Maruia Motels
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Maruia Motels

1956 State Highway 65, Maruia 7895 New Zealand

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 motel in Maruia
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator

Location

1956 State Highway 65, Maruia 7895 New Zealand
Getting there
Westport Airport
72.7 km
See all flights
Christchurch Intl Airport
26Reviews1Q+A2Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 21
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mike Halliday wrote a review Jul 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand52 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had to book a last minutes stay in this area and with only 2 motels within 100 km of my destinations there was not much choice.
The first one I'm still waiting for a reply but when I phoned Maruia Motel Amber picked up the call. We talked about dinner and breakfast as there is no restaurants for open at night fir over 100km open.
Amber suggested dinner and breakfast options so I booked in.
You are never sure of what to expect in remote location but Amber and Ashley and young son made me welcome on arrival.
The room was great but under priced for the well keep, clean, tidy room. Good heater, electric blanket cooking facilities just top rate.
Being July in the mountains in New Zealand the weather can be very cold and wet but I came across a fine night, thanks for arranging that guys.
To sum up well done and keep up the great work and when covid is over and the boarders open you will get back to home in Australia for a holiday.
Thanks Mike Halliday
Owner ChauffeurNZ.com
Christchurch New Zealand
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
eater2016 wrote a review Jul 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand97 contributions36 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Modest but well priced and very comfortable accomodation in the quietest of quiet places. OK...Only one TV channel was available but TBH when you're in an area where you want to escape all the hash and clutter that's not really an issue. Plenty of milk & UHT in the fridge so you could have endless cuppas. Pleasant bushwalks nearby. Friendly hosts. Snow on the tops come morning. Lovely. Check that the nearby cafe is open for a feed otherwise you may need to bring in your own grub to cook.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
60stravellers2014 wrote a review Nov 2020
Tauranga, New Zealand366 contributions123 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Maruia Motels last year & as we were passing it was a natural choice to stay there again. The lovely couple who own it are friendly, go out of their way to help, they offer fly fishing for those who are hooked on fishing. There is a lovely nature walk behind the country school. The rooms a clean, spacious, have everything that we need & there is a verandah to sit out on any time you feel inclined. We ordered our tea here (Butter chicken with homemade naan or roti, mango chutney, onion salad and poppadom- WOW - this is the best we have ever tasted anywhere on our travels both here and overseas, absolutely great guys (they were chefs in their 'past' life). We wish them best with baby No:2. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma Armon wrote a review Jan 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was supposed to be a one night getaway for us. Maruia Motels is in the absolute middle of nowhere (which we knew when we booked) however this does mean that other accommodation options are non-existent. Our requirements for accommodation are quite specific as we have a child with special needs, and Maruia Motels had appeared to tick all of our boxes. We had prepaid for our room, but at 5.30pm, the day we were due to check in, we were phoned and told that they had double booked and that we no longer had any accommodation. There was absolutely no accommodation for 4 people in Murchison (50 minute drive away) and Reefton (50 minute drive in the other direction) was also fully booked out due to the Reefton Races and a large funeral. We were 3 hours drive from home.

As we had prepaid, I requested a refund from the motel and when Booking.com phoned me to confirm this they stated that the motel had said we had cancelled our booking which was not true, they had cancelled it on us. Refunds take 5 - 7 days to clear.

Whilst I am sure that double bookings may occasionally occur, not noticing this until 5.30pm is not okay, especially when there are no other accommodation options in the area, and very limited cellphone connection for kms. Poor organisation especially considering there are only have 3 units.

BTW, booking.com were excellent and phoned twice and then emailed 3 times when trying to find us other accommodation, however they were also unsuccessful in locating other accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ambermaruia, Owner at Maruia Motels
Responded 15 Jan 2020
We are extremely sorry this happened to you. And are even more sorry that it was so difficult to find alternative accomodation. Although we know booking.com to be a very reputable booking platform, things still do go wrong. When we know we are fully booked, we cancel out those corresponding dates on booking.com. However, numerous times we have still been able to get bookings for those dates despite having no rooms left. Extremely frustrating to say the least - for both parties! This was unfortunately the case with your booking. We’ve been trying to understand how this keeps happening and have been told by booking.com that they ‘are working on it’ - whatever that means. All we can hope is that this kind of thing doesn’t happen again - as we completely understand how much it impacts on you - and that it doesn’t deter future visitors staying with us. We pride ourselves on looking after our guests and ensuring they enjoy their stay here. Again, our deepest apologies to you and your family.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EmielH wrote a review Jan 2020
Utrecht, The Netherlands9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Awesome hosts Ash & Ashley went out of their way to help us - two cyclists - with a good place to stay on our route through New Zealand.

The motel is located in a magnificent location and the rooms are very nice. Ash and Ashley are kind people and put in a lot of effort to make you feel at home.

Go here!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ambermaruia, Owner at Maruia Motels
Responded 16 Jan 2020
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much! We hope to see you again soon :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Babs N wrote a review Apr 2023
Falmouth, United Kingdom124 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Family stayed here on the way from Pohara to Christchurch. Amber & Ashley were the perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. Nicely equipped units & comfortable bed. The bonus was a wonderful home cooked meal which we had pre-ordered. Highly recommended but don’t forget your sandfly spray (or get some from Amber when you arrive).
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Don’t forget to visit the falls not far from the motel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eve Baker wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We got stranded out in the rain and booked in very last minute with what turned out to be a very welcoming, friendly family run motel. They were so accomodating and had a room ready for four of us within the hour. Very cute little rooms with everything you need, highly recommended 😊
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joel G wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great service, called up last minute for a booking for 4 and the staff were very helpful. Clean, warm and tidy unit, great amenities, awesome location. Pet friendly too. Bug screens on the windows. Thanks guys
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrianPeat wrote a review Nov 2023
Mosgiel, New Zealand254 contributions110 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This would have to be the best motel that we have experienced for a long time.
Service was superb and the unit was good.
Meal offered and provided. Great.
They even provide fly fishing arrangements.
We could not have more impressed.
I would stay there again anytime
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
michael w wrote a review Dec 2019
Anchorage, Alaska4 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I just completed a 3 week trip through New Zealand we had great experience, except for this place. We definitely rely on peoples reviews when making decisions about places to eat/stay, so we were really surprised this place turned out to be so bad, not sure if it is still owned by the same people.
I had emailed the owner the night before about room, when we showed up around 4 was greeted by one of the owers she was very friendly and we discussed using her husband for some guiding. When she showed us are room she commented about the music in the next room being load but said nothing to the occupants. My wife and I got our luggage and put it in the room but did not unpack we sat on the beds in disbelief on how loud the music was,they were playing cheesy 80's heavy metal only 5-6 songs then repeat. The couple were differently partying/singing have great time, every time I went outside this creepy guy would stare out the window then the women he was with came out to smoke and blow smoke into our window.
I went for short walk to explore local creek while I was gone the second owner spoke to my wife had no concerns about the music said it was their right. When I returned my wife was very upset stated the owner smelt like alcohol and she did not feel safe so we got our stuff and was ready to leave.
The owner then confronted me and demanded we pay for the room (we were there for less then 45 minutes used nothing) I agreed in order to avoid confrontation but told him I was going to dispute the charge with credit card company. After running my card he then took a picture of it, now I have to cancel card. He became very angry swearing at me said something about going back to my country.
I have no problems with people plying music in there rooms but it was so load and the owners did not care, there was no way we could have slept that night
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: not middle room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ambermaruia, Owner at Maruia Motels
Responded 16 Jan 2020
While we absolutely respect your right to review, it has to said that there are always (at least) two different experiences of the same situation. We’ll not get into the details but for the most part we apologise on behalf of the guests playing music through their phone at 4pm in the unit next to you. It was not thought to be too loud by us as you could only hear it just outside their unit and when we spoke about it you said it was ‘fine’. If it was too loud in our opinion we would have certainly asked them to turn it down. However, we are not the fun police. And at 4pm aren’t going to stop people relaxing how they wish on their holiday. Once again, we apologise for any part we played in your experience here but we do feel that your review says more about your taste in music and people than it does about us as an establishment. Unfortunately, we can’t please everyone but we do try our very best! And thankfully, for the most part our other reviews reflect this. Please be mindful that while traveling you will cross paths with many different types of people. It’s part of the fun of it! Safe travels :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helena V asked a question May 2017
Nelson, New Zealand38 contributions4 helpful votes
Do you serve breakfast and if so what time? Whatbis the latest check in time possible?
Answer from Paul_n_Cris
Melbourne, Australia1,710 contribution443 helpful votes
If you ring ahead they leave the key in a lock box by the side of the door. They will give you the combination for the box and you can then get there anytime.
Babs N wrote a tip Apr 2023
Falmouth, United Kingdom124 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t forget to visit the falls not far from the motel."
Read full review
michael w wrote a tip Dec 2019
Anchorage, Alaska4 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"not middle room"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Maruia area.
PRICE RANGE
$144 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionMaruia
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MARUIA MOTELS - Motel Reviews & Price Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Maruia Motels
What are some of the property amenities at Maruia Motels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Is parking available at Maruia Motels?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.