We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sands - Waiheke Island

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Sands - Waiheke Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Start your review of The Sands - Waiheke Island
 Click to rate
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in unit 4 for a week. We experienced once in 25 year rain for the first 5 days but the last 2 days were sunny which was great. The unit was 3 bedroom, one bathroom and extra toilet. I thought the layout of the apartment was great for a holiday set up. The kitchen wasn't too large which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ARreview
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly, the positives: A lovely location at the end of Onetangi beach. A short walk to two popular and great restaurants, Charlie Farley's and The Boat Shed. (Both these restaurants are much better value than some in Oneroa, plus a fabulous view). The room we had unit 6 had interrupted sea views. Fully self contained, with dish washer, oven, fridge,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank funfoodies1
TheSandsWaiheke, Manager at The Sands - Waiheke Island, responded to this review

So sorry that you had to experience this Shane, Unit 6 had to undergo renovations before Christmas and we been unable to secure a builder to finish the small details, Fair enough that this was not up to standard. We wish that you had told us of these problems at the time with the bed feeling uncomfortable, the smell, the...

New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location on the strand in Onetangi was great- the mosquitos were not so great. The apartments are in a quieter location on the island but the bus stop was a very short walk from the complex. The beach by the apartments was calm and peaceful with minimal people. My husband and I used the bus to go around Waiheke....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nytraveler215
Perth
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just spent a week at The Sands in a 3 bedroom sea front villa. It was perfect in terms of comfort, amenity and location. The main bedroom was wonderful with lots of space and roomy en suite and a perfect view over the beach. The other two bedrooms were a little pokey and had no view, but they were only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MazPerth
TheSandsWaiheke, Manager at The Sands - Waiheke Island, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay here at The Sands and thanks for your honest review of the Villa.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A friend who lives on Waiheke recommended The Sands to me. She said: "you can't go past it- because the spacious apartments and villas are just metres off the BEST Waiheke beach- Onetangi. The views are stunning. The layout and fitout of each apartment is fantastic. The complex mangers are really good sorts" BEST advice ever! The location is incredible....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mccahill
West Scotland
Reviewed 15 February 2017

The beach at Onetangi is lovely and the Sands is right on it. However, the place itself is hideous, a huge concrete block which resembles a barracks. The promised seaview from our apartment was a glimpse (round another part of the barracks) and there was no terrace, balcony or anywhere to sit out. Easily the most disappointing place we stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KimWestScotland
TheSandsWaiheke, Owner at The Sands - Waiheke Island, responded to this review

Sorry you felt this way about the Sands Kim. You made your booking through booking.com and it does state if you want a good seaview to conctact us to arrange. It also states that not all apartments have a seaview. We do not and have never advertised have balconys in our apartments nor outdoor areas. These are limited to balconys...

Auckland New Zealand
Reviewed 10 February 2017

The Sands is well located. Our apartment, number 6, was very comfortable and had a pleasant view of the sea but has a strong smell of damp and mildew. We would have expected that there be at least salt, pepper and cooking oil in the kitchen, but it's a hotel room with a kitchen. Otherwise, a very pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AucklandTraveller
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 February 2017

The accommodation was good and the location fantastic (one would expect this at $425 per night) and definitely worthy of a revisit, however our experience from day one with the on-site manager was poor. He was unfriendly and somewhat grumpy for the most part. Our stay was 5 nights and WE had to ask for the place to be cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dedanpercy
TheSandsWaiheke, Owner at The Sands - Waiheke Island, responded to this review

Sorry you had such a bad stay Dedan and Kelly. We have a policy here that the rooms are serviced once a week, so if your stay is less than 7 days you don’t get serviced, These holiday apartments are completely self-service, on the check-in form you would have seen all of this information stating this. We do service the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We recently stayed here for a week and found the apartments well located and very comfortable. The villas are spacious and well equipped however considering there is no good shop in Onetangi for provisions I felt a few kitchen staples such as salt & pepper would have been appreciated.The gardens are well maintained and the BarBQue area works well. Management...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 79suzannem79
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We spent 8 nights at The Sands in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment.This was our second stay at this amazing spot. The apartment was perfect for us (parents and two teenagers). The location is right on Onetangi beach (the best beach on Waiheke) but at the end so very quiet and private. The views are spectacular - and nothing beats...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mwc229

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onetangi
6.7 km away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
223 reviews
2.2 km away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
86 reviews
5.0 km away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
2.3 km away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
#7 of 9 in Waiheke Island
38 reviews
5.5 km away
The Oyster Inn
The Oyster Inn
#3 of 6 in Oneroa
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located directly on Onetangi Beach, The Sands offers a selection of one, two & three bedroom fully self contained apartments. Close to ferry points, wineries and other island attractions. We are only a 35 minute ferry ride from downtown Auckland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sands - Waiheke Island

Address: 141 The Strand, Onetangi, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island > Onetangi
Price Range: $233 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sands - Waiheke Island 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Sands - Waiheke Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands - Waiheke Island Hotel Waiheke Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Sands - Waiheke Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you book a room with a seaview”
 of 5 bubbles AucklandTraveller, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We'd recommend an apartment with seaviews”
 of 5 bubbles mwc229, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for a room with a full sea view - ours did have this”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upper levels have best views of sea but stair access only. Take mosquito repellant.”
 of 5 bubbles Cathy3516, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check how much sea you will see”
 of 5 bubbles charliel16, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5