We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
45 Swindon St, Ophir 9387 New Zealand
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$196
View deal
Priceline
Agoda.com
US$168
View deal
ZenHotels.com
eDreamsUS$196
Trip.com
View all 8 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (76)
Dining (29)
Room & Suite (8)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Ophir
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Pitches Store is a restored heritage building in historic Ophir, one of the few remaining goldmining towns from the gold rush times. We have luxury bed and breakfast accommodation of 6 king ensuited rooms with crisp cotton bedlinen, mohair throws, luxury towels, robes, slippers and Nellie Tier toiletries. A spa is available for guests to relax in. We also have a restaurant open for daytime and evening meals with indoor and outdoor dining.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Street parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Patio
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
174Reviews0Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 138
  • 23
  • 9
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Peter_R_NZ wrote a review May 2022
Auckland, New Zealand187 contributions79 helpful votes
As part of our bike tour we were taken to this restaurant and what a stunner it is. Our three course dinner menu was absolutely superb accompanied by some great wine. As a group we had a little room for ourselves, the place is with a lot of history and stunning interiors. We just loved it. I would go there again without hesitation. Thanks so much.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tinsey J wrote a review May 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand28 contributions1 helpful vote
This was by far our best experience on the Otago Rail Trail. The room was comfortable and quiet and the breakfast was pleasant. But dinner was absolutely excellent. Definitely our stand out meal from the trip.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
F8426MGannem wrote a review Apr 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand5 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed as a couple to celebrate a birthday and booked the degustation dinner as well. The accommodation is an historic building but very comfortable with all modern amenities. The host Colleen and staff are vey friendly and made a big fuss of my birthday dinner. The. food was exceptional The Israeli chef was off for the night but the menu was delicious paired with great wine. I would thoroughly recommend this as a treat . Not cheap but great value if you want to be spoiled.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JadePeggyLou wrote a review Apr 2022
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand43 contributions6 helpful votes
Great stay!! Rooms have aircon, fan, toiletries, and a great shower. Very clean. Food was good. Breakfast was great with GF bread as an option. Spa in the garden which was very welcome after a long days bike ride. Simone and Lisa provided fantastic service with Lisa looking after us with friendliness and efficiency during our evening meal. Good wine selection! Sue was great looking after us for breakfast the next morning. We felt very well taken care of. Would definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
outback hunter wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions
stopped at Pitches for lunch thinking we would get country hospitality! we were greeted with Hostility from by the looks the owner who served us. We greeted her with how you going all we got was need to see your vaccine pass, fair enough she didn't even scan our passes WTH! the food was average but the hospitality was worse!! Sort yourself out lady our family did our best to get a yarn or happy response from you we all failed! considering we were locals and our family have been in the area longer than you been born. Quite Sad
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Colleen Hurd, Owner at Pitches Store
Responded 1 Mar 2022
Very sad, as we are not known for our hostility. I'm not sure why you were on the receiving end of hostility. We are not required to scan all vaccine passes so if we are busy it is ok to just view them. I will bring this complaint to the attention of all our staff including the average food. Can you remember what day you were at Pitches? Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenna R wrote a review Feb 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand10 contributions
Chose to have one night of luxury on the Rail Trail and we were not disappointed. Ophir is full of history and Pitches a beautiful part of that history. Colleen is a great host, had a swim down at the local school in the hot afternoon & back to shower and have dinner. We didn’t eat dinner here but should have; meals looked beautiful so enjoyed desert & a few desert wines which were great. Handy E bike charging right outside which was a nice touch too - as well as the spa which was enjoyed after a long day cycling. Thanks Coleen - we will definitely be back when we do the Trail in winter!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Colleen Hurd, Owner at Pitches Store
Responded 1 Mar 2022
Thank you and pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope the rest of your trip was fun.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Becca D wrote a review Feb 2022
Trentham, New Zealand34 contributions46 helpful votes
We had the absolute pleasure of staying & spending time in this oasis . Colleen is the hostess with the mostest. Nothing was a problem & we were able to have a lovely chat about her business & the future. The food was exquisite made from freshly grown vegetables, herbs from the gardens on the property. Sarah & Lisa we’re also excellent front of house. The accommodation was also comfortable & spotless. Colleen & David are looking to retire & sell the business. Good luck to finding someone to fill these brilliant shoes. HIGHLY recommended
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Colleen Hurd, Owner at Pitches Store
Responded 6 Feb 2022
Thank you for a glowing review I am so lucky to have such wonderful staff - the chef is often in the garden!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kirsty C wrote a review Jan 2022
33 contributions25 helpful votes
What a wonderful way to end day 1 of the Otago Central Rail Trail. Best accommodation on the trail, hands down. Beautiful building that has been thoughtfully renovated. Bedrooms were lovely, it was such a treat to use their spa pool (with robes, slippers and towels included) and the food was to die for. Great continental breakfast and superb dinner. Ophir is a wonderful wee spot too and worth the 5km round trip off the trail. Don’t miss it!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book ahead for dinner
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Colleen Hurd, Owner at Pitches Store
Responded 6 Feb 2022
Thanks Kirsty for a lovely review Hope the rest of your trip was fun!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deirdre M wrote a review Sep 2021
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Warm welcome, nice rooms, really quiet. Spa out the back for the weary legs. Dinner was booked through Bike It Now and was locally sourced and perfectly cooked. The owner knows her local wines and has a really good selection. We were made to feel at home. Breakfast was above and beyond. You will never leave this place hungry. We had cereal, fruit, yoghurt, croissants, fruit toast, rye toast with locally sourced jams and honey. Coffee from the espresso machine and freshly squeezed juice. It was one to remember. The Ophir Suspension Bridge is a short 10 minute walk away.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Colleen Hurd, Owner at Pitches Store
Responded 29 Sep 2021
Thanks Deirdre hope the rest of your trip was fun we loved having you here. Cheers Colleen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KevinAM45 wrote a review Apr 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand67 contributions32 helpful votes
Our stay here was arranged by Cycle Surgery as part of our Rail Trail package. I must say we were very impressed with every aspect of Pitches Store. To find this level of accommodation in "small town NZ" is a credit to the the owners. Well done.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$169 - US$198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionCentral OtagoOphir
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pitches Store
Which popular attractions are close to Pitches Store?
Nearby attractions include Ophir Post Office (0.08 km) and Lorimer Shop and Post (1.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pitches Store?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Pitches Store?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Pitches Store?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Pitches Store?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
Is Pitches Store located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.07 km away from the centre of Ophir.
Are there any historical sites close to Pitches Store?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ophir Post Office (0.08 km).
Is Pitches Store accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.