The Tank Stream Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Tank Stream Hotel

97-99 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 Australia
Traveller (287)
Panorama of the Premium Queen Room at The Tank Stream Hotel
360
Panoramas (6)
Le Petit Flot at The Tank Stream Hotel
Dining (64)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#37 of 193 hotels in Sydney
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Nestled in the heart of Sydney's CBD, the Tank Stream Hotel is only minutes away from major tourist attractions and transport hubs, making it the ideal location for both business and leisure travellers. Offering high speed Wi-Fi, in-room entertainment, screen casting, espresso pod machines and premium bathroom products, our rooms have been designed with functionality and comfort in mind. Our hotel restaurant, Le Petit Flot allows guests to enjoy delicious dishes using seasonal ingredients in our beautiful French-inspired restaurant, or in the comfort of their own room.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
On-demand films
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Chinese, German and 5 more

Location

97-99 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 Australia
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Sydney Airport
Wynyard
4 minSydney Trains
Martin Place
5 minSydney Trains
1,311Review28Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 609
  • 495
  • 135
  • 47
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
kd2226 wrote a review Jan 2021
NSW Australia274 contributions183 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Smallest hotel room we’ve ever stayed in in Australia.
Complimentary mini bar (no alcohol) included water, lemonade and muesli bars.
No place to easily/legally pull up to unload the luggage.
Great location in the heart of the CBD, so an easy walk to Westfield, restaurants, theatres, public transport, Darling Harbour, the Rocks, Circular Quay, etc.
Staff were very nice.
Non-impressive lobby - just a place to check in.
There is a bar/restaurant upstairs.
They don’t have parking onsite. You have to park in a Wilson parking garage a block or so away. The hotel advertises that they will validate your ticket and this will get you a special deal of $25 a night for parking... but we were charged $40. I have had multiple emails back and forth with the hotel, as they are trying to get us a refund. This happened over a month ago - and we are still waiting...
There are so many hotels to choose from in Sydney, we probably won’t return to this one.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Klaus Kinateder, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel
Responded 6 Jan 2021
Hi Kristel, Please accept our apologies regarding the over-charge on the parking. I believe that our operations manager has been in contact with you and is liaising with Wilsons Parking on the refund for you. Due to the Pandemic, Wilsons has reduced it's workforce like many business and it is taking much longer for them to process. I have followed this up with our operations manager again and asked that he try and have this resolved for you. Thank you for your patience in this matter and hope that you had a nice Xmas and New Year.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RQMills wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A short walk from anywhere, this clean quiet room was perfect allowing us to venture off to city highlights. Metro was nearby and sidewalks generally wide enough to tow luggage while allowing others to pass. Room was tight for two people/two weeks of luggage, and not great for eating take-away food as we often were out all day and not into dining out at night. Wifi reconnected quickly as we came/went after setting it up day one.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Klaus K, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OzRichie wrote a review Nov 2020
Sydney, Australia127 contributions104 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is right in the centre of the city, so perfect for business or tourists (we are 'tourists at home', as we can't travel far in this crazy time).
The staff are super attentive (we've visited before, so this is their normal approach to customer service). The rooms are functional, not large, but very well maintained, and the complimentary minibar (nonalcoholic) was a nice touch. My only concern was getting the coffee machine to work (user error, but it kept defauling to medium rather than full cup :-) ).
Le Petit Flot restaurant on level 2 is excellent. Even in these trying times the staff provided great service and the food was excellent.
This is our 4th visit to le Petit Flot over the last couple of years, and our first stay at the hotel (although we've had friends stay previously and they really enjoyed it).
I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Klaus Kinateder, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel
Responded 12 Nov 2020
Hi Richie Firstly thank you so much for your kind words and continued loyalty of the hotel and restaurant. Hope that you are booking direct and taking advantage of the great deals that we have......at the moment we have the mid-week fling, which is available weekdays Mon to Thur. It includes overnight accommodation and a 3 course dinner for 2 in Le Petit Flot for only $199. Actually, I think that I extended this deal as you could not travel till 2nd Nov....lol
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BelRae wrote a review Feb 2020
Sydney, Australia230 contributions155 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is one of the worst hotels I have stayed at in the Sydney CBD in this price range. The carpet throughout the hotel is filthy and needs to be cleaned or ripped up. The rooms are like being in an inside cabin on a cruise ship. I had zero external windows. The only window I did have looked over at the elevators and the lights from the corridor shined through all night. As a result the room felt dark and dingy. The free mini bar consisted of a bottle of tonic water and there was only tea bags next to the coffee pod machine. They advertise these extras but then they don’t restock them after previous guests. I won’t stay here again. I would much prefer a clean hotel with natural light given the price they are charging.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Klaus K, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel
Responded 2 Feb 2020
Hi BelRae, To follow up the issues that you had with the room will need to know the room you occupied and date. Know the on-line travel agent you booked with as you posted the same review but Annonymously. In regards to the room that you booked, the information that we give the 3rd party agents is that the Atrium Rooms are (Internal Facing) and are 15 Sqm in size and looking at their web-site they have this listed in the main heading but you may have missed this. The mini bars are re-stocked every day and we are not about to skrimp on 3 bottles of soda - Also if you would have bought this to our attention we would have re-stocked this immediately for you. Again, if I know the room that you occupied and the date I can check to see what happened. From experience the only time that this happens is when we let guests check in early rather than wait till 3pm and we have not had time to get to all the rooms. This is the same as the coffee pods but you may have mistaken the wrapped pods for tea bags, this is quite common as we use the Aurora blend by Vittoria, which are wrapped to keep them fresh. The carpets are worn and agree that they need to be replaced and this work will start at the beginning of April. We will do one floor a week and the project should be finished mid to late June.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pumpkin20 wrote a review Sept 2022
Bathurst, Australia331 contributions151 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Although the rooms are compact they are spacious, with everything you could need. I particularly liked having a full length mirror & bright lighting ( most hotel room lights are so dim) the off site parking is easy to access & very reasonably priced. There was bottled water ( both still & sparking) lemonade & tonic water & muesli bars as part of the room cost. The staff were very friendly & we were able to access our room early.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room was quiet and had block out blinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Klaus Kinateder, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel
Responded 25 Sept 2022
Thanks Pumpkin 20 and hope to see you again soon...
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alan L wrote a review Sept 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked 2 rooms and we love the cleanliness of the rooms and service rendered to us by the staff in the reception area. Special thanks to the reception staff (especially Nicholas) who was ever attentive and helpful in many ways to make our stay a very pleasant one indeed. The early check in provided to us was also a bonus as we had taken a red-eye flight from Kuala Lumpur and needless to say, having the rooms before we start our Sydney holidays was most welcoming and appreciated.

The housekeeping team should also be commented for ensuring our rooms are always spick and span to welcome us back after each long day visiting Sydney and its surrounding areas of interest.

The location of the hotel is also top notch as it is very near to the Rocks and Circular Quay.

Lastly we would also like to extend our sincere appreciation and thanks to Mr William Chen (Reservation Manager) who has gone out of his way to accommodate us on the numerous changes we made on the travel dates because of Covid-19 pandemic.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We were on the 8F and it seems to be quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Klaus Kinateder, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel
Responded 25 Sept 2022
Hi Alan, Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I will be sure to copy the team, especially Nicholas, William and the room attendant/s in on your feedback and know that they will really appreciate your kind words. Take care and hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pinkbat wrote a review Jul 2023
Australia13 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I chose this hotel due to it being within walking distance to the art galleries, botanic gardens and The Rocks markets, and being value for money for its location and quality. While the room is fairly small, that was of no concern because it was clean and tastefully decorated with a beautiful bathroom. Our room was quiet, including hearing no sound from the passage or neighbouring rooms. Even though the hotel was booked out that weekend, everything went calmly and smoothly which is a testament to the check-in and cleaning staff. The breakfast buffet was the area for improvement. Apart from being quite basic, the food and coffee was not hot enough on either morning.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Klaus Kinateder, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel
Responded 27 Jul 2023
Hi Pinkbat, Thanks for taking the time to let us know how your stay was, it sounds like you had a great weekend away. I will make sure to pass on your kind feedback to our Front Office and Housekeeping teams. Thanks for letting me know regarding the breakfast, it is an area we are currently working hard to improve. Hopefully we get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon, Rebecca
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annieco1 wrote a review Mar 2021
Wollongong, Australia275 contributions160 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for an extended weekend at The Tank Stream Hotel a few weeks ago and were really pleased with our choice. The hotel is in a great location, so close to everything in Sydney CBD. We were easily able to walk everywhere. Our room was beautifully clean and spacious enough for us, bed was comfortable and bathroom modern and fresh. We enjoyed a Premium King room at a very good price, thanks to special rates for Rydges members. The room was very quiet all night with great block-out curtains. We dined one night at the hotel's Le Petit Flot restaurant which didn't disappoint either - fantastic French-inspired meal !! Hotel and restaurant staff were all friendly and efficient. The Hotel Operations Manager Fatih was particularly welcoming, and always greeted us with a friendly smile. He was genuinely pleased when we told him how much we enjoyed both our stay and meal at Le Petit Flot. Highly recommend !!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Klaus Kinateder, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel
Responded 16 Mar 2021
Hi Annieco1, Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review the hotel for us. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team, especially Fatih.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Penny N wrote a review Mar 2020
Western Australia, Australia21 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a fabulous place to stay! Central to everything! As per other reviews our room was small BUT we were only there to sleep so didn’t bother us in the slightest! Bathroom is fabulous and the room is clean and up to date! If you want somewhere to stay at a very reasonable price that is in walking distance to everything in the city you couldn’t do any better! The staff are more than helpful and very friendly! Will definitely stay here on our next trip to Sydney. Guess could pay twice the price for a view...but I can walk to the view in no time and that’s way better 👌👌👌
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Klaus Kinateder, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Hi Just for Fun....Thanks for staying with us and hope that you took advantage of our great deals when you book direct. Hope to see you back soon..
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah P wrote a review Apr 2021
Sydney, Australia27 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved it. Nice modern rooms, a bit on the small side but very clean and modern. The bed was big and super comfortable. Great location, rooms were very quiet, staff were helpful, and the price was affordable and well-suited to the quality of the hotel. We hope to make it a regular place to stay on trips to Sydney.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Klaus Kinateder, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel
Responded 18 Apr 2021
Thanks for your kind words Sarah....Next time you book make sure that you check out our site for the best deels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cheryl H asked a question Nov 2023
Honolulu, Hawaii27 contributions24 helpful votes
Do they have coin operated washers and dryers for my use?
Answer from Rebecca H
Sydney, Australia3 helpful votes
All of the rooms at the hotel have a private ensuite...thats what happens when book with a 3rd party....check out the hotels official site
Tracey G asked a question Mar 2020
Midland, Australia347 contributions117 helpful votes
Are there any smoking areas at this hotel
Answer from Klaus K
Greater Sydney, Australia
The only area is at the front of the hotel.
Tracey G asked a question Mar 2020
Midland, Australia347 contributions117 helpful votes
what are transport options getting to Circular Quay cruise terminal from this hotel
Answer from Klaus K
Greater Sydney, Australia
Depending on how much luggage that you have you can either walk as it is only about 10 minute walk or a taxi can be ordered by reception for you.
2015happytimes asked a question Feb 2020
Marietta, Georgia1 contribution2 helpful votes
Is ice available for guests staying in a room ?
Answer from Klaus K
Greater Sydney, Australia
We have limited ice available. You can call reception for this request
Dave wrote a tip Mar 2024
Sheffield, United Kingdom129 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the train from the airport to Wynyard station..5min walk to hotel..less than £4/person."
Read full review
Jan N wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check pricing at other hotels, wish I had booked at the Marriott also in the CBD"
Read full review
Lisa T wrote a tip Feb 2024
Champaign, Illinois25 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The breakfast area is very busy and sometimes there are few/no seats to be had. Turnover is fast, so this is not a big issue. "
Read full review
ND F wrote a tip Jan 2024
Vancouver, Canada549 contributions82 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stayed here prior to departing on a cruise. Many cruise guests stay here due to proximity to harbour. Can walk to Circular Quay. "
Read full review
mzrazzaque wrote a tip Jan 2024
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are several other hotels in that area cheaper and better than this."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sydney area.
PRICE RANGE
$223 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyCentral Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
273
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE TANK STREAM HOTEL - Now $220 (Was $̶2̶9̶3̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Sydney, Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Tank Stream Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Tank Stream Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Next Level Escape (0.1 km), Altmann + Cherny - Australian Opals (0.4 km), and The Strand Arcade (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Tank Stream Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Tank Stream Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Tank Stream Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Tank Stream Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Tank Stream Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include AALIA Restaurant Sydney, Zahli, and Gelato Messina Circular Quay.
Is The Tank Stream Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Sydney.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Tank Stream Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Tank Stream Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Tank Stream Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, Russian, Chinese, Turkish, and Vietnamese.
Are there any historical sites close to The Tank Stream Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting State Theatre (0.6 km), Anzac Memorial (1.2 km), and St. Mary's Cathedral (0.8 km).
All Sydney HotelsSydney Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SydneyHotels near The Tank Stream Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire