We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
874 Purangi Road, Cooks Beach, Whitianga New Zealand
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (2)
Dining (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 5 Specialty lodging in Cooks Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Cooks Beach Resort offers a wide range of accommodation options from powered camp sites and cabins to fully self contained beach cottages. 4.5 Star facilities with fully equipped kitchen and lounge with sky tv.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Spa
BBQ facilities
Self-serve laundry
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
142Reviews1Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 98
  • 26
  • 5
  • 5
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Shelley M wrote a review Feb 2022
4 contributions
We stayed in the delux cabin for three nights. It was very small, but we were expecting that. The weather was beautiful, but extremely hot. The cabin was like a sauna by the evening, there is a definite need for a small air conditioning unit, or at the very least a ceiling fan. There was a small window above the bed but due to flying insects etc it was impossible to have it open at night. The complex is lovely and well set out. The facilities were very good. But when you don’t get much sleep because of the heat in your room, it does put a pall on your holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gareth K wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We were very disappointed that we had very noisy and disrespectful groups surrounding us. There was no enforcement of the ‘rules’ and mgmt did nothing to resolve it. Music playing until after midnight and 3am on our final night. We walked around looking for the ‘security’ we were told were there but didn’t find anyone. It’s a nice setting but unfortunately our stay was certainly not restful for a so called family camp.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sarah Donovan wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Enjoyed a peaceful couple of nights here.Excellent facilities kept spotlessly clean and very friendly staff. We really enjoyed use of the spa in the evenings. Great location with some lovely walks nearby. A highlight for us was a walk to Shakespeare Cliff Lookout followed by a walk down to Lonely bay. We will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cooks Beach, General Manager at Cooks Beach Resort
Responded 16 Oct 2021
Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to see you again
Read more
Mark wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
We love this location and have come here regularly in summer. However, traveling off-peak our experience was much different. Sharing 2 toilets for 8+ different groups was a little light. When we enquired about opening up the main toilet block, we were told this was not possible. When enough people finally complained - they opened it reluctantly and shut off the other two toilets/showers. However, there was no hot water. This was after telling them a number of times we had no hot water. We have stayed at heaps of Top 10's and other quality camping grounds, but this time for our stay we felt like we were a burden to be there. (We are supporting local in COVID times!)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cooks Beach, General Manager at Cooks Beach Resort
Responded 16 Oct 2021
Thank you for your review this helped us understand our inconsistency and apologies for your experience you had. We hope to see you return to the Resort
Read more
GetawayNZ wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Can definitely recommend Cooks Beach Resort. Great location. Great facilities for families and lovely hosts! We stayed in our caravan but their a lots of accommodation options here. Really enjoyed our stay and will be back. Thanks so much :)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cooks Beach, General Manager at Cooks Beach Resort
Responded 16 Oct 2021
Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to see you again
Read more
McMurph007 wrote a review Sep 2021
Matamata, New Zealand10 contributions
Found the resort online whilst exploring the Coromandel Peninsula in a motorhome. Intended to stay 1 night and ended up basing ourselves here for the remainder of our trip! From the moment we arrived the Managers, Corrie and Mienie, made us incredibly welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The Resort really is a credit to them! Everything is top notch, clean, modern and spacious. Facilities the best we have seen on our travels. We were so impressed we immediately told our family and friends it was a 'must stay' spot. Close to the beach, local shops, and the ferry to Whitianga. We will definitely be back. Cheers Corrie and Mienie for a great stay! Rick
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cooks Beach, General Manager at Cooks Beach Resort
Responded 16 Oct 2021
Thank You for your lovely comments and we look forward to see you again
Read more
Bill M wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions
This would be the nicest place we have stayed at. Great facilities that are in spotless condition. The grounds are well cared for and the sites are spacious. The hosts are friendly and made us feel welcome. Will certainly be back here next time we are in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cooks Beach, General Manager at Cooks Beach Resort
Responded 16 Oct 2021
Thanks for your lovely comments and we look forward to see you again
Read more
Wilbe Soon wrote a review Sep 2021
3 contributions
This is a nice tidy (at the moment quiet) place to stay - quick drive to beach also to Flaxmill to catch the passenger ferry across to Whitianga which leaves every five minutes until 9.30pm. Nice grounds and kept beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cooks Beach, General Manager at Cooks Beach Resort
Responded 16 Oct 2021
Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to see you again
Read more
uhipese@gmail.com wrote a review Aug 2021
Wellington, New Zealand2 contributions1 helpful vote
We don't travel very often but when we do we expect the best. At Cooks Beach resort we had a wonderful time, the receptionist serve us with a smile, we book a self contain cabin that sleep 8 people and a small cabin that sleep two. The room was spacious for me and my family. We didn't spend much time at the cabin but when we do, it almost feel like home. The accomodation was clean inside and outside, the pool was great for my grown boys, it was a walking distance to the beach. Wow! talk about the beach what a beauty, it almost look like the Cook Island white sandy beach. We had a lovely time there. I would recommend going to Cooks beach resort to everyone I know to go there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: self contain cabin, own bathroom own kitchen. all quiet, no noise perhaps the road if you are...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cooks Beach, General Manager at Cooks Beach Resort
Responded 16 Oct 2021
Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to see you again
Read more
Donna S wrote a review Apr 2021
Wellington, New Zealand8 contributions2 helpful votes
Fantastic campsite, with a range of accommodation options to suit all. We were in our campervan and had a huge site, close to clean, modern amenities. The pool and spa are great, as is the kids playground. Location is perfect for a stroll to the beach or to the local shops.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Cooks Beach, General Manager at Cooks Beach Resort
Responded 5 May 2021
Thank you for your review and are glad you enjoyed the Resort and hope to see you all again soon. Regards, The Team at Cooks Beach Resort
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionCoromandel PeninsulaWhitiangaCooks Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cooks Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Cooks Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Hahei Beach Walk (5.5 km), Shakespeare Cliff Scenic and Historic Reserve (1.5 km), and Cathedral Cove Walk (5.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cooks Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a spa.
What food & drink options are available at Cooks Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Cooks Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cooks Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Purangi Winery Pizzeria, Blue Ginger, and That Curry Place.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cooks Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Cooks Beach Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Cooks Beach.
Is Cooks Beach Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.