28 Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

28 Hotel

28-30 Regent St Chippendale, Sydney, New South Wales 2008 Australia
Traveller (109)
Panorama of the Max Queen (PRE-RENOVATION) Room at the 28Hotel
360
Panoramas (4)
View of Central Train Station from room 407.
Room & Suite (90)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#52 of 194 hotels in Sydney
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
28 Hotel has drowned hotel cliches in Sydney and offers affordable luxury. We have created a hotel with a stylish living like lobby, comfortable beds and the things we think should be complimentary in the 21st Century, such as Wi-Fi, 24/7 Nespresso tea & coffee, express breakfast and national calls.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Wifi
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese

Location

28-30 Regent St Chippendale, Sydney, New South Wales 2008 Australia
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Sydney Airport
Central
6 minSydney Trains
Redfern
11 minSydney Trains
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles701 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

28 Hotel captures the hearts of guests with its hospitable atmosphere, complete with complimentary coffee, pastries, and personalized touches like birthday surprises. Visitors appreciate the hotel's central location and the value it offers, though some note the rooms could benefit from attention to maintenance and enhanced cleaning. The comfortable beds receive high marks, as does the friendly service, which includes a complimentary breakfast. While suggestions have been made to improve in-room amenities and noise control, the overall cleanliness and safety for families are consistently commended.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Basic
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Helpful
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
701Reviews14Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 332
  • 250
  • 80
  • 21
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Roshan V wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am a student and I stayed in the hotel for 2 days which were my first days in Sydney.
I wanted to explore the area to get a feel of the city I was in, but I was initially lost as to how to approach it all. However, the receptionist Nakul Nahar was invaluable in helping me find my way around the city. Alongside personally caring for my experience in the hotel, he also cared for my overall experience in Sydney. Besides the friendly staff, the hotel itself was excellent for how much it costs. They may not provide breakfast, but the rooms are very clean and stylish and the hotel is situated in a very central location where people can easily explore major attractions in Sydney.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 28Hotel, Manager at 28 Hotel
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Hi Roshan, We are thankful to you for your wonderful comments. I am happy to know that Nakul cared you during your stay with us. I will definitely let him know about it and I am sure, he’ll be happy for that. We do have breakfast arrangement with us, in addition to the complimentary grab and go bites, which you can book before or during your stay with us. Looking forward to see you back soon. Regards Muneeb Ibrahim
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eileenmytsui wrote a review Dec 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating to us when my friends needed to check in/drop bags off at different times. The room we booked (family room) was very spacious and so was the bathroom. Ventilation wasn't great in the bathroom (watch out for hot showers) but overall, the price and location of the stay is unlikely to be beaten! I would stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nakul Nahar, Guest Services / Front Office at 28 Hotel
Responded 22 Jan 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are thrilled to read you found all the makings for a wonderful stay at 28 Hotel and do hope you were able to take some time to relax and unwind during your stay. We do look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay in the near future. Best wishes, Nakul Nahar
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
MojoTrainer wrote a review May 2021
Sydney, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I came in to Sydney for a networking event & wanted somewhere walking distance. 28 was perfect. Walk out the door & turn right, and you're on George Street in 50 metres. Turn left and you're a 6 minute walk from Central Station. The room looked exactly like it did on Airbnb and there were nice touches I didn't expect for a budget price - including free tea & coffee in the lobby, and an iron, microwave & hairdryer in my room. (Some places charge extra or you have to ask for them.) It was absolutely quiet, sparkling clean, and comfortable. And the super-fast wifi was indeed super-fast, so I was able to do my business calls in the afternoon before heading to the event.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicky Van, Guest Services / Front Office at 28 Hotel
Responded 8 May 2021
Dear Mojo Trainer, Thank you for choosing 28 Hotel and taking the time to leave a great review. We are delighted to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Should there be anything we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable, please do let us know. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Warm regards, Nicky Van.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kellyc0nnell wrote a review Feb 2020
Canberra, Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The room had no window and was near the air conditioner for the building so extremely noisy but the room itself was very clean and functional. The staff were excellent and the offer downstairs of coffee and snacks was great. Location to the convention centre and light rail was handy.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Muneeb Ibrahim, Other at 28 Hotel
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Hi Kelly, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. The staff work hard to help wherever possible and we are pleased to hear their friendly nature has not gone unnoticed. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you have experienced. We are disappointed to hear you felt uncomfortable due to your allocated room. We do have rooms which are quite and with windows but your booking was for the one without window. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back at 28 Hotel in the near future. Best wishes, Muneeb Ibrahim
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eric L wrote a review Dec 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Always friendly arrival service upgrades make you feel welcomed attentive, great location easy walk to Chinatown or central station. Bed is comfortable with fresh crisp sheets, good quality. Telephone not working and missing extension cord
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nakul Nahar, Guest Services / Front Office at 28 Hotel
Responded 10 Dec 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. The staff works hard to help wherever possible and we are pleased to hear their friendly nature has not gone unnoticed. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you have experienced. We do take all feedback seriously and we will investigate the departments and areas you have highlighted, to take the opportune measures with the aim of avoiding such inconveniences in the future. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Sydney, Best regards, Nakul Nahar
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan wrote a review Jul 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location was handy for early morning train travel. Rooms need cups and teaspoons for tea/coffee making - no point in having a kettle in there otherwise.

Curtains were terrible and did not cover the entire windows so room was lit up like a Christmas tree all night making sleep elusive.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rano Huang, General Manager at 28 Hotel
Responded 28 Jul 2020
Thank you T1802BYsusanc for your feedback. I am glad that our location works well for your travel needs. We are so lucky to be in such a good spot. I will certainly take your feedback on board and feel free to call us at '9' as we also have 24-hour Front desk team that is more than happy to assist. I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Regards, Rano Hotel Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael L wrote a review Jan 2020
Greater Newcastle, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very convenient location close to central station. Nice room and friendly staff. Complimentary coffee is good quality and grab and run breakfast worked well for me. The twenty four hour reception makes this very functional for a quick stop before and after international flight
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 28Hotel, Manager at 28 Hotel
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Hi MichaellC2120DW, Awesome! We are super happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at 28 Hotel! Your kind praises about our friendly Guest Services team are sincerely appreciated and will be shared with the team, we know they will be delighted! The team and I look forward to seeing you back soon. Best wishes, Muneeb Ibrahim
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GraceNie wrote a review Oct 2022
Hamilton, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The average:
The room was very small, which was expected. Barely had space to open up the checked in suitcase.
The bed was on wheels and not secured, so it can roll around a little.
6 power outlets but 3 were plugged in already and 1 was very hard to reach. The lamp was ok but not very bright. An extra power bar for electronics would be a nice to have.
There didn't seem to be a functioning exhaust fan in the bathroom, but apparently there is, it's just fan-less and doesn't make noise.

The bad:
The air con was on the entire time and could not be turned off, which would've been fine except it was a very small room and the wind was blowing right above the bed. Also the temperature of the wind was either too hot or too cold, and the room temperature control was not intuitive nor sensitive.

The microwave was not plugged in and had to be moved from its shelf down to a wallplug as there were none near where it was placed.

I purchased late checkout on the first day of a four day stay, but somehow the hotel staff did not realise that on checkout day and called saying we had to leave.

The good:
Staff were nice.
There's a mini fridge, iron, hair dryer, microwave, kettle, and high speed wifi within the room, which is surprisingly rare nowadays.
The location was great. Right next to Chippendale, Central Park shops, UTS, Central Station, etc.

Overall: decently priced private room for Sydney CBD, if you're ok with an older building with some questionable room designs.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring a power bar if you have many electronics.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 28 Hotel
Responded 18 Nov 2022
Hi GraceNie, Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback with us and the TripAdvisor community. I am pleased to hear that our central location and great customer service were well received. Here at 28 Hotel we always strive to deliver exceptional guest experiences and it is always nice to know that our efforts have been noticed. I am deeply sorry for the inconvenience caused by the air conditioner. This has been passed on to our maintenance team for further investigation and resolution. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Max Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin K wrote a review Apr 2021
Canberra, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The 28 hotel is in an excellent location alongside Broadway, Spice Alley and walking distance to Central Station. Rooms were very clean. For larger guests, you may find the rooms a little cramped, especially in the bathroom, but the price means you are not paying for anything you don’t need.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nakul Nahar, Guest Services / Front Office at 28 Hotel
Responded 9 Apr 2021
Dear 684KevinK, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review! We are disappointed to hear you felt uncomfortable due to the size of your allocated room. If there is availability we do let guests know there are opportunities to upgrade to larger rooms, however, on this occasion it was not possible. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back at 28 Hotel in the near future, please book with us directly to obtain exclusive complimentary offerings and an alternate room. Best wishes, Nakul
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gregory T wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Reception staff were friendly, helpful. The room was clean, had all the basic necessities and the location was convenient. Free eats and coffee in the reception area are an added attraction. Room service, featuring a wide variety of food at different times, an added attraction.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 28Hotel, Manager at 28 Hotel
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Dear GregorytW8504WC, Thank you for the review and your wonderful comments! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at 28 Hotel. I will definitely let my team know about what you commented about them. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you’re in Sydney, Regards Muneeb Ibrahim
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nnnevvv asked a question Oct 2020
6 contributions6 helpful votes
would checking in at about 10pm on a Thursday be possible? Thanks
Answer from Aash S
Definitely we have 24/7 reception
susancZ1776UQ asked a question Apr 2019
Hong Kong, China76 contributions3 helpful votes
Any shuttle from airport to ur hotel? Time table pls! I have booked already on 5 May 2019.
Answer from 28Hotel
Sydney, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear susancZ1776UQ, We are excited to welcome you to 28Hotel. Please see below for some of the best ways to get to us: Train - $17.90 per person, 15 minutes travel time to Central Station. If you take this option getting to us you are best to follow the signs out to the south concourse. From there, we are located a straight 5-minute walk. You can purchase an opal card from the relevant machines. Taxi - Approximately $60.00 depending on traffic, 45 minutes’ travel time. If you take this option, the taxi stand is just out the front of each of the terminals on the lower level. AirBus – Airport Shuttle Bus - $16 per person, 50 minutes travel time. Guests arriving at Domestic Terminal need to make their way to the bus stop, which is located between Terminal 2 and 3. The shuttle leaves the bus stop every 30 minutes.  Guests arriving at International terminal need to proceed to meeting point, located between gates B and C.  Tickets can be purchased from the driver of the bus or can be purchased online. We do suggest AirBus as the best transfer company. The team here at 28 Hotel look forward to your safe arrival. Warm Regards, Anthony Guest Service Agent 28 Hotel Leonard’s Pick-up Pricing 2 People Airport to Hotel: $90 12 People Airport to Hotel: $160 2 People Hotel to Airport (return): $60 12 People Hotel to Airport (return): $120 These prices include: ⦁ GST ⦁ Tolls ⦁ Parking ⦁ Up to 2 hours wait time ⦁ Personalised pick-up at the arrivals gate (Please look for the sign showing 28 Hotel).
Answer from kent542015
Central Arizona, Arizona14 contributions1 helpful vote
We’ve stayed twice and both times our rooms had a private bath. The room and bath are immaculate.
royalMerseyside asked a question Jan 2018
merseyside19 contributions16 helpful votes
Is there safe in the room
Answer from BobAustralia62
Newcastle, Australia97 contributions39 helpful votes
I don't think so.
kirksy asked a question Nov 2017
Blacktown, Australia
Can I stay if I’m almost 18? Can I pay in cash??
Ruth N wrote a tip Jun 2024
Canberra, Australia13 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just appreciate this short stay place for what it is. Not fancy. But very practical and clean. Good value for money in a great spot. "
Read full review
noelles2000 wrote a tip May 2024
Melbourne, Australia5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Excellent value"
Read full review
lance t wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"take ear plugs if you want a good sleep. The air conditioning system roars all night"
Read full review
Julie H wrote a tip May 2024
8 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Budget hotel. Basic"
Read full review
Morris S wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"there are so many possibility to eat very good around the hotel and visit the fish market is not that far from hotel! "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sydney area.
PRICE RANGE
$135 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyInner West
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

28 HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Sydney, Australia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about 28 Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to 28 Hotel?
Nearby attractions include White Rabbit Gallery (0.3 km), Central Railway Station (0.4 km), and Fantastic Race Sydney (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at 28 Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, airport transportation, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at 28 Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at 28 Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 28 Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Platform 818, KOI Dessert Bar, and Mekong.
Does 28 Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, 28 Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at 28 Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to 28 Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting State Theatre (1.6 km), Anzac Memorial (1.2 km), and St. Mary's Cathedral (1.8 km).
Is 28 Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Sydney HotelsSydney Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SydneyHotels near 28 Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire