We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sands - Waiheke Island

Save
Share
Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (18)
Storyboard
Overview
Hotel website
E-mail hotel
141 The Strand, Onetangi, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Wheelchair Access
Housekeeping
4.5 Star accommodation
Additional information
Visit Hotel Website
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
Description
Located directly on Onetangi Beach, The Sands offers a selection of one, two & three bedroom fully self contained apartments. Close to ferry points, wineries and other island attractions. We are only a 35 minute ...More ferry ride from downtown Auckland. Less
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Contact Information
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
25
Price range
US$176 - US$287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The Sands - Waiheke Island Hotel Waiheke Island
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiheke Island > Onetangi
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island Resort
117 reviews
2.24 km away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
43 reviews
2.27 km away
Waiheke Island Motel
9 reviews
2.27 km away
Te Whau Lodge
139 reviews
3.71 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 61 restaurants in Waiheke Island
Casita Miro
980 reviews
.40 km away
The Shed Te Motu
265 reviews
.90 km away
The Boathouse Cafe & Bar
278 reviews
.90 km away
Stonyridge Vineyard
548 reviews
1.18 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 84 attractions in Waiheke Island
Obsidian Vineyard
160 reviews
.57 km away
Stonyridge Vineyard
182 reviews
1.16 km away
Tantalus Estate Vineyard & Winery
151 reviews
1.41 km away
Adventure Fishing Charters
7 reviews
.94 km away
Photos
Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (18)
Pool & Beach (17)
Dining (3)
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
29
18
8
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
29
18
8
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsonetangi beachwashing machinebedroom apartmentcasita mirowithin walking distancerelaxing staywaiheke islandwould definitely stay here againmain bedroomnew zealanddryercleanerslukeaccommodationviewsbugshosts
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The view from the open lounge windows and main bedroom was breathtaking. As two couples I appreciated the ensuite bathrooms for each bed room. Plenty of luxurious towels and beach towels were available from reception. Loved the recliner lounge chairs...More

1  Thank maitai2203
Reviewed 31 January 2018

On arrival, the manager did not even get up from his chair to greet us. The room was not ready which was not a problem at all, however we returned at the allotted time to find no one to check us in, a child seated...More

2  Thank 212sharon2017
Reviewed 6 December 2017

The apartment where we stayed (#6) was spacy and light. Location is really nice, near the beach and it has a big, good bed. However, it was not very clean (kitchen supplies & bathroom) and some equipment did not work (e.g. bedside lights). Also the...More

Thank Fien D
Response from TheSandsWaiheke, Manager at The Sands - Waiheke IslandResponded 7 December 2017

Sorry, you had a bad stay with us at the Sands, We will pass your concerns onto the cleaning team and get them to be more diligent in the future. The bedside lights do work the power switch on the wall just needs to be...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a fruitful business conference at The Sands, where our group was looked after from start to finish - hosts went above and beyond (including ferrying our group to the restaurant down the road when it was raining). Catering was great, rooms were beautiful. 5stars,...More

Thank jameswalkernz
Reviewed 9 June 2017

Room was not ready when we arrived.. The dryer never worked. Hosts were not friendly. Bad smell coming from the broom closet. Maybe the septic system needs to be cleaned. The location was nice, but not worth the price. The worst service we received in...More

3  Thank chrisjrd39
Response from TheSandsWaiheke, Owner at The Sands - Waiheke IslandResponded 11 June 2017

Thanks for the feedback Chris, if you had told us about the problems when you were staying we would have addressed them at that time and moved you to a better apartment. Reviewing this after your stay meant we are unable to help you.

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MagsF_Arch
9 December 2017|
Answer
Response from TheSandsWaiheke | Property representative |
Yes they do the rooms have sliding door in the front bedroom and standard doors for the back bedrooms
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Worth paying a little more for first floor or higher for great views of the beach and bay"
Read review
"Bring bug repellent if you are really bothered by mosquitos. They make their way into the rooms at night."
Read review
"Because of its location, you need a car to get around. Unless you are in to walking!!"
Read review
"IF you are not as quiet as a mouse do not stay here."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing