Nomads Brisbane Hostel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Nomads Brisbane Hostel

308 Edward St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000 Australia
Traveller (199)
Double Room
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#8 of 24 hostels in Brisbane
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Nomads Brisbane has everything a backpacker could want, with our five floors offering a wide variety of rooms to appeal to everyone from the newly-arrived to the newly-wed, including dormitory and private rooms. All rooms are secured via electronic keycards, while you can keep your valuables doubly secured with our supplied lockers. Linen is also provided so there's no need to bring your sleeping bag! But that's not all. Our rooftop terrace is the place in the Brisbane CBD to catch some sun, chill out, have a BBQ or just watch the world go by while you wait for your laundry in one of our three laundry rooms. If the sun's not your thing then we also have common areas to kick back, relax, and get some quality tv time; that or cook up a feast in our guest kitchen! If you're looking for work, why not let our Job Club give you a nudge in the right direction? Likewise, our friendly travel desk staff don't just know everything about the beautiful South-East Queensland - they can give you advice about anywhere in Australia, New Zealand and the South Pacific! Downstairs the Down Under Bar is where you can go full on, flat out! Come on down to Brisbane's most famous backpacker bar where you can win great prizes, dance the night away, or even meet Mr/Mrs Right (or Mr/Mrs Right Now!). If you're after something a little quieter then our Zi Bar does great food and coffee, with regular functions to keep you entertained. Dormitories are available to genuine backpackers only. Guests MUST be over 18 years old to stay at Nomads Brisbane Hostel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Adults only
Rooftop terrace
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Paid wifi
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

308 Edward St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000 Australia
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Brisbane Intl Airport
11.7 km
See all flights
1,036Review1Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 230
  • 165
  • 188
  • 184
  • 269
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Fozzy B wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
If you want to park your car somewhere close that isn’t ridiculously expensive, then park at the King George Square Park, which is literally around the corner from the hostel. I parked the car in their at 9pm at night and I came back for it at 5pm the next day, and it cost me $40, if your travelling with a partner or friends, you can split that and I’d say that is pretty cheap for overnight parking. This is your best option unless you want to park a million miles away outside the city for free parking. FYI the car park does close after midnight, and opens again at 7am but there is a number that you can call if you need to exit with your car in between these times. The number to call is on a sign somewhere inside the car park.

The hostel itself is plain and dull, the white walls make you feel like you are staying in a mental asylum. The titanic style elevator is a fun gag, so you can have a Jack and Rose moment in there, hahaha. One main pro is that it’s central obviously and is close to everything for shopping.

Other than that if you are looking for a more fun upbeat backpacker vibe, I recommend Brisbane Backpackers resort which is where I went the next day, which is in the west end but still close to everything next to the main shopping central area and there is plenty of more reasonably affordable street parking at Backpackers resort.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brisbane Central, Guest Services / Front Office at Nomads Brisbane Hostel
Responded 20 Jan 2021
Thank you so much for the nice review, we pride ourselves on having a friendly team and making sure we are doing everything we can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thomas K wrote a review Feb 2020
Bondi, Australia1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent a few months in nomads Brisbane great place to come to meet people and make great friends.The rooms are kept to a high standard by Sue and her great team who make you feel at home.

There is a bar down stairs which is a great place to meet new people and make friends
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brisbane Central, Guest Services / Front Office at Nomads Brisbane Hostel
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Thank you for your feedback all our friendly staff are here and happy to help. we are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us in brisbane. we hope to see you again soon. Thank you Nomads
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pascale wrote a review Feb 2020
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom7 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my partner booked this hostel as our first stop when we arrived in Australia and, although we were greatful for a place to rest our heads, we wouldn't book again.
We paid extra for a private double room, as we arrived past midnight and wanted to get over our jetlag in a private space, but it really wasn't worth what we had paid and I wish we had looked into other options.
The room was unbearably hot and had no air-conditioning. The women's bathroom was fine, but the men's were grotty and the showers only had curtains, rather than doors for security.
The good thing about the hostel was the location, giving excellent access to all of central Brisbane. And we can't fault the staff either, as everyone we spoke to was really helpful and happy to speak to us - so thank you for that!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brisbane C, reception at Nomads Brisbane Hostel
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay here with us. all of our facilities (kitchen, bathrooms and showers) are cleaned 4 times a day, however if there is ever any issues just let one of our friendly staff members know and they will be more than happy to clean/ fix anything. Thank you Nomads
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Philippa G wrote a review Mar 2020
25 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Having previously had an unpleasant experience in a nomads hostel we were sceptical about this and we were right to be. We arrived with very little communication from the guy on reception nothing more then 'I need your ID'. Room was very basic which is what you expect but you certainly dont expect bed bugs which is horrific. Bathrooms are apparently cleaned 4 times a day which I struggled to believe and there was no toilet roll changes and pubes left around the sink for a whole day. We had a private room to avoid being kept up which didnt happen noise from the base bar commenced till 3am which is less than ideal when leaving at 5am. We entered the kitchen once and swiftly left, sinks were full of stagnant water and dirty pots safe to say we did not eat here!! Overall I would never stay at a nomads again or recommend to anyway please steer clear!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brisbane Central, Guest Services / Front Office at Nomads Brisbane Hostel
Responded 20 Mar 2020
Hello Philippa, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy at Nomads Brisbane. Due to us being a backpacker hostel we cannot avoid the noise from our awesome downunder bar. If you ever have any problems with the cleanness of our facilities, please let someone from our awesome 24/7 hour reception team know. If you have issues with the friendliness of our staff please contact our management. Best wishes, Nomads Brisbane
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Beau S wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
F**king awful. Toilets are broken and showers are rubbish, they are not clean at all, hair is everywhere and they are constantly flooded. No wet sign and nearly slipped and fell over. kitchen is dirt! Do not cook in there, there’s not enough hobs for the whole hostel to use, not to mention only two fridges that are working. The rooms smell of damn and mould with awful and limited plugs to charge your phones, which you need to get into the rooms with. Cleaning staff are backpackers getting free accommodation, we had two “staff” members run into our room late out night shouting “house keeping” so lock your valuables away!
Air con doesn’t work, when telling reception they said they can get someone to fix it the next day, when we wouldn’t be there. Lift is 100 years old. Walking in the corridors and there’s a pizza left on the hinge of a door. Power is constantly going out in the rooms.
24 hours reception however when we went to check out in the morning at 7am and which we warned them we was leaving early. No one was there. We had to let the delivery guy in who was also waiting. A guy eventually rocks up 10 minutes after looking half asleep. Don’t waste your money on this hostel. Not worth it for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thu T wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff was abrupt and unprofessional. No smiling. No welcoming. When I came in, before I even got to say anything the first thing they told me was " All I need is your ID". The hostel doesn't have a key to the room and the procedure of turning your phone into the room's key was complicated but the person who checked me in didn't even explain or inform me a word about it. Turned out I didn't even need keys cause the room cannot be locked. Poor security. The room itself was so hot it keeps me up all night. Elevator is old and looks like it's from the 80s (doors need to be opened and close manually). When I showered, boiling hot water came out on both cold and hot water switch. After a while, hot water came out of the cold water switch and cold water came out of the hot water switch. Bed was squeaky but the worst part is the room either has no AC or AC is terrible broken. My room was literraly too hot to sleep. Worst hostel ever.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brisbane C, receptionist at Nomads Brisbane Hostel
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Thank you for your review, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay here with us.reception is always open, so if there’s ever any issues, next time please just let one of our staff members know so we can fix it right away for them. Thank you nomads
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Penny wrote a review Jun 2020
London, United Kingdom26 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was due to stay at this hostel in March and I arrived in Australia just when all the travel restrictions were starting to be applied. Due to this situation, my plans have changed therefore I was no longer able to honour my two weeks booking at Nomads Brisbane. I emailed the hostel the day before my arrival to cancel and they informed me there wasn’t going to be any refund. Their terms & conditions clearly stated that I was entitled to a full refund minus the deposit and the first night which I obviously was fine with since the total I have paid was almost $600 (around £300).
I called the hostel to ask why I wasn’t getting anything back and the first person I spoke with told me to call later and speak with the manager since they couldn’t deal with it (I work in a hostel myself and team members are fully trained on how to deal with cancellations from the very beginning).
It took me 3 days of calls and conversations with incredibly untrained members of staff to finally get hold of “the manager”, Matt (?).
He simply told me that I wasn’t gonna get any money back because I cancelled too late. I had to repeat several times that the t&c stayed something different until he eventually just dismissed me by saying “if you want you can just write a complaint, bye”.
I visited the hostel a couple of days later to try and discuss this and the guy at the reception checked my booking and told me that a refund was already being processed and I would get the money back within a week, so I left.
Worth mentioning that during my brief visit I looked a bit around and the hostel looked grim. It’s dark, dirty and smelly. As soon as you walk in there is a very pungent smell of damp/dirty socks that invades your nostrils so aggressively.
I then emailed them a few weeks later to ask where my money was and once again they told me they weren’t gonna give me anything back.
So I decided to get in touch with my bank and dispute the transaction.
Obviously I was right so they had to refund me everything.
It only took them over 3 months.
I wouldn’t recommend this place even for a night. Absolutely rubbish!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brisbane Central, Guest Services / Front Office at Nomads Brisbane Hostel
Responded 20 Jan 2021
Thank you for your review! We are currently making improvements to our rooms and facilities. We appreciate the feedback and will strive to improve in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Madangmum wrote a review Jun 2022
Brisbane, Australia37 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am an older woman who stayed on a Tuesday night to attend a course the next day.
Perfect location took the train from domestic airport directly to Central railway, walked diagonally across the road to the heritage listed building.
Staff were extremely friendly and polite.
The lift was older so the two doors one wood, one metal, needed to be held to move luggage in or out. Totally manageable.
Room was single with shared facilities. It was a very cold night so was happy I had my beanie and coat to add to the light doona for warmth. After 10pm the hotel was quiet and I slept well.
Showering was better than anticipated, hot water, adequate lockable shower room. Toilets were clean and functioning.
The bedrooms lock with a keypad or app on your phone.
I have stayed in many hotels in the Brisbane CBD over the years and can truthfully say for the price it is good value. Some of the hotels I have stayed in charge up to four times as much and don’t even have consistent hot water. I did not need the kitchen so cannot comment.
It is a heritage building so don’t expect modern and new! Overall a win for price and position.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Crazytravel wrote a review Jan 2021
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nomads had everything I needed for an overnight stay when I was passing through Brisbane. Staff were super friendly and helpful, check in was an absolute breeze and the location is perfect (literally a stones throw from the train station). Will hopefully bring a few mates with me next time round!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brisbane Central, Guest Services / Front Office at Nomads Brisbane Hostel
Responded 20 Jan 2021
Thank you for that, we do strive to have staff that are exited about creating the best possible stay for our guests! Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carla wrote a review Oct 2022
11 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
A guy staying in our room peed over our stuff in the middle of the night. We woke up to his penis out and were terrified. Security took a while to get him out and left us alone in the room with him at times while he packed.
This wouldn’t have happened if we’d had lockers in the room to leave our stuff, but there were NO LOCKERS in the room.
This morning the receptionist refused to give us antibacterial wipes to try to clean our stuff.
I’ve stayed in quite a few hostels, and the vibe of each hostel will attract different types of people. Don’t stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Arafashira asked a question Jul 2017
Arau, Malaysia10 contributions1 helpful vote
Can I store luggage after check out ? It is free?
Answer from yoonhee K
30 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes. After checking out, it is possible to keep your luggage for free.
Anna C wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Come here to enjoy you experience in Brisbane."
Read full review
javiera b wrote a tip Jan 2024
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just prepare yourself for the best experience of your life!!"
Read full review
riuqwe l wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay here longer"
Read full review
Tourist752778 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom31 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hostel"
Read full review
PaulHawker19 wrote a tip May 2023
7 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here. Better off sleeping on the street"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Brisbane area.
PRICE RANGE
$51 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
base brisbane central hotel brisbane
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Base Brisbane Central
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandBrisbane RegionBrisbane
NUMBER OF ROOMS
136
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NOMADS BRISBANE HOSTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Nomads Brisbane Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Nomads Brisbane Hostel?
Nearby attractions include Fox In a Box Brisbane Escape Rooms (0.4 km), Bos Tours Queensland (0.3 km), and Cathedral of St. Stephen (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nomads Brisbane Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, laundry service, and free internet access.
What food & drink options are available at Nomads Brisbane Hostel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Nomads Brisbane Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Betty's Burgers, Wolf Restaurant, and Corbett & Claude.
Is Nomads Brisbane Hostel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Brisbane.
Are any cleaning services offered at Nomads Brisbane Hostel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Nomads Brisbane Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Nomads Brisbane Hostel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Boggo Road Gaol (Jail) (3.1 km), Brisbane Arcade (0.2 km), and Newstead House (2.6 km).
All Brisbane HotelsBrisbane Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BrisbaneHotels near Nomads Brisbane Hostel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire