We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Plaza Cairns

Traveller (320)
Room & Suite (117)
Video (1)


Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre.
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:Easter Holidays Sale 2019
Hotel deals
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 63
  • 146
  • 162
  • 134
  • 122
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We didn't mind this hotel. The hallways had a musty smell and the carpets are atrocious. definitely needs some paint touch up and basic upgrades. The bathroom was severely outdated but clean. The room was quiet and the beds were very comfortable. Pool area was nice but it would
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
Stayed at Rydges Plaza one night for business. It was central to the CBD, and only 15 mins to/from the airport. You can tell the building is old, but everything was clean and maintained. It was everything I would expect from a Rydges.
Read more
I'm not new to staying with Rydges and raved about my padt experiences to my partner before we arrived. Upon arrival we were advised that the car park was full we said that's ok as we were heading out early the next morning for a hike. We went to our room and we noticed that
Read more
Response from EvanC1233, Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns
Responded 3 days ago
Hi Becky, I appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback from your recent stay. Our hotel is starting to show it's age and this is something our team is working towards to keep standards in line with guests expectations. I apologise for the plumbing issues and for the lack of information surrounding our car park and will discuss this with the team. We hope to see you again at Rydges Plaza Cairns Kind regards
Read more
Noise was terrible. They had 21st party and failed to mention the music would be right under our room and lights from the party beaming through our room. I guess as long as the party guests were happy that’s all that matters? We had a 12 hour drive the next day on minimal sleep
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from EvanC1233, Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm disappointed to hear that the functions from our bar and restaurant impacted on your stay. We will be following up with our teams to ensure we are communicating effectively with our guests about any potential disruptions and what we can to prevent these. I hope we have the chance to accommodate you in the future to make amends for this experience. Kind regards
Read more
Don't do it to yourself people. Work had me here for 10 nights. I lasted 4. It wasn't the constant drone of the exhaust fan in the hallway that smelt like wet dog. It wasn't the flaky ceiling that was above you at night. It wasn't the bottle of red that the cleaners knocked off.
Read more
Response from EvanC1233, Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Paul, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm disappointed to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay and that you had cut short your visit with us. I apologise for the Fire Alarms sounding off during the nights your were here, I am thankful that they were only false alarms and I will follow up with our team to ensure we are following correct procedures and informing our guests should this occur again. You had mentioned to our reception team that the bottle of wine which went missing was placed next to rubbish that was collected and disposed off and may have been taken by mistake. As we were not able to locate the same bottle another bottle of wine was offered to you from the hotel. Please don't hesitate to get in touch with me should you wish to book again at Rydges Plaza Cairns and I would be happy to make amends for your stay. Kind regards Evan Coleman Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementRydges Plaza Cairns
Queen Room
Are you able to smoke on the balcony?
Legally, I don't thinks so. The balconies are very small, and smoke can enter another unit very easily, so it would be inconsiderate to do so, even if it were legal. Very commendable that you asked.
0 votes
Show all answers
Are you able to smoke on the balcony?
I don't think it's allowed. I believe there's a no smoking policy with a penalty for smoking that applies.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Rooms higher up will be quieter from the night club downstairs"
"Just book elsewhere."
"For a good room, stay some where else"
"Ask to be on a high level"
"Don’t get room over the pool area, ensure you don’t back onto bar."
US$69 - US$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
rydges plaza cairns hotel cairnsrydges plaza hotel cairnscairns rydges plaza hotel
AustraliaQueenslandCairns RegionCairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing