We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Speciality Lodging in Onetangi

The Sands - Waiheke Island

Save
Traveller (20)
Pool & Beach (17)
Room & Suite (13)
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good30%
  • Average11%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“onetangi beach”(11 reviews)
“short walk”(4 reviews)
Free Parking
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Wheelchair Access
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast included
4.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (60)Write a Review
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
28
18
7
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
28
18
7
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsonetangi beachbedroom apartmentshort walkvery pleasant staycasita mirowithin walking distancebbq facilitieswaiheke islandwould definitely stay here againamazing stayviews are spectacularperfect locationlong weekendnew zealandlukeaccommodationhosts
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017

The apartment where we stayed (#6) was spacy and light. Location is really nice, near the beach and it has a big, good bed. However, it was not very clean (kitchen supplies & bathroom) and some equipment did not work (e.g. bedside lights). Also the...More

Thank Fien D
Response from TheSandsWaiheke, Manager at The Sands - Waiheke IslandResponded 7 December 2017

Sorry, you had a bad stay with us at the Sands, We will pass your concerns onto the cleaning team and get them to be more diligent in the future. The bedside lights do work the power switch on the wall just needs to be...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a fruitful business conference at The Sands, where our group was looked after from start to finish - hosts went above and beyond (including ferrying our group to the restaurant down the road when it was raining). Catering was great, rooms were beautiful. 5stars,...More

Thank jameswalkernz
Reviewed 9 June 2017

Room was not ready when we arrived.. The dryer never worked. Hosts were not friendly. Bad smell coming from the broom closet. Maybe the septic system needs to be cleaned. The location was nice, but not worth the price. The worst service we received in...More

2  Thank chrisjrd39
Response from TheSandsWaiheke, Owner at The Sands - Waiheke IslandResponded 11 June 2017

Thanks for the feedback Chris, if you had told us about the problems when you were staying we would have addressed them at that time and moved you to a better apartment. Reviewing this after your stay meant we are unable to help you.

Reviewed 23 May 2017

A great spot if you are looking for a quiet getaway on Waiheke. Our apartment (3-Bed) was well appointed with wonderful views over the beach. The manager offered lots of suggestions for activities/restaurants and also had the room ready for early check-in which was much...More

Thank suzevans
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

The Sands provides modern accommodation located right on the very beautiful Onetangi Beach. It is on the main bus route and you can easily travel to and from here without transport. We were staying with friends and 2 teenagers in a 3-bedroom apartment. Both adults...More

Thank Belle H
Response from TheSandsWaiheke, Owner at The Sands - Waiheke IslandResponded 22 May 2017

Thanks for the lovley review guys, really enjoyed having you guys stay as well. Luke

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345612
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Beachfront
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$179 - US$410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$179 - US$410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (20)
Pool & Beach (17)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (1)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Bathroom (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MagsF_Arch
9 December 2017|
Answer
Response from TheSandsWaiheke | Property representative |
Yes they do the rooms have sliding door in the front bedroom and standard doors for the back bedrooms
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Worth paying a little more for first floor or higher for great views of the beach and bay"
Read review
"Bring bug repellent if you are really bothered by mosquitos. They make their way into the rooms at night."
Read review
"Because of its location, you need a car to get around. Unless you are in to walking!!"
Read review
"IF you are not as quiet as a mouse do not stay here."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite