call rusty light fittings, a kitchenette that contained avrusty old double hotplate and air conditioning that wasnt adjustable, only on or off an upgraded room. But the biggest issue was this upgraded more expensive room was right opposite the pub that had live music till midnight every night. So if you want a relaxing holiday, dont stay here.The response of the management was that it was tough luck as port douglas is an entertainment area and that the A/ C was 30 years old. So much for being upgraded then
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Leanne B wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Great location right in the heart of the CBD. Easy walking to restaurants, pubs, supermarket shops and marina. Rooms are spacious all having kitchens on the balcony,so no food smell in the room. If staying longer than 14 days I would recommend not having a room looking over Macrossan st as the music becomes repetitive. The pool area has shade and sun all day and a warm 23°. Staff are friendly and so helpful, they can book any of the tourists trips for you. The laundry is clean with 2 washing machines, 1 dryer and a wash tub.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Booking trips through reception is so easy.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Port Douglas area.
PRICE RANGE
$223 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
club tropical hotel port douglas
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandPort Douglas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CLUB TROPICAL RESORT - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Port Douglas, Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Club Tropical Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Club Tropical Resort?
Nearby attractions include St Mary’s by The Sea chapel (0.2 km), Sunday Market Port Douglas (0.1 km), and Funstuff by Lynda (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Club Tropical Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Club Tropical Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Club Tropical Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Club Tropical Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Club Tropical Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Melaleuca, Capannina, and Grant Street Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Club Tropical Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Is Club Tropical Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Port Douglas.
Are there any historical sites close to Club Tropical Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St David's Anglican Church Mossman (9.8 km).
Is Club Tropical Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.