We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
73 Wickham Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000 Australia
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$211
View deal
Official Site
US$230
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$180
View deal
Expedia.comUS$210
eDreams
Hotels.comUS$210
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (618)
Room & Suite (189)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 173 hotels in Brisbane
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The eclectic, sophisticated and curious The Inchcolm by Ovolo is a stunning boutique hotel with a rock n roll edge. Once a private residence and medical practice, the building was first constructed in the 1930’s, with this being the foundation to drive the artistic concept behind The Inchcolm by Ovolo. Think Gertrude Stein’s Paris salon, where Hemingway, Fitzgerald, Picasso and Matisse would comfortably rub shoulders while sharing trailblazing ideas and indulging in gourmet food & wine.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
iPod docking station
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English
1143Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 929
  • 157
  • 40
  • 10
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Julie H wrote a review Jun 2022
Caloundra, Australia5 contributions2 helpful votes
The moody vibe of this well appointed hotel created a warm and inviting atmosphere. I loved the decor, location and particularly enjoyed the martini's in the bar! Highly recommend for your next Brisbane City stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Large Heritage Suite was very comfortable
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Russo, General Manager at The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hey there Q3902IYjulleh, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Inchcolm by Ovolo. We are delighted to hear that you have really enjoyed your experience and loved our warm and inviting atmosphere. We sure love our Martini's here and we hope you had a chance to try them all. We cannot wait to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Roberto Russo General Manager
Read more
Josie wrote a review Apr 2022
Brisbane, Australia192 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
We spent nearly 8 weeks at this amazing location due to flooding. You would think that after 2 weeks the novelty would wear off, nope, it became home to us. The amiable and united staff, from the GM, Roberto to front desk (Amber, Oliver, Anneke etc) lead by the amazing Captain Kirk, their Ops Mgr Kurt, F&B (Reuben, Santosh, Maya, Dominic & too many more names to mention), Chef Jamie and his kitchen staff as well as Anna head of housekeeping & her attention to detail staff .... were all welcoming, kind, patient and friendly day in day out. We had our beloved elderly husky with us and she was the star of the hotel. We experienced everything there was to be had during our time ie: martini hour (night after night!); dinner, breakfast, lunches, high tea, martini lunch etc - all served with enthusiasm and flair. We checked out yesterday and already miss everyone. We'll definitely we back when renovations commence, and expect an invitation to the staff Christmas party ;-)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Russo, General Manager at The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Responded 18 Apr 2022
Carissima Nonna P, Wow, wow, wow: what an amazing review. We are over the moon to read your lovely feedback and we are so happy you had a fantastic stay. Even though it was under difficult circumstances, we are pleased we managed to make your stay enjoyable. You have been one of our strongest supporters and it is great that you have managed to try all our services. We were so happy to seeing you and your family every day and could not wait to have our daily catch ups. Please don't wait too long before you visit us: we cannot wait to welcome you again! Warmest regards, Roberto Russo General Manager
Read more
RosGua54 wrote a review Jun 2022
Ingham, Australia31 contributions11 helpful votes
I would not hesitate to recommend the Inchcholm. Firstly The staff were so pleasant, helpful and accommodating. Room was immaculate though small but big enough with a separate entrance room and good bathroom. The bed was the coziest I’ve ever slept in. The restaurant was so good that we ate dinner in both nights, and lots on the menu gluten-free. Our breakfast was included in our package. All meals were excellent. One tip however, This place is on Wickham Terrace and is an uphill walk from queens street mall, so take the bus home if you’ve had a big day shopping.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Russo, General Manager at The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hey there RosGua54, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Inchcolm by Ovolo. The team and I are super excited to hear that you have really loved your experience and enjoyed our super comfy beds, our beautifully crafted meals but, above all, we cannot contain our excitement in reading about your comments regarding the service and team. We cannot wait to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Roberto Russo General Manager
Read more
Alison D wrote a review Jun 2022
Melbourne104 contributions57 helpful votes
We cant say we loved this Hotel despite the lovely staff. We found it dark (it is dark in decor and lighting) and a little cool. It has central heating and cooling controlled at Reception and ours switched back to cool each day. Its winter and wasnt warm at the time of our stay. However the staff would fix this quickly when we phoned them. The dining area and hall ways were also a little on the cool side we thought. Our Luxury Escapes package didnt appear to be on their radar on arrival,and we had to work to get what our offer stipulated. Again the staff rallied though and helped. I didnt enjoy my dinner there the night we dined there but my partner really like his. Brekky was fine. Thank you Eric,Adam and staff for your help.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Russo, General Manager at The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear alisond570, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Inchcolm by Ovolo. We are sorry to hear that you have not fully enjoyed your stay but it is good to hear that the team worked promptly to help you and fix the issues you have encountered. We are going to take onboard your feedback and very valid points and work together to improve our hotel. We cannot wait to welcome you again soon and deliver a wonderful experience. Warm regards, Roberto Russo General Manager
Read more
Colin G wrote a review Jun 2022
Gold Coast, Australia7 contributions3 helpful votes
Have stayed at this hotel many times. We would like to thank Kirk for looking after us, he manages the office effectively, everything ran so smoothly. Maya was fantastic as usual, she has a wonderful personality and cares for the guests. Great PR lady. The staff in dining, bar and reception very friendly and helpful. Roberto the General Manager is a great support to the staff and it shows with the pleasant atmosphere of this unique hotel
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Russo, General Manager at The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hey there coling447, What an amazing feedback and wow: we love hearing that you have truly enjoyed your experience at The Inchcolm by Ovolo. We are over the moon to read your phenomenal comments. Maya, Kirk and the entire team is thrilled to be recognised: we are here to look after and spoil our guests and I am so lucky to have such an amazing team. We cannot wait to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Roberto Russo General Manager
Read more
Gem PS wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Thanks so much to Kirk and the whole team at The Inchcolm, we has a fantastic experience there from arrival to check-out. First-class hospitality service and the food was amazing. Highly recommended!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Russo, General Manager at The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Gemstar4, Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback and we are super happy to read that you loved your experience. We are so lucky to have such a wonderful team looking after our guests. We cannot wait to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Roberto Russo General Manager
Read more
Christine J wrote a review May 2022
Bargara, Australia369 contributions101 helpful votes
We stayed here as part of a Luxury Escapes deal as we were in Brisbane for the NRL Magic Round. The location is excellent, being across the road from Central Station and walking distance to the CBD. The reception area is unique with cabinets filled with retro items of interest. The walls are adorned with music related art. Great music is piped throughout during the day. It has a fabulous atmosphere. The lift is the original lift that existed when this building used to be medical rooms. The room itself was spacious, the bed comfortable, mini bar with some complementary items (water, juice, soft drink), TV with access to streaming services (you need to log into your own account or you can be set up with a hotel one). The bathroom wasn't overly spacious but the shower was a walk in with rain head shower with good pressure and heat. The wall length mirror makes it appear larger. Everything was spotlessly clean too. There are free laundry facilities available. We were out all day and didn't use any of the facilities on offer. We had breakfast 3 out of the 4 mornings we stayed here (would have been 4 if we had known that breakfast was included in our stay). The food was tasty and a good serving size. My only negative for our stay was the lack of communication. On check in it wasn't mentioned that breakfast was included, or that we had access to the martini bar (supposedly included in our package), or anything about the lolly buffet that I was emailed about ahead of our stay (we never saw this). I was told to scan the QR code in our room for all the information I needed. I have difficulty with this way of providing information. Nothing beats the good old compendium that you can pick up and flick through and read and re-read at your leisure. I know the QR code is the way of the world now but I'm not sure this is the most efficient way. It also requires some tech savvy, that not everyone has. Breakfast on two mornings was marred by inefficient service - by the same person - forgetting a request for vegemite and butter one morning, not giving us a larger coffee as requested but the same size with a double shot, slow in getting our breakfast to us on the second morning to the point where I had to ask where our breakfast was (we had ordered a continental breakfast that the hardest and most time consuming thing to make was the toast). Props to the mature woman working in the area who then looked after us and made sure we had everything we needed. Other staff we encountered were always friendly and engaging. Check out was super efficient. Overall we enjoyed the atmosphere of this unusual hotel, loved how close we were to everything, and generally had a good experience. Next time we hope to experience more of the food (we'd heard good things) and have a martini.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Russo, General Manager at The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Responded 26 May 2022
Hey there Christine J, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Inchcolm by Ovolo. We are very happy to hear that you have overall enjoyed your stay and liked our super central location, our uniquely designed bar areas and lounge. We are blessed to be housed in a magnificent heritage listed building drenched in history. We would like to apologise for the issues you have encountered at breakfast time and we will look at some more training for all our new team members, and prevent situation like this from happening again. Service is at the heart of what we do and it is our sole purpose to look after and spoil all our guests. We cannot wait to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Roberto Russo General Manager
Read more
familyworldtraveller wrote a review May 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand198 contributions78 helpful votes
Getting to Australia from New Zealand was special enough after these last couple of years but our overnighter at The Inchcolm made us feel we'd flown directly to Paris. What a very special hotel. The service was superb. Set in a building with so much character, the bar had a great atmosphere, very intimate, and the perfect place to enjoy a Martini( or two). Recommend booking directly with the hotel and you will be rewarded with happy hour vouchers. Parking was easy and well priced. We had the larger size guest suite and it was decorated stylishly and eclectically but in a way that felt comfortable and approachable, even homely. Will definitely be seeking out more Ovolo hotels on the rest of our Australia trip if they are as good as this one. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: One away from the lift.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Russo, General Manager at The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Responded 25 May 2022
Thank you familyworldtraveller for taking the time to share your recent experience. WOW: what a wonderful review and we are over the moon to hear that you love our hotel as much as we do. Time at The Inchcolm by Ovolo stops as soon as you enter our amazing heritage listed building and you just feel that you could in Paris, or London or somewhere in Europe. So many memories have been made through the years and yours is just the latest one. Make sure you comeback for our Jazz Night on Thursdays or maybe visit us again to sip one of our beautifully crafted Martinis over lunch or dinner. We cannot wait to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Roberto Russo General Manager
Read more
Muncher608 wrote a review May 2022
Innisfail, Australia41 contributions23 helpful votes
Excellent food, very pleasant location, nice atmospheric building. Definitely come again. I hadn’t been here before, my other half had and she thought very highly of it, she stayed overnight but we couldn’t get a room so we stayed somewhere else. So not a bargain basement cheap and nasty place, but good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Russo, General Manager at The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Responded 22 May 2022
Hey there Muncher608, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Inchcolm by Ovolo. We are really please you loved your visit and enjoyed our food and atmosphere. We are blessed to be housed in a wonderful heritage listed building with some unique features. We cannot wait to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Roberto Russo General Manager
Read more
Creekflat wrote a review May 2022
Springbrook, Australia6 contributions11 helpful votes
Poor attitude and indifference right through to management.So it is not surprising the staff have a bad attitude.Also it is the only hotel I know where they take off the credit card a deposit greater than expected cost of accomodation and then issue a refund for the difference.They must have had some dodgy people stay there in the past!? We will not be returning.Pity, because the hotel is really nice.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Russo, General Manager at The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Responded 22 May 2022
Dear Creekflat, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Inchcolm by Ovolo. We are terribly sorry to hear that your experience was not as good as you and us would have loved it to be. We pride ourselves for the high level of service we try to deliver to all our guests: a warm and friendly service, with a genuine and positive attitude and it is a shame that , on this occasion, it did not come through. The majority of the hotels do process a bond to cover for the room costs and any additional incidentals and we will look at our messaging as to avoid any confusion. The bond does allow you to have a credit within the house, meaning that any charges for extra services can be transferred to your room bill and then checked upon departure. We would love to welcoming you again in the future and extend our best hospitality. I have reached out privately. We are sorry we dropped the ball, but I am confident we can turn things around on your next visit. Warm regards, Roberto Russo General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$173 - US$260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
quality inn brisbane, quality hotel brisbane
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Quality Hotel The Inchcolm
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandBrisbane RegionBrisbane
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Inchcolm by Ovolo
Which popular attractions are close to The Inchcolm by Ovolo?
Nearby attractions include St. John's Anglican Cathedral (0.5 km), Anzac Square & Memorial Galleries (0.2 km), and Albert Street Uniting Church (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Inchcolm by Ovolo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Inchcolm by Ovolo?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Inchcolm by Ovolo?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Inchcolm by Ovolo?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Inchcolm by Ovolo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brew, La Cache a Vin, and The Alliance Hotel.
Is The Inchcolm by Ovolo located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Brisbane.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Inchcolm by Ovolo?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Inchcolm by Ovolo offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Inchcolm by Ovolo?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Boggo Road Gaol (Jail) (3.4 km), Brisbane Arcade (0.5 km), and Newstead House (2.4 km).
Is The Inchcolm by Ovolo accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.