The Sands - Waiheke Island
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Sands - Waiheke Island

141 The Strand, Onetangi, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081 New Zealand
Fabulous location directly on Onetangi Beach
Traveller (25)
Deck and View from villa
Room & Suite (7)
Fabulous location directly on Onetangi Beach
Pool & Beach (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 apartment in Onetangi
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located directly on Onetangi Beach, The Sands offers a selection of one, two & three bedroom fully self contained apartments. Close to ferry points, wineries and other island attractions. We are only a 35 minute ferry ride from downtown Auckland.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Beach
Car hire
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern

Location

141 The Strand, Onetangi, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081 New Zealand
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 37 out of 100
37
Auckland Intl Airport
34.8 km
See all flights
70Reviews1Q+A20Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 32
  • 20
  • 8
  • 5
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jjs0n wrote a review Feb 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After travelling from Auckland to Waiheke Island by the sealink car ferry we drove across the Island to Onetangi beach and The Sands Apartments.We received an extremely warm welcome from the owner who showed us to our apartment on the top floor.The striking feature was a huge folding window that looked straight out to a fabulous ocean view extending to Coramandal peninsula.
The apartment had everything needed including a free bottle of wine to welcome us
A really comfortable bed and very high quality furniture and fittings. A new washing machine and clothes drier fitted in as well as stove, microwave and lovely open plan living room etc, Free WiFi and TV in Lounge and bedroom.
I recommend The Sands for comfort and location and would definately stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SandsManagerWaiheke, Manager at The Sands - Waiheke Island
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Thank you for the review. Loving the views and home close the beach is here as well. And we love show casing the wines here on waiheke as well
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katherine wrote a review May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 3 days at Sands apartment 9 and absolutely loved it.
Excellent communication with booking and arrival instructions, the apartment was very comfortable and cosy with gorgeous views.
We enjoyed beach walks and the best fish and chips on Onetangi Road.
Great bus service every 30 minutes, the Ostend Saturday markets were well worth the trip.
We felt relaxed and refreshed after our very relaxing 3 days.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
212sharon2017 wrote a review Jan 2018
South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival, the manager did not even get up from his chair to greet us. The room was not ready which was not a problem at all, however we returned at the allotted time to find no one to check us in, a child seated at the desk said his Dad would be back soon. 30 minutes later he arrived.
An ideal location, facing the beach at the end of a quiet road.The accommodation is spacious and well appointed for self catering. House keeping could be more attentive to cleaning details, bugs in light fittings etc. I did expect self catering but not self cleaning. For that rate I do not expect to carry my garbage to a central bin area overflowing with garbage. Bales of linen left in the passage is also not very appealing.
Disappointing was management's inability and unwillingness to control noise after midnight. In fact, they contributed to the noise. The worst part of the stay was the use of foul profanity in reference to paying Guests. Don't they realise that it is these Guests that pay their salary? An apology and discount was offered the next day. Unprofessional management does not encourage returning Guests.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kat C wrote a review Jan 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had booked in to stay for 5 night with my partner and 2 year old. I was sent a cancellation request with no communication given by the owners and the email said if I do not want to cancel I can ignore the email. I was then sent another email saying that they had tried to charge my credit card when the booking stated there was no prepayment and I was able to pay on sight at the time of my stay. I then emailed the owner to ask what was happening and they stated they had not charged enough for the time of my stay (over NY) and needed to put the prices up. I repeatedly asked how they could request it be cancelled because they hadn’t put the prices up from their normal prices. They also tried to blame the website instead of their own oversight in management of the prices they charge and tried to offer me an increased price of $100 per night to stay at the place I had already booked. The owners then cancelled by booking.

Would not recommend, dodgy owners and did not honour the booking when we live out of town and have to make arrangements to visit the island
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hilary7772020 wrote a review Apr 2021
Wanaka, New Zealand
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The seal on the shower was defective resulting in an overflow on to the carpet
Management took an extra $250 without consultation from my credit card to clean a small area of carpet less than a metre.
The shower door was so dirty that it was not immediately obvious that the door was leaking.

Location excellent but expensive considering Entire apartment very dated and in need of a deep clean

Definitely would not stay there again - dreadful management
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Luke Andrews, General Manager at The Sands - Waiheke Island
Responded 25 Apr 2021
Thanks for the chance to respond Hilary, The shower is totally fine, all the guests before and the after you had no issues with the shower. This guest flooded the bedroom carpet on the 1st nig, didn't inform us at all, We found it once they had checked out and left the property. We had to employ a cleaning company to remove the excess water and dry the carpet at extra cost to us, plus inconveniencing the incoming guests. It is clearly stated in the terms and conditions we reserve the right to charge guests for extra cleaning costs. Thanks, Luke, Manager of the Sands
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gmcfurt wrote a review Jul 2016
Auckland, New Zealand
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I contacted this place about 2 weeks ago to check on availability for a night for a group of 30 people.
The owner/operator Erin first said she could not accommodate us as its peak season (November 2016), which I understand. However, she also advised they could accommodate us for a surcharge for the 1 night, which we were happy to pay. By the end of the conversation, Erin was going to look into availability for us for the night and come back to me with configurations available.
Couple of days passed and no reply from anyone at the property.
I rang twice to follow up and spoke to Luke who promised he'd get Erin to ring me.
Not a peep.

I called the property today and got advised they couldn't do the 1 night anymore.
I told Luke I would have appreciated being advised of the non availability back when I first rung and just hung up on, HA!
Hospitality indeed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire_F wrote a review Feb 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the exact same experience as per a previous review by Kat C.

We come to Waiheke every year over Xmas and New Years and have yet to try the Sands so I booked for 7 nights for the next Xmas/New Year period and received the booking confirmation as expected. We then received a cancellation request from the owner via the third party booking system with no explanation but the email clearly stated that if we wished to keep our booking then no action needed to be taken and the booking would be honoured. Out of respect to the venue, I emailed them directly to find out why they tried to cancel my booking and was curtly told that the price that I had been quoted for our stay was too low and they could/would not honour it.

When I did not cancel my booking with the third party site (as we did not wish to cancel our trip) the owners then tried a new approach of trying to cancel the booking by stating that we had provided them with debit card details rather than credit card details and we “only had 24 hours to provide them with correct card details otherwise the booking would be cancelled”. This then started a little game of me providing my CREDIT CARD details on three separate occasions, with the owners promptly rejecting each attempt for the same false reason.

At no point did the owners do me the courtesy of quoting the price they would be comfortable taking for that period and it’s safe to say the whole experience has left a really bad taste in my mouth and I will never attempt to stay there again.

Conversely, we ended up booking the Onetangi Beach Apartments for around the same price as the original price I tried to book for the Sands. The location of the Onetangi Beach Apartments is much better and their customer service has already proven to be exceptional, so I actually feel very fortunate as reading some of the other reviews of the Sands, I think we’ve had a really lucky escape.

If you’re looking for lovely, chilled holiday with people that want your business then would not recommend the Sands.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Luke Andrews, General Manager at The Sands - Waiheke Island
Responded 4 Jul 2021
So this review and the one before were done by two families who booked via booking.com. To be fair this started as a problem with our booking system. It unintentionally sent our winter rates to be also the peak season rates. These when combined with the booking.com genius points meant that the families got a 60% discount on the normal rate, We emailed to explain the problem and that we needed to either cancel the booking with no fee or to raise the rates to the correct level, with a small discount as an apology. Neither family wanted this and protested that we HAD to honour the booking. After many emails and a flat refusal from the guests to be understanding, we cancelled the bookings. This is the reason for these revenge reviews
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MiaBennett wrote a review Jan 2019
Paris, France
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Average Hotel and lazy & dodgy owners.
Stayed here over early January of this year, the room itself had no milk in the fridge yet they supply "Tea & coffee making facilities" we question the owner and he says that he went up to get toilet paper but didn't get any milk. No apology or any resolution provided. The owner is barely there and the reception closes at random points during the day, in case of an emergency the owner wouldn't be on site and anywhere to be seen which is a mild concern for the guests safety. They call themselves the "sands" a beachfront hotel which you would associate with the beach, yet they have no where to hang swimwear when it is wet, so therefore using common sense most people would hang wet swimwear over the ledge of the window to let it dry. Because of us doing that we ended up coming back from our holiday to a over $200 fine. The owner had said to us that it was all because of a stain on the window from the togs/swimwear drying. Now I don't know if he knows how to put two and two together; togs,drying...the hotel provided no where to hang your swimwear when you get back from the beach. Also this beachfront hotel called "The Sands" has a rule to have no sand in the rooms yet most people staying are going to the beach where of course there will be sand, what a shocker! There is no consideration for the practical side of this "beach front" hotel and no consideration for the guests experience. The owner takes advantage of the guests payments and steals money for the most unreasonable situations without the authority, explanation and permission from the guests. The owner had however said they will get in contact with us if they couldn't get the stain out and then they will proceed to charge us, no form of contact and here we are with a charge that we were not told about. This owner is sneaky to think that they can put charges on guests accounts well after they've checked out and not let them know about it. If they thought about the kind of location they are in they would have known that people are going to go swimming. It's really not that difficult to understand. A real shame about the lazy standard for one of Waiheke's top spots. Thiefs,dodgy and arrogant. Don't EVER stay here unless you want to drink coffee without milk and come home to a large fine on your bank statement.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Luke A, Owner at The Sands - Waiheke Island
Responded 18 Jan 2019
Well, as you see from this review we had a guest that didn't enjoy there stay down to one reason only, they left a pair of new togs on the stone tiling and the dye from the togs leached onto the stone tiles badly staining the white tiles pink. The Apartments are all equipped with Drying racks and have clothes dryers as well. The other 31 apartments staying at the same time seemed to have found these. As to the owners not being on site, this is just not true, the site is manned from 0830-1800 every day and there is an on-call bell to alert the manager at anytime day or night. The $200 fee is quite plainly in our terms and conditions for unreasonably bad damage to an apartment. We also don't have any rule about no sand in the apartments. This is a revenge review based on being charged $200 for damaging the tiling.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chrisjrd39 wrote a review Jun 2017
Orangeville, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was not ready when we arrived.. The dryer never worked. Hosts were not friendly. Bad smell coming from the broom closet. Maybe the septic system needs to be cleaned. The location was nice, but not worth the price. The worst service we received in our entire 3 week vacation in New Zealand
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheSandsWaiheke, Owner at The Sands - Waiheke Island
Responded 10 Jun 2017
Thanks for the feedback Chris, if you had told us about the problems when you were staying we would have addressed them at that time and moved you to a better apartment. Reviewing this after your stay meant we are unable to help you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PaddingtOn44slk wrote a review Jul 2015
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It's been a strange visit, the place is still the same some how deserted is how it felt. New owners are nice but not welcoming, the apartments are getting old and in need of a really good clean especially the bathrooms. A nice place to visit but don't expect great service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheSandsWaiheke, Owner at The Sands - Waiheke Island
Responded 6 Jul 2015
Its never easy receiving not so positive feedback especially when its our first ! I do have to agree with the guest it was rather quiet over the weekend, with the weather warning that occurred late last week we had a number of cancellations coupled with the fact we are often quiet as most properties are over winter on Waiheke. I'm surprised at the comment on the fact the apartment bathroom was not that clean as our team are usually very fastidious cleaners. I will however go over this with the team. I do apologise if we didn't appear as welcoming , we really enjoy this property and meeting our guests and residents when they return . But will be more mindful of this in the future . Thanks again for taking the time to review the property and us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MagsF_Arch asked a question Dec 2017
Washington DC, District of Columbia12 contributions7 helpful votes
Do the standard 2 bedroom A and B units have 2 enclosed bedrooms?
Answer from
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Yes they do the rooms have sliding door in the front bedroom and standard doors for the back bedrooms
chip8 wrote a tip Nov 2019
england12 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best to have a room on an upper floor"
Read full review
suzevans wrote a tip May 2017
Sydney11 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Worth paying a little more for first floor or higher for great views of the beach and bay"
Read full review
Kyle B wrote a tip Apr 2017
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring bug repellent if you are really bothered by mosquitos. They make their way into the rooms at night."
Read full review
LMAKL wrote a tip Apr 2017
Auckland Central, New Zealand2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Because of its location, you need a car to get around. Unless you are in to walking!!"
Read full review
Jazz168 wrote a tip Apr 2017
Paihia, New Zealand25 contributions37 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"IF you are not as quiet as a mouse do not stay here."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Onetangi area.
PRICE RANGE
$412 - $613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the sands - waiheke island hotel waiheke island
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandWaiheke IslandOnetangi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SANDS - WAIHEKE ISLAND - Apartment Reviews & Price Comparison (Onetangi) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Sands - Waiheke Island
Which popular attractions are close to The Sands - Waiheke Island?
Nearby attractions include Wild on Waiheke (1.6 km), Oneroa Beach (6.3 km), and Rangihoua Estate (2.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Sands - Waiheke Island?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, self serve laundry, and barbeque facilities.
Which room amenities are available at The Sands - Waiheke Island?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Sands - Waiheke Island?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Sands - Waiheke Island?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Sands - Waiheke Island?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casita Miro, Tantalus Estate Restaurant, and The Heke Kitchen, Brewery & Distillery.
Are there any historical sites close to The Sands - Waiheke Island?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stony Batter Historic Reserve (5.1 km).
Is The Sands - Waiheke Island accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire