Best Western Airport 85 Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Best Western Airport 85 Motel

40 Lamington Avenue Ascot, Brisbane, Queensland 4007 Australia
Traveller (67)
Panorama of the Double at the Best Western Airport 85 Motel
360
Panoramas (21)
Brisbane Airport Motel accommodation
Room & Suite (217)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#62 of 164 hotels in Brisbane
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in Brisbane,QLD, the Best Western Airport 85 Motel is sure to provide a peaceful and comforting home away from home for any traveler. Each Best Western hotel provides free internet access, giving guests the opportunity to check emails and surf the web, all from the comforts of their room or the business center. With cleanliness and value being our top priority, we ensure a restful and productive stay. On top of that, our superior customer service will ensure that we meet all your needs and go beyond your expectations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

40 Lamington Avenue Ascot, Brisbane, Queensland 4007 Australia
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 47 out of 100
47
Brisbane Intl Airport
511Reviews8Q+A74Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 184
  • 200
  • 72
  • 26
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lisa L wrote a review Jan 2020
Toowoomba
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located across the street from Doomben train station and is about a 30 min walk to the Bretts wharf ferry terminal. There is also a bus stop about 100m down the street, Approx a 10-15 min drive to Westfield Chermside.
Located close to the Brisbane airport.
There is limited parking inside the hotels property (none undercover).
The kids loved the pool, it was also very clean.
The booking we made for a 1 night stay for news years eve was a very reasonable price.
The room we stayed in (family room- 2 double beds) was clean, quite large for a hotel room, private, had air conditioning.
Check in and out was easy. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was free for 2 guests per room.
This is a smoke free property (they do have a designated smoking area),
Overall I can't fault this hotel, and highly recommend it. We will be back if we need to stay in Brisbane again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David S, Owner at Best Western Airport 85 Motel
Responded 9 Jan 2020
Hello Lisa, It was a pleasure meeting yourself and family and a pleasure hosting your stay, thankyou for passing on your thoughts and for taking the time to send a review. trust you are home safe,hope to see you on your next journey Sincerely John/Kellie Blacksell
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
markmc4870 wrote a review Feb 2021
Cairns, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I found this Motel warm and welcoming. The driveway, garden and grounds were well kept, the staff were friendly and the rooms were clean. Complimentary breakfast included fresh fruit, yoghurt and toast. It was in a good location directly opposite a train station, only a few minutes drive to the airport and an easy walk to local restaurants and the river ferry. Overall, this was excellent budget accomodation, well recommended.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John blacksell, Owner at Best Western Airport 85 Motel
Responded 9 Feb 2021
Hello Mark Thank you for your stay and your review, pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the standard of the motel and atmosphere it represents and level of service, taking advantage of our Free continental breakfast and identifying our great location being close to shops, restaurants and train station ,Brisbane Airport and other modes of public transport, Overall our excellent competitive rates for our accommodation. Again thank you for your stay trust you arrived home safe see you on your next journey. Regards John/Kellie Owners
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
warreng999 wrote a review Sept 2022
Brisbane, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed there due to its distance from the Brisbane airport however next time I’d spend the extra 10 minutes in traffic for a nicer cleaner hotel in Spring Hill.
The staff were friendly, however the room was old and dirty. The bathroom was especially dirty with bugs in it. The air conditioner filter was completely clogged with dust and mould. It was Alison located opposite a train station.
Price wise it was expensive for what you got considering for less money you can stay at the Pacific Hotel Spring Hill with breakfast included.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you’re not there early you will have to park on the street due to limited onsite parking.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GerryD1944 wrote a review Jan 2020
Standish, Michigan
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights at the Best Western! There were five of us in one room and it was adequate! We liked the kitchenette, especially the refrigerator!

The staff was extremely helpful! The hotel found us transportation from the airport and back to airport. Also the same driver drove us to the Australia Zoo which was about an hour from the hotel. The driver waited for us and returned us to the hotel! The car and driver was arranged by the staff of the hotel. Awesome driver and vehicle! Extremely helpful!

The hotel is near the airport but has a large marketplace that we could walk to for anything a person needed! That was very convenient for us!

Also a Sports Bar and Restaurant was within walking distance from the hotel. We think it was next to the horse race track. The food was priced very reasonable and it was tasty! The amount of food they served was enough for two meals!

The breakfast was just very limited so the three teenagers did not eat breakfast that was provided but the chicken dinner leftovers. There was choices of bread and cereal and coffee.

We would highly recommend this hotel and the shuttle service if you need to be close to the airport!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Dempsey, General Manager at Best Western Airport 85 Motel
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Hello Gerry Thank you for your Fantastic Review, glad you enjoyed all the in-room facilities that easily facilitated your group of 5, our level of service we strive to maintain for all of our guests including the transport shuttle to and from Australia Zoo. Prime location to Brisbane Airport and restaurants, Regarding morning Continental breakfast as per our web site caters for 2 Persons per room complimentry/Free,next time you may consider additional that can be purchased for a small cost or our taste options of a cooked breakfast as per menu displayed at front reception. Thank you again for your commendations, looking forward to seeing you on your next journey. Regards John,Kellie Owners
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cubton wrote a review Feb 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Found the Hotel through Booking.com but due to the late notice if the booking and the time of night decided to call the Hotel direct

Reception is not manned 24 hours and eventually my call was answered, I enquired about availability and if they’d offer the same rate as Booking.com.
The receptionist said it may be a couple of dollars but wouldn’t give me a firm price and asked for a credit card to secure the room, this I did due to the late hour and my tiredness after a long day traveling.

I booked a taxi from Brisbane airport to the hotel and on arrival at checkin was presented with a room rate of a $165 way above the advertised rate on booking.com of $89 so more the a few dollars extra that the receptionist had alluded to during our telephone conversation.
I challenged the rate and was told that the room on Booking.com wasn’t availability which I found odd as it was only 15 minutes ago and it was past midnight
I feel the Hotel took advantage of the situation and the late hour.
I would advise tired and weary travels to avoid this very low budget Hotel and greedy franchise owners.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: February 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John blacksell, Owner at Best Western Airport 85 Motel
Responded 13 Feb 2021
Hello Cubton, Thank you for your review as we urge all our guests to do so to assist our business when needed and to give honest constructive overview and for other guests when booking, addressing your review you are correct your initial call of enquiry was 12:30 after midnight that I was woken up for and extended myself that I was willing to do as our guests are always our priority , go to the office reception process your booking and await for your arrival. Many of our guest take advantage of our 24hr check in non manned service, once guest calls the office prior to 7pm daily to arrange the room key the key is placed in night safe for guest to collect any time throughout the night upon there arrival as advertised on all of our web sites. In our initial phone conversation I did state to you our Standard economy room was not available that you accepted, then making you aware the next room type available was a upgraded room from your first choice and this plus given the early morning hour you had called the cost for the room was reflected given the time of the morning, you accepted proceeded and arrived at the motel via taxi and checked in. There was no taking advantage of any situation your take on your situation and considering your big day and lengthy flight, maybe as a suggestion you book prior to arriving to avoid all of your concerns . Our Business is a 4Star Best Western Branded Motel that is held in very high regard, delivering daily a High standard of Accommodation, Service and facilities to all our guests from Corporates to Families to holiday makers and travelers we thoroughly enjoy as our guests are always our priority. We do hope to hear from you on your next journey Regards John/Kellie Owners
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Somesh wrote a review Jul 2020
Brisbane, Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The receptionist was bit rude to me when I tried to make a booking in the middle of the night. Later, I found out that the breakfast was included in the price I paid for the room which they didn't even bother to tell me and I had to ask them about it. It was an English breakfast where they didn't bring stuffs I ordered and was very poor and cheap. The interior was good and clean except for the toilet seat which had urine stains on it before we used it. Lastly, I already was disappointed then they charged me $6 for two 300mls water bottle that I had consumed overnight. It was my worse stay at this hotel and would not recommend to my family and friends.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Dempsey, General Manager at Best Western Airport 85 Motel
Responded 15 Aug 2020
Hello Somess007 We greet all guests in a professional and friendly manner our check in is 24 hrs not our reception, the reception hours are clearly stated on all websites 7am-7pm, the continental breakfast was supplied as you requested and with room service at no extra cost, additionally the cost of the breakfast is not a part of the room tariff it is Free/Complimentary as you can see by the competitive room tariff while still maintaining a 4 STAR Motel level. All rooms are Cleaned, Sanitized and QA checked prior to every guests arrival and we where pleased to here you appreciated the standard of the room and how clean it was as per all of our rooms. The mini bar sheet is on the bench which states the prices of all mini bar items, I do remember in the morning when you mentioned about the water we actually gave you a Free bottle of water. Trust you arrived home safe, hope to see you on your next journey. Regards John, Kellie Owners
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel v wrote a review Nov 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On a very late arrival, I was kindly greeted to organise a check in for our two rooms which included a double room and a family room i think his name was John. John was very chatty talked about his travels to NT and living in Bullsbrook WA for 5 years.
Our travel group included a 11mth baby and 3 children. On arrival we asked John if we could have a late check out, he said this wasn't an option, we asked if we could please place our bags in storage if no late check out available.
He stated that we could use the storage for our bags after we check out at 10am due to our flight being later in the day, we were very greatful.

We used the vacant tables to eat some lunch in the shade the following day, which all tables and the whole area was vacant. At reception - with now the wife and john in the office, I asked if it was possible for the kids to swim in the pool, completely understood if this wasn't possible, which it wasn't but was told there was one large family occupying the pool and because of check out we shouldnt be using the hotel facilities anymore. The had been sitting in the shaded outdoor picnic area to eat lunch which was no other people where using any of the other tables, unfortunately my son had split some of his juice in the outdoor area - onto the pavers and when the baby was eating some of the chicken and crackers have fell on the floor, John had been ordered out the office again, he made comment about the mess we made. We offered to sweep and clean the area thoroughly but was declined and asked if we could move on because the area had to be cleaned thoroughly. We asked to retrieve our bags from the storage area because we could no longer keep them in there.
We were standing in the shade with a baby and children while our taxi was on its way (6 mins) we were asked to move again from the shade, completely out of the area again.
In summary if your looking for hotel which is family friendly - keep looking.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: In summary if your looking for hotel which is family friendly - keep looking.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Arron D wrote a review Dec 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I would highly recommend this Motel when staying in Brisbane. It's in a central Location being 10 minutes from the Airport and within walking distance to restaurants and supermarkets. Doomben train station is just across the road so if you want to take a day trip in to Brisbane City it's right at your doorstep. The Motel it's self comes spacious rooms with king size beds and all the features you need in your room. The Motel also provides free wonderful continental breakfast for you in the morning. The Motel is run by a wonderful management team who provide great customer service and are there to assist with any information you may need while you stay in Brisbane.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Judy W wrote a review Mar 2020
Sunshine Coast, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose to stay due to close proximity to the airport for an early departure and were pleasantly surprised. The managers are welcoming and very helpful, the rooms spacious and immaculate, walking distance to Racecourse Road and Ascot Bowls Club and less than 10 minutes to the airport. We were unlucky to have a group of selfish rowdy travellers who went late into the night and were up again at 4am, luck of the draw sometimes. I recommend this motel, it was better than most in the price range.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ground floor so you can park outside your room and don't have to carry bags upstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Dempsey, General Manager at Best Western Airport 85 Motel
Responded 18 Aug 2020
Hello Judy, Thank you for your review and for choosing Airport 85 Motel as a Motel of choice, glad you enjoyed our prime location so close to Brisbane airport , appreciating our rooms facilities and service. Being a 4 Star Motel All guests enjoy a level of privacy visual and acoustic qualitities to each room, suggestion for next time any urgent concerns you do have the service of calling us via the internal room phone as per room information book is there, us living on site we can tend to these concerns with urgency. Trust you both arrived home safely, hope to see you on your next journey. Regards John,Kellie Owners
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SunnyCoastDiner wrote a review Apr 2023
Nambour, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
With a morning flight out of Brisbane Airport we booked a stay at the Best Western Airport 85 Motel as it is close to the airport, and reasonably priced (Best Western member rate). Parking is limited so best bet if you wish to keep parked off street and want to dine out order an Uber/Taxi. The hotel is opposite Doomben train station and under one of the flight paths out of Brisbane Airport, so expect train horns and aircraft noise until later in the evening. The air-conditioning was a touch noisy bordering on intrusive. Unfortunately, some hours after checking out we were charged for a bottle of wine which we certainly did not have. However it is difficult to argue the point when you’re several hundred kilometres away interstate, so we’ll simply vote with our wallet and stay elsewhere next time.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ground level, as hauling travel luggage up the stairs is no fun.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Daisy052
Summerside, Canada104 contributions90 helpful votes
The train station is across the street from the motel, but we didn't use it, or go downtown. There are buses that you can catch. You could try google maps to see where the bus stops are.
Answer from Silverstreak46
Vienna, Virginia375 contributions127 helpful votes
We arrived after midnight and they accommodate late check-ins with a late arrival box and phone since the office closes at 8 pm or so. We talked with the manager in the morning and the subject of early arrivals came up. His response was that they are a small motel and usually cannot accommodate early check-ins before 12:30 or 1 pm. His suggestion was to try a larger hotel (although I've never had any luck getting a room before 1 pm at any hotel) or book the day before at his Motel to guarantee the room would be ready. if you choose to do the later, make sure to let them know. They're nice folks.
Brisbane, Australia2 contributions2 helpful votes
An after hours arrival is not a problem. We can leave a key in the night safe for you. On arrival to the motel use the external phone at reception, press the "Office" button and the night staff can check you in and provide the code for the safe. We will leave other information in your envelope with the key.
Answer from Per U
Skien, Norway615 contributions285 helpful votes
No - you must take a taxi from outside. Will cost approx 30AUD. Back they have a deal With a Company and yuo pay approx 22 AUD. Arriving at niht you get instructions and key in safety Box by entrance. QWuick and easy.
Answer from Koby B
Surrey, Canada20 contributions2 helpful votes
No idea, as I travelled solo. Kind regards
LUCKYME72 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Santa Ana, California1,497 contribution462 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware of noise from airplanes and people talking outside"
Read full review
Dale P wrote a tip Dec 2023
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is conveniently located next to a train station."
Read full review
Expedition452642 wrote a tip Oct 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book another hotel"
Read full review
SunnyCoastDiner wrote a tip Apr 2023
Nambour, Australia141 contributions56 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ground level, as hauling travel luggage up the stairs is no fun."
Read full review
Ashlee592 wrote a tip Mar 2023
7 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Close to train station, but train to that station stops running around 10pm. Get off at another station then catch an Uber back to hotel."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Brisbane area.
PRICE RANGE
$192 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western brisbane
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandBrisbane RegionBrisbane
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEST WESTERN AIRPORT 85 MOTEL - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Brisbane, Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Airport 85 Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Airport 85 Motel?
Nearby attractions include Jan Power's Farmers Markets (0.9 km), Portside Wharf (1.2 km), and Slideways - Go Karting Brisbane (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Airport 85 Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Airport 85 Motel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Airport 85 Motel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Airport 85 Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Airport 85 Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include That Thai, Milani, and Gallopers Sports Club Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Airport 85 Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Airport 85 Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Brisbane Arcade (6.4 km), Newstead House (3.7 km), and Customs House (5.6 km).
Is Best Western Airport 85 Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Brisbane HotelsBrisbane Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BrisbaneHotels near Best Western Airport 85 Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire